Rating:
9.0
Akphaezya - Anthology IV: The Tragedy Of Nerak
March 2012


01. Prologos

Act I: Spring
02. Scene I: A Slow Vertigo...
03. Scene II: Sophrosyne

Act II: Summer
04. Scene I: Utopia
05. Scene II: Húbris
06. Trance: H.L.4

Act III: Autumn
07. Scene I: Genesis
08. Scene II: Dystopia

Act IV: Winter
09. Scene I: Nemesis
10. Scene II: ...The Harsh Verdict
11. Epilogos


Dear France; whatever foul chemicals you've been putting into your children's milk, don't stop. Maybe it's a movement, or maybe that entire nation has just been going on constant psychotropic binges when the rest of us weren't paying attention, but either way, there's been some pretty wacky metal coming out of that country...recently? Or have they always had this "avantgarde" thing down with such astonishing creativity? Well, chalk up another one, because Akphaezya is another nifty little psychotic curiosity.

This is such a strange album, in order to describe the over all sound, one would need to go through each track individually, as The Tragedy Of Nerak is an album that incorporates a mind blowing amount of different sounds. For brevity sake, let's just say this; it's got melodeath, thrash, symphonic, traditional folk instruments, piano passages, proggy riffs, quirky Stolen Babies-esque moments, a touch or two of raspy black metal bits as well as a whole bunch of other shit that would take far, far too long to list here. On top of that, every sort of feeling is gone through as well; haunting sorrowful passages, angry metal riffs, bouncing humor, etc, etc.

Oddly enough, Akphaezya's greatest strength is also their downfall. It's too eclectic. Variation is something that can always be appreciated, obviously, but it can be a little too much when it frequently sounds like you're listening to a different band from song-to-song (or even segment-to-segment). Those out there who generally don't really have the attention span to sit through an album in it's entirety will probably love how different each song sounds from one another. Those who appreciate solidarity and consistency in their music might just find this more than a bit irritating.

This is an album that a review can do no justice to. Appropriately describing this in a succinct manner is impossible without doing a play-by-play, in which case you might as well just go ahead and listen to it...Which you probably should be doing anyways.


Band profile: Akphaezya
Album: Anthology IV: The Tragedy Of Nerak


 



Written on 03.04.2012 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 33  
Users visited: 304  
Search this topic:  


!J.O.O.E.! - 03.04.2012 at 16:44  
Sounds interesting.
PocketMetal - 03.04.2012 at 17:16  
I love avantgarde bands , can't wait to hear this .
their previous album was "good" but not great imo , I hope this one is better .

I don't mind if songs are different from each other , it's the quality of them that matters .
R'Vannith - 03.04.2012 at 17:23  
Haven't heard of this group before. 'Too eclectic', now that sounds intriguing.
Mr. Doctor - 03.04.2012 at 17:25  
Written by R'Vannith on 03.04.2012 at 17:23

Haven't heard of this group before. 'Too eclectic', now that sounds intriguing.


Their debut is pretty good shizzle.
R'Vannith - 03.04.2012 at 17:31  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.04.2012 at 17:25

Written by R'Vannith on 03.04.2012 at 17:23

Haven't heard of this group before. 'Too eclectic', now that sounds intriguing.


Their debut is pretty good shizzle.


Oh they have another, should have guessed with the album title 'Anthology IV'. Why does it go Anthology II then IV though, they just skip I and III
Mr. Doctor - 03.04.2012 at 17:32  
Written by R'Vannith on 03.04.2012 at 17:31
Why does it go Anthology II then IV though, they just skip I and III


Well duh they are avantgarde!
R'Vannith - 03.04.2012 at 17:38  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.04.2012 at 17:32

Well duh they are avantgarde!


'That'll really shake things up we'll just skip a few numbers, totally through em out of whack.'
Fat & Sassy! - 03.04.2012 at 17:46  
I totally forgot this album was being released! ;___;
*immediately goes and buys album*
Nosurper - 03.04.2012 at 17:50  
Would you say this is along the same vein as Smohalla? I really enjoy Resilience
Unhealer - 03.04.2012 at 17:54  
It seems this album has my name written on it.

Just checked their latest single and it's great, I'm positive I will love this one.
PocketMetal - 03.04.2012 at 18:03  
Written by Nosurper on 03.04.2012 at 17:50

Would you say this is along the same vein as Smohalla? I really enjoy Resilience


I don't think so , this band uses female vocals ... I think they are nothing like smohalla . they are kinda like a tamed unexpect . I still haven't heard this one though .
Nosurper - 03.04.2012 at 18:10  
Written by PocketMetal on 03.04.2012 at 18:03

Written by Nosurper on 03.04.2012 at 17:50

Would you say this is along the same vein as Smohalla? I really enjoy Resilience


I don't think so , this band uses female vocals ... I think they are nothing like smohalla . they are kinda like a tamed unexpect . I still haven't heard this one though .


Oh okay, thank
R'Vannith - 03.04.2012 at 18:12  
Written by PocketMetal on 03.04.2012 at 18:03

I don't think so , this band uses female vocals ... I think they are nothing like smohalla . they are kinda like a tamed unexpect . I still haven't heard this one though .


0.o One does not simply TAME Unexpect!
Lokaeda - 03.04.2012 at 18:13  
"Dear France; whatever foul chemicals you've been putting into your children's milk, don't stop"

me gusta :3
Nosurper - 03.04.2012 at 18:38  
Written by R'Vannith on 03.04.2012 at 18:12

Written by PocketMetal on 03.04.2012 at 18:03

I don't think so , this band uses female vocals ... I think they are nothing like smohalla . they are kinda like a tamed unexpect . I still haven't heard this one though .


0.o One does not simply TAME Unexpect!

You don't really tame Smohalla either, lol:nono:
Mr. Doctor - 03.04.2012 at 18:40  
Written by R'Vannith on 03.04.2012 at 18:12
0.o One does not simply TAME Unexpect!


I would say it like this: Akphaezya are to jazz what Diablo Swing Orchetra is to swing. At least from what I remember from their debut.
A "tame Unexpect" is fine too, but I wouldn't compare them that much. Both female vocalists are insane though. Akphaezya's singer is woman enough to do her own growls though so she doesn't need 3 extra guys for that like Unexpect.

If you have never heard them, here you have my favorite two songs from their debut.
Chrysalis (1:35-3:05 is just brilliant)
Reflections (LOVE the chorus)
knightlightning - 03.04.2012 at 18:46  
Holy shit!, now I have to get my hands on it , i'm soooo intrigued!
R'Vannith - 03.04.2012 at 18:56  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 03.04.2012 at 18:40

Written by R'Vannith on 03.04.2012 at 18:12
0.o One does not simply TAME Unexpect!


I would say it like this: Akphaezya are to jazz what Diablo Swing Orchetra is to swing. At least from what I remember from their debut.
A "tame Unexpect" is fine too, but I wouldn't compare them that much. Both female vocalists are insane though. Akphaezya's singer is woman enough to do her own growls though so she doesn't need 3 extra guys for that like Unexpect.

If you have never heard them, here you have my favorite two songs from their debut.
Chrysalis (1:35-3:05 is just brilliant)
Reflections (LOVE the chorus)


*Fucking Nicki Minaj ads -.-*
Judging by those there is very little similarities to Unexpect, the vocals are the only aspect really and even those are of quite a different character most of the time. Anyway sounds pretty crazy, I like it! That second track,
Draugen - 03.04.2012 at 19:05  
Sounds very intriguing to say the least.
PocketMetal - 03.04.2012 at 20:06  
Written by R'Vannith on 03.04.2012 at 18:12

Written by PocketMetal on 03.04.2012 at 18:03

I don't think so , this band uses female vocals ... I think they are nothing like smohalla . they are kinda like a tamed unexpect . I still haven't heard this one though .


0.o One does not simply TAME Unexpect!


may this never happen to our beloved Unexpect weird bands ftw !
I'm listening to Akphaezya's previous effort right now and I find it much better than last time .
Ag Fox - 03.04.2012 at 20:48  
Forgotten about these guys. Thanks for bringing them back to my attention again (=
Troy Killjoy - 03.04.2012 at 21:59  
I've always lumped these guys in with Sigh. Just an extreme avant-garde band I can't get into.
Milena - 03.04.2012 at 22:54  
This should be interesting.
strade - 04.04.2012 at 02:46  
Will listen.
Dark Blood - 04.04.2012 at 03:11  
It sounds really interesting. I searched for them on youtube and I came across their weird but very creative video for the song Nemesis. Really interesting stuff.

SymphonyImpaled - 04.04.2012 at 09:31  
Always been a huge fan of Avant-Garde black metal bands and expirimental metal with the talent to back it. This certainly looks even more strange than Damned Spirits' Dance... Didn't hear Akphaezya's first album yet, but even the track theme for this one seems cool. I'll get this second I find out how to. lol.
R'Vannith - 04.04.2012 at 15:25  
Written by PocketMetal on 03.04.2012 at 20:06

may this never happen to our beloved Unexpect


I don't think that could be possible, but if it is I fear the day! They're too zany to stop now!
pyrz - 06.04.2012 at 01:21  
I listened to the video clip but couldn't endure this for more than one minute.
Unhealer - 11.05.2012 at 19:01  
Hey, thanks for introducing this band to me Doc. Definitely among my favorites already.
PocketMetal - 13.05.2012 at 17:38  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 03.04.2012 at 21:59

I've always lumped these guys in with Sigh. Just an extreme avant-garde band I can't get into.


they are nowhere near being "extreme" , I find their music kinda calm .
Troy Killjoy - 14.05.2012 at 02:04  
Written by PocketMetal on 13.05.2012 at 17:38
they are nowhere near being "extreme" , I find they're music kinda calm .

I realized after listening to this again that "extreme" was a poor choice of words. They have extreme elements but on the whole this is really not extreme by any means.
Paradox0 - 16.05.2012 at 23:25  
I really loved Anthology II but I just can't get into this. it feels like they are trying to hard to follow in their own shadow, and just seems overall very forced. What I loved about Anthology II was although it was pretty metal, it really wasn't bound by the genre and went into some interesting song writing and directions with the music. This just feels like it's constantly pushing the "look at us we're crazy", and everything just seems very forgettable, bound by the sound of what Advante-garde metal is. Some songs do still hold a certain impressionistic feel to them, such as "Sophroyne", but overall just seems flat. Those beautiful moments in Anthology II are gone as well, Neil seemingly just making silly sounds with her voice without really showcasing her actual talent.

And is "Utopia" what Unexpect sounds like to people who don't like them?
PocketMetal - 17.05.2012 at 10:56  
Written by Paradox0 on 16.05.2012 at 23:25

I really loved Anthology II but I just can't get into this. it feels like they are trying to hard to follow in their own shadow, and just seems overall very forced. What I loved about Anthology II was although it was pretty metal, it really wasn't bound by the genre and went into some interesting song writing and directions with the music. This just feels like it's constantly pushing the "look at us we're crazy", and everything just seems very forgettable, bound by the sound of what Advante-garde metal is. Some songs do still hold a certain impressionistic feel to them, such as "Sophroyne", but overall just seems flat. Those beautiful moments in Anthology II are gone as well, Neil seemingly just making silly sounds with her voice without really showcasing her actual talent.

And is "Utopia" what Unexpect sounds like who don't like them?


I agree , I didn't really like this one ... there was few moments when I could say to myself : " these guys are talented "
the only song I loved was Utopia , it was maximum craziness and it made me laugh , the rest just didn't do anything for me .

just listening to new D:S:O album makes me feel "Meh" about this one .

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Lahmia - Into The Abyss 6 12.05.2012 by -DC-002-
Reviews The Sorrow - Origin Of The Storm 6 23.10.2010 by Bodom81
Reviews Pushking - The World As We Love It 6 15.02.2011 by Fat & Sassy!
Reviews Ominous Crucifix - The Spell Of Damnation 6 18.01.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Charred Walls Of The Damned - Cold Winds On Timeless Days 6 22.10.2011 by Rulatore



Hits total: 4529 | This month: 61