Rating:
N/A
Cannibal Corpse - Torture
13 March 2012


01. Demented Aggression
02. Sarcophagic Frenzy
03. Scourge Of Iron
04. Encased In Concrete
05. As Deep As The Knife Will Go
06. Intestinal Crank
07. Followed Home Then Killed
08. The Strangulation Chair
09. Caged... Contorted
10. Crucifier Avenged
11. Rabid
12. Torn Through
13. Death Walking Terror [live] [German edition bonus]
14. Make Them Suffer [live] [German edition bonus]
15. Disfigured [live] [German edition bonus]


Wow! What a step forward Cannibal Corpse has made! Synthed orchestras, accordion, even some female operatic segments thrown in! This is clearly the dawn of a new era for this band, reinventing themselves into something far more intricate, dynamic and delicate than we've seen from them - or metal in general - for ages.

I'm just fucking with you. This is Cannibal Corpse being Cannibal Corpse. Reviewing a Cannibal Corpse album seems so asinine by this point I needed to give you folks some reason to read on. These guys are basically the Motörhead of death metal; the overall quality may fluctuate from album to album, but not for lack of consistency. When you buy a Cannibal Corpse album, good or bad, you are going to get a set of frantic death metal beatings.

The only thing that feels different this time around is the more linear approach in the song writing. The simple album title and the less-clever-than-usual song titles reflect the nature of Torture. The sharp tempo shifts and more technical riffs don't seem to be as frequent as their other recent works. While that makes Torture a slightly more accessible Cannibal Corpse album, it serves to give it a more natural, visceral feel.

This entire review is completely useless, though. If you are familiar with Cannibal Corpse, you already have a pretty good idea of what this is going to sound like. If for whateverfuckingreason you've just heard of them today...Well, I suppose Torture ain't a bad place to start.


Band profile: Cannibal Corpse
Album: Torture


 



Written on 13.03.2012 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 42  
Users visited: 544  
Search this topic:  


vezzy - 13.03.2012 at 09:13  
In other words, not worth listening.
LeChron James - 13.03.2012 at 09:15  
I would be SO down to hear accordions and female vocals in a Cannibal Corpse album. Instant album of the decade.
Cynic Metalhead - 13.03.2012 at 10:08  
Just finished listening this album twice and yeah they completely outdo their last release Evisceration Plague.
theFIST - 13.03.2012 at 18:16  
Seen them,enjoyed that and like the new album
it"s as expected and good
Mindheist - 13.03.2012 at 22:37  
"Wow! What a step forward Cannibal Corpse has made! Synthed orchestras, accordion, even some female operatic segments thrown in! This is clearly the dawn of a new era for this band, reinventing themselves into something far more intricate, dynamic and delicate than we've seen from them - or metal in general - for ages."

Boy! This is definitely going to freak somebody out
Mr. Doctor - 13.03.2012 at 22:40  
Written by Mindheist on 13.03.2012 at 22:37
Boy! This is definitely going to freak somebody out


The best part is that this will probably be the only thing visible from the homepage.
Mindheist - 13.03.2012 at 22:45  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 13.03.2012 at 22:40

The best part is that this will probably be the only thing visible from the homepage.

Shit! I forgot about that. I'm looking forward to it
Unhealer - 14.03.2012 at 02:00  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 13.03.2012 at 22:40

The best part is that this will probably be the only thing visible from the homepage.


...and you were right Already took a screenshot of it, it's beautiful.
PocketMetal - 14.03.2012 at 08:02  
The moment I read " female operatic segments " I was like : what a brave woman =))
you got me there , I have never listened to this band since I read some of their old lyrics ... and I'm not going to .
Moosh666 - 14.03.2012 at 13:04  
Despite not being a fan of either band, I think Global Flatline should be regarded higher because Aborted actually outdid themselves, whereas CC released another boring generic Death Metal album IMO.
JBeast666 - 14.03.2012 at 13:58  
I just received my copy in the mail, I got the special edition, came with a Tee shirt and vinyl (which looks sick btw). Loving the album! I have listened to it 2 times now and absolutely love it!
Cynic Metalhead - 14.03.2012 at 14:49  
Written by PocketMetal on 14.03.2012 at 08:02

you got me there , I have never listened to this band since I read some of their old lyrics ... and I'm not going to .


I despise some of the Overkill's old lyrical stuff...that means I should hate Overkill? I suppose you can never judge any band from lyrical stuff and anybody thinks like that...person is an useless Moron.
Soviet - 14.03.2012 at 15:58  
You had me interested for a moment...
PocketMetal - 14.03.2012 at 16:41  
Written by Cynic Metalhead on 14.03.2012 at 14:49

Written by PocketMetal on 14.03.2012 at 08:02

you got me there , I have never listened to this band since I read some of their old lyrics ... and I'm not going to .


I despise some of the Overkill's old lyrical stuff...that means I should hate Overkill? I suppose you can never judge any band from lyrical stuff and anybody thinks like that...person is an useless Moron.


I think who writes something like lyrics from Tomb Of The Mutilated is not human enough for my time .
Troy Killjoy - 14.03.2012 at 16:43  
Written by PocketMetal on 14.03.2012 at 16:41
I think who writes something like lyrics from Tomb Of The Mutilated is not human enough for my time .

What a sad, sad comment.
Cynic Metalhead - 14.03.2012 at 17:00  
Written by PocketMetal on 14.03.2012 at 16:41

Written by Cynic Metalhead on 14.03.2012 at 14:49

Written by PocketMetal on 14.03.2012 at 08:02

you got me there , I have never listened to this band since I read some of their old lyrics ... and I'm not going to .


I despise some of the Overkill's old lyrical stuff...that means I should hate Overkill? I suppose you can never judge any band from lyrical stuff and anybody thinks like that...person is an useless Moron.


I think who writes something like lyrics from Tomb Of The Mutilated is not human enough for my time .


May be some of the words has offended you/ your religion but if you think in totality, it's not that bad either. They are bunch of Old School Brutal Death Metal dudes who heavily belongs on gore, gore,gore. excoriating human flesh and what not. you may hate this band, but they have a big following apart from you.
Papa_Ray - 14.03.2012 at 17:04  
Torture is a much better album than Evisceration Plague. Plague got a bit bogged down by mid-paced riffing and songs that sounded too linear. Cannibal is best when they mix up fast and slow riffs in the same song. Torture flows better, mixes up the balls-out-hauling-dick riffing with the Cannibal groove to greater effect, and Alex Webster's bass tone hasn't sounded better in over a decade. Though it is probably a bit early to say, I still probably prefer Kill. It's definitely better than Gore Obsessed, The Wretched Spawn, and Evisceration Plague.

And 'Scourge of Iron' is a pleasure to crank the hell out of while driving.
Captain Obvious - 14.03.2012 at 17:24  
Why change if you have a great formula? I mean... do you want to be like Pepsi? Or New Coke?
Troy Killjoy - 14.03.2012 at 17:46  
Written by Captain Obvious on 14.03.2012 at 17:24
I mean... do you want to be like Pepsi? Or New Coke?

I prefer flavored soda to be honest.
PocketMetal - 14.03.2012 at 17:49  
Written by PocketMetal on 14.03.2012 at 08:02


May be some of the words has offended you/ your religion but if you think in totality, it's not that bad either. They are bunch of Old School Brutal Death Metal dudes who heavily belongs on gore, gore,gore. excoriating human flesh and what not. you may hate this band, but they have a big following apart from you.


I don't "hate" this band I just don't listen to them . I listen to Nile or Quo Vadis if I'm in need of some Death Metal . but it's still not the best genre for me .
whatever who cares xD
Cynic Metalhead - 14.03.2012 at 17:49  
Written by Captain Obvious on 14.03.2012 at 17:24

do you want to be like Pepsi? Or New Coke?


I wanna be

Baz Anderson - 14.03.2012 at 19:35  
Although on a casual listen this might sound like any other Cannibal Corpse album, I'm only on my second play through now but I think this album is noticeably a cut above the others. The guitar work especially is much more adventurous... so far I think this is a really really great album.
Cynic Metalhead - 14.03.2012 at 19:56  
I like the guitar work too, it was really fast paced heavy album with palpitation drumming has actually made a special image of itself. Not a bad work though.
theflyingmachine - 15.03.2012 at 13:40  
I like about three or four songs on this album and the production is definitely preferred over Kill or Evisceration Plague. But, the remaining tracks might sound different than what Cannibal Corpse has put out in the past, but it still sounds like every other death metal album coming out anymore. In other words, 10 or 11 of the tracks do absolutely nothing for me. A couple of the albums since Bloodthirst have been above average, but none have been great, and this continues that.
D.T. Metal - 15.03.2012 at 18:55  
Written by PocketMetal on 14.03.2012 at 17:49
I don't "hate" this band I just don't listen to them . I listen to Nile or Quo Vadis if I'm in need of some Death Metal . but it's still not the best genre for me .
whatever who cares xD

hmmmm,...no wonder you don't listen to CC if Nile and Quo Vadis are your sources for Death Metal

I thing Torture is a really good album. Do I like some of their older stuff better? Sure, but Cannibal Corpse proved once again with this release that they are still very much relevant in today's vast sea of Death Metal bands.
Marcel Hubregtse - 15.03.2012 at 20:30  
Written by D.T. Metal on 15.03.2012 at 18:55

but Cannibal Corpse proved once again with this release that they are still very much relevant in today's vast sea of Death Metal bands.


Tp me they have never ever been relevant in the vast sea of today's and also yesteryears' death metal bands. Not when their debut hit the scene and not now.
Mr. Doctor - 15.03.2012 at 22:10  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 15.03.2012 at 20:30
Tp me they have never ever been relevant in the vast sea of today's and also yesteryears' death metal bands. Not when their debut hit the scene and not now.


If anything... It has become only less relevant.
knightlightning - 18.03.2012 at 14:42  
"Wow! What a step forward Cannibal Corpse has made! Synthed orchestras, accordion, even some female operatic segments thrown in! This is clearly the dawn of a new era for this band, reinventing themselves into something far more intricate, dynamic and delicate than we've seen from them - or metal in general - for ages."

That won't work again... oh wait, maybe
Mattybu - 19.03.2012 at 04:43  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 15.03.2012 at 20:30

Written by D.T. Metal on 15.03.2012 at 18:55

but Cannibal Corpse proved once again with this release that they are still very much relevant in today's vast sea of Death Metal bands.


Tp me they have never ever been relevant in the vast sea of today's and also yesteryears' death metal bands. Not when their debut hit the scene and not now.


Agreed, they have basically sealed their fate as irrelevant by refusing to evolve over the years also. Could have guessed almost every point in this review 100% before reading it.

This is the only thing relevant about Cannibal Corpse

Big-Al - 02.04.2012 at 09:48  
New album is great. best since the wretched spawn. 10/10
Angelic Storm - 02.04.2012 at 11:52  
Written by Mattybu on 19.03.2012 at 04:43
Agreed, they have basically sealed their fate as irrelevant by refusing to evolve over the years also. Could have guessed almost every point in this review 100% before reading it.


"Refusing to evolve"? Exactly what do you mean by "evolve"? If you can't hear any difference between the stuff on "Torture" and say "Butchered At Birth", I'd suggest getting your ears syringed. If you mean they've never changed their basic genre of metal, well, we all know the flak that many bands have came in for, for doing just that. The truth is, no matter what a band does, a section of people will criticise them for it, this is simply unavoidable. You can't please everyone, and that's just the way it is.

Autopsy stayed true to their roots, and so have Cannibal Corpse, and some people have criticised them for that. But look at what happened to Morbid Angel when they "experimented" with their sound. That was hardly warmly accepted by the death metal faithful now, was it?

They may be irrelevant to you, but they certainly aren't to me, and many other death metal fans.

Oh, and Baz is absolutely spot on. I agree with his post completely.
Mattybu - 02.04.2012 at 17:59  
Written by Angelic Storm on 02.04.2012 at 11:52

Written by Mattybu on 19.03.2012 at 04:43
Agreed, they have basically sealed their fate as irrelevant by refusing to evolve over the years also. Could have guessed almost every point in this review 100% before reading it.


"Refusing to evolve"? Exactly what do you mean by "evolve"? If you can't hear any difference between the stuff on "Torture" and say "Butchered At Birth", I'd suggest getting your ears syringed. If you mean they've never changed their basic genre of metal, well, we all know the flak that many bands have came in for, for doing just that. The truth is, no matter what a band does, a section of people will criticise them for it, this is simply unavoidable. You can't please everyone, and that's just the way it is.

Autopsy stayed true to their roots, and so have Cannibal Corpse, and some people have criticised them for that. But look at what happened to Morbid Angel when they "experimented" with their sound. That was hardly warmly accepted by the death metal faithful now, was it?

They may be irrelevant to you, but they certainly aren't to me, and many other death metal fans.


There's a difference between the music really evolving and the effects that a couple decades will have on it. The production on most death metal albums nowadays sounds different than it would have in the early/mid 90's. There's nothing wrong with being a fan of them, I just personally have no interest in them. But to say that they have really evolved or gone anywhere is questionable.

Good point on Morbid Angel too. I suppose that if you're going to make a change like that you have to know how to do it right first. I'd bet a lot of bands don't make changes simply because they either have cash flow or don't want to alienate their fan base.

Cannibal Corpse's next album should be called "Kill A Cop". Ah I miss Radikult jokes
Angelic Storm - 02.04.2012 at 19:34  
Written by Mattybu on 02.04.2012 at 17:59
There's a difference between the music really evolving and the effects that a couple decades will have on it. The production on most death metal albums nowadays sounds different than it would have in the early/mid 90's. There's nothing wrong with being a fan of them, I just personally have no interest in them. But to say that they have really evolved or gone anywhere is questionable.

Good point on Morbid Angel too. I suppose that if you're going to make a change like that you have to know how to do it right first. I'd bet a lot of bands don't make changes simply because they either have cash flow or don't want to alienate their fan base.

Cannibal Corpse's next album should be called "Kill A Cop". Ah I miss Radikult jokes



Well, I would say that their music has actually evolved. The musicianship has certainly improved tenfold since their earlier days, which has manifested itself in some of the material being much more technical than on earlier albums. Some of their George Fisher-era songs certainly fit squarely into the technical death metal category, which certainly wasn't the case with any of their earlier output. There's also been a further emphasis on actual songcraft, creating more memorable, even catchy songs and riffs.

Whether you think they have evolved or not all comes down to what criteria you feel a band has to meet before you would say they have evolved. I would say they definitely have. Though if you personally believe a band actually has to change their fundamental style to evolve, then to those people, CC definitely haven't. And of course, there's nothing wrong with you having no personal interest in them.

You say a band has to "know how to do it right" if they are going to make a radical change to their sound. But I can't think of a single solitary band who has drastically altered their signature sound, and not came in for criticsm from certain quarters for doing it. If you start playing a different sub-genre of metal from the one you're most well known for, elements of your core fanbase will not react favourably to the change. So Morbid Angel are far from alone in that respect. I personally didn't like the experimentation on the new Morbid Angel album, but I also don't think they "sold out" either. Of course, I can't say that for sure, but I personally don't think more money/fame was the driving factor behind their experimentation.

Don't you mean Morbid Angel's new album should be called "Kill A Cop"? lol
Mattybu - 02.04.2012 at 21:40  
Written by Angelic Storm on 02.04.2012 at 19:34


You say a band has to "know how to do it right" if they are going to make a radical change to their sound. But I can't think of a single solitary band who has drastically altered their signature sound, and not came in for criticsm from certain quarters for doing it. If you start playing a different sub-genre of metal from the one you're most well known for, elements of your core fanbase will not react favourably to the change. So Morbid Angel are far from alone in that respect. I personally didn't like the experimentation on the new Morbid Angel album, but I also don't think they "sold out" either. Of course, I can't say that for sure, but I personally don't think more money/fame was the driving factor behind their experimentation.



What I meant by that comment was if you're going to change, be good at what you're turning into. Let's take the classic Radikult for example. Maybe Morbid Angel would get some props if they could write a good industrial song, but that shit is terrible. Like embarrassingly bad. Even if there was someone out there thinking "man, I wish MA would do industrial stuff" they wouldn't be happy with Radikult. Well they shouldn't.

And I meant CC's next album should be called Kill A Cop, kinda like a shout-out to Morbid Angel lol. Or just re-release Kill and add "A Cop" to the end
Fritillaria - 30.04.2012 at 01:20  
Written by Cynic Metalhead on 14.03.2012 at 14:49

Written by PocketMetal on 14.03.2012 at 08:02

you got me there , I have never listened to this band since I read some of their old lyrics ... and I'm not going to .


I despise some of the Overkill's old lyrical stuff...that means I should hate Overkill? I suppose you can never judge any band from lyrical stuff and anybody thinks like that...person is an useless Moron.

+1
Fritillaria - 30.04.2012 at 01:30  
Written by PocketMetal on 14.03.2012 at 08:02

The moment I read " female operatic segments " I was like : what a brave woman =))
you got me there , I have never listened to this band since I read some of their old lyrics ... and I'm not going to .
and you judged the music by lyrics ?! lyrics are part of that music,as long as English is not your mother language, so you'd better listen to the music without reading the lyrics, lyrics are ornaments of music,you're not watching a film or reading a book which the most important part of them are words, the most important part of music is the music is being played by the musicians, I'm not trying to make you listening to Cannibal Corpse anyway.
PocketMetal - 30.04.2012 at 16:50  
Written by Guest on 30.04.2012 at 01:30

and you judged the music by lyrics ?! lyrics are part of that music,as long as English is not your mother language, so you'd better listen to the music without reading the lyrics, lyrics are ornaments of music,you're not watching a film or reading a book which the most important part of them are words, the most important part of music is the music is being played by the musicians, I'm not trying to make you listening to Cannibal Corpse anyway.


lyrics are a "part" of the music , and they better be good . it doesn't matter if English is not my mother language ... I can understand what I read . some bands like Tool would never be as great as they are if it wasn't for the amazing lyrics and concept . maybe lyrics are not important in death or black metal but they surely are in other genres . almost as important as the music itself .
Troy Killjoy - 30.04.2012 at 17:12  
If you don't want to listen to Cannibal Corpse because James Joyce didn't write their lyrics then so be it. Lyrics don't matter to me at all with these guys - I judge them based on what the music sounds like.

Could you imagine how limited I'd be if I refused to listen to bands/artists with childish lyrics?
Fritillaria - 30.04.2012 at 18:24  
@ Pocketmetal :What the heck ? are you really serious ? You are telling me a music band like Tool is great just because of their words in the music then the music itself!? so why did they bother to write music for such great words ? No boy! They wrote those great lyrics because they had that music on their mind before. I don't know really why some ppl listen to music and then just criticizing the words in the music that's really stupid. If you are really concerned with lyrics that much you'd better go for reading a poem book , cause what make those lyrics great in the music is the music have been written before,no the lyrics individually can't make the music great.I even don't know why I'm really trying to tell you this that's the music makes a band specific. What you say is like sayin the ketchup is much more delicious than the burger itself !!
Cynic Metalhead - 30.04.2012 at 19:54  
What kinda lyrics you gonna fetch in Cannibal Corpse?

Gore, eviscerate, blatant ripped off abdomen, knife blurted cut intestines and what not and it's really funny people still gives a shit about "reading a lyrics like a pop fucked Popsicle fanboy". If you really dare to care about lyrical agenda listen to Rap/ Hip Hop , where you see an ample amount of atrocious "freestyle" "personal beefs(including bashing on their gf's or wives)" and many other kinda Rap attacks. that scene surely makes the whole scene pretty funny.
Boxcar Willy - 11.07.2013 at 17:29  
If you can decipher 10 words from TOTM without reading them I'll give you a five cent piece.
Annable Courts - 31.07.2013 at 15:40  
It most probably deserves about an 8/10, or perhaps 7.5/10.
Yes, it's a lot less mathematical than the previous 3 (Wretched to Evisceration). And honestly they don't really compensate that a whole lot, a catchier, better written simple back-to-basics could have been made. But Torture isn't bad, by any means either.

In quality, it's definitely a step down from the previous 2 which I consider as a Cannibal Corpse era (Kill, Evisceration, Torture).
The traditional simple, single-like Cannibal Corpse track here is complete shyt compared to the past few. "Scourge of Iron" is just a joke relatively to "Evisceration Plague" or "Death Walking Terror" or "Decency Defied".

The album lacks the depth of the past ones: each song is fine, with some cool musical themes, but no riff really stands out like the previous albums have produced.
A special mention to "Followed Home...Killed". That's an awesome CC song.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Sexcrement - Sloppy Seconds 4.5 29.05.2012 by Mr. Doctor
Extreme metal forum Cannibal Corpse @ Buffalo Music Hall of Fame Awards 10/03/2013 4.5 08.10.2013 by Mercyful_Kate
News Cannibal Corpse - Comment On Cancelled Russian Shows 4.5 15.10.2014 by Bad English
News Cannibal Corpse - Announce Support Bands For European Tour 4.5 13.08.2012 by J. N.
Reviews Bible Of The Devil - For The Love Of Thugs And Fools 4.5 04.05.2012 by Boxcar Willy



Hits total: 7831 | This month: 69