Lamb Of God - Resolution review



Reviewer:
5.0

385 users:
7.71
Band: Lamb Of God
Album: Resolution
Release date: January 2012


Disc I
01. Straight For The Sun
02. Desolation
03. Ghost Walking
04. Guilty
05. The Undertow
06. The Number Six
07. Barbarosa
08. Invictus
09. Cheated
10. Insurrection
11. Terminally Unique
12. To The End
13. Visitation
14. King Me

Disc II [Wrath - Tour 2009-2010] [Limited pre-order bonus]
01. The Passing
02. In Your Words
03. Set To Fail
04. Walk With Me In Hell
05. Hourglass
06. Now You've Got Something To Die For
07. Ruin
08. As The Palaces Burn
09. Blacken The Cursed Sun
10. Laid To Rest
11. Redneck
12. Black Label

[iTunes bonus tracks]
13. Digital Sands
14. Vigil [live]

[Japanese edition bonus track]
15. Bury Me Under the Sun


Remember when Lamb Of God were busy pioneering never-before-heard-of, genre-bending, boundary-pushing, avant-garde experimental transcendental music? Neither does anyone else. Resolution won't change the way you listen to the band's music either. Unless you continue to listen with the speakers off.

Okay, it's not that bad.* Really. But it's entirely void of the anger and spite that brought these alternative thrashers to the forefront of the pure American metal scene in the first place. It just comes across as routine now: by-the-numbers "redneck" metal for the masses. Not that they've taken a major step in any kind of new direction, but Resolution sounds like a collection of rejected demo songs from anything post-Ashes with a sexified production. Essentially some uninspired half-assed ideas that end at the beginning and don't even begin with much to their name in the first place.

Is it still safe to label them a groove metal band? Of course. The problem with that is the complete lack of anything else. You can't just write 14 songs that don't evolve beyond the single intro-hook combination. It's no different than listening to the repeated chorus from any hit pop single from the past decade, only instead of some annoyingly catchy vocal lines, you just get Randy shouting over some mild, run-of-the-mill thrashing. Yawn much.

That's pretty much all there is to say about such a one-dimensional release, an album that relies solely on a single recycled riff for nearly an hour. That's right. Just imagine listening to the thrash equivalent of Justin Bieber's "Baby" for 60 minutes.

* I lied. It's bad.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 7
Songwriting: 4
Originality: 5
Production: 9


 



Written on 18.04.2012 by Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.

Guest review by
Ace Frawley
Rating:
8.0
Resolution is the seventh studio album by American band Lamb Of God. It contains 14 tracks and has a running time of around 56-minutes. It sees the band consolidate their position as one of the most popular American metal bands of the last decade. Their familiar sound is still there on this album but it also contains some unexpected moments that show their willingness to experiment and evolve.

Read more ››
published 30.12.2012 | Comments (7)

Guest review by
flightoficarus
Rating:
9.0
After the somewhat experimental, uneven Sacrament and phoned-in blandness of Wrath, Lamb of God return with a vengeance on Resolution. Listening to this is like erasing the past 8 years and picking up right where the excellent Ashes Of The Wake left off.

From the first dirty, southern guitar chords to Randy's shriek, I am back in high school again. The production is crystal clear, but not washed out. "Walk With Me In Hell," though a great song, sounded like it was recorded in a tin can, and Wrath in general was so compressed it felt like a SNES soundtrack. This is a return to the riff machine that made these guys top dogs to begin with. The guitar-work is fast, tight, and just plain fun. If you were one of the people who went racing for tabs after hearing "Laid To Rest" the first time, this is the album for you. There are too many moments to name, but the intro transition on "Ghost Walking," and the relentless "Terminally Unique" stick out in my mind at the moment.

Read more ››
published 04.11.2014 | Comments (8)


Comments

Comments: 107   Visited by: 480 users
18.04.2012 - 05:32
Nosurper
Stinky Lips
Could be worse, could be pop evil or something. what this has to do with the review, ABSOLUTELY NOTHING. just look at that album cover. the most bland thing ever
----
Loading...
18.04.2012 - 05:35
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Nosurper on 18.04.2012 at 05:32
Could be worse, could be pop evil or something. what this has to do with the review, ABSOLUTELY NOTHING. just look at that album cover. the most bland thing ever

Hopefully this review thread becomes the most spammed, off-topic thread in the history of Metal Storm.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
18.04.2012 - 05:36
Nosurper
Stinky Lips
----
Loading...
18.04.2012 - 05:44
Void Eater
Crunkcore Fan
I've been going to Taco Cabana a lot lately. Very underrated when compared to the mediocre Taco Bell-they're all style and no substance. Thoughts?
----
Loading...
18.04.2012 - 05:45
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
I told you it was going to suck.


This guy = Psychic.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
18.04.2012 - 05:48
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Void Eater on 18.04.2012 at 05:44
I've been going to Taco Cabana a lot lately. Very underrated when compared to the mediocre Taco Bell-they're all style and no substance. Thoughts?

We don't have a Taco Cabana in Canada as far as I'm aware. We just have Taco Bell... You should send Randy an email and tell him about how Taco Bell is the fast food equivalent of his band's music.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
18.04.2012 - 05:48
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Boxcar Willy on 18.04.2012 at 05:45
I told you it was going to suck.

I don't remember being too optimistic myself to be honest.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
18.04.2012 - 05:50
Unhealer
Eclecticist
And what about the last song of the album that has female vocals and synths?
This is a huge step forward for the band's sound, Troy. You clearly didn't understand the greatness of this album.

Enough of that, it wasn't THAT terrible for me. I guess it's a lot worse if you've been following them for some time before checking out this one.
Loading...
18.04.2012 - 05:51
Void Eater
Crunkcore Fan
Written by Troy Killjoy on 18.04.2012 at 05:48

Written by Void Eater on 18.04.2012 at 05:44
I've been going to Taco Cabana a lot lately. Very underrated when compared to the mediocre Taco Bell-they're all style and no substance. Thoughts?

We don't have a Taco Cabana in Canada as far as I'm aware. We just have Taco Bell... You should send Randy an email and tell him about how Taco Bell is the fast food equivalent of his band's music.

30% beef and 70% soy?
----
Loading...
18.04.2012 - 05:52
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by Troy Killjoy on 18.04.2012 at 05:48

Written by Boxcar Willy on 18.04.2012 at 05:45
I told you it was going to suck.

I don't remember being too optimistic myself to be honest.

Yes, It's that bad.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
18.04.2012 - 05:55
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Unhealer on 18.04.2012 at 05:50
And what about the last song of the album that has female vocals and synths? This is a huge step forward for the band's sound, Troy. You clearly didn't understand the greatness of this album. Enough of that, it wasn't THAT terrible for me. I guess it's a lot worse if you've been following them for some time before checking out this one.

Actually, on a serious note, "King Me" is a surprisingly good closer. Definitely the only bright spot for me but it's still far from the worst album I've ever listened to. It's just like... a worse, more simplified and condensed version of everything they've already done.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
18.04.2012 - 05:57
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Void Eater on 18.04.2012 at 05:51
30% beef and 70% soy?

0% flavor.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
18.04.2012 - 06:00
Nosurper
Stinky Lips
I think they were going for the metal meditation chamber
----
Loading...
18.04.2012 - 06:02
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Nosurper on 18.04.2012 at 06:00
I think they were going for the metal meditation chamber

Yet there's a complete lack of ambiance. No atmosphere, bland riffs, driven by boundaries and limited by creativity... There's just no redeeming qualities beyond the closing track.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
18.04.2012 - 06:04
Nosurper
Stinky Lips
Written by Troy Killjoy on 18.04.2012 at 06:02

Written by Nosurper on 18.04.2012 at 06:00
I think they were going for the metal meditation chamber

Yet there's a complete lack of ambiance. No atmosphere, bland riffs, driven by boundaries and limited by creativity... There's just no redeeming qualities beyond the closing track.


I assume. But maybe that could have worked better
----
Loading...
18.04.2012 - 06:32
strade
I agree except for the fact that the production was given a 9. The production sucked, too. I might give it a 5 at best.
----
My lo-fi synth project: http://luciddreamer.bandcamp.com
Loading...
18.04.2012 - 06:44
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by strade on 18.04.2012 at 06:32
I agree except for the fact that the production was given a 9. The production sucked, too. I might give it a 5 at best.

Really? I actually thought this was a really well-produced album. Everything was clear and audible but it still had a bit of a gritty edge to it. In this instance I'd venture so far as to say the music was more plastic than the production value; normally it's the other way around for me.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
18.04.2012 - 07:22
Cynic Metalhead
Atrocious Virgin
Don't you think this album was better than Wrath?

ugh no. but this album is ain't that pathetic too. it could have been better with some of the songs were too boring/ "ordinary-Lamb-Of-God-groove" stuff which preposterously was thinking of some sheer innovation. i would give 6.
----
Loading...
18.04.2012 - 07:25
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Cynic Metalhead on 18.04.2012 at 07:22
Don't you think this album was better than Wrath?

I honestly prefer Wrath. Even though it's still more or less the same as before at least the touches of melody helped keep my interest.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
18.04.2012 - 07:34
Scorpyin
Lamb of god resolution, 5.0... and cancer bats, dead set on living, 8.7.......LOL hahahahahahaha

lamb of god is lamb of god.. theyre not exactly known for being 'creative' or do anything 'wild and out of the norm' for them in their music... king me was kinda different for them (same feel as reclamation, ending song on wrath)... but overall i like lamb of god because i KNOW what im in for, and i like that formula.. they play the same thrashy groove-style because thats what they do best!
Loading...
18.04.2012 - 07:36
Cynic Metalhead
Atrocious Virgin
Written by Troy Killjoy on 18.04.2012 at 07:25

Written by Cynic Metalhead on 18.04.2012 at 07:22
Don't you think this album was better than Wrath?

I honestly prefer Wrath. Even though it's still more or less the same as before at least the touches of melody helped keep my interest.


a big similarity between them is that they just have a handful pick of a great songs and not an entire album was completely awesome. i don't mind picking up Wrath from my LOG archives to have a listen over Resolution as far as "having-a-mood-to-listen-LOG" is concerned.
----
Loading...
18.04.2012 - 07:40
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Written by Scorpyin on 18.04.2012 at 07:34
Lamb of god resolution, 5.0... and cancer bats, dead set on living, 8.7.......LOL hahahahahahaha

Not sure what Cancer Bats have to do with this.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
18.04.2012 - 07:54
Cynic Metalhead
Atrocious Virgin
Written by Scorpyin on 18.04.2012 at 07:34

lamb of god is lamb of god


so do Cancer Bats is Cancer Bats, Dying Fetus is Dying Fetus, High on Fire is High on Fire, Slayer is Slayer and bleh.
----
Loading...
18.04.2012 - 08:55
Introspekrieg
Totemic Lust
Visitation is the greatest LoG song I have ever heard. But overall, the album has a stale feeling, I never listen to but a few select songs. I'm glad to see that even a fanboy could give an honest review...
Loading...
18.04.2012 - 09:57
errorcode99
Not many tacos in Europe
Loading...
18.04.2012 - 10:20
-DC-002-
Mastercommander
Written by Void Eater on 18.04.2012 at 05:44

I've been going to Taco Cabana a lot lately. Very underrated when compared to the mediocre Taco Bell-they're all style and no substance. Thoughts?


Never heard of Taco Cabana, but I agree that Taco Bell is a whole lot of flashing tacos and lights, The Grilled Stuffed burrito is fucking great though! The Taco Bell near me, I don't think it ever changed back from the XXL grilled stuffed burrito, so you know, my life's been pretty perfect lately....... Ok, this one is still taco related; the two for a dollar tacos at Jack in the Box, right, their fucking terrible! They are never cooked all the way through and the meat either tastes like beans or overcooked dog food. Well, this one time two friends and I decided to get 60 of them. It was weird, like a hive mind we knew they had to be eaten right then and there. So they were, and it was a terrible decision. It's happened a few times afterwards and it gets harder each time
----
Coldgrits
Loading...
18.04.2012 - 10:30
Ace Frawley
The Spaceman
I get the feeling the review was intended to be controversial to get a lot of interest. I don't take it as a serious review.
----
The sun shines over The Fool...
Loading...
18.04.2012 - 10:31
Kuroboshi
Daniell, you might want to consider seeing a professional.

And thanks yet again Troy for letting me gain 50 minutes of valuable time by not listening to this album!
Loading...
18.04.2012 - 10:37
Daniell
No, you don't
Wtf, my comment is gone. Maybe I do need to see a professional, because I'm apparently (not) seeing things
----
Now loving:
Katatonia - Takeover
Kreator - World War Now
Ortega - Crows
Ahab - The Light In the Weed
Anaal Nathrakh - Depravity Favours the Bold
Dark Tranquillity - Encircled
Moonsorrow - Ihmisen Aika
Loading...
18.04.2012 - 11:14
BudDa
The album is average. And on this site 5 is equivalent to "Average". So the rating is dead on point. The album though is not as bad as the review makes it out to be.
----
Freeze! Step away from the hubris.
Loading...

Hits total: 7549 | This month: 14