Rating:
8.0
Torche - Harmonicraft
24 April 2012


01. Letting Go
02. Kicking
03. Walk It Off
04. Reverse Inverted
05. In Pieces
06. Snakes Are Charmed
07. Sky Trials
08. Roaming
09. Skin Moth
10. Kiss Me Dudely
11. Solitary Traveler
12. Harmonicraft
13. Looking On


Sludgy thunderpop power trio Torche are back, following up their 2010 release, Songs For Singles with the 13 track, 38 minute Harmonicraft.

The human Torches approach is the same as it ever was… lots of melodic hooks abound. (Harmonicraft, indeed.) The majority of the songs are of the slower and more drawn-out nature. And by drawn-out, with these guys we're talking three minutes, not 18 minute epics.

The midpace songs are enjoyable enough, but my favorite Torche-bearing tracks are the blitzing barnstormers that cause you to jump around like a spastic monkey for 60 seconds or so before, just as quickly as they came, they are gone. Fortunately "Walk It Off", "Sky Trials", and "Kiss Me Dudely" fit the bill and give us a nice fix of sonic smack.

The band still has that infectiously joyful vibe that make them stand out from their peers. In addition to pummeling power chords, they also show off chops with some tasty frenetic ripping riffs in "Snakes Are Charmed" and "Sky Trials."

The production is fantastic as well. Vocals are sort of back a tad in the mix, which helps lend a B-I-G, W-I-D-E feel. Everything sounds great.

I suppose I was initially slightly disappointed with the fact the album is primarily powering along at a medium clip, but the songs are groovy enough and it makes the trio of tracks even more of an energy burst. When they hit, I feel like I just downed a couple a half dozen vodka & Red Bulls and snorted a yard and a half of Pixie Stix.

Harmonicraft is a rawkin' good time.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 9


Band profile: Torche
Album: Harmonicraft


 



Written on 01.05.2012 by
BitterCOld
BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.
More reviews by BitterCOld ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 14  
Users visited: 175  
Search this topic:  


Spirit Molecule - 01.05.2012 at 09:23  
Cool review. Streamed the album a couple of times online and it does sound good. Nothing will top their self titled album for me though.
R'Vannith - 01.05.2012 at 11:52  
Ha, awesome album cover. But what's 'thuderpop'?
Nosurper - 01.05.2012 at 12:04  
The spastic monkey part got me interested.

(this is an honest comment, not fictitious. any objections to the actions of the spastic monkey are to be taken up with the judge or police )
Nosurper - 01.05.2012 at 12:21  
Also, after listening.

Black Cobra/Stone Temple Pilots lovechild
BloodTears - 01.05.2012 at 13:12  
I'm loving this album at the moment. It's so different from what I normally listen to when it comes to sludge, it has a cool spin to it.
BitterCOld - 01.05.2012 at 18:00  
Written by R'Vannith on 01.05.2012 at 11:52

Ha, awesome album cover. But what's 'thuderpop'?


i've heard them called that before. it's a mix of pop sensibilities combined with BOOMLOUDNOISES more associated with metal. so loud and powerful, but hooky-catchy at the same time.
R'Vannith - 01.05.2012 at 18:04  
Written by BitterCOld on 01.05.2012 at 18:00

Written by R'Vannith on 01.05.2012 at 11:52

Ha, awesome album cover. But what's 'thuderpop'?


i've heard them called that before. it's a mix of pop sensibilities combined with BOOMLOUDNOISES more associated with metal. so loud and powerful, but hooky-catchy at the same time.


Ah ok, I've never heard the term, sounds like fun. Though might it be spelled thunderpop rather than thuderpop?
BitterCOld - 01.05.2012 at 18:06  
Written by R'Vannith on 01.05.2012 at 18:04


Ah ok, I've never heard the term, sounds like fun. Though might it be spelled thunderpop rather than thuderpop?


yes. good catch.
tea[m]ster - 02.05.2012 at 02:25  
3 minute songs? Uh oh...might not be my brand of vodka.
Mr. Doctor - 02.05.2012 at 15:50  
Written by tea[m]ster on 02.05.2012 at 02:25

3 minute songs? Uh oh...might not be my brand of vodka.


So Grindcore is out of the question? hahahahahhaha
I never care for lengths...Never saw the point in that. It's all about how it suits the music. This music will never work with long(er) songs it would probably lose strength.
tea[m]ster - 03.05.2012 at 06:02  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 02.05.2012 at 15:50

So Grindcore is out of the question? hahahahahhaha


I think by accident I saw a track listing of an album by Anal Cunt (which one?). OMFG, I was shocked. How in the world does that work into a cohesive record, lol.
I have stated before I am in love with long, repetitive, droned out post metal passages or progressive metal's 10 minute riff-tastic marathons.
Susan - 30.05.2012 at 09:37  
"Vocals are sort of back a tad in the mix, which helps lend a B-I-G, W-I-D-E feel."

You know what? You're so right about that. Aside from the obvious differences in their composition style, they just SOUND so unique and I think the production is a huge part of that. Big and wide is exactly how it should be described, now that you mention it.

This band is the love of my life.
Boxcar Willy - 30.11.2013 at 03:14  
Written by tea[m]ster on 03.05.2012 at 06:02

I think by accident I saw a track listing of an album by Anal Cunt (which one?). OMFG, I was shocked. How in the world does that work into a cohesive record.

You obviously didn't listen to the album then.
tea[m]ster - 01.12.2013 at 17:35  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 30.11.2013 at 03:14

You obviously didn't listen to the album then.


Correct. Had no interest.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Torche - Songs For Singles 6 23.11.2010 by Susan
Albums Torche - Harmonicraft 4.5 24.04.2012 by BitterCOld
Reviews Fracture Point - Inherit The Downfall 3 28.04.2010 by Visioneerie
Reviews Firebird - Double Diamond 3 11.03.2011 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Sunpocrisy - Atman 3 01.12.2009 by -DC-002-



Hits total: 3148 | This month: 40