Rating:
8.0
Abazagorath - Abazagorath [EP]
2 February 2012


01. Conjuring (Intro)
02. The Antigod
03. Lapse
04. Immortals
05. Storms Of Destruction


Available for streaming here: http://novisiblescars.bandcamp.com/album/abazagorath.


Wow, talk about the most subtle return from hiatus imaginable. Did any more than five people even know this EP existed? Because they should. It's pretty awesome.

In case you weren't aware of the band's existence, Abazagorath is a veteran occult American black metal group that sadly never received the same attention as Judas Iscariot or Krieg, yet their material is easily comparable in terms of not only sound, but quality. They take a no-nonsense approach to well-executed - albeit somewhat raw - black metal, finding a perfect balance between extremity and accessibility, filling songs with catchy hooks and infectious rhythm but never sacrificing the grim atmosphere that gives these more straightforward bands their bite.

This self-titled EP is an excellent return from what was a rather unfortunate hiatus, as the band asserts themselves as a legitimate outfit capable of sparring with the heavyweights in the scene, even after more than a decade of activity. Expect a continuation of blistering blastbeats, emotionally driven compositions, and well-produced raw straightforward-yet-slightly-melodic quality black metal in the near future, as Abazagorath look to claim the Eastern black metal throne in the name of Satan.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 6
Production: 9


 



Written on 13.04.2012 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 22  
Users visited: 185  
Search this topic:  


BoxCar Willy - 13.04.2012 at 05:25  
Might give it a listen, not a big fan of just Black Metal, add some folk or sludge, and you've got your self a party... but just regular?

Meh.
Troy Killjoy - 13.04.2012 at 05:29  
Written by BoxCar Willy on 13.04.2012 at 05:25
...add some folk or sludge, and you've got your self a party...

Less than 10% of my reviews have been for folk- or sludge-influenced black metal.
BoxCar Willy - 13.04.2012 at 05:33  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 13.04.2012 at 05:29

Written by BoxCar Willy on 13.04.2012 at 05:25
...add some folk or sludge, and you've got your self a party...

Less than 10% of my reviews have been for folk- or sludge-influenced black metal.

I'm just saying that I prefer BM if it is sprinkled with those

You could always start doing more.
Troy Killjoy - 13.04.2012 at 05:36  
Written by BoxCar Willy on 13.04.2012 at 05:33
I'm just saying that I prefer BM if it is sprinkled with those You could always start doing more.

I'm just saying you're looking in the wrong place if you're expecting those kinds of reviews. As those influences aren't exactly what I look for in my black metal (with the exception of Dragged Into Sunlight and Lord Mantis), you probably won't see me reviewing those kinds of releases.
BoxCar Willy - 13.04.2012 at 05:38  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 13.04.2012 at 05:36

Written by BoxCar Willy on 13.04.2012 at 05:33
I'm just saying that I prefer BM if it is sprinkled with those You could always start doing more.

I'm just saying you're looking in the wrong place if you're expecting those kinds of reviews. As those influences aren't exactly what I look for in my black metal (with the exception of Dragged Into Sunlight and Lord Mantis), you probably won't see me reviewing those kinds of releases.

Too bad. I enjoy reading your reviews.


Why can't our tastes coencide?
strade - 13.04.2012 at 20:15  
Ha! I knew it existed, wrote a review of it elsewhere, and even gave it the exact same score. Great little thing.

Not to reign on your parade or anything, Troy.
Troy Killjoy - 13.04.2012 at 20:24  
Written by strade on 13.04.2012 at 20:15
Ha! I knew it existed, wrote a review of it elsewhere, and even gave it the exact same score. Great little thing. Not to reign on your parade or anything, Troy.

I'm actually glad someone else was aware of it, and it doesn't hurt that we feel the same about it either. Consider my parade not "reigned" on.
strade - 13.04.2012 at 20:31  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 13.04.2012 at 20:24

Written by strade on 13.04.2012 at 20:15
Ha! I knew it existed, wrote a review of it elsewhere, and even gave it the exact same score. Great little thing. Not to reign on your parade or anything, Troy.

I'm actually glad someone else was aware of it, and it doesn't hurt that we feel the same about it either. Consider my parade not "reigned" on.


That's right, I REIGN on everyone's parade! *evil laughter*

But yes, completely unintentional. I guess I was just too excited thwarting you to use words correctly. Thanks for steeling my glory.
Troy Killjoy - 13.04.2012 at 20:36  
Written by strade on 13.04.2012 at 20:31
Thanks for steeling my glory.

Not a problem. I'll try to iron out any future problems like this.
Edmund Fogg - 13.04.2012 at 22:27  
Ooh this sounds like a nice little piece. My home Cpu fried and I can't stream anything at work. God I hope good reviews and reccomendation threads don't fill up too much while my PC gets fixed.
Oaken - 14.04.2012 at 01:01  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 13.04.2012 at 05:29

Sludge

Can you please explain to me WHAT IS SLUDGE??
Oaken - 14.04.2012 at 18:38  
Written by Nightfall on 14.04.2012 at 18:36

Written by Oaken on 14.04.2012 at 01:01

Written by Troy Killjoy on 13.04.2012 at 05:29

Sludge

Can you please explain to me WHAT IS SLUDGE??


A metal sub-genre. Bands like Acid Bath, Crowbar, The Ocean, Baroness, etc.

I know it's a sub-genre, but I want to know its characteristics. And thanks for the suggestions.
psykometal - 15.04.2012 at 00:43  
Written by Oaken on 14.04.2012 at 18:38

I know it's a sub-genre, but I want to know its characteristics. And thanks for the suggestions.

LOL. I always felt that Sludge was one of those genres that was pretty self-explanatory. Imagine what the literal definition of "sludge" would sound like in audio format...

sludge (slj) - n. - Mud, mire, or ooze covering the ground or forming a deposit, as on a riverbed.
Marcel Hubregtse - 15.04.2012 at 11:38  
Very mediocre release and only recommended to fans of the band. 6.2
Troy Killjoy - 15.04.2012 at 15:11  
I definitely wouldn't call it mediocre and I'd recommend it well beyond fans of the band. Fans of pure black metal in general, especially those who enjoy the more raw forms of black metal out of Finland.
Marcel Hubregtse - 17.04.2012 at 03:42  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 15.04.2012 at 15:11

I definitely wouldn't call it mediocre and I'd recommend it well beyond fans of the band. Fans of pure black metal in general, especially those who enjoy the more raw forms of black metal out of Finland.


total revivalist black metal And even then not too good at it eve though they have been going at it for years.
Troy Killjoy - 17.04.2012 at 04:10  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 17.04.2012 at 03:42
total revivalist black metal And even then not too good at it eve though they have been going at it for years.

I'm not sure you can call a band like Abazagorath revivalist for the same reason you can't call Asphyx revivalist.

It's technically the same argument, just different opinions on specific tastes.
Marcel Hubregtse - 17.04.2012 at 04:16  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 17.04.2012 at 04:10

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 17.04.2012 at 03:42
total revivalist black metal And even then not too good at it eve though they have been going at it for years.

I'm not sure you can call a band like Abazagorath revivalist for the same reason you can't call Asphyx revivalist.

It's technically the same argument, just different opinions on specific tastes.


but at least Asphyx were original when they started and didn't try to sound like anyone else in the scene at the time. Same can;t be said about Abazagorath. Asphyx were at the forefront whereas Abazagorath have always been followers and totally not influential
Troy Killjoy - 17.04.2012 at 04:22  
I don't judge a band based on their influence, I judge their albums based on how I think they sound. An 8 seems appropriate for me, whereas the latest Asphyx I'd probably give an 8.3. Two very good albums that I'd readily suggest to others but nothing that hasn't been done before by others.
Marcel Hubregtse - 17.04.2012 at 04:27  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 17.04.2012 at 04:22

I don't judge a band based on their influence, I judge their albums based on how I think they sound. An 8 seems appropriate for me, whereas the latest Asphyx I'd probably give an 8.3. Two very good albums that I'd readily suggest to others but nothing that hasn't been done before by others.


Like I said Asphyx are Asphyx and it's their sound which they invented whereas Abazagorath's sound has been done by loads of bands before them. Enjoyable but nothing more and really something only for fans of the band.
isolate - 19.04.2012 at 04:10  
I've always thought this was an underrated usbm act as well. I enjoyed Sacraments thoroughly, but this new ep hasn't excited me as much, only a couple notable tracks. I am interested to see what's in store though, hopefully a full album and then some live shows would be great!
Troy Killjoy - 19.04.2012 at 04:23  
Written by isolate on 19.04.2012 at 04:10
I've always thought this was an underrated usbm act as well. I enjoyed Sacraments thoroughly, but this new ep hasn't excited me as much, only a couple notable tracks. I am interested to see what's in store though, hopefully a full album and then some live shows would be great!

Definitely underrated, and hopefully a full-length will be released soon. It's been long enough I think.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Domgård - Myrkviðr 4.5 27.05.2012 by Edmund Fogg
Reviews Sphere - Homo Hereticus 4.5 23.06.2012 by Void Eater
Reviews Benevolent - The Covenant 4.5 22.03.2014 by mz
Reviews Indian - From All Purity 4.5 11.01.2014 by J. H'ghar
Reviews Taranis - Kingdom 4.5 16.01.2012 by Troy Killjoy



Hits total: 2694 | This month: 29