Rating:
5.0
Lamb Of God - Resolution
24 January 2012


Disc I
01. Straight For The Sun
02. Desolation
03. Ghost Walking
04. Guilty
05. The Undertow
06. The Number Six
07. Barbarosa
08. Invictus
09. Cheated
10. Insurrection
11. Terminally Unique
12. To The End
13. Visitation
14. King Me

Disc II [Wrath - Tour 2009-2010] [Limited pre-order bonus]
01. The Passing
02. In Your Words
03. Set To Fail
04. Walk With Me In Hell
05. Hourglass
06. Now You've Got Something To Die For
07. Ruin
08. As The Palaces Burn
09. Blacken The Cursed Sun
10. Laid To Rest
11. Redneck
12. Black Label

[iTunes bonus tracks]
13. Digital Sands
14. Vigil [live]

[Japanese edition bonus track]
15. Bury Me Under the Sun


Remember when Lamb Of God were busy pioneering never-before-heard-of, genre-bending, boundary-pushing, avant-garde experimental transcendental music? Neither does anyone else. Resolution won't change the way you listen to the band's music either. Unless you continue to listen with the speakers off.

Okay, it's not that bad.* Really. But it's entirely void of the anger and spite that brought these alternative thrashers to the forefront of the pure American metal scene in the first place. It just comes across as routine now: by-the-numbers "redneck" metal for the masses. Not that they've taken a major step in any kind of new direction, but Resolution sounds like a collection of rejected demo songs from anything post-Ashes with a sexified production. Essentially some uninspired half-assed ideas that end at the beginning and don't even begin with much to their name in the first place.

Is it still safe to label them a groove metal band? Of course. The problem with that is the complete lack of anything else. You can't just write 14 songs that don't evolve beyond the single intro-hook combination. It's no different than listening to the repeated chorus from any hit pop single from the past decade, only instead of some annoyingly catchy vocal lines, you just get Randy shouting over some mild, run-of-the-mill thrashing. Yawn much.

That's pretty much all there is to say about such a one-dimensional release, an album that relies solely on a single recycled riff for nearly an hour. That's right. Just imagine listening to the thrash equivalent of Justin Bieber's "Baby" for 60 minutes.

* I lied. It's bad.

Performance: 7
Songwriting: 4
Originality: 5
Production: 9


Band profile: Lamb Of God
Album: Resolution


 



Written on 18.04.2012 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››

Guest review by
Ace Frawley

Rating:
8.0
Resolution is the seventh studio album by American band Lamb Of God. It contains 14 tracks and has a running time of around 56-minutes. It sees the band consolidate their position as one of the most popular American metal bands of the last decade. Their familiar sound is still there on this album but it also contains some unexpected moments that show their willingness to experiment and evolve.

Read more ››
published 30.12.2012 | Comments (7)



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: [1] 2 3
Comments: 108  
Users visited: 444  
Search this topic:  


Nosurper - 18.04.2012 at 05:32  
Could be worse, could be pop evil or something. what this has to do with the review, ABSOLUTELY NOTHING. just look at that album cover. the most bland thing ever
Troy Killjoy - 18.04.2012 at 05:35  
Written by Nosurper on 18.04.2012 at 05:32
Could be worse, could be pop evil or something. what this has to do with the review, ABSOLUTELY NOTHING. just look at that album cover. the most bland thing ever

Hopefully this review thread becomes the most spammed, off-topic thread in the history of Metal Storm.
Nosurper - 18.04.2012 at 05:36  
Void Eater - 18.04.2012 at 05:44  
I've been going to Taco Cabana a lot lately. Very underrated when compared to the mediocre Taco Bell-they're all style and no substance. Thoughts?
Boxcar Willy - 18.04.2012 at 05:45  
I told you it was going to suck.


This guy = Psychic.
Troy Killjoy - 18.04.2012 at 05:48  
Written by Void Eater on 18.04.2012 at 05:44
I've been going to Taco Cabana a lot lately. Very underrated when compared to the mediocre Taco Bell-they're all style and no substance. Thoughts?

We don't have a Taco Cabana in Canada as far as I'm aware. We just have Taco Bell... You should send Randy an email and tell him about how Taco Bell is the fast food equivalent of his band's music.
Troy Killjoy - 18.04.2012 at 05:48  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 18.04.2012 at 05:45
I told you it was going to suck.

I don't remember being too optimistic myself to be honest.
Unhealer - 18.04.2012 at 05:50  
And what about the last song of the album that has female vocals and synths?
This is a huge step forward for the band's sound, Troy. You clearly didn't understand the greatness of this album.

Enough of that, it wasn't THAT terrible for me. I guess it's a lot worse if you've been following them for some time before checking out this one.
Void Eater - 18.04.2012 at 05:51  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 18.04.2012 at 05:48

Written by Void Eater on 18.04.2012 at 05:44
I've been going to Taco Cabana a lot lately. Very underrated when compared to the mediocre Taco Bell-they're all style and no substance. Thoughts?

We don't have a Taco Cabana in Canada as far as I'm aware. We just have Taco Bell... You should send Randy an email and tell him about how Taco Bell is the fast food equivalent of his band's music.

30% beef and 70% soy?
Boxcar Willy - 18.04.2012 at 05:52  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 18.04.2012 at 05:48

Written by Boxcar Willy on 18.04.2012 at 05:45
I told you it was going to suck.

I don't remember being too optimistic myself to be honest.

Yes, It's that bad.
Troy Killjoy - 18.04.2012 at 05:55  
Written by Unhealer on 18.04.2012 at 05:50
And what about the last song of the album that has female vocals and synths? This is a huge step forward for the band's sound, Troy. You clearly didn't understand the greatness of this album. Enough of that, it wasn't THAT terrible for me. I guess it's a lot worse if you've been following them for some time before checking out this one.

Actually, on a serious note, "King Me" is a surprisingly good closer. Definitely the only bright spot for me but it's still far from the worst album I've ever listened to. It's just like... a worse, more simplified and condensed version of everything they've already done.
Troy Killjoy - 18.04.2012 at 05:57  
Written by Void Eater on 18.04.2012 at 05:51
30% beef and 70% soy?

0% flavor.
Nosurper - 18.04.2012 at 06:00  
I think they were going for the metal meditation chamber
Troy Killjoy - 18.04.2012 at 06:02  
Written by Nosurper on 18.04.2012 at 06:00
I think they were going for the metal meditation chamber

Yet there's a complete lack of ambiance. No atmosphere, bland riffs, driven by boundaries and limited by creativity... There's just no redeeming qualities beyond the closing track.
Nosurper - 18.04.2012 at 06:04  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 18.04.2012 at 06:02

Written by Nosurper on 18.04.2012 at 06:00
I think they were going for the metal meditation chamber

Yet there's a complete lack of ambiance. No atmosphere, bland riffs, driven by boundaries and limited by creativity... There's just no redeeming qualities beyond the closing track.


I assume. But maybe that could have worked better
strade - 18.04.2012 at 06:32  
I agree except for the fact that the production was given a 9. The production sucked, too. I might give it a 5 at best.
Troy Killjoy - 18.04.2012 at 06:44  
Written by strade on 18.04.2012 at 06:32
I agree except for the fact that the production was given a 9. The production sucked, too. I might give it a 5 at best.

Really? I actually thought this was a really well-produced album. Everything was clear and audible but it still had a bit of a gritty edge to it. In this instance I'd venture so far as to say the music was more plastic than the production value; normally it's the other way around for me.
Cynic Metalhead - 18.04.2012 at 07:22  
Don't you think this album was better than Wrath?

ugh no. but this album is ain't that pathetic too. it could have been better with some of the songs were too boring/ "ordinary-Lamb-Of-God-groove" stuff which preposterously was thinking of some sheer innovation. i would give 6.
Troy Killjoy - 18.04.2012 at 07:25  
Written by Cynic Metalhead on 18.04.2012 at 07:22
Don't you think this album was better than Wrath?

I honestly prefer Wrath. Even though it's still more or less the same as before at least the touches of melody helped keep my interest.
Scorpyin - 18.04.2012 at 07:34  
Lamb of god resolution, 5.0... and cancer bats, dead set on living, 8.7.......LOL hahahahahahaha

lamb of god is lamb of god.. theyre not exactly known for being 'creative' or do anything 'wild and out of the norm' for them in their music... king me was kinda different for them (same feel as reclamation, ending song on wrath)... but overall i like lamb of god because i KNOW what im in for, and i like that formula.. they play the same thrashy groove-style because thats what they do best!
Cynic Metalhead - 18.04.2012 at 07:36  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 18.04.2012 at 07:25

Written by Cynic Metalhead on 18.04.2012 at 07:22
Don't you think this album was better than Wrath?

I honestly prefer Wrath. Even though it's still more or less the same as before at least the touches of melody helped keep my interest.


a big similarity between them is that they just have a handful pick of a great songs and not an entire album was completely awesome. i don't mind picking up Wrath from my LOG archives to have a listen over Resolution as far as "having-a-mood-to-listen-LOG" is concerned.
Troy Killjoy - 18.04.2012 at 07:40  
Written by Scorpyin on 18.04.2012 at 07:34
Lamb of god resolution, 5.0... and cancer bats, dead set on living, 8.7.......LOL hahahahahahaha

Not sure what Cancer Bats have to do with this.
Cynic Metalhead - 18.04.2012 at 07:54  
Written by Scorpyin on 18.04.2012 at 07:34

lamb of god is lamb of god


so do Cancer Bats is Cancer Bats, Dying Fetus is Dying Fetus, High on Fire is High on Fire, Slayer is Slayer and bleh.
Introspekrieg - 18.04.2012 at 08:55  
Visitation is the greatest LoG song I have ever heard. But overall, the album has a stale feeling, I never listen to but a few select songs. I'm glad to see that even a fanboy could give an honest review...
errorcode99 - 18.04.2012 at 09:57  
Not many tacos in Europe
-DC-002- - 18.04.2012 at 10:20  
Written by Void Eater on 18.04.2012 at 05:44

I've been going to Taco Cabana a lot lately. Very underrated when compared to the mediocre Taco Bell-they're all style and no substance. Thoughts?


Never heard of Taco Cabana, but I agree that Taco Bell is a whole lot of flashing tacos and lights, The Grilled Stuffed burrito is fucking great though! The Taco Bell near me, I don't think it ever changed back from the XXL grilled stuffed burrito, so you know, my life's been pretty perfect lately....... Ok, this one is still taco related; the two for a dollar tacos at Jack in the Box, right, their fucking terrible! They are never cooked all the way through and the meat either tastes like beans or overcooked dog food. Well, this one time two friends and I decided to get 60 of them. It was weird, like a hive mind we knew they had to be eaten right then and there. So they were, and it was a terrible decision. It's happened a few times afterwards and it gets harder each time
Ace Frawley - 18.04.2012 at 10:30  
I get the feeling the review was intended to be controversial to get a lot of interest. I don't take it as a serious review.
Kuroboshi - 18.04.2012 at 10:31  
Daniell, you might want to consider seeing a professional.

And thanks yet again Troy for letting me gain 50 minutes of valuable time by not listening to this album!
Daniell - 18.04.2012 at 10:37  
Wtf, my comment is gone. Maybe I do need to see a professional, because I'm apparently (not) seeing things
BudDa - 18.04.2012 at 11:14  
The album is average. And on this site 5 is equivalent to "Average". So the rating is dead on point. The album though is not as bad as the review makes it out to be.
Milena - 18.04.2012 at 11:25  
Written by Daniell on 18.04.2012 at 10:37

Wtf, my comment is gone. Maybe I do need to see a professional, because I'm apparently (not) seeing things

I saw your comment too
BudDa - 18.04.2012 at 11:27  
Written by Milena on 18.04.2012 at 11:25

Written by Daniell on 18.04.2012 at 10:37

Wtf, my comment is gone. Maybe I do need to see a professional, because I'm apparently (not) seeing things

I saw your comment too

did too...
Paradox0 - 18.04.2012 at 12:37  
Written by Daniell on 18.04.2012 at 10:24



Yeah dude this is the quote of the comment. Is MS developing a mind of its own, that it deletes unsatisfactory comments? Are Mcgangbangs as awful as they sound? Will Lamb of God stop making albums for the sake of having barbecues and drinking bear in their backyard? the similarity between all of these questions and more to be found in next weeks review....
fosi - 18.04.2012 at 13:16  
I'm not a big LOG fan,but totally disagree with the review...
Everyone has an opinion,but compare LOG with Bieber???
Come on...
Marcel Hubregtse - 18.04.2012 at 13:30  
Written by fosi on 18.04.2012 at 13:16

I'm not a big LOG fan,but totally disagree with the review...
Everyone has an opinion,but compare LOG with Bieber???
Come on...


this review almost reads as "look at me being all cool"
Nosurper - 18.04.2012 at 13:40  
, LOG get bieber on drums, bieber gets some latin drumming going on, band dials it back mariachi style to produce some wicked themes for axe deodorants and body washes.
Daniell - 18.04.2012 at 13:43  
Quote:
Written by Paradox0 on 18.04.2012 at 12:37


Yeah dude this is the quote of the comment. Is MS developing a mind of its own, that it deletes unsatisfactory comments?


My comment was entirely satisfactory to me
Olli - 18.04.2012 at 14:23  
I uasally agree with your reviews Troy but not this time! Straight for the sun and King Me are pretty different compared to anything they've done before. I'd much rather they carry on with their signiture sound than end up like Metallica, In Flames etc

"Remember when Lamb Of God were busy pioneering never-before-heard-of, genre-bending, boundary-pushing, avant-garde experimental transcendental music? "
I knew I could ignore the rest of what you said as soon as I read this.. if you only like this kind of music you really shouldn't be reviewing a lamb of god album, or really any music in "mainstream metal"

I'd probably give this album a 7, it's enjoyable but they can do better.
Zaphod - 18.04.2012 at 15:36  
Intro made me lol
Marcus - 18.04.2012 at 15:59  
Written by Olli on 18.04.2012 at 14:23

if you only like this kind of music you really shouldn't be reviewing a lamb of god album, or really any music in "mainstream metal"

If only you knew Troy was a closet LoG-head...

Anyways I'll give this a listen for the hell of it. Never been able to get into anything of theirs besides ...As the Palaces Burn but I'm always open to new stuff even if it's bad...
Troy Killjoy - 18.04.2012 at 16:16  
Written by Introspekrieg on 18.04.2012 at 08:55
I'm glad to see that even a fanboy could give an honest review...

A part of me just wanted to push it up to a 7 because... it's LoG. One of my favorite bands - a guilty pleasure or whatever. But this was just... underwhelming.
Troy Killjoy - 18.04.2012 at 16:17  
Written by Ace Frawley on 18.04.2012 at 10:30
I get the feeling the review was intended to be controversial to get a lot of interest. I don't take it as a serious review.

Everything I do on this site is for attention actually. Next up you'll see me give a universally hated release a 10/10 because I'm a troll reviewer like that.
Troy Killjoy - 18.04.2012 at 16:19  
Written by Kuroboshi on 18.04.2012 at 10:31
And thanks yet again Troy for letting me gain 50 minutes of valuable time by not listening to this album!

Well the great thing about this album is you can listen to the first song and judge the rest of the album, because the rest of the songs sound pretty much exactly the same. With exception of the closing track.
Troy Killjoy - 18.04.2012 at 16:21  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 18.04.2012 at 13:30
this review almost reads as "look at me being all cool"

That's all I aim for, so I'm glad people are taking notice.

But I actually aim for kewl, just to clarify.
Troy Killjoy - 18.04.2012 at 16:22  
Written by fosi on 18.04.2012 at 13:16
Everyone has an opinion,but compare LOG with Bieber???

The comparison to Bieber was meant to highlight how simple and repetitive this album is. It's not like I'm calling LoG a mainstream radio pop group.
Troy Killjoy - 18.04.2012 at 16:24  
Written by Marcus on 18.04.2012 at 15:59
If only you knew Troy was a closet LoG-head...

I wouldn't even say I'm in the closet anymore. I've made it known on several LoG-related threads that I love their work.
Marcel Hubregtse - 18.04.2012 at 16:24  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 18.04.2012 at 16:21


That's all I aim for, so I'm glad people are taking notice.

But I actually aim for kewl, just to clarify.


Shame you are failing dismally at it
Mr. Doctor - 18.04.2012 at 16:25  
I don't think the review was that controversial to give the vibe of being a show off. Oh well....
Troy Killjoy - 18.04.2012 at 16:48  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 18.04.2012 at 16:25
I don't think the review was that controversial to give the vibe of being a show off. Oh well....

Obviously I have to try harder next time.
Timmeh - 18.04.2012 at 16:54  
For me listening to LoG has always been to launch into some crazy air bashing, riff grooving half hour of madness so I wouldn't go to listen to their albums expecting or wanting something else. In the end it definitely ain't no 'Ashes' or 'Palaces' and it seems they won't ever be able to touch those groovacious riffs ever again but this album is still good.

I actually got a lot of pre-Sacrament vibes from this release sort of a hybrid between their older albums (Ashes, Palaces) and their newer (Sacrement, Wrath), but overall not as good as either period. Better than a 5 though imo.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: [1] 2 3


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Lamb Of God - Resolution 7 31.12.2012 by Coolingsrock
Reviews Devian - God To The Illfated 6 11.02.2012 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Unanimated - Ancient God Of Evil 5.5 12.02.2010 by Richard
Reviews Pact - The Dragon Lineage Of Satan 4.5 28.03.2012 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Cattle Decapitation - Monolith Of Inhumanity 4.5 09.05.2012 by Mr. Doctor



Hits total: 6186 | This month: 4