Rating:
8.2
Process Of Guilt - Fæmin
11 June 2012


01. Empire
02. Blindfold
03. Harvest
04. Cleanse
05. Fæmin


When Marcel reviewed Process Of Guilt's monstrous Erosion in 2009, he noted:

"…the band have now moved on towards to a more, what some would probably call, post-doom sound."

Suffice it to say that observation is even more true with 2012's Faemin, where the band further move in that direction. Rest assured, dear reader, this is not the ethereal wussy style post, but the Cult Of Neurosis bludgeoning by riff type. They also incorporate an organic version of Godflesh's mechanized assault. The end result of co-opting these elements with Process Of Guilt's own style is five tracks of visceral riff fest laid over a foundation of tribal drumming.

Admittedly it took some time to process and accept, particularly given how amazing Erosion was and the expectation of a continuation of that style. The opening track, "Empire," begins with a trudging riff that while introducing the approach… usually albums seem to open with their strongest track, and "Empire" is my least favorite of these five. It sort of ambles along for a couple minutes in a Neurosis-like build-up that has you waiting for it to finally explode.

After that, things really started to click.

The remaining four tracks feel much stronger. Crushing riffs, pounding drums given a bit more of a raw sound in the production envelope and overwhelm the listener. "Cleanse" has momentary mellow bits for a few seconds of respite before resuming the assault. The chorus of "Harvest", 'Blood! Harvest!" harkens back to the bellowed chorus of Godflesh's "Locust Furnace."

All in all it is a gripping, unrelenting listen. Once Faemin gets its momentum going it is a crushing wall of sound.

Initially it might be a bit of a surprise as it feels like a continuation of what they've been doing, only accelerated as at first listen it seems maybe two or three albums removed from Erosion rather than a follow-up. Process Of Guilt has shown over albums and EPs a willingness to evolve, making each iteration work and uniquely their own. This holds true for Faemin as well - I've referenced a lot of influences they've allowed in to the sound, but they still make it their own.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 8


Band profile: Process Of Guilt
Album: Fæmin


 



Written on 08.05.2012 by
BitterCOld
BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.
More reviews by BitterCOld ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 37  
Users visited: 201  
Search this topic:  


Troy Killjoy - 08.05.2012 at 18:36  
"Admittedly it took some time to process and accept, particularly given how amazing Erosion was and the expectation of a continuation of that style."

This is why I haven't listened to the entire thing yet. I'm trying to remove Erosion from my mind temporarily because from what I've read (this review included) it's not just more of the same. Hopefully I'm able to do that and appreciate this for what it is.
Chobo_jokeR - 08.05.2012 at 20:18  
Good review, hope the album is good...Harvest didn't really blow my hair back, but need the full meal deal to form any sort of opinion.
JēkabsFiļi - 08.05.2012 at 21:42  
Just got my pre-ordered copy.

Have listened for 5 times. It's not worse than Erosion, it's just different. Last track Fæmin is mesmerizing masterpiece.
Spirit Molecule - 09.05.2012 at 12:53  
The track on their bandcamp sounds great. Will check out the full album sometime
Dark Blood - 09.05.2012 at 18:43  
This is something to look into, most definitely.
Truant - 09.05.2012 at 19:11  
Was a big fan of Renounce, but didn't listen much after that. Might check this out then.
Merchant of Doom - 09.05.2012 at 19:16  
Not impressed by the new sludgy sound... only listened to "Harvest", though...
!J.O.O.E.! - 09.05.2012 at 19:18  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 09.05.2012 at 19:16

Not impressed by the new sludgy sound

Sludgy? In the atmospheric sludge, Cult of Luna, way yes (lots of CoL here). But otherwise I'd say not.
Merchant of Doom - 10.05.2012 at 00:52  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 09.05.2012 at 19:18

Written by Merchant of Doom on 09.05.2012 at 19:16

Not impressed by the new sludgy sound

Sludgy? In the atmospheric sludge, Cult of Luna, way yes (lots of CoL here). But otherwise I'd say not.


well, yes... previous stuff was a tad different, but regardless, again, judging on one track, I thought they conformed to a rather boring "heard a million times before" sludgy sound... to be honest, I was expecting a progression on the previous album... to me , this is a regression. Only a personal opinion.
!J.O.O.E.! - 10.05.2012 at 00:55  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 10.05.2012 at 00:52


well, yes... previous stuff was a tad different, but regardless, again, judging on one track, I thought they conformed to a rather boring "heard a million times before" sludgy sound... to be honest, I was expecting a progression on the previous album... to me , this is a regression. Only a personal opinion.

I've only heard this one song and that's my reaction. I like Cult of Luna but I don't want more than one of that band, which is what I got from Harvest.
Merchant of Doom - 10.05.2012 at 09:44  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 10.05.2012 at 00:55

Written by Merchant of Doom on 10.05.2012 at 00:52


well, yes... previous stuff was a tad different, but regardless, again, judging on one track, I thought they conformed to a rather boring "heard a million times before" sludgy sound... to be honest, I was expecting a progression on the previous album... to me , this is a regression. Only a personal opinion.

I've only heard this one song and that's my reaction. I like Cult of Luna but I don't want more than one of that band, which is what I got from Harvest.



I love Cult of Luna... but, as you say, we don't need another one. I will reserve my judgment until I've heard the entire album... I'm not against a changing of direction per se, it's just not the changing of direction I was expecting. I'm sure there will be many people who will love this.
Marcel Hubregtse - 10.05.2012 at 10:23  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 10.05.2012 at 09:44

I love Cult of Luna... but, as you say, we don't need another one. I will reserve my judgment until I've heard the entire album... I'm not against a changing of direction per se, it's just not the changing of direction I was expecting. I'm sure there will be many people who will love this.


I don''t really see this new one as a change of direction when you compare it to eorsion. Erosion already had a lot of the elements, you can find on Faemin, in it. This is more or less the move I expected from them. Process Of Guilt moving further away from doom (even though there is still doom present) and moving further into a post metal direction.
Merchant of Doom - 10.05.2012 at 10:29  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 10.05.2012 at 10:23

Written by Merchant of Doom on 10.05.2012 at 09:44

I love Cult of Luna... but, as you say, we don't need another one. I will reserve my judgment until I've heard the entire album... I'm not against a changing of direction per se, it's just not the changing of direction I was expecting. I'm sure there will be many people who will love this.


I don''t really see this new one as a change of direction when you compare it to eorsion. Erosion already had a lot of the elements, you can find on Faemin, in it. This is more or less the move I expected from them. Process Of Guilt moving further away from doom (even though there is still doom present) and moving further into a post metal direction.


you don't? I haven't listened to the whole album, and yes, there are elements in Erosion already, but Erosion is a very doomy album. The style of singing is completely different on the song I listened to (Harvest). I suppose I was expecting more doom....
Marcel Hubregtse - 10.05.2012 at 10:34  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 10.05.2012 at 10:29

I suppose I was expecting more doom....


If you were expecting more doom then it''s clear you have no idea what Process of Guilt and especially Hugo Santos are all about
Mr. Doctor - 10.05.2012 at 10:44  
I have to agree with Marcel there. There was absolutely no reason to expect a "more doom" album.
Merchant of Doom - 10.05.2012 at 10:45  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 10.05.2012 at 10:34

Written by Merchant of Doom on 10.05.2012 at 10:29

I suppose I was expecting more doom....


If you were expecting more doom then it''s clear you have no idea what Process of Guilt and especially Hugo Santos are all about



No, I don't... but maybe I should have said a more 'doomy' album... Process of Guilt have never been 100% doom, probably not even 50%... doesn't surprise me they are exploring 'new' avenues... anyway, Erosion came out in 2009 and, if you take into consideration the gestation period, it was eons ago...
Marcel Hubregtse - 10.05.2012 at 10:46  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 10.05.2012 at 10:45

anyway, Erosion came out in 2009 and, if you take into consideration the gestation period, it was eons ago...



yep, with the stop gap limited e.p. Circle in between which had all sorts of remixes of that song.
Merchant of Doom - 10.05.2012 at 10:47  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 10.05.2012 at 10:44

I have to agree with Marcel there. There was absolutely no reason to expect a "more doom" album.


Hope springs eternal...
Merchant of Doom - 10.05.2012 at 10:48  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 10.05.2012 at 10:46

Written by Merchant of Doom on 10.05.2012 at 10:45

anyway, Erosion came out in 2009 and, if you take into consideration the gestation period, it was eons ago...



yep, with the stop gap limited e.p. Circle in between which had all sorts of remixes of that song.



which I thought was a useless experiment...
Marcel Hubregtse - 10.05.2012 at 10:54  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 10.05.2012 at 10:48

which I thought was a useless experiment...


I didn''t because it showed the band's inspirations and vision and actually had a couple of interesting takes on the song on it. But it wasn''t for everyone that''s why they limited it.
Merchant of Doom - 10.05.2012 at 11:02  
I'm all for progress and innovation, but I was expecting more innovation than a boring, derivative sludgy sound...
BitterCOld - 10.05.2012 at 11:05  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 10.05.2012 at 10:47

Written by Mr. Doctor on 10.05.2012 at 10:44

I have to agree with Marcel there. There was absolutely no reason to expect a "more doom" album.


Hope springs eternal...


... an incredibly amusing sentiment from a doom merchant...

Merchant of Doom - 10.05.2012 at 11:06  
Written by BitterCOld on 10.05.2012 at 11:05

Written by Merchant of Doom on 10.05.2012 at 10:47

Written by Mr. Doctor on 10.05.2012 at 10:44

I have to agree with Marcel there. There was absolutely no reason to expect a "more doom" album.


Hope springs eternal...


... an incredibly amusing sentiment from a doom merchant...





ah, ah, lol... touché!
Troy Killjoy - 10.05.2012 at 17:28  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 10.05.2012 at 10:29
I suppose I was expecting more doom....

Same, although I haven't listened to it to get a full grasp of the situation (and as Marcel pointed out, I guess I don't know what the band members are all about or whatever but it's not like I hang out with them at my house).

Based on what I got from Erosion, and Renounce, I wasn't expecting a transition into post-metal. And to be honest, I have no interest in the genre myself which will suck for me if this album is more post than doom... but whatevs. Bands do what they want and listeners either like it or they don't. I just didn't imagine myself not liking one of their releases so early. :/

That being said, I still have to listen to the whole thing before I officially label this "good" or "bad".
Merchant of Doom - 10.05.2012 at 17:52  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 10.05.2012 at 17:28

but it's not like I hang out with them at my house


looks like Marcel does... BTW, I will be able to make a more informed judgment when I can listen to the whole thing... hopefully, soon, if I get a promo...
Marcel Hubregtse - 10.05.2012 at 17:57  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 10.05.2012 at 17:52

Written by Troy Killjoy on 10.05.2012 at 17:28

but it's not like I hang out with them at my house


looks like Marcel does...


Not with Process Of Guilt (yet? )

For hanging out at my house you need to contact Procession, Ataraxie, Mourning Dawn
Mr. Doctor - 10.05.2012 at 18:20  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 10.05.2012 at 17:28
Based on what I got from Erosion, and Renounce, I wasn't expecting a transition into post-metal.


This is the part I don't get. I felt it was obvious. Renounce is as far as I remember more of a Black/doom release... But with Erosion it was some Death/Doom thing but with clearly MANY influences of post-metal. Yeah... They were "just" influences but listening to the entire album makes me feel like these guys obviously were going in that path.

...and I don't know them * , just saying from what I'm listening


* = Well, I met Hugo and bought Erosion directly from him ... But I was stupid enough to not ask him to sign it. Oh well...
Troy Killjoy - 10.05.2012 at 18:22  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 10.05.2012 at 18:20
They were "just" influences but listening to the entire album makes me feel like these guys obviously were going in that path.

I thought they would just continue with that style. But by the sound of it they've kind of done a reversal - from post-influenced doom metal to doom-influenced post-metal.
Mr. Doctor - 10.05.2012 at 18:25  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 10.05.2012 at 18:22

I thought they would just continue with that style. But by the sound of it they've kind of done a reversal - from post-influenced doom metal to doom-influenced post-metal.


Welp, I haven't heard this either. Marcel says it's still doom enough to call it doom metal, we'll see.
BitterCOld - 10.05.2012 at 18:49  
It's not total post, but it is a step further down the road than i thought they'd be on album 3. if Renounce is Point A, Erosion Point B, Faemin seems more like Point D or E.
Glabrezu - 14.05.2012 at 01:03  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 10.05.2012 at 18:25

Written by Troy Killjoy on 10.05.2012 at 18:22

I thought they would just continue with that style. But by the sound of it they've kind of done a reversal - from post-influenced doom metal to doom-influenced post-metal.


Welp, I haven't heard this either. Marcel says it's still doom enough to call it doom metal, we'll see.


Harvest is a good song, I want to listen all the tracks before ordering it.
Their vocal style is really changed: of course I didn't expect another 'Renounce' or 'Erosion'.
Maybe this is less "Doom" and more actual "Process of Guilt", I think I will appreciate this evolution
The Melting Snow - 16.07.2012 at 09:29  
Any good guitar solos in there?
Daggon - 04.10.2012 at 16:41  
This guys keep on impressing me. After many spins, I just can say I love this album; as most of you say, it still has lots of Doom elements here and there perfectly mixed with a huge post-metal influence we all praised on "Erosion", so I think they maybe changed their style, but it wasn't unexpected, and they did it so freaking well, that fans from their previous works will surely enjoy this one too.

Simply one of my favorites of the year so far.
tea[m]ster - 04.10.2012 at 17:13  
You have me interested right when I read "Cult of Neurosis" and "Godflesh". Is their previous releases as "heavy" as this? Thanks for the review Craig.
Mr. Doctor - 04.10.2012 at 17:21  
Written by tea[m]ster on 04.10.2012 at 17:13

You have me interested right when I read "Cult of Neurosis" and "Godflesh". Is their previous releases as "heavy" as this? Thanks for the review Craig.


Erosion owns this album if you ask me. In every sense This onw isn't too shabby but Erosion is just superior.
tea[m]ster - 04.10.2012 at 17:30  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 04.10.2012 at 17:21

Erosion owns this album if you ask me. In every sense This onw isn't too shabby but Erosion is just superior.


Thanks doc, I'll have to check it out.
-DC-002- - 06.10.2012 at 02:02  
I just can't get into this album. I appreciate how it's so drum and bass heavy,but I just can't seem to do that for the album itself. Seems kind of very bland right meow.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Process Of Guilt - The Circle 7.5 26.12.2010 by Glabrezu
Albums Process Of Guilt - Fæmin 6 05.02.2012 by InnerSelf
News Process Of Guilt - To Begin Recording New Split 5 04.01.2014 by Troy Killjoy
News Process Of Guilt - Debut Track From Split With Rorcal 4.5 11.09.2014 by Diverge
News Process Of Guilt - European Tour Dates Confirmed 4.5 11.04.2013 by Marcel Hubregtse



Hits total: 3715 | This month: 50