Rating:
9.0
Be'lakor - Of Breath And Bone
1 June 2012


01. Abeyance
02. Remnants
03. Fraught
04. Absit Omen
05. To Stir The Sea
06. In Parting
07. The Dream And The Waking
08. By Moon And Star


In what can only be described as a natural progression of one of the most highly regarded melodic death metal albums of the decade in Stone's Reach, Be'lakor have taken to the studio once more with the hopes of building on their already unrelenting momentum.

Of Breath and Bone begins as if "Countless Skies" was a season finale that left its audience begging for answers, building upon the exact qualities responsible for the praise of its predecessor. The dense, almost depressive atmosphere is as prominent as ever, separating the band from the sea of melodic death metal as oil asserts itself atop water. Their songwriting prowess is put on display as early as the opening track, "Abeyance", and just gets better and better throughout the course of the album. A noticeable difference this time around is the more folk-influenced guitar melodies, and a stronger focus on piano passages - both of which add to the overall somber mood. It's far from being monumentally different, but that's not going to upset a great deal of fans by any means.

In spite of the subtle changes, the album as a whole works perfectly as a direct follow-up to Stone's Reach, as some of the riffs even sound similar in the sense that - again - a story is being concluded. The fact that this ability spans two albums and not just two songs is rather impressive in itself, but this isn't the band's most appealing quality. That distinction would go to the accessibility, which of course at this point is synonymous with the genre, but here Be'lakor have an advantage. Building on the aforementioned atmosphere, these guys manage to include some incredibly catchy riffs and haunting melodies that are capable of inducing a man-tear or two while the headbanging quality is top-notch. Think Amon Amarth at their manliest or Insomnium at their bleakest. The band members deserve kudos if not only for incorporating elements from both bands while maintaining their own voice - something that is unique in this genre.

Songs begin and end in what is fast becoming "typical fashion" for the band, with introductions that build up a bombastic body of work before closing out with even more fervent proficiency, and yet another break in the action by way of an acoustic instrumental track ("To Stir the Sea") keeps the album from becoming one continuous melting pot of overlapping riffs.

Simply put, Of Breath and Bone is more of the same but in a more continued sense that will undoubtedly cause the same stir as its predecessor. This album doesn't mark a new direction and maintains the same successful formula as before, but this time around the entirety of the band's sound comes off as more direct, and even slightly more daring. With a mixture of fluffy, light-hearted melodies and brutal fist-pounding riffs backing up the always delectable growls of George Kosmas; a heavy production that lends a major hand to the doleful vibe, thanks in large part to Jens Bogren; and insanely catchy, yet forward-thinking compositions, these Australians have delivered exactly what fans of the band have been eagerly awaiting. No unpleasant surprises, no needless changes or drastic transitions - just well-executed melancholic melodic death metal that further builds upon a foundation that is largely considered to be one of the strongest currently in the scene.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 7
Production: 10


Band profile: Be'lakor
Album: Of Breath And Bone


 



Written on 23.05.2012 by
Troy Killjoy
Just another opinionated guy telling you what to listen to.
More reviews by Troy Killjoy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: [1] 2
Comments: 87  
Users visited: 934  
Search this topic:  


!J.O.O.E.! - 23.05.2012 at 17:53  
Quote:
Simply put, Of Breath and Bone is more of the same but in a more continued sense that will undoubtedly cause the same stir as its predecessor


That's all I needed to know to stay away =P
Troy Killjoy - 23.05.2012 at 17:55  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 23.05.2012 at 17:53
That's all I needed to know to stay away =P

Oh for sure, based on your rating and comments I wouldn't recommend you even bother listening to this.
Pazdzioch - 23.05.2012 at 18:01  
Sounds cool.
Edmund Fogg - 23.05.2012 at 18:13  
I liked Stone's Reach, but it didn't leave such an impression on me. Will deffinetly check this one out.... Just to fill out my fury desires.
Dark Blood - 23.05.2012 at 18:16  
I honestly wasn't expecting such a high rate based on the songs that were released so far. I mean I like them but... this is a nice surprise. And to see such a demanding reviewer give such a rate, that alone makes me love the album.
Their previews album was superb and I'm still hooked to it, so this should be great too. Really looking forward to it.

Really nice review. Congrats.
Troy Killjoy - 23.05.2012 at 18:19  
Written by Edmund Fogg on 23.05.2012 at 18:13
I liked Stone's Reach, but it didn't leave such an impression on me.

To be honest you can probably expect to feel the same about this, as it's pretty much Stone's Reach pt. II.
Troy Killjoy - 23.05.2012 at 18:19  
Written by Dark Blood on 23.05.2012 at 18:16
And to see such a demanding reviewer give such a rate, that alone makes me love the album. Really nice review. Congrats.

Blast! My reputation precedes me...

And thanks!
Boxcar Willy - 23.05.2012 at 18:21  
I have little interest in this genre anymore, but then again, neither do you

Will YT when I get home.
Troy Killjoy - 23.05.2012 at 18:22  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 23.05.2012 at 18:21
I have little interest in this genre anymore, but then again, neither do you

Few bands still manage to keep my interest, but Be'lakor, Insomnium, and Amon Amarth keep me coming back for more every time.

And to a lesser extent these days, Dark Tranquillity.
Risto - 23.05.2012 at 18:37  
You destroyed pretty much all of my doubt with this review. Very much looking forward to next week's mail deliveries
PocketMetal - 23.05.2012 at 18:43  
I'm so excited , Be'lakor is the only MDM band I like .
Fredd - 23.05.2012 at 19:02  
I liked the frail tide much much more than stone's reach, but i'll give this one its chance.
Troy Killjoy - 23.05.2012 at 19:04  
Written by Fredd on 23.05.2012 at 19:02
I liked the frail tide much much more than stone's reach, but i'll give this one its chance.

I'm the opposite. While The Frail Tide sparked my interest in the band and is more than competent as a melodic death metal release, the atmosphere didn't work as well for me as it did on Stone's Reach. Of course, atmosphere is purely subjective so this isn't a question of quality.
sordid - 23.05.2012 at 20:48  
Nice review by the song "remnants" i checked the band's style remains the same,but,as you say,with slight changes that are be'lakor's own voice. i love melodic death metal,but this band it's thousands of years ahead 95% of this style's bands. i hope so much that this band doesn't go down like many others that fall into desinspiration! the best luck for be'lakor,one of the most interesting band's to follow this days!
bitethepain - 23.05.2012 at 21:16  
Great review. Can't wait to hear it!
Reaper_Redeamer - 23.05.2012 at 21:21  
Thanks to Troy for the nice , well-written, informative review!
Thanks to metalstorm for supporting this band!
My ears feel happy now that the one they are struggling for is considered indeed good!
Pierre Tombale - 23.05.2012 at 21:55  
Looking forward to receive my copy
Stoned Crow - 24.05.2012 at 01:03  
Must be nice to get dibs on records before the rest of us. But, that only means it will be available soon- if you know what I mean. Nice review, let's me know that my expectations will be met. Your sentence including the "man-tear" is precisely what I want from this band. It's those moments within a song where I feel like a band gets "me"- if you know what I mean. And, before I type "if you know what I mean" again (oops), nice review- informative, and it adds to my anticipation. Well done!
Troy Killjoy - 24.05.2012 at 01:08  
Written by Guest on 24.05.2012 at 01:03
Must be nice to get dibs on records before the rest of us. But, that only means it will be available soon- if you know what I mean. Nice review, let's me know that my expectations will be met. Your sentence including the "man-tear" is precisely what I want from this band. It's those moments within a song where I feel like a band gets "me"- if you know what I mean. And, before I type "if you know what I mean" again (oops), nice review- informative, and it adds to my anticipation. Well done!

Thanks for the comment! As much as I'd like for others to get their hands on a copy, I'm hoping some official reviewer somewhere doesn't take advantage of their position and upload their copy early... Oh well, I guess that's the nature of the beast. Better to have a reviewer upload it than some random person I suppose.

As for their man-tear moments - to be honest that's probably my favorite aspect of their music. As much as I'm always down for brutality and extremity and whatnot, it's quite a special feat for a band like this to be able to incorporate such a strong atmosphere that makes the listener feel the weight of the band's words.
haladflire65 - 24.05.2012 at 02:15  
Holy crap Troy, this is the second time already you've introduced me to an awesome band (the first being in your Guide to the Underground article)! I Youtubed a couple promo tracks from this album and I love it. Be'lakor has a really good mix of melodic parts and brutality, perfect for my more symphonic tastes. I should go look at their older stuff too. Thanks for the nice review!
Troy Killjoy - 24.05.2012 at 02:17  
Written by haladflire65 on 24.05.2012 at 02:15
Thanks for the nice review!

Thank you!

Not only should you check out their other two albums, but you should also read this interview by MoraWintersoul.
haladflire65 - 24.05.2012 at 02:53  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 24.05.2012 at 02:17

Written by haladflire65 on 24.05.2012 at 02:15
Thanks for the nice review!

Thank you!

Not only should you check out their other two albums, but you should also read this interview by MoraWintersoul.


Thanks for the link! It looks like I found another genre and band to enjoy (Stone's Reach is sounding good so far!).
YureiYumi - 24.05.2012 at 07:51  
Sounds good, tkx for the review
Ace Frawley - 24.05.2012 at 14:15  
Looking forward to it and I hope to hear some of these songs live here in Australia before they head off to Europe.
Zealot644 - 24.05.2012 at 14:32  
Gah! Give me this now!
Timmeh - 24.05.2012 at 16:20  
Oh boy! Oh boy! This review has gotten my fanboydem all boy'd out. Should hopefully be getting the album in the mail tomorrow.
Kuroboshi - 24.05.2012 at 16:33  
A 9 from the Killjoy? This certainly ups my hopes, since I absolutely adore their sophomore effort. And a good review by the way! I'm actually a bit surprised that you don't appreciate In Mourning more than you do...
Troy Killjoy - 24.05.2012 at 17:28  
Written by Timmeh on 24.05.2012 at 16:20
Oh boy! Oh boy! This review has gotten my fanboydem all boy'd out. Should hopefully be getting the album in the mail tomorrow.

Did you pre-order a signed digipak? Apparently they sold out as soon as they were available.
Troy Killjoy - 24.05.2012 at 17:30  
Written by Kuroboshi on 24.05.2012 at 16:33
A 9 from the Killjoy? This certainly ups my hopes, since I absolutely adore their sophomore effort. And a good review by the way! I'm actually a bit surprised that you don't appreciate In Mourning more than you do...

I've actually been giving out quite a few higher scores these past few months, between Dodsengel, Desecravity, Drapsnatt, and now this. That being said, In Mourning have never really impressed me. That's actually a lie, when I first listened to them I was quite interested, but quickly brushed it off. Their latest effort is too drawn-out for its own good.
Pazdzioch - 24.05.2012 at 22:15  
Well, it's leaked...
X-FrEaK - 24.05.2012 at 22:19  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 24.05.2012 at 17:30

Written by Kuroboshi on 24.05.2012 at 16:33
A 9 from the Killjoy? This certainly ups my hopes, since I absolutely adore their sophomore effort. And a good review by the way! I'm actually a bit surprised that you don't appreciate In Mourning more than you do...

That's actually a lie, when I first listened to them I was quite interested, but quickly brushed it off. Their latest effort is too drawn-out for its own good.


True, it took a really long time for the album to grow on me. Hope Be'lakor's can surpass In Mourning's by a long shot
tea[m]ster - 24.05.2012 at 23:46  
Written by Pazdzioch on 24.05.2012 at 22:15

Well, it's leaked...


shocker...
Troy Killjoy - 24.05.2012 at 23:50  
Written by tea[m]ster on 24.05.2012 at 23:46
shocker...

I suppose I'm shocked it took this long - I've had the digital version in my inbox for like two weeks now.
tea[m]ster - 24.05.2012 at 23:53  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 24.05.2012 at 23:50

I suppose I'm shocked it took this long - I've had the digital version in my inbox for like two weeks now.


Yea, but the scene usually doesn't like to post 192kps crap, usually wait for a crisp 320.

Nice review Troy. I do like this band very much...
Risto - 25.05.2012 at 00:31  
Digipack copies are starting to reach their owners already. The band pleaded on Facebook not to leak it but you know that's not going to help much...
Troy Killjoy - 25.05.2012 at 00:33  
Written by Risto on 25.05.2012 at 00:31
Digipack copies are starting to reach their owners already. The band pleaded on Facebook not to leak it but you know that's not going to help much...

You can't expect an honor system to work like that. Pre-orders inevitably lead to early leaks.
belakorband - 25.05.2012 at 01:33  
Written by Risto on 25.05.2012 at 00:31

Digipack copies are starting to reach their owners already. The band pleaded on Facebook not to leak it but you know that's not going to help much...


I would hardly say we "pleaded", it was more a polite request with an air of resignation

I agree with Troy, we're actually surprised it has taken this long to leak when reviewers had the album long ago. Thanks guys, hope you enjoy the album!
Troy Killjoy - 25.05.2012 at 02:40  
Written by belakorband on 25.05.2012 at 01:33
I agree with Troy, we're actually surprised it has taken this long to leak when reviewers had the album long ago. Thanks guys, hope you enjoy the album!

Well I'm happy at least it wasn't leaked when reviewers were given their copies... of course fans are eager to share their new purchases though.

As if it needed to be said, I thoroughly enjoyed the album. Already looking forward to the next release.
Timmeh - 25.05.2012 at 05:35  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 24.05.2012 at 17:28

Did you pre-order a signed digipak? Apparently they sold out as soon as they were available.

Sure did opening the package as I type this, oh boy!! (#46/200) They sold out in around a day and a half if I remember right.
Risto - 25.05.2012 at 10:09  
Written by belakorband on 25.05.2012 at 01:33

I would hardly say we "pleaded", it was more a polite request with an air of resignation

Not the best choice of words I guess
Marcel Hubregtse - 25.05.2012 at 13:09  
Written by Timmeh on 25.05.2012 at 05:35

Written by Troy Killjoy on 24.05.2012 at 17:28

Did you pre-order a signed digipak? Apparently they sold out as soon as they were available.

Sure did opening the package as I type this, oh boy!! (#46/200) They sold out in around a day and a half if I remember right.



a day and a half? I actually find that amazingly long for 200 copies of a special version by a band in a genre which is really popular to sell out
Timmeh - 25.05.2012 at 15:56  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 25.05.2012 at 13:09
a day and a half? I actually find that amazingly long for 200 copies of a special version by a band in a genre which is really popular to sell out

40 hours to be precise (just checked there facebook). Their large following and popularity on this site gives the illusion that they are much more well known then they actually are. A quick MS fan to facebook 'like' ratio analysis to back me up.

MS popularity index
117: Norther - 38,158 'likes'
118: Be'lakor - 10,016 'likes'
119: Pain of Salvation - 67,118 'likes'

As for 40 hours to sell 200 digipacks over 10k people, you're probably right maybe that is a long time. My point though, Be'lakor may seem a bigger band who'd you expect to sell quick but perhaps not.
Marcel Hubregtse - 25.05.2012 at 16:14  
Written by Timmeh on 25.05.2012 at 15:56

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 25.05.2012 at 13:09
a day and a half? I actually find that amazingly long for 200 copies of a special version by a band in a genre which is really popular to sell out

40 hours to be precise (just checked there facebook). Their large following and popularity on this site gives the illusion that they are much more well known then they actually are. A quick MS fan to facebook 'like' ratio analysis to back me up.

MS popularity index
117: Norther - 38,158 'likes'
118: Be'lakor - 10,016 'likes'
119: Pain of Salvation - 67,118 'likes'

As for 40 hours to sell 200 digipacks over 10k people, you're probably right maybe that is a long time. My point though, Be'lakor may seem a bigger band who'd you expect to sell quick but perhaps not.


I find it a long time because usually when I want to buy something limited to 200 copies of a doom band (such as Hooded Menace, Mournful Congregation, Coffins etc) I have to react within 20 hours or else it will be sold out and ALL those bands are a lot lot lot smaller than Be'lakor looking at it from a popularity side of things.

Btw I meant how immensely ridicuoulsy popular melodeath is, not specifically this band within this genre.
Chobo_jokeR - 25.05.2012 at 17:26  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 25.05.2012 at 16:14


I find it a long time because usually when I want to buy something limited to 200 copies of a doom band (such as Hooded Menace, Mournful Congregation, Coffins etc) I have to react within 20 hours or else it will be sold out and ALL those bands are a lot lot lot smaller than Be'lakor looking at it from a popularity side of things.

Btw I meant how immensely ridicuoulsy popular melodeath is, not specifically this band within this genre.


I'd go out on a limb and say that's because doom fans are more dedicated to their favourite bands. Be'lakor likely has many fans, but maybe not many that would be scouring the internet for any sort of deal on them. Ahab's new vinyls sold out in no time. Mournful Congregation's Box Of Kings sold out in the blink of an eye. And you're right, they don't nearly have the following a band like Be'lakor does. May even be fair to say that doom fans might be a more "mature" group and actually have the money to buy the merch of their favourite bands (this is totally speculation).
Timmeh - 25.05.2012 at 18:26  
All interesting points and theories maybe it just does come down to the general type of fans (a debatable topic itself) and whether they actually often buy their music as opposed to other modes of acquiring it. Or maybe they are all just too "mature" and hence computer illiterate to find other ways .
Marcel Hubregtse - 25.05.2012 at 19:02  
Written by Chobo_jokeR on 25.05.2012 at 17:26

...Mournful Congregation's Box Of Kings sold out in the blink of an eye.


And one is coming my way soon
Chobo_jokeR - 25.05.2012 at 19:44  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 25.05.2012 at 19:02

And one is coming my way soon


That's awesome. It looked extremely impressive. Definitely a fantastic collector's piece.
Maxx666 - 25.05.2012 at 21:40  
Must get this album.. it bleeds beauty all over it!! totally amazing
Lit. - 26.05.2012 at 02:57  
U mad, wolf?
Merchant of Doom - 26.05.2012 at 11:30  
A bit disappointed by this... ok, when you find a formula which works, you tend to stick to it, but what's disappointing about this album is the total lack of progression and evolution. It's Stone's Reach number 2. Did we need another one? Judging by Be'lakor's popularity, obviously yes... I'm enjoying it - don't get me wrong - but it's frustrating to see their huge potential not totally fulfilled...

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: [1] 2


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Events AUS, Canberra - Be'lakor: Of Breath And Bone - Australian Tour 2012 6 23.06.2012 by Ace Frawley
Reviews Verwüstung - I First Saw You On That Snowy Night And Couldn't Shake An Overwhelming Feelin 6 13.01.2012 by Fat & Sassy!
Reviews Vesperian Sorrow - Stormwinds Of Ages 4.5 06.12.2011 by Unhealer
Reviews Epheles - Je suis autrefois 4.5 01.01.2012 by InnerSelf
Reviews Amputated - Dissect, Molest, Ingest 4.5 04.02.2014 by Troy Killjoy



Hits total: 16717 | This month: 224