Rating:
8.6
Allegaeon - Formshifter
4 May 2012


01. Behold (God I Am)
02. Tartessos: The Hidden Xenocryst
03. A Path Disclosed
04. Iconic Images
05. Twelve - Vals For The Legions
06. The Azrael Trigger
07. From The Stars Death Came
08. Timeline Dissonance
09. Formshifter
10. Secrets Of The Sequence


You know what's great? Melodic death metal that still happens to be death metal...Rather than some ambiguous melodic riffing put through thickened production with death growls laid over top. None of that crap here, Formshifter is what you could call a quintessential melodic death metal album in the truest sense of the term.

Melodic death metal with a slight techy flavouring? Naturally, you think Arsis. Comparing the two, this makes Arsis sound pretty thin.

Stop! Amalgamation time! Here's what the mix is like:

Take a little bit of Arsis' digestible technical prowess, mix it with a dash or two of God Dethroned's straightforward death-thrash assault. Now take a few of Arch Enemy's better epic leads and sprinkle them on top. Perhaps as a bonus, give the overall feel something akin to Amoral's Reptile Ride...You know, before they became a boy band. Formshifter is not an amalgamation sort of recording though, it's very much a straightforward album, which unfortunately may come as a bore some, but will be a treat for those who love solidity and worship great riffs.

Sounds wondrous, right? Well...Yes, it is. Too often melodic metal songs consist of one-shot sugary riffs that seem like they could be considered memorable, but are so run of the mill they just don't stick. Allagaeon have put out an album here that is cram packed with genuinely memorable hooks & leads interlaced into a strong backbone, giving the whole picture a much more full-bodied feel than what a lot of us may expect from a melodic death metal album.


Band profile: Allegaeon
Album: Formshifter


 



Written on 05.05.2012 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 14  
Users visited: 314  
Search this topic:  


psykometal - 05.05.2012 at 09:02  
Nice review, this could honestly be a review for both of their albums since you didn't really mention any specific songs or details. Not that that's a bad thing because both of their albums are pretty awesome. I haven't gotten to put as much time into this album as I did their debut but from what I've heard so far, it's pretty awesome just like the first album.
Doc Godin - 05.05.2012 at 09:04  
Written by psykometal on 05.05.2012 at 09:02

Nice review, this could honestly be a review for both of their albums since you didn't really mention any specific songs or details. Not that that's a bad thing because both of their albums are pretty awesome. I haven't gotten to put as much time into this album as I did their debut but from what I've heard so far, it's pretty awesome just like the first album.

Unless a certain songs marks a significant change in the album, I usually talk about the overall sound, rather than the specific songs. This one is pretty constant.

But if you must know, the main repeated lead in "Tartessos: The Hidden Xenocryst" is probably one of the high points of the album for me.
BudDa - 05.05.2012 at 10:56  
I haven't listened to this yet. But the couple of songs I listened to, I really liked. I'll most definitely look for this. Good review
Troy Killjoy - 05.05.2012 at 17:07  
Was not expecting this high a rating for this to be honest, Doc. I found this to be pretty average middle-of-the-pack technically-driven melodeath with a bit of a heavier production to hide its cookie-cutter style. I still haven't heard the entire album but the songs I heard on Youtube didn't paint nearly as pretty a picture. Maybe more time spent with the overall package and not just a few tracks will change my mind, although I doubt it.

As I mentioned in the album thread, they sound like contemporary Arsis, and I don't think that's a good thing.
Kwis - 05.05.2012 at 18:09  
Hate Arsis, love Allegaeon! Fragments of Form and Function was a personal highlight for me back in 2010, so REALLY looking forward to this album.
neonxaos - 05.05.2012 at 18:40  
I agree. Their EP blew me away, and Fragments of Form and Function is for me an album that showed the future of melodic tech death. Finally a band that is not afraid of using grooves over technical wanking or silly melodeath cliches. And when they DO go technical, it is with surgical precision and great skill. From what I've heard from Formshifter, they are just getting better and better.
Verdun_sc - 05.05.2012 at 19:47  
So, I'm gonna have to listen to this. Solely because of this review, and the fact that they hail from Colorado. All of a sudden, Colorado has a pretty damn strong metal scene...
Malignar - 05.05.2012 at 21:06  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 05.05.2012 at 17:07

Was not expecting this high a rating for this to be honest, Doc. I found this to be pretty average middle-of-the-pack technically-driven melodeath with a bit of a heavier production to hide its cookie-cutter style. I still haven't heard the entire album but the songs I heard on Youtube didn't paint nearly as pretty a picture. Maybe more time spent with the overall package and not just a few tracks will change my mind, although I doubt it.

As I mentioned in the album thread, they sound like contemporary Arsis, and I don't think that's a good thing.


Couldn't agree more. If you aren't a fan of melodic death metal or tech death this is not likely to bring you around. I was a massive God Dethroned fan and was hoping for more of their influence indicated by the review, not much to be found here. This may hit a bit harder than most melodic death albums, but not enough that I would recommend this to people that don't like the genre.
Diamonds - 06.05.2012 at 03:45  
Yeah I'm not surprised in the least. Their last album was magnificent, it just makes sense that this one would be too. I can't wait to hear it !! \m/
Dylan - 06.05.2012 at 06:05  
I enjoyed the album, i'd probably drop it slightly to an 8 or 7.8, it's still really good.
The Voyager - 07.05.2012 at 05:14  
Why do people like this band so much? I seriously don't get it. Pretty standard to me.
RockeRoy - 07.05.2012 at 20:17  
Nothing special, a couple of cool drumparts. Not a singel riff i will remember, Formshifter would be the only memorable song here, maybe becasue it's the moast catchy one. And the solos feel forced and are not good. Previous album mutch better
Maxx666 - 08.05.2012 at 22:24  
I find it quite amazing, that being a relatively new band ,Allagaeon is releasing top quality material one after another. They surely have mastered the art of perfection. And nice review btw
pyrz - 12.05.2012 at 01:49  
Sounds too artificial to me. Horrible drum sound.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Goatwhore - Constricting Rage Of The Merciless 4.5 17.07.2014 by Lit.
Reviews The Haunted - Exit Wounds 4.5 25.08.2014 by deadone
Reviews Hardcore Superstar - Beg For It 4.5 12.11.2009 by Ivan
Reviews Quartered - Eyes And Ears 4.5 07.10.2014 by tea[m]ster
Reviews Murder Construct - Results 4.5 11.08.2012 by Mr. Doctor



Hits total: 4926 | This month: 62