(EchO) - Devoid Of Illusions review



Reviewer:
7.6

16 users:
8.69
Band: (EchO)
Album: Devoid Of Illusions
Release date: November 2011


01. Intro
02. Summoning The Crimson Soul
03. Unforgiven March
04. The Coldest Land
05. Internal Morphosis
06. Omnivoid
07. Disclaiming My Faullts
08. Once Was A Man
09. Sounds From Out Of Space


(EchO) do not employ an orthodox approach to their take on the whole doom thing, opting instead to toss the whole (metal) kitchen sink into the album creation process.

Devoid Of Illusions is partially based in the same death doom formula we are all familiar with. There are plenty of heavy, punishing riffs with guttural vocals, and keyboards providing the melodic leads. The band also employs extended periods of clean vocals over sparse, clean toned guitar - almost a post-rock feeling at times, proggish at others. Maybe traces of goth and psychedelic extreme doom as well. Sure, why not?

I guess all of these elements have been employed separately by other acts, or mixed, but they seem particularly well employed (EchO). The doom aspects are good, but these extended chill periods really provide a counterbalance to help enhance that dooming feeling. They are engaging, draw you in, and lull you in, rope-a-dope style, before doom slams home.

In addition to more chill moments, the band also can go off the deep end the other way as well. There are passages at, gasp, triple digit BPM as well as flat out terrifying extreme crushing psychedelia, perhaps the result of having Greg Chandler of Esoteric mixing and mastering the album.

So despite meandering all over the metal map, these Italians still pull all the elements together and work out the song dynamics remarkably well.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 8
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 7
Production: 8


 



Written on 15.05.2012 by BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.


Comments

Comments: 8   Visited by: 112 users
15.05.2012 - 18:39
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
A very enjoyable album indeed.
Had to check what I scored it and it was 78/100
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
15.05.2012 - 19:00
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
Doesn't sound like something I'd want to concern myself with, but the review did a good job letting me know what it would sound like.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
15.05.2012 - 19:06
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Had a listen to some of the tracks on Spotify. Pretty solid stuff but it didn't grab me like I'd hoped, I guess I was expecting something a bit more "out there" for a melodoom outfit.
Loading...
15.05.2012 - 19:30
BitterCOld
Gringo
Written by Guest on 15.05.2012 at 19:06

Had a listen to some of the tracks on Spotify. Pretty solid stuff but it didn't grab me like I'd hoped, I guess I was expecting something a bit more "out there" for a melodoom outfit.


depends entirely on the track. try the closer. that's the most esoteric of the lot. first listen through i thought i had mistagged it. (only about 50% of the albums on their server are tagged, the others might have song titles, leaving you to sort through five releases to see what is what.)

it's probably not your thing as a whole, at times it wasn't mine, but it is well enough done and crafted that i had to give respect for that.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
15.05.2012 - 19:32
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by BitterCOld on 15.05.2012 at 19:30


depends entirely on the track. try the closer. that's the most esoteric of the lot. first listen through i thought i had mistagged it. (only about 50% of the albums on their server are tagged, the others might have song titles, leaving you to sort through five releases to see what is what.)

it's probably not your thing as a whole, at times it wasn't mine, but it is well enough done and crafted that i had to give respect for that.

Yeah I put it in a folder for me to listen to later as it sounds like something I might like in the right mood, and generally because it sounds like decent quality stuff, which is always nice to have access to.
Loading...
15.05.2012 - 19:58
Cynic Metalhead
Atrocious Virgin
I'd listen some of their tracks from "Omnivoid" last month back on Spotify and was thinking of dropping their new album anytime soon. I lost the touch and Baam! this came in. Will surely check this out soon.
----
Loading...
16.05.2012 - 16:28
Merchant of Doom
Lovely album... the different styles and atmospheres are very well mixed together... thanks Greg! Highly recommended. 9 for me.
Loading...
11.12.2012 - 17:39
Alex F
Slick Dick Rick
I really really liked this. Probably around an 8.3/8.5 from me.
Loading...

Hits total: 3343 | This month: 5