Rating:
8.6
Dissona - Dissona
14 January 2012


01. Inverted Swarm
02. Fiction
03. Nest
04. Interlude I
05. Immersion
06. Avella
07. Eccentress
08. Fawn
09. Chrysalis
10. Interlude II
11. Lapse Into Hysteria
12. Illumination
13. Garden Of Rust


A good progressive metal album is like a maze. Full of twists and turns that keep you guessing and doubling back on yourself. Having you, the ideally puzzled listener, scratching your head as you struggle to come to grips with that strange sense that you know where you're going until you round a bend and WHACK! You're confronted with something entirely unexpected as things undergo an abrupt change and for a split second you've got no idea what's going on until the sudden morph in sound picks you up and carries you further along. What am I babbling about? Well I'm just describing where I was at when coming to terms with Dissona's latest, and to date only, album, the self titled Dissona.

I'll say this upfront; if you like avant-garde/progressive bands of Leprous' ilk you're going to find something to enjoy here. It's got that same bewildering yet immediately engaging mix of influences from various progressive legends. Whereas Leprous, such as in their latest release, manages to convincingly mask these influences with their own guise, Dissona don't quite manage this same feat as their identity isn't quite as solidified. These influences are just as wide ranging though, if not moreso, and Dissona bring them together in a staggeringly diverse album. The strong symphonic progressive elements which form the backbone of this release are reminiscent of bands such as Symphony X and Suspyre, as can be seen on "Nest" and "Immersion".

This is a parrot of an album, it mimics those it witnesses and its plumage is bright and colourful, almost overindulging to the senses. "Eccentress", what is most definitely a highlight, swings in with an amusing swagger with many influences being brought into the fray, the obvious presence of prog rock legends Gentle Giant are dealt with exceptionally well.

To say that the vocalist, Dave Dubenic, is talented would be an understatement, his mimicry and delivery in general is extraordinary. His voice is so diverse it is difficult to follow him throughout the album, he takes on an impossible array of personas ranging from Gildenlow to Hedlund to Townsend. He breaks free from rarely witnessed cleans to dominating harsh vocals with ease. While Dubenic certainly steals the show, breathing life into this wonderful album is a band of equal diversity and creativity for song writing. The guitar work is delicious to say the least; always shifting to maintain consistent interest in the listener. The bass and drums in particular hold a strong presence throughout giving the album a very satisfying density, with the keyboards traced through efficiently never over-saturating things.

All the tracks have their own bundle of surprises in store, perhaps teetering a little in quality nearing the end of the album such as on the final two offerings. Even the short interludes are surprisingly engaging, the second of these cleverly overlapping with "Lapse Into Hysteria."

This is a debut unparalleled in its ability to bring so many influences to the table and serve such a tantalising and hearty gourmet meal of progressive metal.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 8


Band profile: Dissona
Album: Dissona


 



Written on 10.03.2012 by
R'Vannith
R'Vannith enjoys music, he's hoping you do too.
More reviews by R'Vannith ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 40  
Users visited: 283  
Search this topic:  


3rdWorld - 10.03.2012 at 07:40  
WELL WRITTEN. I'll definitely check this out sometime.
K†ulu - 10.03.2012 at 09:54  
This was on my to-listen-to-asap list; now, it's on the first position. Interesting review; I am kind of excited about this album.
Milena - 10.03.2012 at 10:05  
YES, Leprous, and YES, comparisons to those singers, especially Gildenlow, and yes, Eccentress is fuckin' awesome. This is a good review for a very good album. Everyone who's into prog should pay attention to it.
Kuroboshi - 10.03.2012 at 10:35  
OMG, this I am so gonna buy! Thanks for the tip, and awesome review! I love Leprous.
BloodTears - 10.03.2012 at 13:47  
Written by Milena on 10.03.2012 at 10:05

YES, Leprous, and YES, comparisons to those singers, especially Gildenlow, and yes, Eccentress is fuckin' awesome. This is a good review for a very good album. Everyone who's into prog should pay attention to it.


I am now. Sounds very interesting. It's funny that now Leprous are more recognized and people actually make comparisons with them.
R'Vannith - 10.03.2012 at 14:01  
Written by BloodTears on 10.03.2012 at 13:47

Written by Milena on 10.03.2012 at 10:05

YES, Leprous, and YES, comparisons to those singers, especially Gildenlow, and yes, Eccentress is fuckin' awesome. This is a good review for a very good album. Everyone who's into prog should pay attention to it.


I am now. Sounds very interesting. It's funny that now Leprous are more recognized and people actually make comparisons with them.


A year ago I had never heard of Leprous. The fact Mora and I, and others, can use them as a point of reference goes to show the impact they have on those who have heard them. And in such a short amount of time, amazing!
Perhaps we'll see the same with Dissona in the future?
InnerSelf - 10.03.2012 at 14:36  
Leprous are indeed great, the comparison to their sound is what made me eager to check this.
Milena - 10.03.2012 at 15:10  
Written by R'Vannith on 10.03.2012 at 14:01

Perhaps we'll see the same with Dissona in the future?

I really do hope so... there is a lot of interesting underground prog acts around which deserve all the pimping they could get... as reviewers, we have this opportunity to make people pay attention to an act and you have accomplished a bit of that here
R'Vannith - 10.03.2012 at 15:48  
Written by Milena on 10.03.2012 at 15:10

I really do hope so... there is a lot of interesting underground prog acts around which deserve all the pimping they could get... as reviewers, we have this opportunity to make people pay attention to an act and you have accomplished a bit of that here


Thanks Mora, yeah they definitely deserve it and it's only their debut, it's always great to witness such talent being used so well so early in a band's studio career.
BloodTears - 10.03.2012 at 19:28  
Written by R'Vannith on 10.03.2012 at 14:01

Written by BloodTears on 10.03.2012 at 13:47

Written by Milena on 10.03.2012 at 10:05

YES, Leprous, and YES, comparisons to those singers, especially Gildenlow, and yes, Eccentress is fuckin' awesome. This is a good review for a very good album. Everyone who's into prog should pay attention to it.


I am now. Sounds very interesting. It's funny that now Leprous are more recognized and people actually make comparisons with them.


A year ago I had never heard of Leprous. The fact Mora and I, and others, can use them as a point of reference goes to show the impact they have on those who have heard them. And in such a short amount of time, amazing!
Perhaps we'll see the same with Dissona in the future?


Only time will tell of course. If this is anything like Leprous quality, that might be possible. I'll get back to you on what I think about it when I actually listen to the album
Anastasia - 10.03.2012 at 20:27  
A must listen on my list now
Unhealer - 10.03.2012 at 23:38  
Well, looks like the prog community of this forum is going nuts with this record. I'll see if I can join you.
I remember I checked out a song and the vocals didn't click. But hell, I enjoy listening to Lulu; It would be nosense to not give it another chance

And if it really sounds anything like Leprous, score.
Milena - 10.03.2012 at 23:55  
Written by Unhealer on 10.03.2012 at 23:38

Well, looks like the prog community of this forum is going nuts with this record. I'll see if I can join you.

Do join us so we can fan out together :3 My first listen was more or less "hmmm, curious", but then I went berserk over it. It has a nine now in my personal ratings.
Dark Blood - 10.03.2012 at 23:55  
Very well written, and nicely way to put into words what it sounds like. Really good review.

Now that you got my attention, I just need to listen the album and confirm its quality. And that's going to happen soon
strade - 11.03.2012 at 01:33  
Excellent review, and I'm ecstatic to see they've been added. As the kid who introduced MS to Dissona, let me be a teenager and say, "I told ya so!"
R'Vannith - 11.03.2012 at 02:43  
Written by strade on 11.03.2012 at 01:33

Excellent review, and I'm ecstatic to see they've been added. As the kid who introduced MS to Dissona, let me be a teenager and say, "I told ya so!"


It's definitely because of your discovery that this review is here right now, I probably wouldn't have heard the album otherwise, so thanks a ton!
strade - 11.03.2012 at 03:05  
Written by R'Vannith on 11.03.2012 at 02:43

Written by strade on 11.03.2012 at 01:33

Excellent review, and I'm ecstatic to see they've been added. As the kid who introduced MS to Dissona, let me be a teenager and say, "I told ya so!"


It's definitely because of your discovery that this review is here right now, I probably wouldn't have heard the album otherwise, so thanks a ton!


Haha, I kid. I'm glad to spread the word anyway, since the guys definitely deserve it. But you're welcome.
Zealot644 - 11.03.2012 at 21:43  
As a huge fan of Leprous, this is awesome.

Thanks for writing the review on this - you just found me something new and refreshing to listen to
Milena - 12.03.2012 at 14:18  
Written by R'Vannith on 11.03.2012 at 02:43

Written by strade on 11.03.2012 at 01:33

Excellent review, and I'm ecstatic to see they've been added. As the kid who introduced MS to Dissona, let me be a teenager and say, "I told ya so!"


It's definitely because of your discovery that this review is here right now, I probably wouldn't have heard the album otherwise, so thanks a ton!

Actually, I was introduced to Dissona by jup, so...
R'Vannith - 12.03.2012 at 14:27  
Written by Milena on 12.03.2012 at 14:18

Actually, I was introduced to Dissona by jup, so...


Well by 'this review' I meant my thoughts on the album. My thoughts wouldn't be here if it weren't for strade.
Milena - 12.03.2012 at 14:28  
Written by R'Vannith on 12.03.2012 at 14:27

Well by 'this review' I meant my thoughts on the album. My thoughts wouldn't be here if it weren't for strade.

Oh, sorry, should have just quoted strade's comment here since he said he introduced MS to Dissona and I always like to play hipster
strade - 12.03.2012 at 14:49  
Written by Milena on 12.03.2012 at 14:28

Written by R'Vannith on 12.03.2012 at 14:27

Well by 'this review' I meant my thoughts on the album. My thoughts wouldn't be here if it weren't for strade.

Oh, sorry, should have just quoted strade's comment here since he said he introduced MS to Dissona and I always like to play hipster


Aw, Mora, you're always foiling my glory...
Fredd - 12.03.2012 at 15:04  
R'Vannith, now I see why they made you a contributing reviewer.
R'Vannith - 12.03.2012 at 15:09  
Written by Fredd on 12.03.2012 at 15:04

R'Vannith, now I see why they made you a contributing reviewer.


Thank you very much!
Unhealer - 12.03.2012 at 15:37  
"The fuck did I just listen to "
First listen left me like that. I felt the record is more avant-garde than prog, somewhere in between at least.

Definitely outstanding, I'm so stoked for the next listen. You have to pay a lot of attention to understand everything that is going on here.
Milena - 12.03.2012 at 16:44  
Written by strade on 12.03.2012 at 14:49

Aw, Mora, you're always foiling my glory...

Not ALWAYS. But you know I love you, d00d.
Zaphod - 14.03.2012 at 16:03  
I read the review that was one click away, and I'm intrigued
Milena - 16.03.2012 at 16:32  
Written by Zaphod on 14.03.2012 at 16:03

I read the review that was one click away, and I'm intrigued

Druss - 16.03.2012 at 16:43  
I just finished my first listen of this and I have to say, I'm completely blown away by it; the hype given to it on here is justified as far as my opinion goes. From the way the posters seem to indicate it took a second listen for them to like it, I'm almost afraid to give it a second spin and somehow find it less satisfactory lol
nb - 17.03.2012 at 07:51  
Thanks for the tip, shall look this band up and Leprous as well.
Kuroboshi - 09.04.2012 at 17:29  
I agree that they remind of Leprous, and I see a lot of talent. But somehow it fails to catch my attention. I feel that it is a bit unfocused at times. A strong 7 from me.
R'Vannith - 09.04.2012 at 18:17  
Written by Kuroboshi on 09.04.2012 at 17:29

I agree that they remind of Leprous, and I see a lot of talent. But somehow it fails to catch my attention. I feel that it is a bit unfocused at times. A strong 7 from me.


While I wouldn't say 'unfocused' I do see what you mean. Its more of an issue of lack of a cohesive identity than a lack of focus for me. There are more times than not, I think, when they seem quite deliberate in their purpose with alluding to various influences and such.
David Dubenic - 10.05.2012 at 03:24  
Thank you all so very much for listening.
strade - 10.05.2012 at 03:32  
Written by David Dubenic on 10.05.2012 at 03:24

Thank you all so very much for listening.


Don't even worry about it, David; this is just the beginning.
David Dubenic - 10.05.2012 at 03:39  
Written by strade on 10.05.2012 at 03:32

Written by David Dubenic on 10.05.2012 at 03:24

Thank you all so very much for listening.


Don't even worry about it, David; this is just the beginning.

David Dubenic - 10.05.2012 at 03:42  
R'Vannith, thank you so much for this.
raymond k - 10.05.2012 at 04:16  
I have to say I really enjoy this album. This is a local band for me and have been lucky enough to see them live a few times. They didn't dissapoint. I would say the Leprous comparisons are well deserved. Like Leprous's Bilateral this album coverers various genres. Always avant-garde it crosses over into Opeth territory on more than one occasion. With that being said they are not easily classified, and I like that. Daves multifaceted voice makes this all a reality. The band as a whole provide the technical wizardry this style requires. The production is top-notch. Plus , they are a nice bunch of guys that worked really hard on this album.Buy this album, come to Chicago and see them live, you will not regret it. Peace
R'Vannith - 10.05.2012 at 05:27  
Written by David Dubenic on 10.05.2012 at 03:42

R'Vannith, thank you so much for this.


No problem at all, thank you guys for such a delightful album!
Susan - 30.09.2012 at 03:00  
I couldn't ignore this album any longer - it was on too many top lists already! Finally had a chance to listen and your review is spot on. Especially this: "All the tracks have their own bundle of surprises in store"

Uh, yeah
Dissona - 01.11.2013 at 19:20  
Greetings guys! This is Matt, the lead guitarist of Dissona. I want to thank you all for such kind words and feedback. We are currently writing some awesome new material for you all! However, right now I desperately need your assistance. I have entered the Toontrack Metal Guitar God 2013 contest and have made it to the second round. At this point, I need votes from the outside world to get my video to the judging round. Anyone can vote and you may do so once every 24 hours. You guys are absolutely wonderful and if there's anything else you can do through Metal Storm to help promote my entry I would greatly appreciate it!

Here is the link to my contest entry: http://www.toontrack.com/metalguitargod2013.asp#!/entry/620951

-Matt from Dissona

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Sons Of Aeon - Sons Of Aeon 3 14.01.2013 by Risto
Reviews Serenity - War Of Ages 3 31.03.2013 by Susan
Reviews Abstract Spirit - Theomorphic Defectiveness 3 27.09.2013 by Merchant of Doom
Reviews Porcupine Tree - Up The Downstair 3 27.07.2012 by Introspekrieg
Reviews Avatarium - Avatarium 3 10.01.2014 by R Lewis



Hits total: 4161 | This month: 47