Drug Honkey - Ghost In The Fire review



Reviewer:
8.0

5 users:
8.40
Band: Drug Honkey
Album: Ghost In The Fire
Release date: January 2012


01. Order Of The Solar Temple
02. Ghost In The Fire
03. Weight Of The World [feat. Blake Judd]
04. This Time I Won't Hesitate
05. In Black Robe
06. Dead Days (Heroin III)
07. Five Years Up
08. Out Of My Mind
09. Twitcher [Scorn cover]
10. Saturate/Annihilate


Drug Honkey's lawyers had enough foresight to warn me that Drug Honkey will NOT be held responsible for the resulting paranoid schizophrenic episodes one will probably suffer when listening to Ghost In The Fire (particularly through headphones). They told me that because of the considerable power I have over the goings-on in the metal webzine world, but everyone should be given that warning before throwing this album on. It's like a group of renown hypnotist-musicians teamed up to jam out an album to turn everyone into Richard Chase. It's droning, dissonant, diabolical, doomed-out psychedelia dripping with LSD and blood; the word "trippy" won't quite suffice for what these guys have done this time around.

It's not the kind of metal I'm keen to put on. You're not going to want to knock down a few beers and bang your head into things to it. It's best listened to with a gram of DMT, alone in an abandoned nursing home. Or with a few syrettes of that Army-surplus morphine Cole Phelps' old subordinates stole—again, alone--in an old Chinese sex-traffic tunnel somewhere in Portland. It's dark, sordid, melancholy queasiness condensed into sonic form.

And, yeah, it's disturbingly ugly—like, having Ron Perlman's face crawl around in your ears, disturbingly ugly. But it's all deformed and grisly in a captivating way. Despite its number of drawbacks and moments that made me want to quit listening prematurely, it's enjoyable. Tracks might not really ever build-up to anything satisfying or dramatic, and riffs may never give you much to hold on to, but the textures of the tunes (thanks to a class-A production job) are near perfect. Despite being babbling and crazy most of the time, Ghost provides enough entrancing, buzzing, and pounding sounds (not tunes) to be fully bitten into and enjoyed.

Overall through, Thryce had it spot-on about their previous release and it still applies here: "if you're paranoid, listening to this album may cause motion sickness to the naked man standing right behind you." That's really all you can hope to know for sure before jumping into this grand old mindfuck here.


 



Written on 23.09.2012 by Wormdrink's real name is George and he's an American.


Comments

Comments: 25   Visited by: 177 users
23.09.2012 - 15:10
Ag Fox
Angel No More
Good review, but went back to read Thryce's and in all fairness, his was better =P
Either way, I'm interested. Thanks for the heads up
----
loves 小巫
Loading...
23.09.2012 - 22:01
RottingDeathHead
kingnothing_92@yahoo.com
Hmm makes me want some DMT now... fuck wish the city wasn't so damn far
Loading...
23.09.2012 - 22:06
Cynic Metalhead
Atrocious Virgin
Grand old mindfuck??

Okay, I'm fucking on.
----
Loading...
23.09.2012 - 22:39
Blackhand
"It's not the kind of metal I'm keen to put on."
Then why would you be reviewing this album? I can never understand why reviewers review a style they're not into. That makes no sense.
Also, no mention of the individual tracks? Weird.
Loading...
23.09.2012 - 23:26
Druss
^Because its hard to take a review, at times, from someone who's a fan of the genre seriously, as they can always find something in it to enjoy, whereas if you can ''sell'' a piece of music to someone who isn't keen on this particular genre of metal, that's pretty impressive, and can communicate a sort of ''universal'' enjoyment factor of the music which can be appealing. As for mention of individual tracks, that sort of review content seems to be at the discretion of the reviewer on this site, from what I've seen.

Enjoyed the review, especially the Ron Perlman thing, that made me smile lol. Definately gonna give this a listen sometime, I like a good dose of paranoia in my music every now and then
Loading...
24.09.2012 - 00:02
Blackhand
^ I understand your point, but if the reviewer isn't familiar with/doesn't enjoy the style/genre, they don't necessarily understand what is going on/don't know what to look for stylistically. For example the statement "Tracks might not really ever build-up to anything satisfying or dramatic, and riffs may never give you much to hold on to" doesn't do the album justice because that is the style of music the band plays & very purposeful, I would assume. It's not standard writing here.
Anyways, the review was positive, just stating my opinion as I see plenty of reviews that don't quite make sense to me & I had to say something.
Loading...
24.09.2012 - 03:36
Blackhand
^ I disagree completely. I think they are a killer band & this new album is even better than the last.. But I guess that's the beauty of opinion..
Loading...
24.09.2012 - 03:44
Vox Monster
Well written review. It was fun to read, but if you have to be high off your ass to enjoy this, how good it is really.
Loading...
24.09.2012 - 03:45
strade
This review reminded me that I've had a copy of this sitting on my shelf for about a month. I guess I need to listen to it eventually, when my mind and body are ready.
----
My lo-fi synth project: http://luciddreamer.bandcamp.com
Loading...
24.09.2012 - 03:46
Blackhand
^ Nah, I don't party @ all & I dig this band a lot. The music is the drug in my opinion.
Loading...
24.09.2012 - 03:47
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
It won't surprise me if people like this. Loads of people bought into the absolute manure that was Diapsiquir. To be fair though Drug Honkey are many, many times better than them; they're at least listenable.
Loading...
24.09.2012 - 03:58
Blackhand
Honestly, it sounds as if you are just doing the reverse of what you accused the band of doing. Like you want to be - that guy who has to bring some negative view on the situation. Just because a band is different doesn't mean that they are "trying" to be different. Jeez.
Loading...
24.09.2012 - 04:13
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by Blackhand on 24.09.2012 at 03:58

Honestly, it sounds as if you are just doing the reverse of what you accused the band of doing. Like you want to be - that guy who has to bring some negative view on the situation. Just because a band is different doesn't mean that they are "trying" to be different. Jeez.

Honestly, it sounds like you're simply being defensive over a less than positive opinion of a band you like / are in. There's absolutely no basis in fact for the reasoning behind your comment; nothing but misguided deduction on your part. Unless you can somehow prove that my opinion is diametrically opposed to the comments on this thread purely for the sake of being "negative?"

In actuality I didn't say this band was different, in fact I'd say they have a very generic take on a very common concept of "extreme" metal, wherein lays my problem: it's uninteresting and unspectacular (not to mention averagely executed). I actually said that they want to be something but fail at it, not that they want to be different. I thought that was pretty clear reading back on my comment.
Loading...
24.09.2012 - 04:23
Blackhand
Haha.. Ok, we'll leave it @ that. You win. You're right, they suck. You are awesome.
Loading...
24.09.2012 - 04:31
Blackhand
& no, I'm not in the band. I'm just a fan on the other side
of the world. Although, I wouldn't mind jammin with these guys.
Loading...
25.09.2012 - 17:11
R'Vannith
ghedengi
Ron Perlman's face crawling around in your ears... where do you come up with these images? Gonna listen to this just to find out what that kind of experience is like
Loading...
25.09.2012 - 17:46
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Guest on 24.09.2012 at 03:47
It won't surprise me if people like this. Loads of people bought into the absolute manure that was Diapsiquir. To be fair though Drug Honkey are many, many times better than them; they're at least listenable.


Oh the arrogance.

(I'm refering to the classic "bought into" argument instead of people simply not having the same tastes)
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
25.09.2012 - 18:13
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Written by Mr. Doctor on 25.09.2012 at 17:46

Oh the arrogance.

(I'm refering to the classic "bought into" argument instead of people simply not having the same tastes)

That's how I explain how so many people like Brutal Death Metal
Loading...
26.09.2012 - 00:36
Blackhand
Now I have to check out this band Diapsiquir.
Loading...
26.09.2012 - 07:38
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
You'll probably love them.
Loading...
26.09.2012 - 19:24
Blackhand
Haha. Probably. I love you too.
Loading...
26.09.2012 - 20:21
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Blackhand on 26.09.2012 at 19:24

Haha. Probably. I love you too.


Back off bitch, he's mine!
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
26.09.2012 - 20:36
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Now, now fellas. There's plenty of me to go around.
Loading...
02.10.2012 - 21:01
monti_84
Poor musicianship, boring as hell...I don´t know why people keep saying things like "deformed and grisly in a captivating way", Please, its just bad music, if you want grimness and slow tempo, go pick up a good funeral doom record.
----
The universe does not need a creator
Loading...
24.02.2014 - 15:50
Monolithic
♠♠♠
As I'm listening to the album right now, it seems the musical pseudo-ingenuity just cuts off somewhere along the road, negating all the vibe and all the build-up with some randomly placed occasional echoes and droning whispers of guitars and vocals. The latter songs are as dry as a nun's chef, even by doom standards. It got more interesting in the end, though.

I know it may sound nonsense to say it but this band really has the potential to deliver better than this.
Loading...

Hits total: 4341 | This month: 22