Pharaoh - Bury The Light review



Reviewer:
7.1

62 users:
7.98
Band: Pharaoh
Album: Bury The Light
Release date: February 2012


01. Leave Me Here To Dream
02. The Wolves
03. Castles In The Sky
04. The Year Of The Blizzard
05. The Spider's Thread
06. Cry
07. Graveyard Of Empires
08. Burn With Me
09. In Your Hands
10. The Spider's Thread (Reprise)
11. Ten Years [Special edition bonus]
12. When We Fly
13. White Light [New Model Army cover]
14. Reflection And The Inevitable Future
15. Nothing I Can Say
16. Tormentor [Slayer cover]


The riffs are good, the structure is smoothly digestible, and the vocals aren't horrendous. Bury The Light is a really well put together album. There's just something incredibly unmoving about it...

Well, fuck it, don't let that deter you. Pharaoh have put out a pretty decent album with Bury The Light. It's a top-speed classic American heavy metal/power metal hybrid sound, very traditional. Definitely an Iron Maiden meets Iced Earth appeal going on here. It's solidly built from the ground up. At its most intense, there's even a few rhythm sections that bring in mind more furious thrash along the lines of Skeletonwitch, while the solos (although occasionally too abundant) are well placed, soaring melodic air-guitar worthy pieces. Tie everything together with some 'Maiden-esque chorus', and you've got yourself one solid heavy metal album.

Nothing goes wrong, yet nothing really slays. This is, at its core, a traditional heavy metal album. Pharaoh is a well-oiled machine that does everything by the book. With an album like Bury The Light, unless in the proper mood, is something which is easy to be satisfied by, but hard to be blown away by. This another one one of those albums that fills that gap between "crap" and "awesome". Those with an insatiable lust for high energy traditional heavy metal with tons of great guitar solos around every corner will certainly find something great here. Anyone else, on the other hand, can expect another pretty predictable heavy metal album.

Pharaoh offer enough moments on Bury The Light to make it a worthwhile listen, but suffer from a severe lack of flavour. Definitely give it a shot, but don't expect a masterpiece, here.


 



Written on 12.03.2012 by Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.


Comments

Comments: 13   Visited by: 189 users
12.03.2012 - 10:52
Milena
Learning To "X"
Doc, y u no drool over Pharaoh like the rest of us?

I guess we have an insatiable lust for high energy trad metal
----
"There comes a time when you look into the mirror and you realize that what you see is all that you will ever be. And then you accept it. Or you kill yourself. Or you stop looking in mirrors."
Loading...
12.03.2012 - 13:38
R'Vannith
ghedengi
Severe lack of flavour? Blasphemy! This is like downing a bag full of toffees. One of the rare power metal bands these days with any flavour.
Or maybe your right and I just like toffee too much.
Loading...
12.03.2012 - 14:12
K†ulu
Seeker of Truth
Ok, so it's legal not to worship this album. Interesting view of this album. I have not listened to it yet, but I will keep in mind the details you mentioned when listening to this one.
----
Savor what you feel and what you see
Things that may not seem important now
But may be tomorrow

R.I.P. Chuck Schuldiner

Satan was a Backstreet Boy
Loading...
12.03.2012 - 14:47
strade
Written by Milena on 12.03.2012 at 10:52

Doc, y u no drool over Pharaoh like the rest of us?

I guess we have an insatiable lust for high energy trad metal


I too, of course, greatly disagree with the review. To each his own, I guess.
----
My lo-fi synth project: http://luciddreamer.bandcamp.com
Loading...
12.03.2012 - 17:27
Verdun_sc
I give it an 8. Thought it was damn good, but not fantastic. Some of Doc's points are valid.
Personally though I think the album would be better with a better singer. A more melodic one, I suppose. too much Iced Earth in the vocals for me.
Loading...
12.03.2012 - 18:43
Hammer34
Written by Verdun_sc on 12.03.2012 at 17:27

I give it an 8. Thought it was damn good, but not fantastic. Some of Doc's points are valid.
Personally though I think the album would be better with a better singer. A more melodic one, I suppose. too much Iced Earth in the vocals for me.


Glad to hear someone else say it. Like this band a lot, and certainly think Tim Aymar has chops, but I think his vocals are the thing that holds this band back. They have such a signature, pretty unique guitar sound, but Aymar just has that screechy, often grating, old school metal/hard rock delivery that keeps these guys squarely in that retro camp. Not a Euro-power yodeler, but just somebody with a warmer delivery I think would take their sound and a lot of these songs to the next level. They have a pretty innovative take on melodic metal which I think would shine through more with a vocalist who doesn't scream (literally) old school quite so much (reminds me of Graham Bonnett, Kevin Dubrow, and I just think that kind of vocal style doesn't do justice to this music).
Loading...
12.03.2012 - 20:53
Lit.
Account deleted
Why do I have a foreboding feeling this will be come this year's Septicflesh?
Loading...
12.03.2012 - 21:47
Verdun_sc
Written by Hammer34 on 12.03.2012 at 18:43
Glad to hear someone else say it. Like this band a lot, and certainly think Tim Aymar has chops, but I think his vocals are the thing that holds this band back. They have such a signature, pretty unique guitar sound, but Aymar just has that screechy, often grating, old school metal/hard rock delivery that keeps these guys squarely in that retro camp. Not a Euro-power yodeler, but just somebody with a warmer delivery I think would take their sound and a lot of these songs to the next level. They have a pretty innovative take on melodic metal which I think would shine through more with a vocalist who doesn't scream (literally) old school quite so much (reminds me of Graham Bonnett, Kevin Dubrow, and I just think that kind of vocal style doesn't do justice to this music).

Aye. Hell, I actually think Pharaoh would be fantastic with a guy like Fevre/Hansen at the vocal helm, or someone like that.
Loading...
12.03.2012 - 22:26
Hammer34
Quote:
Aye. Hell, I actually think Pharaoh would be fantastic with a guy like Fevre/Hansen at the vocal helm, or someone like that.


Me, I think a voice like Andy B. Franck's would be a great fit . . . strong, smooth mid range, but can get up there when he needs to . . . .

Or a guy like Antony Parviainen I think would be another good choice.
Loading...
12.03.2012 - 22:26
Milena
Learning To "X"
Written by Hammer34 on 12.03.2012 at 18:43

Written by Verdun_sc on 12.03.2012 at 17:27

I give it an 8. Thought it was damn good, but not fantastic. Some of Doc's points are valid.
Personally though I think the album would be better with a better singer. A more melodic one, I suppose. too much Iced Earth in the vocals for me.


Glad to hear someone else say it. Like this band a lot, and certainly think Tim Aymar has chops, but I think his vocals are the thing that holds this band back. They have such a signature, pretty unique guitar sound, but Aymar just has that screechy, often grating, old school metal/hard rock delivery that keeps these guys squarely in that retro camp. Not a Euro-power yodeler, but just somebody with a warmer delivery I think would take their sound and a lot of these songs to the next level. They have a pretty innovative take on melodic metal which I think would shine through more with a vocalist who doesn't scream (literally) old school quite so much (reminds me of Graham Bonnett, Kevin Dubrow, and I just think that kind of vocal style doesn't do justice to this music).

Interesting, one of the reasons why I liked this so much IS Tim Aymar. I find his vocal style to be a better fit for this music than for Control Denied.
----
"There comes a time when you look into the mirror and you realize that what you see is all that you will ever be. And then you accept it. Or you kill yourself. Or you stop looking in mirrors."
Loading...
12.03.2012 - 23:56
TrollandDie
Written by Hammer34 on 12.03.2012 at 18:43

Written by Verdun_sc on 12.03.2012 at 17:27

I give it an 8. Thought it was damn good, but not fantastic. Some of Doc's points are valid.
Personally though I think the album would be better with a better singer. A more melodic one, I suppose. too much Iced Earth in the vocals for me.


Glad to hear someone else say it. Like this band a lot, and certainly think Tim Aymar has chops, but I think his vocals are the thing that holds this band back. They have such a signature, pretty unique guitar sound, but Aymar just has that screechy, often grating, old school metal/hard rock delivery that keeps these guys squarely in that retro camp. Not a Euro-power yodeler, but just somebody with a warmer delivery I think would take their sound and a lot of these songs to the next level. They have a pretty innovative take on melodic metal which I think would shine through more with a vocalist who doesn't scream (literally) old school quite so much (reminds me of Graham Bonnett, Kevin Dubrow, and I just think that kind of vocal style doesn't do justice to this music).



Genuinely I feel that these vocals are a great fit for the band. They have a certain abrasive strain to which it feels Tim places a lot of actual effort from his part. A lot of power metal vocalists use a monotonish and often really synthetic sound that makes the music feel bland and dull to say the least.

This band has the power metal elements so I'd see where more melodic/harmonic vocalists would be a bigger asset. Yet, they also play with a thrashy and personalised sound which makes the music, with a lack of a better word on-hand, seem more ''real''. I think Tim allows for some dynamic changes as well and I can't really seem to think of another vocalist out there (maybe Barlow) that could have enhanced this listening experience.
----
Hello, my name is Mr......Snrub and I think it would be a capital idea to invest the money back in the nuclear plant.
Loading...
13.03.2012 - 03:05
strade
Written by Guest on 12.03.2012 at 20:53

Why do I have a foreboding feeling this will be come this year's Septicflesh?


HAHAHA no. Not even close. This band has no where near the amount of fans or rabid support and will mostly go ignored by those not strictly into the genre or in the know. US power metal is no where near as revered as the Euro variety anyway, which is complete and utter bullshit.
----
My lo-fi synth project: http://luciddreamer.bandcamp.com
Loading...
14.03.2012 - 18:18
Fredd
Account deleted
I couldnt have put it better myself
Loading...

Hits total: 4192 | This month: 15