Scarleth - Break The Silence review


5 users:
Band: Scarleth
Album: Break The Silence
Release date: November 2011

01. Broken World
02. Child Of The Forest
03. Crazy Fever
04. Shadow Fades Away
05. Black Tears
06. In The Abyss
07. World Depends On You
08. Flaming Angel
09. You'll Never Die

Attention to detail can make or break a band's efforts when putting an album together. Pay too little attention to where you put all the components and it all comes off as free form and chaotic. This certainly isn't the case for Scarleth in their first studio release titled Break The Silence. Yet, while the scrutiny the band has put into this effort is obvious, it's an ultimately non-engaging although dense hour long affair.

Playing a symphonic/gothic/power hybrid things start on a strong note with "Broken World" characterised by efficient guitar work and deft keyboards, making for an enjoyable if unmemorable opening. Vocalist Julia Elyashova, who has since departed the band, fills the album with a strong presence but seems to lack diversity which may be the result of placing emphasis on the English pronunciation of the lyrics.

Following the album opener we have a few very unexceptional tracks which sound overly drawn out and tedious. Filled with standard yet competent riffs given a little life with the never overbearing keyboards and methodical drumming, it is the vocals which give tracks such as "Crazy Fever" any point of reference to the listener. The laborious "Shadow Fades Away" and "In The Abyss" sound like an attempt at translating the gradual pace of doom metal along more symphonic terms laden with traditionally inspired guitar work. Each of these tracks clock over eight minutes, the former nearing the ten minute mark, and contain a few memorable moments but these are far too sparse to keep the listener attentive to the tracks in their entirety without inducing boredom. This is a major problem the album faces; it just lacks enough engaging material to maintain interest for even the most avid of symphonic or power metal fans.

That said there is material within which has a lasting impact such as the ballad "Black Tears" in which the band comes together at their best. The catchy "World Depends On You" is the clear highlight, offering at last something which will be difficult to forget after listening, all elements again being utilised at the top of their game. Album closers "Flaming Angel" and "You'll Never Die" are stronger songs also, finishing the album in a much more positive light. The former is clearly distinct with its oriental inspired charm.

What you're left with is an exceptionally well produced effort which unfortunately doesn't reward the listener with a great deal of memorable music. The potential for some unique music is there but is held back by generally unsatisfying songwriting. The overall impression the album has is weighed down heavily by this songwriting which, despite its careful and dense construction, just doesn't engage the listener at all times.

Rating breakdown
Performance: 7
Songwriting: 6
Originality: 7
Production: 9


Written on 06.03.2012 by R'Vannith enjoys music, he's hoping you do too.

Hits total: 3735 | This month: 20