Rating:
8.8
Favna Abisal - Rerum Imaginaria
5 May 2012


01. El Juicio De Aronnax
02. El Observador
03. Energía Demencial - Parte I
04. Océanos Mentales
05. Energía Demencial - Parte II
06. Imaginaria
07. Rey Abisal


Do you like being surprised by metal but avant-garde is usually too incoherent and dissonant for you? Or perhaps you like incoherence and dissonance, but would like to hear something different this time? Don't mind bands singing in their native languages? Are you in the mood to be taken on a journey? You've come to the right place.

Imagine someone asked you to write a soundtrack for a big-budget adventure movie. Perhaps one about mountain climbers trying to reach the summit of Aconcagua. Or, since Favna Abisal = "fauna of the abyss", a movie about adventurers trapped in a submarine in the deep waters of the Pacific, battling horrifying sea monsters on their way (which would be a rip-off of "Twenty Thousand Leagues Under The Sea", but hey, it's a Hollywood production, and that is to be expected). Your only problem is - the only thing you feel like writing is really weird metal. So you write some bad-ass prog-based avant-garde stuff in such a way that it completely reflects on the subject matter - fill it with highs, lows, introspective parts, ridiculously epic parts, the whole deal. Make it as non-linear as possible. Slap some theatrical, slightly folky male vocals on top, write lyrics in Spanish and finish with a couple of non-metal touches. That's Rerum Imaginaria in a nutshell.

And it works great. A friend of mine once said genres should be treated as ingredients and not recipes for making music, and if that is the case, you're in front of one complicated dish. It is both psychedelic and calm, electronic and organic, trippy and down-to-earth. There's some flirting with black metal and jazz going on, too. It sounds like a bizarrely specific niche to be in, but Favna Abisal are lounged so comfortably in it, you won't question any of their solutions while listening to this, not even for a single second. And if your tastes are eclectic enough, every niche should be your niche, right?

It took me almost two months to write this review, because, in all honesty, I had no idea how should I tackle such a mature, ridiculously multi-faceted debut. Let me set you straight - if you're on the same mental page as this Chilean band, you're in for a ride. Balls will be busted, jaws will drop.


 



Written on 23.07.2012 by
Milena
A part of the team since December 2011, writes about the progressive, the sad and the melodic. She's nice until she's not.
More reviews by Milena ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 27  
Users visited: 325  
Search this topic:  


Mr. Doctor - 23.07.2012 at 22:08  
Definitely will check out the full album. Thank you for the review
PocketMetal - 23.07.2012 at 22:18  
Very well written ( and convincing ) review , will check out asap .
Fredd - 23.07.2012 at 23:21  
Sounds pretty interesting, and I love bands that sing in their native tongues. Wishlist'd.
Zaphod - 23.07.2012 at 23:41  
Checked it out, it's quite unique and once you get used to the vocals, it's... rewarding, for lack of a better term.
PS: The thing your friend said is true and very cleverly put.
Dark Blood - 24.07.2012 at 03:16  
Very interesting and well written review. Though I'm very demanding with vocals, specially when singed in their native language, this is certainly something to check out.
Unhealer - 24.07.2012 at 05:18  
This is definitely for me. Well, I don't usually like music sung in my native language, but this seems worth the shot.
Wise saying by your friend.
Nefarious - 24.07.2012 at 11:53  
Will check this out soon
Mr. Doctor - 24.07.2012 at 11:57  
Written by Unhealer on 24.07.2012 at 05:18
Well, I don't usually like music sung in my native language.


I guess that opinion which I shared a few years ago was the fault of many power/heavy metal bands that sing in spanish. But bands like Mar De Grises, Poema Arcanus and this one (just to name a few) are awesome.
Milena - 24.07.2012 at 12:11  
Written by Unhealer on 24.07.2012 at 05:18

Wise saying by your friend.

This friend of mine reminds of you, actually, especially his preferences in music
Starchild - 24.07.2012 at 14:00  
Great review
I really want to check this out, but unfortunately the band/album is so obscure that I can't find it nowhere...
Milena - 24.07.2012 at 15:41  
Written by Starchild on 24.07.2012 at 14:00

Great review
I really want to check this out, but unfortunately the band/album is so obscure that I can't find it nowhere...

There's a couple of tracks over at their bandcamp.
Unhealer - 24.07.2012 at 18:18  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 24.07.2012 at 11:57


I guess that opinion which I shared a few years ago was the fault of many power/heavy metal bands that sing in spanish. But bands like Mar De Grises, Poema Arcanus and this one (just to name a few) are awesome.


Yeah, I also think it is because of that. Same with music in oriental languages, I keep relating them to anime openings and I can't stand awesome music such as Dir En Grey's latest outputs.
I'll get over it one day.
Anoplogaster - 25.07.2012 at 04:15  
Written by Milena on 24.07.2012 at 15:41

Written by Starchild on 24.07.2012 at 14:00

Great review
I really want to check this out, but unfortunately the band/album is so obscure that I can't find it nowhere...

There's a couple of tracks over at their bandcamp.


Hello i'm the drummer of Favna Abisal, and since it's difficult for you to reach us, we decided to let you listen the full album in streaming, please go to this url.

http://favnaabisal-rerumimaginaria.bandcamp.com/

Greetings and sorry for my english!
Mr. Doctor - 25.07.2012 at 19:58  
There's some pretty brilliant folky touches in this album. Check it out guys!

Written by Anoplogaster on 25.07.2012 at 04:15

Hello i'm the drummer of Favna Abisal, and since it's difficult for you to reach us, we decided to let you listen the full album in streaming, please go to this url.
http://favnaabisal-rerumimaginaria.bandcamp.com/
Greetings and sorry for my english!


Very nice of you guys. Thanks a lot for the link! Keep it up!
Unhealer - 26.07.2012 at 00:54  
Written by Anoplogaster on 25.07.2012 at 04:15


Hello i'm the drummer of Favna Abisal, and since it's difficult for you to reach us, we decided to let you listen the full album in streaming, please go to this url.

http://favnaabisal-rerumimaginaria.bandcamp.com/

Greetings and sorry for my english!


Awesome! Gracias
Stabby - 26.07.2012 at 01:31  
Uh oh, an album that Mora loves. That either means I'm going to dig it or be absolutely terrified . Or both. We'll see *jumps right in*

I love that they sing in Spanish, which means that I'll understand maybe 1 in 10 words. My highschool Spanish teacher would be so proud...

This is a great review by the way. Talent with words!
K†ulu - 26.07.2012 at 10:26  
Man, I wanna take that ride! Thanks for the review!
Milena - 26.07.2012 at 16:40  
Thanks for the comments everyone. Now hurry to their bandcamp, go, go, go, go.
Starchild - 27.07.2012 at 13:51  
Written by Anoplogaster on 25.07.2012 at 04:15


Hello i'm the drummer of Favna Abisal, and since it's difficult for you to reach us, we decided to let you listen the full album in streaming, please go to this url.

http://favnaabisal-rerumimaginaria.bandcamp.com/

Greetings and sorry for my english!

that's amazing, thanks.
Spirit Molecule - 27.07.2012 at 15:03  
Their bandcamp had a couple of tracks earlier, which I did check out, but I didn't really like it too much. The vocals were a little of a put off for me :/ Not coz it's in spanish, but just the style.

Anyway will give the whole album a spin and see if it sits better

Good review by the way. Made me want to check the band out.
Milena - 27.07.2012 at 15:41  
Written by Spirit Molecule on 27.07.2012 at 15:03

Their bandcamp had a couple of tracks earlier, which I did check out, but I didn't really like it too much. The vocals were a little of a put off for me :/ Not coz it's in spanish, but just the style.

Anyway will give the whole album a spin and see if it sits better

Good review by the way. Made me want to check the band out.

Yeah, the vocals might be a bump, but they clicked with me at once.
Anoplogaster - 28.07.2012 at 05:31  
Thanks for the comments guys!
Stabby - 01.08.2012 at 08:10  
It was really good. Progged to hell and back and a very powerful and impressive sounding guy singing in Spanish. I would follow that guy into battle
Milena - 01.08.2012 at 12:08  
Written by Stabby on 01.08.2012 at 08:10

I would follow that guy into battle

Unexpectedmetal - 03.08.2012 at 04:23  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 25.07.2012 at 19:58

There's some pretty brilliant folky touches in this album. Check it out guys!

Written by Anoplogaster on 25.07.2012 at 04:15

Hello i'm the drummer of Favna Abisal, and since it's difficult for you to reach us, we decided to let you listen the full album in streaming, please go to this url.
http://favnaabisal-rerumimaginaria.bandcamp.com/
Greetings and sorry for my english!


Very nice of you guys. Thanks a lot for the link! Keep it up!


THANKS
Mechaniacal - 05.10.2012 at 00:32  
The things I'd do to see these guys with Mar de Grises. This is such a great album. I couldn't imagine these beautiful lyrics translating well into English. I wish all of you knew Spanish in some way.

Milena, your taste in music is something else.
Anoplogaster - 10.10.2012 at 03:57  
Thank you guys for taking the time to listen the album!.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Favna Abisal - Rerum Imaginaria 7.5 01.08.2012 by Fredd
Reviews Firewind - Few Against Many 3 27.09.2012 by Druss
Reviews Linear Sphere - Manvantara 3 02.12.2012 by tea[m]ster
Reviews Shadowdance - Future Negative Fantasy 3 23.09.2012 by Ag Fox
Reviews Riverside - Shrine Of New Generation Slaves 3 09.03.2013 by Fredd



Hits total: 5640 | This month: 52