Rating:
8.3
Pact - The Dragon Lineage Of Satan
30 January 2012


01. Litany To Satan
02. Into Heaven's Night
03. Dreamless Death
04. Ecstasy And Illumination
05. The Flowers Of Evil
06. The Middle Pillar
07. Ascension From The Fall
08. Terror Of The Lower Astral (The Journey)
09. Suicide Sigil
10. A Vast Eternity


There was a time when Satanic black metal projects were taken seriously, when the music sent chills down your spine and the corpsepaint-wearing arsonist behind the mic made you sleep with your light on. Pact seem to remember such a time, and they're here to remind those of us who weren't there to experience the murders and church burnings that we still have reason to fear.

The Dragon Lineage of Satan does an excellent job delivering that message.

The listener is instantly exposed to what will soon become a 45-minute express train to Hell: blasphemous blastbeats, razor-sharp riffs, vomitous vocals, and all the occult imagery you can shake a headless goat at. The lack of bass adds a sense of realism to the primitive compositions in typical pure black metal fashion, yet the hearty production makes each instrument discernible and powerful. The music nods anywhere from early Immortal to current Arckanum, taking influence from a wide variety of less atmospheric black metal bands and sticking to the more traditional black metal stylings of the second wave.

Each song has its own unique touch, but the lack of innovation overall won't keep the casual listeners' attention span for very long - especially considering the amount of time you'll be spending getting to the end of this release. Die-hard fans and those who look for straightforward, no-nonsense black metal will not only appreciate Pact for stepping up to the plate and delivering such a strong release, but the potential is there for some circles to refer to The Dragon Lineage of Satan as a modern-day black metal classic. The mature compositions and lack of filler make for a supremely engaging listen while the old school leanings will appease a large portion of the black metal community.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 5
Production: 9


 



Written on 28.03.2012 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 21  
Users visited: 175  
Search this topic:  


Boxcar Willy - 28.03.2012 at 05:32  
Worst cover art ever..?
Troy Killjoy - 28.03.2012 at 05:33  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 28.03.2012 at 05:32
Worst cover art ever..?



let's fucking pretend troy inserted a sentence here. at least it was music related and in response...
Ozman - 28.03.2012 at 12:39  
Okay album but would rate it a full point lower.

If there is revivalist thrash and revivalist death, this band could be called revivalist black.
Totally lacking in the identity department.
Void Eater - 29.03.2012 at 01:24  
"All these new bands suck! Things were better back when I was a young whipsersnapper!"
"All these new bands are just copying what was done in the past! Bands need to be more creative and original!"

Old people logic.
Ozman - 29.03.2012 at 01:29  
Written by Void Eater on 29.03.2012 at 01:24

"All these new bands suck! Things were better back when I was a young whipsersnapper!"
"All these new bands are just copying what was done in the past! Bands need to be more creative and original!"

Old people logic.



I am a huge fan of revivalist death metal, so your logic is off
Xnoybis - 29.03.2012 at 01:49  
Written by Void Eater on 29.03.2012 at 01:24

"All these new bands suck! Things were better back when I was a young whipsersnapper!"
"All these new bands are just copying what was done in the past! Bands need to be more creative and original!"

Old people logic.


Off topic...

for starters, "all" is off. there are plenty of new acts doing cool shit. marcel's statement is just regarding those who color by numbers.

and as for "old people logic",

i've been listening to metal longer than you have been alive. i am terribly sorry if someone doing NOW the same shit i've heard for over twenty fucking years no longer excites me.

but hey, i guess the entertainment industry caters to people like you who somehow enjoy the same fucking music, the same plotlines in tv shows, and movie remakes... it's so much easier to please people missing chromosomes.



as for the disk, i might check it out a the tail end of the year.
Lit. - 29.03.2012 at 02:09  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 28.03.2012 at 05:32
Worst cover art ever..?

Remind you of anything?
Boxcar Willy - 29.03.2012 at 02:24  
Written by Lit. on 29.03.2012 at 02:09

Written by Boxcar Willy on 28.03.2012 at 05:32
Worst cover art ever..?

Remind you of anything?

Apearently I'm not allowed to post a picture response, so watch your back.

However this looks very similar
Ozman - 29.03.2012 at 03:38  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 29.03.2012 at 02:24


Apearently I'm not allowed to post a picture response, so watch your back.

However this looks very similar



You thick or what?

Meme only reply is not allowed. It has been said a million times and is in the faq. You can still post those pathetic things as long as you accompany it with a WRITTEN ie TYPED sentence.
Boxcar Willy - 29.03.2012 at 03:49  
Written by Ozman on 29.03.2012 at 03:38


You thick or what?


Pretty much.
Alex Fenger - 29.03.2012 at 04:09  
Written by Lit. on 29.03.2012 at 02:09

Remind you of anything?


Shit... the similarity is really astonishing.... This actually made me like Pact's cover even more, on a comical level
InfernalDirge - 29.03.2012 at 07:18  
Similar to the fifteenth tarot trump,the devil
M C Vice - 29.03.2012 at 11:40  
Written by Lit. on 29.03.2012 at 02:09

Written by Boxcar Willy on 28.03.2012 at 05:32
Worst cover art ever..?

Remind you of anything?


I've got that album.
Didn't Cannibiscorpse have an album out recently that looks very similar to Spreading The Disease?
Troy Killjoy - 29.03.2012 at 16:08  
Written by InfernalDirge on 29.03.2012 at 07:18
Similar to the fifteenth tarot trump,the devil

Ya I'm pretty sure it's inspired by this:
Slayer666 - 29.03.2012 at 21:36  
Stupidest album name in the history of metal? Why, yes, yes it is.

The old-school black metal done well got me really interested, though, gonna check it out.
Mr. Doctor - 29.03.2012 at 22:35  
Written by Slayer666 on 29.03.2012 at 21:36
Stupidest album name in the history of metal? Why, yes, yes it is.


If that's how you feel I think you are overreacting a little.
Slayer666 - 29.03.2012 at 22:38  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 29.03.2012 at 22:35


If that's how you feel I think you are overreacting a little.



Probably, but I at the moment I just can't think of an album title stupider than this. Dunno, maybe something by Manowar would suffice.
Or one of those Japanese albums Flower Metal likes so much.
Troy Killjoy - 29.03.2012 at 22:38  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 29.03.2012 at 22:35
??? If that's how you feel I think you are overreacting a little.

Ya I've definitely come across much worse. Besides, it's relevant to the story of the album so it's not that bad.
Troy Killjoy - 29.03.2012 at 22:39  
Written by Slayer666 on 29.03.2012 at 22:38
Flower Metal

Please. My review threads are the one place I have on Metal Storm to avoid him. Consider it my safe haven. Don't mention him again.

Please.
Slayer666 - 29.03.2012 at 22:42  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 29.03.2012 at 22:39

Please. My review threads are the one place I have on Metal Storm to avoid him. Consider it my safe haven. Don't mention him again.

Please.


Whoopsie. Done and done.
Branzig - 31.03.2012 at 06:55  
Killllllller release.

I'm going to go carve pentagrams in my chest and spill my blood for Beelzebub now while listening to "The Middle Pillar."

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Hellspawn - The Great Red Dragon 8 08.07.2012 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Scar Symmetry - The Unseen Empire 6 14.11.2011 by J. N.
Reviews Wilds Forlorn - We, The Damned 6 15.01.2012 by Ag Fox
Reviews The Haunted - Unseen 6 30.11.2011 by Mr. Doctor
Reviews Kommandant - The Draconian Archetype 6 30.03.2012 by Narterath



Hits total: 4625 | This month: 146