Djerv - Djerv review



Reviewer:
8.7

28 users:
8.32
Band: Djerv
Album: Djerv
Release date: June 2011


01. Madman
02. The Bowling Pin
03. Headstone
04. Gruesome Twosome
05. Only I Exist
06. Ladder To The Moon
07. Abmuse
08. Blind The Heat
09. Immortal


Well, what do we have here? This is new...yet classic sounding. Straight forward hard rock is not really something that produces anything truly "new" sounding very often. Prog rock can generally do a decent job at cramming something interesting in, but finding a sound that is as fresh sounding as it is simple is an incredibly difficult task.

Basically, take a scoop of punked out heavy metal, give it just the right heaviness and raw aggression. Then add a touch of something melodic and catchy, yet very sleazy...Maybe a just a wee bit of glam metal will do the trick...Yes...Yes...Now let's give the guitars a razor-sharp edge, perhaps some guitar tones that would sound fitting in a black metal album. Top things off with a singer who sounds not totally unlike Swedish pop star Robyn...If Robyn started living on a Lemmy Kilmister diet. It all mixes surprisingly well. It's not too eclectic, this doesn't sound like an amalgamation sound by any means, it just sounds like a gritty heavy metal band who happen to have elements that belong in different areas of the map.

Here's where we usually go over the downsides. It's really hard to think of any. I mean, it's not a perfect album, it's not going to change the face of music or anything, but it's just so direct. There's no pretensions about what Djerv are trying to do here, and they execute it perfectly. It's a melodic heavy metal album with a heavy-handed rough side. No more, no less.

The term "black n roll" seems to be applied to a lot of black metal bands who went melodic. It seems more appropriate to apply it to a band like Djerv; a true rock n roll band with a distinct taste for black metal guitar tones. Just wonderful.


 



Written on 10.03.2012 by Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.


Comments

Comments: 17   Visited by: 235 users
10.03.2012 - 10:11
K†ulu
Seeker of Truth
Does not sound exactly like my cup of tea, but who knows, this might be enjoyable indeed. Thanks for sharing!
----
Savor what you feel and what you see
Things that may not seem important now
But may be tomorrow

R.I.P. Chuck Schuldiner

Satan was a Backstreet Boy
Loading...
10.03.2012 - 10:15
Milena
Learning To "X"
Interesting.
----
"There comes a time when you look into the mirror and you realize that what you see is all that you will ever be. And then you accept it. Or you kill yourself. Or you stop looking in mirrors."
Loading...
10.03.2012 - 12:40
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
You said Robyn and said Black metal... Now my curiosity went over 9000 so I have to check this shit out.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
10.03.2012 - 12:49
R'Vannith
ghedengi
I swear I've seen that album cover somewhere before.. Sounds very interesting indeed.
Loading...
10.03.2012 - 13:17
Draugen
Must. Check. This. Out.

Edit: The first impression is not that good. You never know, it might grow on me over time.
Loading...
10.03.2012 - 16:48
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
I swore jup reviewed this here a long time ago. :/ Guess not.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
10.03.2012 - 20:02
knightlightning
You have piqued my curiosity...
----
Try again. Fail again. Fail better.
Loading...
10.03.2012 - 23:28
Unhealer
Eclecticist
Ok, I'll give it a try.
Loading...
11.03.2012 - 01:22
Druss
Listened to the first half of this album so far, and I gotta agree with the review. Its definately good rock n'roll, catchy as hell and makes me headbang awkwardly in my chair. Exactly what I'm looking for my in my hard rock/heavy metal. Cheers for bringing it to my attention
Loading...
11.03.2012 - 04:08
Edmund Fogg
Yeah wasn't that the avatar pic of a quite active user a while back? Anyways, great album. Deserves the praises.
----
You cannot sedate all the things you hate - MM
The Observer is the source of reality - Bloom
God damn it!! What did Diddy didn't do? - Satan
Loading...
11.03.2012 - 04:36
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Edmund Fogg on 11.03.2012 at 04:08
Yeah wasn't that the avatar pic of a quite active user a while back? Anyways, great album. Deserves the praises.

AH maybe that's why I remember it so well. I think it was one of those guys like teamster, or maybe psykometal.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
11.03.2012 - 10:00
Apatheria
I've been a fan of Agnete Kjølsrud for awhile now, so I'm glad to see Djerv getting a favorable review here! Agnette's a rock star in the making and while I agree that Djerv's music is nothing spectacular, it's good for its straight forward approach and a lot of fun. And of course, Agnete's vocals carry the whole thing with an edgy rock n' roll flair. Good review!
----
Heavy metal is the law.
Loading...
11.03.2012 - 15:53
Vombatus
Potorro
I find the music really good but can't stand the vocals. That is one annoying voice she has.
Loading...
13.03.2012 - 01:13
Pandore
I've been listening to it for some months now, and it's a good album, though perfectible. I was happy to hear Agnete again after discovering her with Solefald.
Loading...
13.03.2012 - 02:55
Vox Monster
This album is really good. It's fresh and raw. It's sleazy and rude. It's groovy and creative. The female vocals are not your typical sweet and pretty type. They're sassy and loud. The songs are written with good movement and structure without being pretentious. It's high energy stuff and never loses your attention. The songs are catchy in a listen a few times to really get it way. I think that's just about perfect for this type of music. This is a great dark rock album!!! Thanks for reviewing this or I never would have got it. This is a little gem.
Loading...
13.03.2012 - 17:15
Unhealer
Eclecticist
Sounds great! I didn't know Agnete was singing in this band.
I think I prefer Solefald over this one, but this is good stuff anyway.
Loading...
12.11.2012 - 19:23
Daggon
Underpaid M.D.
Listening to some of their songs on youtube I gotta say I like what I hear, maybe it's not the heaviest shit I've ever listened to, but I'm sure this could grow a lot in me after some spins.
----
"Les vers savent qu'ils n'ont pas d'ailes, c'est pour cela qu'ils se cachent sous terre"

Loading...

Hits total: 3766 | This month: 16