Rating:
3.9
Noko - Noko
18 June 2012


01. The Day Before
02. See You Around
03. Bad Thoughts
04. Free Your Love
05. Clouds Are Closing In
06. Right On Time
07. Stand For Me
08. Air's Still
09. She Goes Away
10. This War
11. Before I Sleep


Chugga-chugga-chugga-chugga-chugga...

Repeat.

There are albums that are boring and derivative...In fact, an astonishing majority of albums put out are boring and derivative, when you really start thinking about relativity. So let's restart; most albums are boring and derivative, some, however, take it to a new extreme. Yes, we're talking about the band at hand here; Noko.

Post-grunge? Yeah, that. Do you remember when that was cool? Nah, neither do I. That is essentially what Noko feels like. Perhaps just metalize it a bit more; heavier guitars, more aggressive timing, that sort of thing. This amp'd up aggression really seems like a forced afterthought, as if intended to add at least some slightly interesting aspect to the music. Well, sorry to say, it's still not very interesting. It's still that grey, plastic bleakness you can find in any other post-grunge bands that deservedly went out of style a decade ago.

So they're playing a form of music that's inherently valueless, fair enough. There are those out there who enjoy post-grunge, so what does this mean for that crowd? Probably not a whole lot, as they don't even seem to be bringing anything remotely new to the table in that arena. There's no cross-pollination or the slightest inclination toward innovative thinking put behind this song-writing. It's probably a safe assumption to say that both post-grunge fans, and post-grunge haters alike should be able to recognize the insignificance of this recording. Noko's debut is essentially just another radio-rock album with heavier guitars. The very definition of boring.


 



Written on 23.06.2012 by
Doc Godin
Former EIC. Now just a reviewer guy.
More reviews by Doc Godin ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 11  
Users visited: 207  
Search this topic:  


Troy Killjoy - 23.06.2012 at 05:44  
They still make albums like this? I thought all those Default-esque bands died out. :/
BloodTears - 23.06.2012 at 12:57  
Too bad they suck, I liked the band name.
Pazdzioch - 23.06.2012 at 13:21  
I didn't expect that I would see this band on MS. Fucking terrible.
Lit. - 23.06.2012 at 20:24  
Woo-woo!
Mr. Meat Hook - 23.06.2012 at 20:25  
Written by BloodTears on 23.06.2012 at 12:57

Too bad they suck, I liked the band name.


I KNOW! It sounds like a female-fronted band with an adorable image and brutal goregrind music!
Illog1cal - 24.06.2012 at 00:10  
"when you start thinking about relativity"

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Theory_of_relativity

Are you sure you did not mean to say "when you start to think about it relatively"?
Mattybu - 24.06.2012 at 02:19  
I managed to find a video of this band on youtube. The song "Stand For Me". Rubbish, and all the comments were in a foreign language (I mean like, NO English). Typical to youtube, the like bar was about 99% green.

The odd thing was the video was uploaded in 2009.
Chidder - 24.06.2012 at 12:32  
Written by Mattybu on 24.06.2012 at 02:19

I managed to find a video of this band on youtube. The song "Stand For Me". Rubbish, and all the comments were in a foreign language (I mean like, NO English). Typical to youtube, the like bar was about 99% green.
The odd thing was the video was uploaded in 2009.


This foreign language was polish
Noko is a band which became popular in Poland after TV show "Must Be The Music" (something like "X-Factor" but with bands). That's why their bar was 99% green - people who don't know shit about music will click "like it" just becouse they were on TV, had guitars and were screaming to the microphone Did'nt like them then, don't like them still.

This band was better:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kzVghmwmq9o
Troy Killjoy - 24.06.2012 at 16:41  
Written by Chidder on 24.06.2012 at 12:32
Noko is a band which became popular in Poland after TV show "Must Be The Music" (something like "X-Factor" but with bands).

This explains a lot.
Mattybu - 24.06.2012 at 18:37  
Written by Chidder on 24.06.2012 at 12:32

Written by Mattybu on 24.06.2012 at 02:19

I managed to find a video of this band on youtube. The song "Stand For Me". Rubbish, and all the comments were in a foreign language (I mean like, NO English). Typical to youtube, the like bar was about 99% green.
The odd thing was the video was uploaded in 2009.


This foreign language was polish
Noko is a band which became popular in Poland after TV show "Must Be The Music" (something like "X-Factor" but with bands). That's why their bar was 99% green - people who don't know shit about music will click "like it" just becouse they were on TV,


Ahhhh. It all makes sense now
Promonex - 28.06.2012 at 02:56  
Noko? More like Sage, eh?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6zXDo4dL7SU

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Hayley's Royal Whores - Discoteque Tranny 5 28.03.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Inquisitor - The Quantum Theory Of Id 5 06.01.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Hayagriva - Descendant XII 5 17.05.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Trepalium - H.N.P. 4.5 29.08.2012 by Mr. Doctor
Reviews 16 - Deep Cuts From Dark Clouds 4.5 27.04.2012 by BoxCar Willy



Hits total: 2870 | This month: 64