Bandcamp music player

Rating:
8.6
Horn Of The Rhino - Grengus
10 February 2012


01. Under The Hoof
02. Pile Of Severed Heads
03. Grengus
04. Drowned In Gold
05. Waste For Ghouls
06. Awaken Horror Of Tuul
07. Brought Back
08. To Ride The Leviathan


Sludge is a genre that is really varied, it can take influences from 70's rock, like Baroness, or even black metal touches like Lurk, or Tort. One thing I have found is that there are not a lot of sludge death bands. Why not?

Because then there would be an overload of awesome.

Horn Of The Rhino (known as Rhino up until 2012, changed due to legal reasons) does exactly that, blends your trademark sludge with influences and techniques from good ol' death metal. You get blastbeats, pounding bass lines and riffs, the riffs man, the RIFFS! There are some guitar parts in here that made me blow my load, seriously for only being a trio, these guys can pump out the heavy.

The drum work, while being a little repetitive, is still slamming. It adds to the motif of "Yeah, were tough deal the fuck with it." You can get fast death metal drumming, or even classic rock 'n' roll drumming, it is generally really varied.

And hey guess what, it's Matt Pike on vocals! Err… wait, no it's not. Apparently it's Javier Gálvez, but I'm not buying that. I think its Matt Pike with a wig or something, or maybe his dad donated sperm. Either way he sounds almost like a hybrid of Matt and Crowbar vocalist Kirk Windstein, with a little bit of death metal thrown in. Javier's vocals follow along the lines of dying or dead, as if he's wailing from beyond the grave. (Spooky, I know.) Then on top of the howls, you get stoner-esque cleans, which brings together the entire vocal performance.

The guitars are even more fun, relentless, full-force riffs 24-7. There should be no substitutes for Horn Of The Rhino, no, there must be top notch riffing all the time. The guitars range from Cannibal Corpse style slam, to slower southern style riffs.

The overall sound comes together as an album which we have all heard bits and pieces from, whether it is the riffs or the drumming or the vocals. However adding all of these factors together has not been done (at least to my ears), and together, this shit sounds good.

Highlights- "Under The Hoof"

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 9


 


written by Boxcar Willy | 25.05.2012


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 16  
Users visited: 79  
Search this topic:  


InnerSelf - 25.05.2012 at 03:00  
Great review "maybe your best "
gonna check this one out since it feels like something I'd enjoy
Boxcar Willy - 25.05.2012 at 03:25  
Written by InnerSelf on 25.05.2012 at 03:00

Great review "maybe your best "
gonna check this one out since it feels like something I'd enjoy

Thanks, I'm trying to be more fair, and descriptive with my reviews

I think anybody who listens will like this album
Troy Killjoy - 25.05.2012 at 03:27  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 25.05.2012 at 03:25
I think anybody who listens will like this album

That's a bit of an exaggeration. Imagine pure Euro flower metal fans listening to this.

(Not a dig at fans of the genre, just pointing out the difference in styles.)
Boxcar Willy - 25.05.2012 at 03:35  
Also, 86/100 freckles.
Troy Killjoy - 25.05.2012 at 03:37  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 25.05.2012 at 03:35
Also, 86/100 freckles.

-_-

You aren't allowed to use this.
Boxcar Willy - 25.05.2012 at 03:39  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 25.05.2012 at 03:27

Written by Boxcar Willy on 25.05.2012 at 03:25
I think anybody who listens will like this album

That's a bit of an exaggeration. Imagine pure Euro flower metal fans listening to this.

(Not a dig at fans of the genre, just pointing out the difference in styles.)

I recommend anything I like to anybody

"If you're a fan of heavy fucking music, you'll like this"


Also, just did Biatch.
Troy Killjoy - 25.05.2012 at 03:42  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 25.05.2012 at 03:39
Also, just did Biatch.

You don't even know the real meaning behind it...

Not that it matters. This album's pretty good. And you did a pretty decent job describing it, although I don't remember there being such an emphasis on death metal.
Boxcar Willy - 25.05.2012 at 03:44  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 25.05.2012 at 03:42

Written by Boxcar Willy on 25.05.2012 at 03:39
Also, just did Biatch.

You don't even know the real meaning behind it...

Not that it matters. This album's pretty good. And you did a pretty decent job describing it, although I don't remember there being such an emphasis on death metal.

Meh, I'll figure it out once it's not cool to say anymore.

The DM influence is strong with this one, Under The Hoof is crazy heavy. Also, there's also lighter parts that sound just as fantastic.

And thanks, I have an ABR review pending and a few mroe in the works, I want to get back into this again (not that i really stopped, I just... slowed down)
Marcel Hubregtse - 25.05.2012 at 13:01  
Written by Troy Killjoy on 25.05.2012 at 03:42

Written by Boxcar Willy on 25.05.2012 at 03:39
Also, just did Biatch.

You don't even know the real meaning behind it...

Not that it matters. This album's pretty good. And you did a pretty decent job describing it, although I don't remember there being such an emphasis on death metal.


there is only some very slight dm present nothing much at all, you are right.
Marcel Hubregtse - 25.05.2012 at 13:04  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 25.05.2012 at 03:44


The DM influence is strong with this one, Under The Hoof is crazy heavy.


Heavy does not automatically equate to DM. Yes UNder The Hoof is havey but almost no DM in there. The DM influence though present on the album is NOT strong in this one.
Boxcar Willy - 25.05.2012 at 14:25  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 25.05.2012 at 13:04

Written by Boxcar Willy on 25.05.2012 at 03:44


The DM influence is strong with this one, Under The Hoof is crazy heavy.


Heavy does not automatically equate to DM. Yes UNder The Hoof is havey but almost no DM in there. The DM influence though present on the album is NOT strong in this one.

I dunno, I hear a lot of DM guitar work, and even drumming.

As compared to your regualr sludge album, this thing is full of surprises, and is prbably my favourite 2012 album
Marcel Hubregtse - 25.05.2012 at 14:30  
Written by Boxcar Willy on 25.05.2012 at 14:25

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 25.05.2012 at 13:04

Written by Boxcar Willy on 25.05.2012 at 03:44


The DM influence is strong with this one, Under The Hoof is crazy heavy.


Heavy does not automatically equate to DM. Yes UNder The Hoof is havey but almost no DM in there. The DM influence though present on the album is NOT strong in this one.

I dunno, I hear a lot of DM guitar work, and even drumming.

As compared to your regualr sludge album, this thing is full of surprises, and is prbably my favourite 2012 album


The only dm influence is in the tuning of some of the guitars on some of the songs but that's it. The riffing is still unmistakenly sludge. The drumming is mostly sludge as well.
Boxcar Willy - 25.05.2012 at 14:32  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 25.05.2012 at 14:30


The only dm influence is in the tuning of some of the guitars on some of the songs but that's it. The riffing is still unmistakenly sludge. The drumming is mostly sludge as well.

Either way, this is a great album
R'Vannith - 26.05.2012 at 12:22  
Nice review, I think you are right about the sludge death combo, sounds obvious to me. Its clearly sludge but definitely has a strong death influence about it. The death elements are fitted to the sludge base, so the latter sounds more prevalent.
tea[m]ster - 26.05.2012 at 18:36  
Good shit and a candidate for my 2012 AOTY
JD - 07.12.2012 at 14:09  
Nice! Didn't know you guys reviewed it here. I haven't heared the whole thing yet only some random songs and they were really good. Well written review BoxCar and congrats for the reviews on front page thingy.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Horn Of The Rhino - Grengus 7.5 16.05.2012 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Shadows Fall - Somber Eyes To The Sky 6 10.03.2014 by Northern Danger
Reviews Ortega - The Serpent Stirs 6 17.05.2013 by .starrk
Reviews Woods Of Ypres - Woods III: The Deepest Roots And Darkest Blues 6 30.04.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Woods Of Ypres - Woods IV: The Green Album 6 02.01.2012 by Troy Killjoy



Hits total: 2417 | This month: 5