Rating:
8.6
In Flames - The Jester Race
20 February 1996


01. Moonshield
02. The Jester's Dance
03. Artifacts Of The Black Rain
04. Graveland
05. Lord Hypnos
06. Dead Eternity
07. The Jester Race
08. December Flower
09. Wayfaerer
10. Dead God In Me
11. Goliaths Disarm Their Davids [2002 re-release bonus]
12. Gyroscope [2002 re-release bonus]
13. Acoustic Medley [2002 re-release bonus]
14. Behind Space [live] [2002 re-release bonus]


The Jester Race is the best album from In Flames era pure Melodic Death Metal, unfortunately for the fans of this precise style, that would also be the last. The Swedish band was still playing a lot of acoustic almost classical music, and was still very close to its alter ego Dark Tranquillity. Honestly I love both "versions" of In Flames music and it's obvious for me that their "pre-Whoracle" work reached its climax with the album The Jester Race.

As a general statement, the entire album is darker than any other In Flames albums and, incredible as it may seem, it's also the most melodic. Just listen to the splendid opener 'Moonshield' or the masterpiece 'The Jester Race' and you'll get it. 'The Jesters Dance' is a great instrumental track [probably the best In Flames instrumental] and also a recurrent melody for the title track. However, one of my favorites is still track 3, 'Artifact Of The Black Rain', a genuine ID of what In Flames was in 1995: innovation, huge melodies, great riffs, all of that was already in that song.

But one of the most surprising songs is 'December Flower', which happens to be a perfect definition for the phrase "melodic death". And, of course, the level of brutality is also very high on songs such as 'Dead God In Me' or 'Dead Eternity'. So what we have here is an excellent album with several influences.

With The Jester Race, In Flames manages to catch listeners and to make them travel through the dark lands of their Melodic Death Metal world. Great compositions such as 'The Jester Race', 'Moonshield', 'Artifacts Of The Black Rain' and 'Lord Hypnos' must appeal to everyone of you one day. So why don't you try today?

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 8


Band profile: In Flames
Album: The Jester Race


 


written by Demonic Tutor | 02.09.2003



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 32  
Users visited: 383  
Search this topic:  


dark awakening - 02.08.2006 at 11:14  
I totally agree! Great album, great riffs, great feeling!
Valaskjalf - 11.08.2006 at 03:15  
Yeah this is my 2nd favorite album after Clayman...

This is one of those albums which gives you the feeling of completion...as if every song was placed on this album for a reason and the final product leaves no room for improvement.

Great album..
8.8/10
Hypnos - 27.11.2006 at 22:20  
(No words....just numbers) 10/10
DeadEternity - 06.01.2007 at 18:34  
This album and Clayman are definitely the best from In Flames. Those are possibly my 2 favorite Melo-death albums. It has imo In Flames' best instrumental "The Jester Race", and my fav In Flames track "December Flower". Other highlights: Moonsheild, Artifacts of the Black Rain, Dead Eternity. Its too bad IF doesn't have this sound anymore because In Flames doesn't get any better than this.
BloodTears - 13.01.2007 at 23:13  
This album blew me away since the first time i listened to it, Its guitar work is stunning. Every song in it its great in my opinion, thats why this album is so much better than all the albums In Flames released since then. Undoubtly, my favourite In Flames' album.
I would give it a 9 at least.
Unconsecrated - 18.03.2007 at 17:49  
I agree with the review...No doubt about it that this is their best album
BlankFile - 05.07.2007 at 21:51  
The best release of In Flames and one of the Best Melodic Death releases no doubts about it.
All the songs are perfect, its impossible to say that one song of this album is medium or bad, because it isn´t the truth.
Another unforgettable release.
In_tallica - 18.10.2007 at 02:46  
Incredibly good album! from start to end! A true masterpiece, allthough i can't decide if this or whoracle is the best In Flames album... In any way, it's PERFECT, not a scratch on it!
Sepulchre - 27.01.2008 at 20:04  
Greatest album of all time. Period.
Uirapuru - 22.04.2008 at 03:39  
Its a great album, not as good as Whoracle and Colony in my opinion. but its classic, first of the really good in flames albuns (i didnt like Lunar Strain, Subterranean was much better) that make history. 9,3 / 10.
dismaleuphony - 22.04.2008 at 08:50  
"Whoracle" is the album that introduced me to In Flames, but this is the album that I still cannot get enough of! And I agree with you here - "Artifacts of the Black Rain" is one of the band's best, and is my personal all-time favorite of their songs
Duy Hung - 22.04.2008 at 22:28  
Reading the review somehow makes me want to listen to this album again, after almost a year!
And IMO it's still their best album, ever
flamey - 02.09.2008 at 18:55  
This and Whoracle, are the best melodic death metal albums in my opinion. I've been listening to both for a few years non stop, and I've heard so many melodic death metal bands in the meantime, but no, nothing can top this album's melodies. I can only say, IN FLAMES WE TRUST!
dsAtala - 23.09.2008 at 09:17  
This is one of my favorite albums ever.
Elio - 23.09.2008 at 17:12  
Awesome. Ah, old good days.
LeChron James - 09.11.2008 at 08:59  
I'm a huge fan of the song Wayfaerer. i dont know what, but i am.
Metalbound7 - 02.12.2008 at 09:05  
A Metal Masterpiece
In_tallica - 09.12.2008 at 10:31  
Best album ever in my opinion. It took me some time to realize it, but i finally came to the right conclusion
Entropic Silence - 12.12.2008 at 09:57  
Great leads, great riffs, but the acoustic guitars make it for me. Alas, where has it all gone...
Vitriolic Hate - 12.12.2008 at 12:07  
The Jester Race Rules!!!
Deadmeat - 26.03.2009 at 17:47  
I like the review but not so much the album to call it the best from In Flames. I am hearing it for a long time and i am still trying to find a very very good song. but i can not. clayman in my eyes is better!!!
Panterica - 29.09.2009 at 19:47  
Written by Valaskjalf on 11.08.2006 at 03:15

Yeah this is my 2nd favorite album after Clayman...

This is one of those albums which gives you the feeling of completion...


That because no one can see when one song end and another start. December Flower is the only song with a solo? What a shame, I expected to insane leads style COB or something. Still it's a fine album, donno if their best but surely good.
Valaskjalf - 29.09.2009 at 21:13  
Wow thats totally 3 years late dude
Slayer666 - 14.11.2009 at 18:45  
Their best, I think. The only thing that bugs me are the vocals. Those growls are too intense for this album, being so melodic as it is.
Adjuchas Shaman - 03.02.2010 at 08:51  
For some reason, I'm able to compare my feelings for In Flames to those I had for my ex-girlfriend, album by album:

Lunar Strain: "This girl is so cool! I really enjoy talking to her, and she's attractive, so I'll keep talking to her. What an awesome friendship this will be!"

The Jester Race: "I think I'm in love! Not only is she smart and sexy, but she is also easygoing. I'M GONNA ASK HER OUT!"

Whoracle: "We've been going out for a while now. I love her, even though I noticed that she has a few small quirks(why does she put so much ketchup on everything?!), but then again who doesn't?

Colony: "We just had some amazing sex! I think I'm gonna marry her one day!(who said anything about her having small quirks?)"

Clayman: "Hmm, she gained a couple pounds, but they all went to the right places! SEXY!!"

Reroute to Remain: "Whoa! My girlfriend is acing pretty weird! Did she suddenly become Bipolar? When did she start drinking ketchup bottles?"

Soundtrack To Your Escape: "I CAN'T BELIEVE THIS!!!! SHE HIT ME IN THE FACE WITH MY OWN FRYING PAN, JUST BECAUSE I SUGGESTED THAT SHE EAT/DRINK LESS KETCHUP?!! WE'RE BREAKING UP!!!!!!!"

Come Clarity: "Well, we're still friends, even though we're no longer together. She's been sort of cool lately, but we are staying friends! I do enjoy the memories that we shared though"

A Sense of Purpose: "Well she's got another boyfriend. She's also gotten pretty fat. She's being a total bitch to me lately! THIS FRIENDSHIP IS OVER!!!
Ankh Amen - 04.04.2010 at 02:21  
My favourite metal album ever. Wayfaerer
Adjuchas Shaman: Nuff said!
JimInFlames - 15.02.2011 at 22:16  
Wayfaerer

Written by Guest on 03.02.2010 at 08:51

For some reason, I'm able to compare my feelings for In Flames to those I had for my ex-girlfriend, album by album:

Lunar Strain: "This girl is so cool! I really enjoy talking to her, and she's attractive, so I'll keep talking to her. What an awesome friendship this will be!"

The Jester Race: "I think I'm in love! Not only is she smart and sexy, but she is also easygoing. I'M GONNA ASK HER OUT!"

Whoracle: "We've been going out for a while now. I love her, even though I noticed that she has a few small quirks(why does she put so much ketchup on everything?!), but then again who doesn't?

Colony: "We just had some amazing sex! I think I'm gonna marry her one day!(who said anything about her having small quirks?)"

Clayman: "Hmm, she gained a couple pounds, but they all went to the right places! SEXY!!"

Reroute to Remain: "Whoa! My girlfriend is acing pretty weird! Did she suddenly become Bipolar? When did she start drinking ketchup bottles?"

Soundtrack To Your Escape: "I CAN'T BELIEVE THIS!!!! SHE HIT ME IN THE FACE WITH MY OWN FRYING PAN, JUST BECAUSE I SUGGESTED THAT SHE EAT/DRINK LESS KETCHUP?!! WE'RE BREAKING UP!!!!!!!"

Come Clarity: "Well, we're still friends, even though we're no longer together. She's been sort of cool lately, but we are staying friends! I do enjoy the memories that we shared though"

A Sense of Purpose: "Well she's got another boyfriend. She's also gotten pretty fat. She's being a total bitch to me lately! THIS FRIENDSHIP IS OVER!!!


Adjuchas, at their new album will it be:
'' She lost her extra weight, she stopped drinking ketchup and she wants me back again because Im the best she ever had''
enumaelis - 23.02.2011 at 02:36  
Written by JimInFlames on 15.02.2011 at 22:16

Wayfaerer

Written by Guest on 03.02.2010 at 08:51

For some reason, I'm able to compare my feelings for In Flames to those I had for my ex-girlfriend, album by album:

Lunar Strain: "This girl is so cool! I really enjoy talking to her, and she's attractive, so I'll keep talking to her. What an awesome friendship this will be!"

The Jester Race: "I think I'm in love! Not only is she smart and sexy, but she is also easygoing. I'M GONNA ASK HER OUT!"

Whoracle: "We've been going out for a while now. I love her, even though I noticed that she has a few small quirks(why does she put so much ketchup on everything?!), but then again who doesn't?

Colony: "We just had some amazing sex! I think I'm gonna marry her one day!(who said anything about her having small quirks?)"

Clayman: "Hmm, she gained a couple pounds, but they all went to the right places! SEXY!!"

Reroute to Remain: "Whoa! My girlfriend is acing pretty weird! Did she suddenly become Bipolar? When did she start drinking ketchup bottles?"

Soundtrack To Your Escape: "I CAN'T BELIEVE THIS!!!! SHE HIT ME IN THE FACE WITH MY OWN FRYING PAN, JUST BECAUSE I SUGGESTED THAT SHE EAT/DRINK LESS KETCHUP?!! WE'RE BREAKING UP!!!!!!!"

Come Clarity: "Well, we're still friends, even though we're no longer together. She's been sort of cool lately, but we are staying friends! I do enjoy the memories that we shared though"

A Sense of Purpose: "Well she's got another boyfriend. She's also gotten pretty fat. She's being a total bitch to me lately! THIS FRIENDSHIP IS OVER!!!


Adjuchas, at their new album will it be:
'' She lost her extra weight, she stopped drinking ketchup and she wants me back again because Im the best she ever had''


Hehe I'd say about the next album that she runaway with her boyfriend quite far, probably to USA, she made dreadlocks with her hair, ate more ketchup than ever and got many different friends not related at all with the ones she had before :lol:
AngelofDeth - 27.02.2011 at 18:25  
Written by Guest on 03.02.2010 at 08:51

For some reason, I'm able to compare my feelings for In Flames to those I had for my ex-girlfriend, album by album:

Lunar Strain: "This girl is so cool! I really enjoy talking to her, and she's attractive, so I'll keep talking to her. What an awesome friendship this will be!"

The Jester Race: "I think I'm in love! Not only is she smart and sexy, but she is also easygoing. I'M GONNA ASK HER OUT!"

Whoracle: "We've been going out for a while now. I love her, even though I noticed that she has a few small quirks(why does she put so much ketchup on everything?!), but then again who doesn't?

Colony: "We just had some amazing sex! I think I'm gonna marry her one day!(who said anything about her having small quirks?)"

Clayman: "Hmm, she gained a couple pounds, but they all went to the right places! SEXY!!"

Reroute to Remain: "Whoa! My girlfriend is acing pretty weird! Did she suddenly become Bipolar? When did she start drinking ketchup bottles?"

Soundtrack To Your Escape: "I CAN'T BELIEVE THIS!!!! SHE HIT ME IN THE FACE WITH MY OWN FRYING PAN, JUST BECAUSE I SUGGESTED THAT SHE EAT/DRINK LESS KETCHUP?!! WE'RE BREAKING UP!!!!!!!"

Come Clarity: "Well, we're still friends, even though we're no longer together. She's been sort of cool lately, but we are staying friends! I do enjoy the memories that we shared though"

A Sense of Purpose: "Well she's got another boyfriend. She's also gotten pretty fat. She's being a total bitch to me lately! THIS FRIENDSHIP IS OVER!!!


perfect
EmeraldSword - 01.03.2011 at 01:52  
Well said Adjuchas Shaman. It's the highs and lows of a relationship and how people rationalize staying interested far too long. Sadly, I don't foresee In Flames returning to its roots ever again.
FrozenJoy - 05.05.2011 at 20:09  
Haha, Adjuchas Shaman just made me laugh my ass off with some of the descriptions... But the thing's funny and sad at the same time... I can't believe what In Flames turned out to be ... Anyway, this album is one of the highlights of melodeath, and it's fuckin awesome! All the songs are killers, especially Moonshield, The Jester's Dance, Artifacts of the Black Rain, Dead Eternity and Wayfaerer...
But, there's something weird about Graveland... It has some of the best lyrics I've ever heard, and since I read them, it's one of my favourite tracks... It's weird, because I know it's clearly not the best one...
wintress - 08.01.2014 at 21:13  
Written by Guest on 03.02.2010 at 08:51

For some reason, I'm able to compare my feelings for In Flames to those I had for my ex-girlfriend, album by album:

Lunar Strain: "This girl is so cool! I really enjoy talking to her, and she's attractive, so I'll keep talking to her. What an awesome friendship this will be!"

The Jester Race: "I think I'm in love! Not only is she smart and sexy, but she is also easygoing. I'M GONNA ASK HER OUT!"

Whoracle: "We've been going out for a while now. I love her, even though I noticed that she has a few small quirks(why does she put so much ketchup on everything?!), but then again who doesn't?

Colony: "We just had some amazing sex! I think I'm gonna marry her one day!(who said anything about her having small quirks?)"

Clayman: "Hmm, she gained a couple pounds, but they all went to the right places! SEXY!!"

Reroute to Remain: "Whoa! My girlfriend is acing pretty weird! Did she suddenly become Bipolar? When did she start drinking ketchup bottles?"

Soundtrack To Your Escape: "I CAN'T BELIEVE THIS!!!! SHE HIT ME IN THE FACE WITH MY OWN FRYING PAN, JUST BECAUSE I SUGGESTED THAT SHE EAT/DRINK LESS KETCHUP?!! WE'RE BREAKING UP!!!!!!!"

Come Clarity: "Well, we're still friends, even though we're no longer together. She's been sort of cool lately, but we are staying friends! I do enjoy the memories that we shared though"

A Sense of Purpose: "Well she's got another boyfriend. She's also gotten pretty fat. She's being a total bitch to me lately! THIS FRIENDSHIP IS OVER!!!


Haha, good one!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews In Flames - Clayman 7.5 13.02.2007 by
Albums In Flames - The Jester Race 7.5 22.07.2010 by sulavmetal
Reviews Blind Guardian - At The Edge Of Time 6 21.09.2010 by WorpeX
Reviews Caligula's Horse - The Tide, The Thief & River's End 6 20.01.2014 by Diverge
Reviews Arch Enemy - Rise Of The Tyrant 6 13.10.2007 by Piro



Hits total: 11769 | This month: 165