Rating:
9.5
Step In Fluid - One Step Beyond
2011


01. One Step Beyond
02. Vicious Connection
03. Color
04. Dead End
05. Beat Hunter
06. The Bridge
07. Smooth
08. As We Dance


Christ almighty...guys...is metal allowed to be this funky? There's a buttload of talent going on here, is all I can say. This jazzy slab of prog has to be one of the most adventurous albums to come out in years.

One Step Beyond is one confusing ass album. One moment, you will be hearing some funky jazz album, the next, you'll be listening to some African style music fused into some funk along the lines of George Clinton & Parliament, maybe with a touch of some Prince. Right, so here I'm thinking "what the fuck, Season Of Mist? What have you?..." Before I can complete this thought, it breaks into some Primus-featuring-Zakk Wylde shit. Of course, there's some saxophone here and there, you can't have tr00 jazz-core without saxophone, duh! Also, turntables. Yes, turntables, yes they sound great, and no, neither Fred Durst nor Slipknot are part of this equation.

So you've got an idea of what the components are - how does it all pan out? Well, it's groovy as shit is what it is. Every instrument is played with mouth-watering precision and technical prowess, yet everything is tasteful. There's a certain emphasis on subtleties here that doesn't seem typical for a lot of prog. A certain respect is held toward the overall feel, rather than constant showing off, despite the fact all the members are fantastic musicians.

Here I thought I really didn't have a taste for prog, yet I'm blown away by this. Sure, Step In Fluid may not be for everyone. It's certainly not a "metal" record in your traditional sense, but it seems like something that would appeal to metal fans with a distinct taste for funky jazz. In fact, this seems like less of a jazz-influenced-metal album, but more of a jazz album played through (mostly) heavy metal instruments.


 



Written on 17.03.2012 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 34  
Users visited: 352  
Search this topic:  


K†ulu - 17.03.2012 at 12:36  
Three words: jazz, funky, prog --> I am sold. By the way, no vocals here?
Nosurper - 17.03.2012 at 13:31  
Whoa
Nosurper - 17.03.2012 at 13:43  
Very zappa-ey
Mr. Doctor - 17.03.2012 at 15:54  
Seems like the kind of prog I might like specially considering that I know how you aren't exactly a prog-guy either. Thanks for the heads up.
wormdrink414 - 17.03.2012 at 23:11  
I want this. Can never get enough funk.
Troy Killjoy - 18.03.2012 at 07:10  
Interesting review but it seems like with a 9.5 you'd be praising it a lot more. :/
Moose - 18.03.2012 at 07:14  
The main man behind this is Trepalium's guitarist.... and I always loved that bands funky guitar riffs... gonna check this out ASAP, cheers!
neonxaos - 19.03.2012 at 10:42  
This is seriously good stuff, groovy all the way.
InnerSelf - 19.03.2012 at 11:06  
Yeah more jazzy stuff please will probably be enjoying this
Spirit Molecule - 19.03.2012 at 14:21  
Finally, these guys get some more attention!
Completely agree with the review. I loved the album and it was great to see how funky and groovy Harun had made the whole album still incorporating metal styles into it. A brilliant guitarist along with a crazy drummer and some nice groovy bass lines.
Since there is a review now, you guys can visit the thread I made last year
Step in Fluid
Unhealer - 19.03.2012 at 14:29  
Does this sound anything like Panzerballett? It seems so.
Either way, absolutely sold.

EDIT: Nothing like Panzer, but sounds good. I'm blasting it @ work and the guys are liking it.
K†ulu - 20.03.2012 at 09:34  
This is quite similar to Fluxious minus the vocals. Great find, Doc! Guys, you can listen to the album at Deezer (after registering with facebook).

P.S. My number of posts has reached quite a proggy number.
maged918 - 20.03.2012 at 13:11  
Sounds incredible, definitely trying it out
Edmund Fogg - 20.03.2012 at 16:54  
I am now officialy teased. I gotta get my hands on this.
Mr. Doctor - 20.03.2012 at 23:28  
Written by K†ulu on 20.03.2012 at 09:34
This is quite similar to Fluxious minus the vocals.


This could explain why I dig this but not Fluxious, wasn't too keen on the vocals. I dunno, quite annoying at times.
I don't find the music that similar though. This feels far more funky while Fluxious was more jazzy... Not to mention that Step In Fluid is far more metal based to me. Similar wavelength but still pretty different.
K†ulu - 20.03.2012 at 23:51  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 20.03.2012 at 23:28

Written by K†ulu on 20.03.2012 at 09:34
This is quite similar to Fluxious minus the vocals.


This could explain why I dig this but not Fluxious, wasn't too keen on the vocals. I dunno, quite annoying at times.
I don't find the music that similar though. This feels far more funky while Fluxious was more jazzy... Not to mention that Step In Fluid is far more metal based to me. Similar wavelength but still pretty different.

Probably, you are right as far as one being more jazzy while the other more funky; both, however, similarly combine metal and their respective genres. Plus, both are quite groovy. Step in Fluid also sound more technical and indeed heavier, but it is interesting how similar their guitar tones are .
!J.O.O.E.! - 20.03.2012 at 23:54  
S'pretty funky stuff. Has members of Trepalium which explains a lot. I like the mercifully short 30 minute length, I'm not sure I'd want it any longer.
DelightfulJim - 21.03.2012 at 02:00  
I really enjoyed this album
LeChron James - 21.03.2012 at 11:46  
Hmmm, I'm down. As long as it's Violent and Funky, BRING IT.
Frank Sinistra - 21.03.2012 at 23:59  
This album is actually quite eermmmmmm over-rated (though it's really good and weird great actually)
3rdWorld - 22.03.2012 at 16:18  
Perfectly agree with the review, this is not that funky really, but very jazz-proggy indeed. Could've been more variety in the song writing. A solid 8 in my book.
Rupert - 22.03.2012 at 18:18  
Judging by the myspace songs, it's not that jazzy. So far one song had a jazzy solo in it, the rest was pure groovy metalfunk. That being said, good shit, thanks for the review Doc!
Panterica - 22.03.2012 at 21:35  
I run into a lot of jazz-infused-metal lately so I'm kinda turned off by the idea of getting to know another band which seems to fit to that genre. Nevertheless, I'm curious. I might give it a shot.
Sonic MrSumo - 22.03.2012 at 23:17  
From the review, I'm thinking early Mr. Bungle; i.e. Love Is A Fist...amazing song!
Valaskjalf - 23.03.2012 at 23:26  
Just a pity theres so much repititions within the songs...sort of goes on a loop. Funky though, its a bit of a "Pink Panther" meets "Starsky & Hutch". Thats the only way I can summarise it lol
a MasT - 25.03.2012 at 01:15  
Maybe im a biased jazz guy but this rocks balls
Fat & Sassy! - 25.03.2012 at 10:20  
Sounds mostly like early Primus to me... But pretty groovy none-the-less!
Grody2themax - 26.03.2012 at 01:35  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 20.03.2012 at 23:54

S'pretty funky stuff. Has members of Trepalium which explains a lot.


Wow, I just found two fucking awesome bands I never knew existed until now. Step In Fluid and Trepalium. I have some listening to do.
Troy Killjoy - 26.03.2012 at 02:30  
Written by Grody2themax on 26.03.2012 at 01:35
Trepalium

They're insanely groovy, funked-out death metal and they display a ton of technicality without detracting from their ability to make you dance. Very fun band.
Grody2themax - 26.03.2012 at 02:51  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 26.03.2012 at 02:30

Written by Grody2themax on 26.03.2012 at 01:35
Trepalium

They're insanely groovy, funked-out death metal and they display a ton of technicality without detracting from their ability to make you dance. Very fun band.


Yes, and to put it more simply than that, Trepalium is the non hipster version of IWRESTLEDABEARONCE that is actually good.
Troy Killjoy - 26.03.2012 at 02:53  
Written by Grody2themax on 26.03.2012 at 02:51
Trepalium is the non hipster version of IWRESTLEDABEARONCE

The problem with iwrestledabearonce is that they don't know how to write music. They just jam with every instrument they have and try to cater to hipsters and scene kids with their alternative image.

Trepalium just make you shake your shit without worrying about what people think of them.
Grody2themax - 26.03.2012 at 07:26  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 26.03.2012 at 02:53

Written by Grody2themax on 26.03.2012 at 02:51
Trepalium is the non hipster version of IWRESTLEDABEARONCE

The problem with iwrestledabearonce is that they don't know how to write music.


Agreed. I'd hate to admit it, but the guitarists are actually technically proficient and must know what theyre doing to some degree, but went way over the top.

Anyways, I didn't mean to go off topic because I know how forum people hate that lol. So, Step In Fluid is the shit, and so is Trepalium.
JohnDoe - 06.06.2012 at 18:19  
I enjoy this album a lot; too short though, left me wanting more.
IronAngel - 31.08.2012 at 01:59  
MS seems to have the year wrong. Just spotted this on some 2012 list, but the album was actually released in early 2011 according to every other source I saw on the internet.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Step In Fluid - One Step Beyond 7.5 22.08.2014 by LeKiwi
Reviews The Ritual - Beyond The Fragile Horizon 6 14.01.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Funeral Whore - Step Into Damnation 6 12.03.2012 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Megaton Leviathan - Past 21 Beyond The Arctic Cell 6 03.09.2014 by Apothecary
Reviews Dungeon - One Step Beyond 5.5 30.09.2007 by



Hits total: 5241 | This month: 47