Rating:
N/A
Abske Fides - Abske Fides
11 June 2012


01. The Consequence Of The Other
02. Won't You Come
03. The Coldness Of Progress
04. Aesthethic Hallucination Of Reality
05. 4.48
06. Embroided In Reflections


Brazil's Abske Fides have been making doom metal for nearly 10 years now. After a demo and two EPs they present an extremely solid, enjoyable, and downright delicious debut on Solitude Productions. Moods of dismal death doom dominate the landscape alongside some unexpectedly classic clean guitar work.

Murky distortion falls over the dark riffing. The hopelessness of doom metal is clear, yet there is a beauty to it. Songs like "The Coldness of Progress" feature clean, even bluesy, guitars, which bring a classic, vintage vibe. All of a sudden you're listening to a great doom album while sitting on the brown shag carpet of someone's smoky basement while wearing orange polyester pants. Trust me. It just works.

But just like that it's back to the present for some more crushing doom.

Tempos vary nicely and the 4th track, "Aesthetic Hallucination Of Reality," has a bitterly slow middle that recalls the band's funeral doom past. This is indeed lovely and haunting, and shows their versatility. The clean guitars break us out of this sad state for another 70s-inspired bridge back into modern doom. There are even moments of gritty, clean vocals sneaking in toward the end of the album and completing a really excellent atmosphere as well as complementing the groove that the rhythm section is allowed to explore.

Personal preference: I don't like metal songs inlaid with spoken dialogue or movie quotes. I just don't. You might. But I don't. I find it distracting. The second track opens with a few lines built in that are appropriately creepy, then they're over and we can get to the music. Fine. But the entire last track is primarily dialogue under some atmospheric music that would have been a fine closer on its own.

You'll find lots of changes here on this debut but no transition is ever jarring or out of place. Some songs lack a definable arc and seem to wander a bitů but I can't say that anything ever struck me as wrong, more like I expected to see that a new track had begun where one hadn't. Instead, it's more like a dream, where settings change in an instant but you never question it.

Hear the album at bandcamp.


Band profile: Abske Fides
Album: Abske Fides


 



Written on 12.07.2012 by
Susan
Susan appreciates quality metal regardless of genre. Metal Storm Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Susan ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 23  
Users visited: 147  
Search this topic:  


Draugen - 13.07.2012 at 13:13  
I have listened to the album a few times at Bandcamp and I really like the sound of it. I will probably do a more thorough playthrough in due time.
BloodTears - 13.07.2012 at 21:18  
This review made me curious. I'm willing to give it a go.
Merchant of Doom - 13.07.2012 at 21:26  
Good album... highly recommended for worshippers of doom with some post-metal elements...
BitterCOld - 15.07.2012 at 02:04  
Am definitely looking forward to getting this in my next Solitude Superpack.
Marcel Hubregtse - 15.07.2012 at 02:30  
Need to check this out. Own the ...Apart Of The World cd which I enjoy quite a bit.
Susan - 19.07.2012 at 05:54  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 15.07.2012 at 02:30

Need to check this out. Own the ...Apart Of The World cd which I enjoy quite a bit.


I'm interested to know what you think of this one and the new direction they've taken.
Marcel Hubregtse - 02.08.2012 at 15:35  
Just got the album in and am really enjoying it upon first listen
BitterCOld - 30.08.2012 at 03:34  
Just got the album today... but with six or seven other disks to review, so might be a bit before i finally check it out. i am fired up, tho!
Alex Fenger - 01.10.2012 at 21:07  
Is it worth it for me to buy this? I'm running out of "music money"
Susan - 01.10.2012 at 22:21  
Written by Alex Fenger on 01.10.2012 at 21:07

Is it worth it for me to buy this? I'm running out of "music money"


I would say yes but... Click on the bandcamp link at the bottom of the review. Listen and decide for yourself
Marcel Hubregtse - 01.10.2012 at 22:24  
Written by Alex Fenger on 01.10.2012 at 21:07

Is it worth it for me to buy this? I'm running out of "music money"


well, this is what soem fat fuck from The Netherlands had to say on it http://www.lordsofmetal.nl/showreview.php?id=22876&lang=en
Alex Fenger - 02.10.2012 at 00:29  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 01.10.2012 at 22:24


well, this is what soem fat fuck from The Netherlands had to say on it http://www.lordsofmetal.nl/showreview.php?id=22876&lang=en

I don't know if i can respect that guys opinion... sounds like an asshole to me
But yeah i'm probably going to buy this
Evil Chip - 04.10.2012 at 23:16  
About the staff pick. Actually not all Brasil is like Rio do Janeiro (tropical and only beaches).
Mr. Doctor - 08.10.2012 at 11:58  
Written by Evil Chip on 04.10.2012 at 23:16

About the staff pick. Actually not all Brasil is like Rio do Janeiro (tropical and only beaches).


Yeah, they have a couple of buildings around.
Susan - 08.10.2012 at 15:39  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 08.10.2012 at 11:58

Written by Evil Chip on 04.10.2012 at 23:16

About the staff pick. Actually not all Brasil is like Rio do Janeiro (tropical and only beaches).


Yeah, they have a couple of buildings around.


And if you actually read BitterCOld's staff pick you'd have seen that this is exactly what he said. Is there another staff pick out there that says Brasil is only beaches? Because I only saw BitterCOld's
Iriki - 08.10.2012 at 15:58  
"Beneath Brasil's beaches with topless goddesses and tropical drinks, behind the mask of Carnival, you have rampant poverty, crime, and slums."

Oh god
Mr. Doctor - 08.10.2012 at 19:05  
Written by Susan on 08.10.2012 at 15:39

And if you actually read BitterCOld's staff pick you'd have seen that this is exactly what he said. Is there another staff pick out there that says Brasil is only beaches? Because I only saw BitterCOld's


I know what Craig wrote... I was just joking about the comment I quoted.
BitterCOld - 08.10.2012 at 19:48  
Didn't realize the comment would fire people up... didn't mean it as an insult - certainly poverty, crime, and slums are not unique to Brasil - that's pretty much everywhere.

the difference is people have predefined visions of Brasil involving hot topless women in thongs by the beach.

wanted to point out the behind the facade exists the perfect backdrop for some awesome doom creation.

you don't have to come from Cleveland or "Bombingham" to know woe, man!
Mr. Doctor - 08.10.2012 at 21:37  
Not to mention that all people from Brazil are named Da Silva, true story.
Evil Chip - 09.10.2012 at 01:15  
Written by BitterCOld on 08.10.2012 at 19:48

Didn't realize the comment would fire people up... didn't mean it as an insult - certainly poverty, crime, and slums are not unique to Brasil - that's pretty much everywhere.

the difference is people have predefined visions of Brasil involving hot topless women in thongs by the beach.

wanted to point out the behind the facade exists the perfect backdrop for some awesome doom creation.

you don't have to come from Cleveland or "Bombingham" to know woe, man!

I didn't take it as an insult. In fact I once said something very similar to you (about the climate) but in a real life context and someone replied me that there's also a big region of dry climates there (there are even brasilian cowboys called "gauchos"). Sometimes one can say something with just having a very general knowledge. It happened to me too. PS: The band is great and this was really off-topic
Evil Chip - 09.10.2012 at 01:32  
Written by Susan on 08.10.2012 at 15:39

Written by Mr. Doctor on 08.10.2012 at 11:58

Written by Evil Chip on 04.10.2012 at 23:16

About the staff pick. Actually not all Brasil is like Rio do Janeiro (tropical and only beaches).


Yeah, they have a couple of buildings around.


And if you actually read BitterCOld's staff pick you'd have seen that this is exactly what he said. Is there another staff pick out there that says Brasil is only beaches? Because I only saw BitterCOld's

Yes I read it and I was talking about the climate. The exception to the climate and the life of Brasil (tourists, beaches, carnival and poverty) in BitterC0ld's sentence is the dark music of the band. It doesn't imply that there's another type of culture or regions with different climates in the country. I was pointing out that there is other types of climates. But this getting too offtopic -.-
Iriki - 12.10.2012 at 21:00  
Written by BitterCOld on 08.10.2012 at 19:48

the difference is people have predefined visions of Brasil involving hot topless women in thongs by the beach.

And really bad taste. I'm from Rio (I even live 200m near copacabana beach), and I'd say the 'common' carioca girl is ugly as hell, damn.
BloodTears - 22.11.2012 at 12:40  
Finally got around to listening to this album and it's really good. I have been listening to a lot of doom this year and it's been great for the most part. This album is also very melodic at parts which I enjoy.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Pythia - The Serpent's Curse 3 02.10.2012 by Dentura
Reviews Edge Of Attack - Edge Of Attack 3 11.02.2013 by schizodelight
Reviews Gloryhammer - Tales From The Kingdom Of Fife 3 26.05.2013 by Super_Greg
Reviews Thrawsunblat - Thrawsunblat II: Wanderer On The Continent Of Saplings 3 10.04.2013 by JayAlanGoodwin
Reviews Mourn In Silence - Until The Stars Won't Fall 3 30.12.2012 by



Hits total: 3664 | This month: 45