Rating:
8.7
Horseback - Half Blood
8 May 2012


01. Mithras
02. Ahriman
03. Inheritance (The Changeling)
04. Arjuna
05. Hallucigenia I: Hermetic Gifts
06. Hallucigenia II: Spiritual Junk
07. Hallucigenia III: The Emerald Tablet


If anything can be said about Horseback, it's that they've achieved the almost impossible; they've taken a form of music that is generally difficult to get into, and made it accessible and digestible, without compromising the heart & integrity behind the whole thing.

Ambient, psychedelic drone/noise-rock. Now, I'm not sure about you folks, but with tags like that, it generally means you're in for something laughably pretentious...Or I should say you lack the intellectual depth and capacity for abstract thought which is required to enjoy such music. Horseback don't seem to have any such pretensions. Half Blood has to be one of the most earthy, organic sounding albums ever recorded. It's simultaneously filthy & gentle. Soft, flowing riffs played through sour guitar tones. Throw some organs underneath, some buzzing black metal vocals on top, and you've got yourself a tasty mold sandwich.

Yeah, it's got those incredibly zonked-out ambient droners like "Inheritance (The Changeling)" or the Hallucigenia trilogy, but it's tastefully paired up with other tracks with more tangible guitar work, which make up the remainder of the album. In other words, Half Blood is an album that works on two levels; music for sober people, and music for people who have clearly taken too many drugs...Or people who want to feel like they've taken too many drugs.

With Half Blood, Horseback have shown that accessibility is not arbitrarily a negative thing. This is a very creative album that doesn't pander to you with any instant-gratification type gimmicks, while it also doesn't alienate with a strict regimen of pretentious time wasting. Dark, trippy and engaging is Half Blood in a nutshell.


Website: http://horsebacknoise.com/


 



Written on 05.05.2012 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 17  
Users visited: 270  
Search this topic:  


BloodTears - 05.05.2012 at 13:14  
I'm very curious about this album, will definitely be checking it out, especially after this review.
!J.O.O.E.! - 05.05.2012 at 15:44  
I'm exceptionally jealous that you've heard this and I have not. Such a great band on every level.
Troy Killjoy - 05.05.2012 at 17:00  
This band got me interested in noise/drone when I bought a compilation a year or two ago. I definitely don't actively listen to the genre but I'll always check out new Horseback records. I remember one of the songs from this being posted in the 2012 rec. thread and I thought it was awesome. Your review makes me feel like that opinion won't change once I spend a good couple of days listening to the entire thing.
Doc Godin - 05.05.2012 at 17:08  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 05.05.2012 at 15:44

I'm exceptionally jealous that you've heard this and I have not. Such a great band on every level.

Gotta love digitial promos. I feel like such a champ listening to albums...*checks watch*...3 days before they come out.

Here's a nice teaser for you.
!J.O.O.E.! - 05.05.2012 at 17:11  
Written by Doc Godin on 05.05.2012 at 17:08

Gotta love digitial promos. I feel like such a champ listening to albums...*checks watch*...3 days before they come out.

Here's a nice teaser for you.

Such a good sound. They've brought the vocals higher in the mix on this one it seems.
Edmund Fogg - 05.05.2012 at 17:22  
One more reason for me to hate my pc being broke! Glad to see they finally get proper recognition for their work. Only two more weeks and this will definetly be one of the first album I order if not the first.
tea[m]ster - 05.05.2012 at 17:24  
Hmmm, I seem to remember trying out Gorgon Tongue and NOT liking it. I'll give this one a try.
!J.O.O.E.! - 05.05.2012 at 17:28  
Written by tea[m]ster on 05.05.2012 at 17:24

Hmmm, I seem to remember trying out Gorgon Tongue and NOT liking it. I'll give this one a try.

Invisible Mountain is much better than Gorgon Tongue:

tea[m]ster - 05.05.2012 at 17:31  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 05.05.2012 at 17:28

Invisible Mountain is much better than Gorgon Tongue:


Ah yes, thanks for the link. This sounds like something I might like.
Draugen - 05.05.2012 at 18:05  
I want to listen to this album so bad!
Grey Wind - 05.05.2012 at 20:24  
Sounds great, not pretentious at all, and the review is excellent!
Unhealer - 05.05.2012 at 20:49  
Stoking review, directly to my to-check list.
-DC-002- - 05.05.2012 at 21:36  
Sweeeet. I didn't know this existed. More from Horseback this year is not bad at all. Their split with Pyramids is good, but maybe at times a little to drone I just end up spacing out.... maybe that's good.
Cynic Metalhead - 05.05.2012 at 22:36  
Terrific.

Sadly i never gave this band a few spins, probably, i don't understand them really well. But being through some of their singles/records, they're just too good. My friend gave me their mix stuff ripped a CD in the union last year by saying "it's my goddamn favorite one band only! you just check this out" and opening their stuff for once I just forgotten what this band is all about? >> eventually that makes me keep it out of them. But dropping this bomb shell again, i will surely see now what they have to impress me.
Boxcar Willy - 05.05.2012 at 23:19  
I haven't heard much if horseback, but I have been getti ino to drone/noise lately so I will check this out.
Hybreda - 07.05.2012 at 09:51  
Listened to the song on bandcamp, and this album seems like it's going to be awesome. Great reviews are flowing all around the place, so can't wait for the release date! Thanks for the review
Dane Train - 30.06.2012 at 20:34  
I just finished listening to this record. I liked it a lot. A slightly more melodic version of Om, perhaps.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Horseback - Half Blood 6 10.02.2012 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews Goatwhore - Blood For The Master 6 07.02.2012 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews 3 Inches Of Blood - Fire Up The Blades 6 17.11.2009 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews 3 Inches Of Blood - Long Live Heavy Metal 6 23.03.2012 by Rulatore
Reviews The Devil's Blood - The Thousandfold Epicentre 6 09.01.2012 by Milena



Hits total: 4264 | This month: 70