Marauder - Elegy Of Blood review



Reviewer:
N/A

7 users:
6.14
Band: Marauder
Album: Elegy Of Blood
Release date: May 2012


01. Elegy Of Blood
02. The Great War
03. Alexander
04. Warriors
05. Roman Empire
06. Hiroshima
07. Mother
08. Crusader
09. Black Gold
10. World War II
11. In Memory [bonus]


Do you know what's boring as shit? Generic power-influenced traditional heavy metal built entirely on overused, recycled riffs & leads. Luckily, Marauder are much more interesting and engaging because... Fuck it, let's not pretend this is anything more than what it is; boring, overdone heavy-power metal.

Before you ask, yes, the music does sound as cheap as that cover artwork looks. Insert generic chugging rhythm guitars, throw on some forgettable quasi-rough-edged power metal vocals, then some guitar leads that you've heard from dozens upon dozens upon dozens of other heavy-power acts like this before. Before you continue, let it be known that this review doesn't really contain any further details of the music, because frankly, there isn't any notable details to be found.

This is usually the part where we discuss the small number of positive sides of the album which show the band in some positive light. There is none. Elegy Of Blood is so unbelievably dry, repetitive and run-of-the-mill there is an actual tangible feeling of pain derived from the boredom Marauder inflicts upon the listener. Why would someone make something this painfully generic? At what point did they say "Hey, instead of creating anything, let's just do what hundreds of other bands already do."?

This isn't music. This is a product. This is a factory-line product.

I swear to Christ, if I have to hear another second of this copy + paste rhythm guitar tracking that every one of these uncreative excuses for bands use, I'm quitting Metal Storm, and reviewing for good.

Avoid.


 



Written on 17.05.2012 by Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.


Comments

Comments: 6   Visited by: 120 users
17.05.2012 - 19:35
Troy Killjoy
perfunctionist
I have a feeling you'll be quitting sooner than later based on the stream of copy-cat bands you've been reviewing lately.
----
Prettier than BloodTears.
Loading...
18.05.2012 - 15:42
theFIST
No, please don"t quit
it"s fun to read reviews bashing an album
even for the stuff i like i mostly just search for the negative reviews, and it"s even better to find something i dislike being criticized
----
http://metalstormmusicianscorner.bandcamp.com
Written by Warman on 07.11.2007 at 22:39
Haha, that's like saying "compose your own Metal album and upload it here, instead of writing a review of an album". :lol:
Loading...
18.05.2012 - 16:44
Druss
Read that long ass post by Bittercold in the latest Alcest album review thread about the mandatory review work an Elite goes through here, so.....condolences, Doc. But thanks for the review as always, will avoid with extreme prejudice.
Loading...
19.05.2012 - 01:00
RavenKing
OMG, I understand your feeling, Doc.

I think there's nothing I find more boring than outdated, overdone, unoriginal, generic, forgettable, run-of-the-mill, heard-a-thousand-times-before (do you need any other adjective?) standard Heavy Metal.
Even pop music is more enjoyable than this stuff.
----
They shake your hand and they smile and they buy you a drink
They say we'll be your friends we'll stick with you till the end
But everybody's only looking out for themselves
And you say who can you trust I'll tell you nobody
Loading...
19.05.2012 - 19:46
hoegaarden
What a silly review. Some people happen to like power-influenced traditional heavy metal. And guess what, they are not looking for originality. So how about describing the album rather than bashing the genre. Are there any really catchy tunes? Is the singer OK? Is the production good? Does the band sound influenced by any particular group, e.g. Sabaton? For people who are wondering what the album sounds like, I suggest checking out the 2 songs available on youtube. Both are worth a listen. And the answer to all 4 questions above is yes.
Loading...
21.05.2012 - 03:10
Doc Godin
Full Grown Hoser
Written by hoegaarden on 19.05.2012 at 19:46

What a silly review. Some people happen to like power-influenced traditional heavy metal. And guess what, they are not looking for originality. So how about describing the album rather than bashing the genre. Are there any really catchy tunes? Is the singer OK? Is the production good? Does the band sound influenced by any particular group, e.g. Sabaton? For people who are wondering what the album sounds like, I suggest checking out the 2 songs available on youtube. Both are worth a listen. And the answer to all 4 questions above is yes.

What a silly comment. I don't recall ever bashing the genre, actually. I'd like you to show me where I did that.

As for the rest, I think I got my feelings across. I spoke of the album as an entire sound rather than pick out individual parts, as I didn't see the point. Lack of originality is one thing, but this album takes blandness to a whole new level. That is essentially the review in a nutshell.
----
"I got a lot of really good ideas, problem is, most of them suck."
- George Carlin
Loading...

Hits total: 3229 | This month: 4