Rating:
8.7
Cancer Bats - Dead Set On Living
16 April 2012


01. R.A.T.S.
02. Bricks And Mortar
03. Road Sick
04. Breathe Armageddon
05. Dead Set On Living
06. The Void
07. Old Blood
08. Drunken Physics
09. Bastards
10. Rally The Wicked
11. New World Alliance


It's strange, a band does something to make you love them, then they go and do the exact opposite with the next release, and yet it sounds just as great, if not better. That's right ladies and gentlemen, your favourite hardcore band is back for what feels essentially like a rejuvenated re-working of their last album, Bears, Mayors, Scraps & Bones.

Here's where things differ - B.M.S&B was a rough edged album that homogeneously combined a bit of that southern rock-tinged sludgy stoner metal with some modern hardcore. This time around, those two sides of the band are almost held completely separate from one another. Granted, the heart and soul of the beast is still essentially the same as last time. It's still hard, dirty, sharp and aggressive, but instead of having a distinctly sludged-out undertone to the whole thing, it feels like there's the sludge-stoner moments, then the hardcore moments.

When it comes right down to it, Dead Set On Living feels distinctly more like hardcore punk this time around, more along the lines of something like Comeback Kid interspersed with a bunch of southern-fried stoner riffs. This may come as a disappointment to some, but worry not, a fair exchange has been made! A simpler approach makes for what is probably Cancer Bats most aggressive album to date. The type of album that will leave you gnawing on half your keyboard whilst using some form of instantaneous osmosis to insert the other half into your skull.

What does this all add up to for you knuckle-draggers who have naught the keen perceptual intellect of one such as myself? Probably not a whole lot, so I'll state things in a succinct language you'll all understand. Dead Set On Living = Bears Mayors Scraps & Bones.


Band profile: Cancer Bats
Album: Dead Set On Living


 



Written on 10.04.2012 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 23  
Users visited: 246  
Search this topic:  


Ozman - 10.04.2012 at 12:38  
Listened to the Cancer Bats loads of times to find out what makes them so special for Doc. Also listened to this one many a time and still nothing special at all. A 6 would be the score I'd give this.
Kwis - 10.04.2012 at 12:51  
Cancer Bats are a type of band I normally wouldn't give 2 figs about, but for some reason they are one of the few hardcore bands I listen to. Their energy is so catchy.
Zealot644 - 10.04.2012 at 13:46  
Whoah, was not aware they had a new album out o.O

Will definitely be looking this up now...Love these guys.
Dogsbreakfast - 10.04.2012 at 21:22  
I heard these guys at Heavy TO last year (I think it was last year!) and they impressed me with their live performance but their album (Hail Destroyer) didn't have the same impact. While I found some great tunes and high intensity, I didn't see much diversity. I'm still going to check this one out. If I can judge the book by its cover, perhaps they put all of their creative energy into the music and had nothing left over for the artwork.
!J.O.O.E.! - 10.04.2012 at 21:31  
Written by Ozman on 10.04.2012 at 12:38

Listened to the Cancer Bats loads of times to find out what makes them so special for Doc. Also listened to this one many a time and still nothing special at all. A 6 would be the score I'd give this.

I haven't given as much attention to them as that but from what I have heard I certainly didn't like it. I heard a song from this album and that didn't change my mind in the slightest.
Branzig - 10.04.2012 at 22:09  
Written by Ozman on 10.04.2012 at 12:38

Listened to the Cancer Bats loads of times to find out what makes them so special for Doc. Also listened to this one many a time and still nothing special at all. A 6 would be the score I'd give this.


Yep, agreed.

I'd give it a 4.5 myself. But that is a biased, bigotry score
Absak - 11.04.2012 at 01:06  
Scores suck! I'm just gonna say that this album is good.
Troy Killjoy - 11.04.2012 at 05:51  
Cancer Bats have always struck me as an MTV punk band and I doubt this album will change my perception. They did a few shows here a couple years ago and the only people who enjoyed them were the hardcore-dancing scene kids.

Not that I judge the band based on their fan base, but it wasn't really a surprise seeing the "alternative" kids kicking and punching the air when these guys performed.
Doc Godin - 12.04.2012 at 03:17  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 11.04.2012 at 05:51

Cancer Bats have always struck me as an MTV punk band and I doubt this album will change my perception. They did a few shows here a couple years ago and the only people who enjoyed them were the hardcore-dancing scene kids.

Not that I judge the band based on their fan base, but it wasn't really a surprise seeing the "alternative" kids kicking and punching the air when these guys performed.

MTV punk band?...I suppose if you judge entirely on some bands they've toured with, because their metal elements (especially with their more recent albums) are a lot stronger than the punk elements.

When I saw them it was a bit of a mix in the crowd, there was a bit of hardcore slam dancing, but not nearly as much as I anticipated. It was mostly just regular dudes that didn't really fit into your "alt kid" or "metal head" type image.
Boxcar Willy - 12.04.2012 at 14:58  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 11.04.2012 at 05:51

Cancer Bats have always struck me as an MTV punk band and I doubt this album will change my perception. They did a few shows here a couple years ago and the only people who enjoyed them were the hardcore-dancing scene kids.

Not that I judge the band based on their fan base, but it wasn't really a surprise seeing the "alternative" kids kicking and punching the air when these guys performed.


Those are the kids you roundhouse while in the mosh. D:<

But seriously, this is a good band/album

Get off your kvlt throne
Troy Killjoy - 12.04.2012 at 16:15  
Written by Doc Godin on 12.04.2012 at 03:17
MTV punk band?...I suppose if you judge entirely on some bands they've toured with, because their metal elements (especially with their more recent albums) are a lot stronger than the punk elements.

Maybe MTV metal band then. I dunno, they've always struck me as this kind of "punk for the masses" project. :/ I know you love them and I'm not trying to attack you for that in any way, I just really fail to see what's really metal about these guys.
Boxcar Willy - 12.04.2012 at 23:32  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 12.04.2012 at 16:15

I just really fail to see what's really metal about these guys.

There really isn't anything metal, maybe some alternative or metalcore vibes, but it's still good music,
Absak - 16.04.2012 at 04:04  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 12.04.2012 at 23:32

Written by Troy Killjoy on 12.04.2012 at 16:15

I just really fail to see what's really metal about these guys.

There really isn't anything metal, maybe some alternative or metalcore vibes, but it's still good music,

How bout them sludge/southern/stoner/watchamacallit groove laden moments? Either way, I don't care how you label these guys, I like it regardless.
Diamonds - 17.04.2012 at 05:36  
I've never been a huge fan of this band but I've liked them from the very beginning and I've got to say they're staring to catch my attention. Maybe it's because they've become more agressive or maybe it's because I'm an icehead who finds interest in simple riffs. Either way, I like the sounds of this release so far, and I'm glad that it got a decent review.
Mr. Doctor - 30.05.2012 at 18:28  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 11.04.2012 at 05:51

Cancer Bats have always struck me as an MTV punk band and I doubt this album will change my perception. They did a few shows here a couple years ago and the only people who enjoyed them were the hardcore-dancing scene kids.


Listening to this right now, I like it. I understand those who don't... But I definitely do not see anything here that says "MTV".

I also want to add that Comeback Kid rules.
Boxcar Willy - 30.05.2012 at 22:04  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 30.05.2012 at 18:28

I also want to add that Comeback Kid rules.

Written by Mr. Doctor on 30.05.2012 at 18:28

I also want to add that Comeback Kid rules.



uughh, you're like my sister in 19 year old man form.

She listens to every mediocre hardcore band under the sun, talks with them on Twitter, looks at show pictures, and worst of all, plays their music. The stuff that she shows me from each band all sounds the same, and it's just boring as fuck.

The worst part is that she got it from me listening to teh Cancer Bats >>
Mr. Doctor - 30.05.2012 at 22:29  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 30.05.2012 at 22:04

She listens to every mediocre hardcore band under the sun, talks with them on Twitter, looks at show pictures, and worst of all, plays their music. The stuff that she shows me from each band all sounds the same, and it's just boring as fuck.

The worst part is that she got it from me listening to teh Cancer Bats >>


Ehmmm... No, Comback Kid is pretty nice, dynamic and well done hardcore. I don't find nothing mediocre about them. Shut the hell up kiddo. Nice try though, specially with that meme picture, didn't see it coming at all!
Boxcar Willy - 30.05.2012 at 23:58  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 30.05.2012 at 22:29

Written by Boxcar Willy on 30.05.2012 at 22:04

She listens to every mediocre hardcore band under the sun, talks with them on Twitter, looks at show pictures, and worst of all, plays their music. The stuff that she shows me from each band all sounds the same, and it's just boring as fuck.

The worst part is that she got it from me listening to teh Cancer Bats >>


Ehmmm... No, Comback Kid is pretty nice, dynamic and well done hardcore. I don't find nothing mediocre about them. Shut the hell up kiddo. Nice try though, specially with that meme picture, didn't see it coming at all!

I wasn't refering to exactly just the one band (which I haven't heard) but I just know thats one of the bands she listens too.

I don't know, just felt like ranting about my fucking sister, sorry if ou took offense
Mr. Doctor - 31.05.2012 at 00:02  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 30.05.2012 at 23:58

I don't know, just felt like ranting about my fucking sister, sorry if ou took offense


You can rant about your sis, but it felt like you were comparing with her. Comeback Kid is a great band actually, I'm still surprised she doesn't like Converge though, what a shame.
Boxcar Willy - 31.05.2012 at 00:06  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 31.05.2012 at 00:02

Written by Boxcar Willy on 30.05.2012 at 23:58

I don't know, just felt like ranting about my fucking sister, sorry if ou took offense


You can rant about your sis, but it felt like you were comparing with her. Comeback Kid is a great band actually, I'm still surprised she doesn't like Converge though, what a shame.

Naw, she just think's shes a musical god because she listens to demo's and stuff that isn't mainstream, and it pisses me off.

Anyway, Converge is awesome.
Troy Killjoy - 31.05.2012 at 01:11  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 30.05.2012 at 18:28
But I definitely do not see anything here that says "MTV".

They obviously don't receive the same kind of promotion outside of North American (or, most likely, outside of Canada), so it's natural a resident of Sweden wouldn't understand a comparison to MTV punk. My statement still stands though - Cancer Bats don't offer anything that hasn't already been done better.
Mr. Doctor - 31.05.2012 at 01:23  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 31.05.2012 at 01:11
My statement still stands though - Cancer Bats don't offer anything that hasn't already been done better.


Well, we can just agree to disagree then. Not exactly in the "hasn't been done before" because I've heard this stuff before. But I do think these guys do it pretty good.
Darkside Momo - 07.07.2012 at 02:23  
I can't understand the hate this band gets. They're not teh bestest band evaaa but they do have so viciously catchy riffs on this album for sure.
And they're quite kickass live.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Cancer Bats - Dead Set On Living 9 01.01.2012 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Superhorrorfuck - Living Dead Stars 7.5 02.11.2010 by Ag Fox
Articles 3 Inches Of Blood & Cancer Bats in Calgary - May 26, 2011 6.5 10.06.2011 by oroboros
Reviews Dreaming Dead - Midnightmares 6 04.05.2012 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Belphegor - Conjuring The Dead 6 27.07.2014 by Lit.



Hits total: 4623 | This month: 48