Rating:
7.6
(EchO) - Devoid Of Illusions
11 November 2011


01. Intro
02. Summoning The Crimson Soul
03. Unforgiven March
04. The Coldest Land
05. Internal Morphosis
06. Omnivoid
07. Disclaiming My Faullts
08. Once Was A Man
09. Sounds From Out Of Space


(EchO) do not employ an orthodox approach to their take on the whole doom thing, opting instead to toss the whole (metal) kitchen sink into the album creation process.

Devoid Of Illusions is partially based in the same death doom formula we are all familiar with. There are plenty of heavy, punishing riffs with guttural vocals, and keyboards providing the melodic leads. The band also employs extended periods of clean vocals over sparse, clean toned guitar - almost a post-rock feeling at times, proggish at others. Maybe traces of goth and psychedelic extreme doom as well. Sure, why not?

I guess all of these elements have been employed separately by other acts, or mixed, but they seem particularly well employed (EchO). The doom aspects are good, but these extended chill periods really provide a counterbalance to help enhance that dooming feeling. They are engaging, draw you in, and lull you in, rope-a-dope style, before doom slams home.

In addition to more chill moments, the band also can go off the deep end the other way as well. There are passages at, gasp, triple digit BPM as well as flat out terrifying extreme crushing psychedelia, perhaps the result of having Greg Chandler of Esoteric mixing and mastering the album.

So despite meandering all over the metal map, these Italians still pull all the elements together and work out the song dynamics remarkably well.

Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 7
Production: 8


Band profile: (EchO)
Album: Devoid Of Illusions


 



Written on 15.05.2012 by
BitterCOld
BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.
More reviews by BitterCOld ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 8  
Users visited: 104  
Search this topic:  


Marcel Hubregtse - 15.05.2012 at 18:39  
A very enjoyable album indeed.
Had to check what I scored it and it was 78/100
Troy Killjoy - 15.05.2012 at 19:00  
Doesn't sound like something I'd want to concern myself with, but the review did a good job letting me know what it would sound like.
!J.O.O.E.! - 15.05.2012 at 19:06  
Had a listen to some of the tracks on Spotify. Pretty solid stuff but it didn't grab me like I'd hoped, I guess I was expecting something a bit more "out there" for a melodoom outfit.
BitterCOld - 15.05.2012 at 19:30  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 15.05.2012 at 19:06

Had a listen to some of the tracks on Spotify. Pretty solid stuff but it didn't grab me like I'd hoped, I guess I was expecting something a bit more "out there" for a melodoom outfit.


depends entirely on the track. try the closer. that's the most esoteric of the lot. first listen through i thought i had mistagged it. (only about 50% of the albums on their server are tagged, the others might have song titles, leaving you to sort through five releases to see what is what.)

it's probably not your thing as a whole, at times it wasn't mine, but it is well enough done and crafted that i had to give respect for that.
!J.O.O.E.! - 15.05.2012 at 19:32  
Written by BitterCOld on 15.05.2012 at 19:30


depends entirely on the track. try the closer. that's the most esoteric of the lot. first listen through i thought i had mistagged it. (only about 50% of the albums on their server are tagged, the others might have song titles, leaving you to sort through five releases to see what is what.)

it's probably not your thing as a whole, at times it wasn't mine, but it is well enough done and crafted that i had to give respect for that.

Yeah I put it in a folder for me to listen to later as it sounds like something I might like in the right mood, and generally because it sounds like decent quality stuff, which is always nice to have access to.
Cynic Metalhead - 15.05.2012 at 19:58  
I'd listen some of their tracks from "Omnivoid" last month back on Spotify and was thinking of dropping their new album anytime soon. I lost the touch and Baam! this came in. Will surely check this out soon.
Merchant of Doom - 16.05.2012 at 16:28  
Lovely album... the different styles and atmospheres are very well mixed together... thanks Greg! Highly recommended. 9 for me.
Alex Fenger - 11.12.2012 at 17:39  
I really really liked this. Probably around an 8.3/8.5 from me.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums (EchO) - Devoid Of Illusions 6 16.05.2012 by Cynic Metalhead
Reviews Project Pain - I Have Sinned 3.5 15.11.2012 by Marcel Hubregtse
Reviews Obsidian Sea - Between Two Deserts 3 14.06.2012 by Edmund Fogg
Reviews Gift Of Gods - Receive 3 22.11.2013 by Array
Reviews Barren Earth - The Devil's Resolve 3 21.03.2012 by musclassia



Hits total: 2251 | This month: 3