Rating:
N/A
Lord Mantis - Pervertor
12 March 2012


01. Perverter Of The Will
02. Septichrist
03. Vile Divinity
04. Levia
05. Ritual Killer
06. At The Mouth
07. The Whip And The Body


Lord Mantis turn us into babies. What do I mean exactly? Babies are the only form of human quite content to roll around in its own shit (or other people's, or animal's, it makes no difference to a baby). As we get older we gain instinctive defenses against anything that might contain disease. We recoil at the site of waste, we are repulsed by the smell of decay, we strive futilely to keep ourselves clean from infection, yet, the draw we feel to bands such as this is almost insatiable and when you consider the fact Lord Mantis are like an out of control, shit-filled machine, churning out lumps of foetid, rotting excrement for no real good reason then we become somewhat paradoxical in our desires. We become babies.

You may be unwittingly familiar with members of Lord Mantis. The bassist/vocalist is in fact the drummer for Nachtmystium and Von (for extra kvlt points) and the guitarist also shares duties on those bands, not to mention Avichi. They share their drummer, the excellently named Bill Bumgardner, with fellow sludgers Indian as well. Naturally there's some major pedigree at work here.

There's nothing inherently new on Pervertor. This brand of blackened sludge can be found in the forms of Coffinworm and to some extent a similar tone can be excavated from Dragged Into Sunlight's death-oriented sound, too. Lord Mantis' version of this muck offers a more mechanised groove, primarily mid-paced to-the-face bludgeons, occasionally the tempo picks up quite significantly, on "At the Mouth" for example, but the pace largely remains a constant, using repetition to ground the listener into the mud using the juggernaut drumming and thick tones, save for the odd solo and lick the melody is kept to a foreboding minimum. They aren't afraid to explore their songwriting chops though. The 9 minuter "Ritual Killer" is a tumultuous and challenging affair: downright downtuned crushing slabs flirt back and forth with sullen leads. The vocals are predictably harsh throughout, pointed toward black metal and stained in reverb effects for that extra inhuman bile.

I think you have an idea of what to expect here. One can only paint a limited vision with colourful adjectives. The disgusting artwork is a dead giveaway; this isn't an album you'll be playing at your Grandmother's birthday party. If you have a penchant for the truly vile then you could do a lot worse than metaphorically slather yourself in Pervertor's atmospheric grime. I know you want it. I know you're a sick bastard, you can't hide it from me.


Band profile: Lord Mantis
Album: Pervertor


 


written by !J.O.O.E.! | 18.03.2012



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 39  
Users visited: 244  
Search this topic:  


Edmund Fogg - 18.03.2012 at 06:11  
Keep'em coming. Another great review. I listened a bit to the vid you posted and I lasted for about 1 min. I just can't stand it. I guess I was never big on scatophilia.
BloodTears - 18.03.2012 at 11:47  
I've been listening to this one, so it's cool you reviewed it. I think you'll be reviewing many of the albums I've been listening to, we are in sync!
Ag Fox - 18.03.2012 at 16:16  
Written by BloodTears on 18.03.2012 at 11:47

we are in sync!
Mr Doctor will be jealous
Mr. Doctor - 18.03.2012 at 18:08  
Written by Ag Fox on 18.03.2012 at 16:16

Written by BloodTears on 18.03.2012 at 11:47

we are in sync!
Mr Doctor will be jealous


The joke has been beaten to death by now tbh.
Rupert - 19.03.2012 at 16:11  
I heart filth.
Branzig - 19.03.2012 at 18:01  
Been listening to this album since it dropped...It's pretty good...but for some reason the vocals really annoy me at parts...

So it is probably going to become trade fodder for me later this weekend!
a MasT - 19.03.2012 at 18:57  
Lmao.
Doc Godin - 19.03.2012 at 22:24  
This looks good.

Also, I love that style of cover art, looks like the same guy who did Wolves Like Us and Dragged Into Sunlight.

I'll be checking this out for sure.
!J.O.O.E.! - 19.03.2012 at 22:25  
Written by Doc Godin on 19.03.2012 at 22:24

This looks good.

Also, I love that style of cover art, looks like the same guy who did Wolves Like Us and Dragged Into Sunlight.

I'll be checking this out for sure.

Dragged Into Sunlight was the first thing that came to me as well when I saw the cover. It is very pretty (in a sordid kind of way).
Doc Godin - 19.03.2012 at 22:30  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 19.03.2012 at 22:25

Dragged Into Sunlight was the first thing that came to me as well when I saw the cover. It is very pretty (in a sordid kind of way).

And similar tones to Dragged Into Sunlight? I've really fallen in love with that album lately, so I will probably dig something even remotely similar. Though they do tend to go a wee bit overboard on the sound bite sampling.
!J.O.O.E.! - 19.03.2012 at 22:32  
Written by Doc Godin on 19.03.2012 at 22:30

And similar tones to Dragged Into Sunlight? I've really fallen in love with that album lately, so I will probably dig something even remotely similar. Though they do tend to go a wee bit overboard on the sound bite sampling.

Yeah it does make me think of them sans the death metal influence, their sound is a bit deeper and blunter rather than in your face harsh. I can't see any reason why someone who likes dirty blackened sludge wouldn't enjoy this to be honest (Marcel didn't saying it was too mechanical, but then that's Marcel...)
Mr. Doctor - 19.03.2012 at 22:32  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 19.03.2012 at 22:25

Dragged Into Sunlight was the first thing that came to me as well when I saw the cover. It is very pretty (in a sordid kind of way).


I can't help but seeing the "Y U NO x" in that artwork dude... look at the posture of the lowest head. It's hilarious. even those kind o tentacles or something have the same psoture like the hands on the Y U NO meme.
!J.O.O.E.! - 19.03.2012 at 22:34  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 19.03.2012 at 22:32


I can't help but seeing the "Y U NO x" in that artwork dude... look at the posture of the lowest head. It's hilarious. even those kind o tentacles or something have the same psoture like the hands on the Y U NO meme.

You spend too much time on the internet.
Mr. Doctor - 19.03.2012 at 22:37  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 19.03.2012 at 22:34

You spend too much time on the internet.


The posture is hella similar to me but I guess I could be the only one.
!J.O.O.E.! - 19.03.2012 at 22:38  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 19.03.2012 at 22:37


The posture is hella similar to me but I guess I could be the only one.

I dunno, now you mention it it looks like Jebus is saying "COME AT ME BRO!"
Tristus Scriptor - 19.03.2012 at 23:22  
I love your analogies. As a writer of 23+ years, I tend to be drawn in by a good opening in your particular idiom. Personally, this type of metal is not my cup of tea. You, however, make me want to check it out. Kudos! \m/
!J.O.O.E.! - 19.03.2012 at 23:24  
Written by Tristus Scriptor on 19.03.2012 at 23:22

I love your analogies. As a writer of 23+ years, I tend to be drawn in by a good opening in your particular idiom. Personally, this type of metal is not my cup of tea. You, however, make me want to check it out. Kudos! \m/

Cheers! You can't beat a good, disgusting analogy to draw someone in, even if said analogy then repulses them out of trying the music
Mr. Doctor - 19.03.2012 at 23:49  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 19.03.2012 at 22:38

I dunno, now you mention it it looks like Jebus is saying "COME AT ME BRO!"


Now I'm just imagining dialogs between jesus and the Y U NO guy.
Branzig - 21.03.2012 at 06:58  
Heck Yes!

Used this album to trade up for a rare Alternative Tentacles compilation double cassette!

Now that's what I call turning a turd into a chocolate bar!
Frank Sinistra - 21.03.2012 at 23:17  
This review convinced me to buy the album and give it a spin

oh and to check up 9gag as well just to satisfy my curiosity of what Mr. Doctor said
-DC-002- - 30.03.2012 at 10:49  
Really cool, thanks. Grimiest album of the year for me so far.
Troy Killjoy - 07.04.2012 at 06:30  
Nice, filthy blackened sludge. Great music to masturbate with sandpaper to.
Mr. Doctor - 01.06.2012 at 02:12  
Written by Branzig on 21.03.2012 at 06:58

Heck Yes!

Used this album to trade up for a rare Alternative Tentacles compilation double cassette!

Now that's what I call turning a turd into a chocolate bar!



So I take it you didn't like this album? o__o

Lame.
Fredd - 03.12.2012 at 18:46  
Oh Joe, I miss your reviews... Why did you stop?
!J.O.O.E.! - 03.12.2012 at 20:04  
Written by Fredd on 03.12.2012 at 18:46

Oh Joe, I miss your reviews... Why did you stop?

Because I'm so lazy I have an official one for the new Incantation in the works though.
Alex Fenger - 03.12.2012 at 20:59  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 03.12.2012 at 20:04

Because I'm so lazy I have an official one for the new Incantation in the works though.

Review Cosmosophy you fool
!J.O.O.E.! - 03.12.2012 at 21:15  
Written by Alex Fenger on 03.12.2012 at 20:59

Review Cosmosophy you fool

I probably should before someone else jumps on it. I'm kinda entering essay writing season though so not sure how much time I'll have.
Mr. Doctor - 03.12.2012 at 22:42  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 03.12.2012 at 20:04
I have an official one for the new Incantation in the works though.


Huh? I suppose it won't be too positive.
Daniell - 04.12.2012 at 09:30  
The cover is endearingly disgusting.
mz - 29.08.2013 at 13:32  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 03.12.2012 at 21:15

Written by Alex Fenger on 03.12.2012 at 20:59

Review Cosmosophy you fool

I probably should before someone else jumps on it. I'm kinda entering essay writing season though so not sure how much time I'll have.

still waiting for new reviews. You are the laziest person in UK
!J.O.O.E.! - 29.08.2013 at 14:14  
Written by mz on 29.08.2013 at 13:32

You are the laziest person in UK

If you knew me in real life, you'd know for sure this absolutely true. I embody laziness.
Mr. Doctor - 29.08.2013 at 14:21  
It's been a while now since it got released and this album STILL rocks so fucking much it's rediculous. Goota love all that filth.
!J.O.O.E.! - 29.08.2013 at 14:26  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 29.08.2013 at 14:21

It's been a while now since it got released and this album STILL rocks so fucking much it's rediculous. Goota love all that filth.

Damn straight. It definitely set a modern benchmark for dirty blackened sludge.
Mr. Doctor - 29.08.2013 at 14:31  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 29.08.2013 at 14:26
Damn straight. It definitely set a modern benchmark for dirty blackened sludge.

Yeah, there's definitely some modern-classic quality to it in the same way as Alkerdeel sophomore album and Dragged Into Sunlight's debut. Only time will tell if that trio of albums remains memorable in the future.
mz - 29.08.2013 at 14:55  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 29.08.2013 at 14:14

Written by mz on 29.08.2013 at 13:32

You are the laziest person in UK

If you knew me in real life, you'd know for sure this absolutely true. I embody laziness.

I knew I should find sth really offensive
so that means that you would not do reviews anymore?
!J.O.O.E.! - 29.08.2013 at 14:57  
Written by mz on 29.08.2013 at 14:55

I knew I should find sth really offensive
so that means that you would not do reviews anymore?

They're not off the table. I might get a sudden urge to do some. Just don't know when
Mr. Doctor - 29.08.2013 at 15:18  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 29.08.2013 at 14:57

Written by mz on 29.08.2013 at 14:55

I knew I should find sth really offensive
so that means that you would not do reviews anymore?
They're not off the table. I might get a sudden urge to do some. Just don't know when

The end of time is fine by me.
Apothecary - 14.03.2014 at 15:48  
I always did think Indian and Lord Mantis sounded kinda similar. Now I know why
Troy Killjoy - 15.03.2014 at 00:12  
Written by Apothecary on 14.03.2014 at 15:48
I always did think Indian and Lord Mantis sounded kinda similar. Now I know why

Because they all write sexy, sexy music. And share a drummer I think. And live in the same city...? (Not 100% on that either.)

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Lord Mantis - Pervertor 6 18.03.2012 by Mr. Doctor
Reviews Lord Mantis - Death Mask 5.5 22.05.2014 by Cynic Metalhead
News Lord Mantis - Debut Another New Song 4.5 27.03.2014 by mz
News Lord Mantis - Stream New Song 4.5 28.02.2014 by Apothecary
News Lord Mantis - Recording New Album 4.5 12.11.2013 by mz



Hits total: 4207 | This month: 52