Process Of Guilt - Fæmin review



Reviewer:
8.2

54 users:
7.91
Band: Process Of Guilt
Album: Fæmin
Release date: June 2012


01. Empire
02. Blindfold
03. Harvest
04. Cleanse
05. Fæmin


When Marcel reviewed Process Of Guilt's monstrous Erosion in 2009, he noted:

"…the band have now moved on towards to a more, what some would probably call, post-doom sound."

Suffice it to say that observation is even more true with 2012's Faemin, where the band further move in that direction. Rest assured, dear reader, this is not the ethereal wussy style post, but the Cult Of Neurosis bludgeoning by riff type. They also incorporate an organic version of Godflesh's mechanized assault. The end result of co-opting these elements with Process Of Guilt's own style is five tracks of visceral riff fest laid over a foundation of tribal drumming.

Admittedly it took some time to process and accept, particularly given how amazing Erosion was and the expectation of a continuation of that style. The opening track, "Empire," begins with a trudging riff that while introducing the approach… usually albums seem to open with their strongest track, and "Empire" is my least favorite of these five. It sort of ambles along for a couple minutes in a Neurosis-like build-up that has you waiting for it to finally explode.

After that, things really started to click.

The remaining four tracks feel much stronger. Crushing riffs, pounding drums given a bit more of a raw sound in the production envelope and overwhelm the listener. "Cleanse" has momentary mellow bits for a few seconds of respite before resuming the assault. The chorus of "Harvest", 'Blood! Harvest!" harkens back to the bellowed chorus of Godflesh's "Locust Furnace."

All in all it is a gripping, unrelenting listen. Once Faemin gets its momentum going it is a crushing wall of sound.

Initially it might be a bit of a surprise as it feels like a continuation of what they've been doing, only accelerated as at first listen it seems maybe two or three albums removed from Erosion rather than a follow-up. Process Of Guilt has shown over albums and EPs a willingness to evolve, making each iteration work and uniquely their own. This holds true for Faemin as well - I've referenced a lot of influences they've allowed in to the sound, but they still make it their own.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 8


 



Written on 08.05.2012 by BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.


Comments page 2 / 2

Comments: 37   Visited by: 208 users
14.05.2012 - 01:03
Glabrezu
Written by Mr. Doctor on 10.05.2012 at 18:25

Written by Troy Killjoy on 10.05.2012 at 18:22

I thought they would just continue with that style. But by the sound of it they've kind of done a reversal - from post-influenced doom metal to doom-influenced post-metal.


Welp, I haven't heard this either. Marcel says it's still doom enough to call it doom metal, we'll see.


Harvest is a good song, I want to listen all the tracks before ordering it.
Their vocal style is really changed: of course I didn't expect another 'Renounce' or 'Erosion'.
Maybe this is less "Doom" and more actual "Process of Guilt", I think I will appreciate this evolution
----
Exploring life
Without fear without feeling
I am one with my torment
And forever blind
Loading...
16.07.2012 - 09:29
The Melting Snow
Any good guitar solos in there?
Loading...
04.10.2012 - 16:41
Daggon
Underpaid M.D.
This guys keep on impressing me. After many spins, I just can say I love this album; as most of you say, it still has lots of Doom elements here and there perfectly mixed with a huge post-metal influence we all praised on "Erosion", so I think they maybe changed their style, but it wasn't unexpected, and they did it so freaking well, that fans from their previous works will surely enjoy this one too.

Simply one of my favorites of the year so far.
----
"Les vers savent qu'ils n'ont pas d'ailes, c'est pour cela qu'ils se cachent sous terre"
Loading...
04.10.2012 - 17:13
tea[m]ster
Au Pays Natal
You have me interested right when I read "Cult of Neurosis" and "Godflesh". Is their previous releases as "heavy" as this? Thanks for the review Craig.
----
rekt
Loading...
04.10.2012 - 17:21
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by tea[m]ster on 04.10.2012 at 17:13

You have me interested right when I read "Cult of Neurosis" and "Godflesh". Is their previous releases as "heavy" as this? Thanks for the review Craig.


Erosion owns this album if you ask me. In every sense This onw isn't too shabby but Erosion is just superior.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
04.10.2012 - 17:30
tea[m]ster
Au Pays Natal
Written by Mr. Doctor on 04.10.2012 at 17:21

Erosion owns this album if you ask me. In every sense This onw isn't too shabby but Erosion is just superior.


Thanks doc, I'll have to check it out.
----
rekt
Loading...
06.10.2012 - 02:02
-DC-002-
Mastercommander
I just can't get into this album. I appreciate how it's so drum and bass heavy,but I just can't seem to do that for the album itself. Seems kind of very bland right meow.
----
Coldgrits
Loading...

Hits total: 5135 | This month: 13