Despised Icon - Consumed By Your Poison review



Reviewer:
9.2

24 users:
6.79
Band: Despised Icon
Album: Consumed By Your Poison
Release date: October 2002


01. Compelled To Copulate
02. Poissonnariat
03. Grade A-One
04. Le Chêne Et Le Roseau
05. Dead King
06. Absolu
07. Fashionable
08. Interfere In Your Days
09. Clef De Voûte
10. Despise The Icons
11. Poissonariat [re-recorded version] [2006 reissued bonus]
12. Compelled To Copulate [re-recorded version] [2006 reissued bonus]


Despised Icon hail from the tr00 Kvlt, Montréal, in northern Canada. However even being from such a tr00 area these guys play something that's as far way from tr00 as we are from the sun. Yup, you guessed it, deathcore.

Now that being said they aren't playing your pansy-assed run o' the mill we dye our hair and stretch our earlobes deathcore, no, they play REAL deathcore. The music sounds like a zombie apocalypse movie soundtrack: fast, nasty and short, some even clocking in at under a minute. Grindcore lengths aside, the talent shows through in this fantabulous album. Chugging breakdowns, slamming drums, and my personal favorite, shrieking, madman-like vocals. Oh, and did I mention there are two, count 'em TWO, vocalists? You might think "oh, well they have two vocalists, what kind of crazy circus act is this?!"

Well you'd be retarded.

Instead of just being some kind of show, or act, the two vocalists definitely shine here, with one handling the highs, and the other the lows. Both vocalists combine into one powerhouse that makes you want to bare-knuckle box Brock Lesnar, they definitely make this album.

The breakdowns are defiantly noticeable, especially in songs such as Le Chểne Et Le Roseau. However, instead of ruining the album with constant breakdowns, they are set and displaced sporadically throughout, and are placed in perfect form, so perfect that you would severely miss them if they were gone. After all, what is deathcore without breakdowns?

(nothing, in case you couldn't pick that up)

Overall, buy this album, if you love deathcore, you'll have to change your pants, if you don't, I bet you a five cent piece you'll love this album.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 9

Written by Boxcar Willy | 21.03.2012


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.


Comments

Comments: 13   Visited by: 64 users
22.03.2012 - 03:01
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
I like the sarcasm/humor in this, and you worked on describing the music a lot better than your previous reviews. Keep up the good work and hopefully we'll start to see an identity with future publications.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
22.03.2012 - 03:50
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Troy Killjoy on 22.03.2012 at 03:01

I like the sarcasm/humor in this, and you worked on describing the music a lot better than your previous reviews. Keep up the good work and hopefully we'll start to see an identity with future publications.

Thanks!

This means a lot coming from you.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
22.03.2012 - 13:07
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Great band, one of those that tried their best to make deathcore a respectable genre and they definitely succeded in their carrier.

Great review too, you are improving.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
22.03.2012 - 23:25
Sonic MrSumo
I'd never thought I'd live to see the day where a deathcore album is rated in the 9's on MS. However I notice your lofty 9.2 is not shared by the wider MS community.

Stiff shit...I'll still give this one a listen.
----
All the bridges in the world won't save you, if there's no other side to cross to.
- Rock poetry from Silverchair.
Loading...
22.03.2012 - 23:56
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Sonic MrSumo on 22.03.2012 at 23:25

I'd never thought I'd live to see the day where a deathcore album is rated in the 9's on MS. However I notice your lofty 9.2 is not shared by the wider MS community.

Stiff shit...I'll still give this one a listen.

It's been downvoted by Deathcore haters, who havent even heard the album.

give it a listen, you won't regret it.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
23.03.2012 - 02:25
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
-10 to the proofreader:

Quote:
The breakdowns are defiantly noticeable
Loading...
23.03.2012 - 02:55
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Guest on 23.03.2012 at 02:25
-10 to the proofreader:

I saw that during my first read-through and was like... maybe he thinks they are defiantly noticeable.

But ya. PM Lyr about it, I'm sure she'll enjoy the mistake.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
23.03.2012 - 02:58
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by Troy Killjoy on 23.03.2012 at 02:55

I saw that during my first read-through and was like... maybe he thinks they are defiantly noticeable.

But ya. PM Lyr about it, I'm sure she'll enjoy the mistake.

It does indeed make a kinda sense but I suspect Billy boy didn't mean it like that
Loading...
23.03.2012 - 03:22
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Guest on 23.03.2012 at 02:58

Written by Troy Killjoy on 23.03.2012 at 02:55

I saw that during my first read-through and was like... maybe he thinks they are defiantly noticeable.

But ya. PM Lyr about it, I'm sure she'll enjoy the mistake.

It does indeed make a kinda sense but I suspect Billy boy didn't mean it like that

I totes did.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
26.04.2012 - 03:58
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
This is still one of my favourite albums.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
24.05.2012 - 21:58
Druss
Hmm, like one of the posters further up said, this seems to be getting some love, which does seem a little rare for a deathcore album. If I've never listened to a deathcore album before, would it be recommended as a good starter album for a noobie like me?

Also, 'cus I'm nice, I read it as ''definately noticeable''
Loading...
24.05.2012 - 22:02
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Druss on 24.05.2012 at 21:58

Hmm, like one of the posters further up said, this seems to be getting some love, which does seem a little rare for a deathcore album. If I've never listened to a deathcore album before, would it be recommended as a good starter album for a noobie like me?

Also, 'cus I'm nice, I read it as ''definately noticeable''

Damn auto correct >.>

anyway, this is a great album, give it a few spins, it's a solid album and would make a good starter album Just keep your mind open.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
24.05.2012 - 22:14
Uldreth
Written by Druss on 24.05.2012 at 21:58

Hmm, like one of the posters further up said, this seems to be getting some love, which does seem a little rare for a deathcore album. If I've never listened to a deathcore album before, would it be recommended as a good starter album for a noobie like me?

Also, 'cus I'm nice, I read it as ''definately noticeable''

Not sure how good this would be for a "starter".

This one's actually quite harsh and, I dunno how to say, lacking in hooks, at least I've found it so.

I'd direct you to "The Price Of Existence" by All Shall Perish or "When Legends Become Dust" by Conducting From The Grave as starter albums, tbh.
Loading...

Hits total: 3070 | This month: 4