Rating:
9.2
Despised Icon - Consumed By Your Poison
2 October 2002


01. Compelled To Copulate
02. Poissonnariat
03. Grade A-One
04. Le Chêne Et Le Roseau
05. Dead King
06. Absolu
07. Fashionable
08. Interfere In Your Days
09. Clef De Voûte
10. Despise The Icons
11. Poissonariat [re-recorded version] [2006 reissued bonus]
12. Compelled To Copulate [re-recorded version] [2006 reissued bonus]


Despised Icon hail from the tr00 Kvlt, Montréal, in northern Canada. However even being from such a tr00 area these guys play something that's as far way from tr00 as we are from the sun. Yup, you guessed it, deathcore.

Now that being said they aren't playing your pansy-assed run o' the mill we dye our hair and stretch our earlobes deathcore, no, they play REAL deathcore. The music sounds like a zombie apocalypse movie soundtrack: fast, nasty and short, some even clocking in at under a minute. Grindcore lengths aside, the talent shows through in this fantabulous album. Chugging breakdowns, slamming drums, and my personal favorite, shrieking, madman-like vocals. Oh, and did I mention there are two, count 'em TWO, vocalists? You might think "oh, well they have two vocalists, what kind of crazy circus act is this?!"

Well you'd be retarded.

Instead of just being some kind of show, or act, the two vocalists definitely shine here, with one handling the highs, and the other the lows. Both vocalists combine into one powerhouse that makes you want to bare-knuckle box Brock Lesnar, they definitely make this album.

The breakdowns are defiantly noticeable, especially in songs such as Le Chểne Et Le Roseau. However, instead of ruining the album with constant breakdowns, they are set and displaced sporadically throughout, and are placed in perfect form, so perfect that you would severely miss them if they were gone. After all, what is deathcore without breakdowns?

(nothing, in case you couldn't pick that up)

Overall, buy this album, if you love deathcore, you'll have to change your pants, if you don't, I bet you a five cent piece you'll love this album.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 9


Band profile: Despised Icon
Album: Consumed By Your Poison


 


written by Boxcar Willy | 21.03.2012


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 13  
Users visited: 59  
Search this topic:  


Troy Killjoy - 22.03.2012 at 03:01  
I like the sarcasm/humor in this, and you worked on describing the music a lot better than your previous reviews. Keep up the good work and hopefully we'll start to see an identity with future publications.
Boxcar Willy - 22.03.2012 at 03:50  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 22.03.2012 at 03:01

I like the sarcasm/humor in this, and you worked on describing the music a lot better than your previous reviews. Keep up the good work and hopefully we'll start to see an identity with future publications.

Thanks!

This means a lot coming from you.
Mr. Doctor - 22.03.2012 at 13:07  
Great band, one of those that tried their best to make deathcore a respectable genre and they definitely succeded in their carrier.

Great review too, you are improving.
Sonic MrSumo - 22.03.2012 at 23:25  
I'd never thought I'd live to see the day where a deathcore album is rated in the 9's on MS. However I notice your lofty 9.2 is not shared by the wider MS community.

Stiff shit...I'll still give this one a listen.
Boxcar Willy - 22.03.2012 at 23:56  
Written by Sonic MrSumo on 22.03.2012 at 23:25

I'd never thought I'd live to see the day where a deathcore album is rated in the 9's on MS. However I notice your lofty 9.2 is not shared by the wider MS community.

Stiff shit...I'll still give this one a listen.

It's been downvoted by Deathcore haters, who havent even heard the album.

give it a listen, you won't regret it.
!J.O.O.E.! - 23.03.2012 at 02:25  
-10 to the proofreader:

Quote:
The breakdowns are defiantly noticeable
Troy Killjoy - 23.03.2012 at 02:55  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 23.03.2012 at 02:25
-10 to the proofreader:

I saw that during my first read-through and was like... maybe he thinks they are defiantly noticeable.

But ya. PM Lyr about it, I'm sure she'll enjoy the mistake.
!J.O.O.E.! - 23.03.2012 at 02:58  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 23.03.2012 at 02:55

I saw that during my first read-through and was like... maybe he thinks they are defiantly noticeable.

But ya. PM Lyr about it, I'm sure she'll enjoy the mistake.

It does indeed make a kinda sense but I suspect Billy boy didn't mean it like that
Boxcar Willy - 23.03.2012 at 03:22  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 23.03.2012 at 02:58

Written by Troy Killjoy on 23.03.2012 at 02:55

I saw that during my first read-through and was like... maybe he thinks they are defiantly noticeable.

But ya. PM Lyr about it, I'm sure she'll enjoy the mistake.

It does indeed make a kinda sense but I suspect Billy boy didn't mean it like that

I totes did.
Boxcar Willy - 26.04.2012 at 03:58  
This is still one of my favourite albums.
Druss - 24.05.2012 at 21:58  
Hmm, like one of the posters further up said, this seems to be getting some love, which does seem a little rare for a deathcore album. If I've never listened to a deathcore album before, would it be recommended as a good starter album for a noobie like me?

Also, 'cus I'm nice, I read it as ''definately noticeable''
Boxcar Willy - 24.05.2012 at 22:02  
Written by Druss on 24.05.2012 at 21:58

Hmm, like one of the posters further up said, this seems to be getting some love, which does seem a little rare for a deathcore album. If I've never listened to a deathcore album before, would it be recommended as a good starter album for a noobie like me?

Also, 'cus I'm nice, I read it as ''definately noticeable''

Damn auto correct >.>

anyway, this is a great album, give it a few spins, it's a solid album and would make a good starter album Just keep your mind open.
Uldreth - 24.05.2012 at 22:14  
Written by Druss on 24.05.2012 at 21:58

Hmm, like one of the posters further up said, this seems to be getting some love, which does seem a little rare for a deathcore album. If I've never listened to a deathcore album before, would it be recommended as a good starter album for a noobie like me?

Also, 'cus I'm nice, I read it as ''definately noticeable''

Not sure how good this would be for a "starter".

This one's actually quite harsh and, I dunno how to say, lacking in hooks, at least I've found it so.

I'd direct you to "The Price Of Existence" by All Shall Perish or "When Legends Become Dust" by Conducting From The Grave as starter albums, tbh.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Despised Icon - Consumed By Your Poison 9 08.02.2012 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Despised Icon - The Ills Of Modern Man 9 21.07.2012 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Emmure - Speaker Of The Dead 4.5 07.01.2012 by Void Eater
Reviews Crowned - Vacuous Spectral Silence 4.5 27.10.2012 by D.T. Metal
Albums Despised Icon - The Healing Process 4.5 15.10.2012 by Boxcar Willy



Hits total: 2524 | This month: 89