Rating:
5.0
Lamb Of God - Resolution
24 January 2012


Disc I
01. Straight For The Sun
02. Desolation
03. Ghost Walking
04. Guilty
05. The Undertow
06. The Number Six
07. Barbarosa
08. Invictus
09. Cheated
10. Insurrection
11. Terminally Unique
12. To The End
13. Visitation
14. King Me

Disc II [Wrath - Tour 2009-2010] [Limited pre-order bonus]
01. The Passing
02. In Your Words
03. Set To Fail
04. Walk With Me In Hell
05. Hourglass
06. Now You've Got Something To Die For
07. Ruin
08. As The Palaces Burn
09. Blacken The Cursed Sun
10. Laid To Rest
11. Redneck
12. Black Label

[iTunes bonus tracks]
13. Digital Sands
14. Vigil [live]

[Japanese edition bonus track]
15. Bury Me Under the Sun


Remember when Lamb Of God were busy pioneering never-before-heard-of, genre-bending, boundary-pushing, avant-garde experimental transcendental music? Neither does anyone else. Resolution won't change the way you listen to the band's music either. Unless you continue to listen with the speakers off.

Okay, it's not that bad.* Really. But it's entirely void of the anger and spite that brought these alternative thrashers to the forefront of the pure American metal scene in the first place. It just comes across as routine now: by-the-numbers "redneck" metal for the masses. Not that they've taken a major step in any kind of new direction, but Resolution sounds like a collection of rejected demo songs from anything post-Ashes with a sexified production. Essentially some uninspired half-assed ideas that end at the beginning and don't even begin with much to their name in the first place.

Is it still safe to label them a groove metal band? Of course. The problem with that is the complete lack of anything else. You can't just write 14 songs that don't evolve beyond the single intro-hook combination. It's no different than listening to the repeated chorus from any hit pop single from the past decade, only instead of some annoyingly catchy vocal lines, you just get Randy shouting over some mild, run-of-the-mill thrashing. Yawn much.

That's pretty much all there is to say about such a one-dimensional release, an album that relies solely on a single recycled riff for nearly an hour. That's right. Just imagine listening to the thrash equivalent of Justin Bieber's "Baby" for 60 minutes.

* I lied. It's bad.

Performance: 7
Songwriting: 4
Originality: 5
Production: 9


Band profile: Lamb Of God
Album: Resolution


 



Written on 18.04.2012 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››

Guest review by
Ace Frawley

Rating:
8.0
Resolution is the seventh studio album by American band Lamb Of God. It contains 14 tracks and has a running time of around 56-minutes. It sees the band consolidate their position as one of the most popular American metal bands of the last decade. Their familiar sound is still there on this album but it also contains some unexpected moments that show their willingness to experiment and evolve.

Read more ››
published 30.12.2012 | Comments (7)



Comments page 3 of 3

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 2 [3]
Comments: 108  
Users visited: 444  
Search this topic:  


deadone - 30.05.2014 at 01:39  
Fair call dude.

I do wonder if Randy's court case for manslaughter had to do with the generally poorer song writing on this one?
Ace Frawley - 30.05.2014 at 05:21  
Written by deadone on 30.05.2014 at 01:39

Fair call dude.

I do wonder if Randy's court case for manslaughter had to do with the generally poorer song writing on this one?


I thought the court case occurred after this album had been written and recorded.
Lit. - 30.05.2014 at 05:28  
Written by Ace Frawley on 30.05.2014 at 05:21

I thought the court case occurred after this album had been written and recorded.

It did. Long before it, if I remember right.
deadone - 30.05.2014 at 05:29  
Written by Ace Frawley on 30.05.2014 at 05:21

Written by deadone on 30.05.2014 at 01:39

Fair call dude.

I do wonder if Randy's court case for manslaughter had to do with the generally poorer song writing on this one?


I thought the court case occurred after this album had been written and recorded.



The fan was killed in 2010.
Ace Frawley - 30.05.2014 at 14:10  
Written by deadone on 30.05.2014 at 05:29

Written by Ace Frawley on 30.05.2014 at 05:21

Written by deadone on 30.05.2014 at 01:39

Fair call dude.

I do wonder if Randy's court case for manslaughter had to do with the generally poorer song writing on this one?


I thought the court case occurred after this album had been written and recorded.



The fan was killed in 2010.


Yeah, I know that but he was only arrested in June 2012 and the court case occurred after that. So that all happened long after the writing of the album. Or were you suggesting the incident and the thought of possibly being arrested may have had an impact on the writing of the album? I didn't know whether there was an arrest warrant out for him or not - if there was, I thought they would have avoided visiting the country.
deadone - 31.05.2014 at 16:28  
Written by Ace Frawley on 30.05.2014 at 14:10


Yeah, I know that but he was only arrested in June 2012 and the court case occurred after that. So that all happened long after the writing of the album. Or were you suggesting the incident and the thought of possibly being arrested may have had an impact on the writing of the album? I didn't know whether there was an arrest warrant out for him or not - if there was, I thought they would have avoided visiting the country.


The Czechs started investigating about a month after the incident. They requested US cooperation but the US refused. US government never advised Randy and co about Czech investigation.



In any case having a fan's death hanging over you probably had a great impact on the band even if it was 100% accidental.

Especially as Randy's actions were directly related to the death.
Ace Frawley - 01.06.2014 at 02:43  
Written by deadone on 31.05.2014 at 16:28

In any case having a fan's death hanging over you probably had a great impact on the band even if it was 100% accidental.

Especially as Randy's actions were directly related to the death.


Yeah, fair point then. I still think it's a good album though.
Dr.Overkill26 - 01.06.2014 at 06:13  
I think it's a great album too, a lot of the songs seem to have switched it up, instead of being groovy they're almost like Math Metal, It reminds me of AJFA with the constant Changes. And NO I'm not comparing Resolution with AJFA's Greatness, for me that album's a 10/10. While Resolution, while excellent in my opinion, Is certainly NOT.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 2 [3]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Lamb Of God - Resolution 7 31.12.2012 by Coolingsrock
Reviews Devian - God To The Illfated 6 11.02.2012 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Unanimated - Ancient God Of Evil 5.5 12.02.2010 by Richard
Reviews Pact - The Dragon Lineage Of Satan 4.5 28.03.2012 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Cattle Decapitation - Monolith Of Inhumanity 4.5 09.05.2012 by Mr. Doctor



Hits total: 6158 | This month: 83