Rating:
8.0
Cryptopsy - Cryptopsy
11 September 2012


01. Two-Pound Torch
02. Shag Harbour's Visitors
03. Red-Skinned Scapegoat
04. Damned Draft Dodgers
05. Amputated Enigma
06. The Golden Square Mile
07. Ominous
08. Cleansing The Hosts


Purposefully and emphatically self-titled, Cryptopsy return with their clear message of intent; Cryptopsy.

Four years ago the death metal world was stunned at the modern direction this pioneering, underground brutal death act had taken with The Unspoken King. Either band mastermind Flo Mounier has changed his mind as readily as he changed the band four years ago, or his gamble just didn't pay off and left only with dissatisfied fans had no real option but to resurrect the Cryptopsy death machine synonymous with the name. Either way, you could say Cryptopsy are back.

Cryptopsy have never been a bland death metal band churning out mindless blastbeats; there has always been a strange captivating aspect to their brutal chaos courtesy of Flo's insanely talented limbs and the technical ability of the band. The Unspoken King elevated the band's sound out of the underground, but compromised the brutal death metal with deathcore and a few terrible clean vocals. Now with Cryptopsy we are treated to yet another crisp sounding, clearly produced death metal album, but this time the deathcore and clean vocals find themselves being exchanged for brutality and more of a technical death metal feel.

Curiously then, Cryptopsy is more like a mixture of Whisper Supremacy and the good parts of The Unspoken King; a mash-up of the classic Cryptopsy blast-fest and the clean and modern Cryptopsy. Either way you look at it, Cryptopsy is the best result anyone disappointed four years ago could have hoped for.

Vocalist Matt McGachy on his second Cryptopsy release now sounds much improved. His vocals are far from one-directional, and although still no Lord Worm in the death growl department, his vocals no longer stick out like a sore thumb and have turned into one of the band's good assets. The rest of the band sound tight together with each impressive explosive section spear-headed by the man behind the drum kit. The album does contain one or two infrequent deathcore-style riffs and modern elements, but instead of the album being swamped by them - a great balance has been struck between the classic and the modern that not only compliments each other but keeps the death metal fresh and dynamic.

Cryptopsy is a death metal album that sounds fresh, modern, technical and brutal all in one. It might not have been an easy few years for Cryptopsy fans, but you can dust off your Cryptopsy shirt and be proud to be seen wearing it in public again.

-

Death metal
Self-Released
Canada
Length: 34:53

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 9
Production: 9


Band profile: Cryptopsy
Album: Cryptopsy


 



Written on 14.09.2012 by
Baz Anderson
Member of Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Baz Anderson ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 49  
Users visited: 439  
Search this topic:  


Lit. - 14.09.2012 at 04:01  
So we're back up to generic death, then?
Marcel Hubregtse - 14.09.2012 at 04:20  
Their previous one which was the one almost everyone hated was infinitely better than this generic piece of death crap
scapeplan - 14.09.2012 at 04:21  
The Unspoken King didn't happen and you can't prove it.
Marcel Hubregtse - 14.09.2012 at 04:37  
Written by scapeplan on 14.09.2012 at 04:21

The Unspoken King didn't happen and you can't prove it.



that was for me their best since the rest of their albums were generic almost copyish brutal death metal albums where nothing interesting happened and Lord WOrm is THE MOST SINGLE overrated vocalist ever who only uses effects to enhance his vocals
JD - 14.09.2012 at 07:15  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 14.09.2012 at 04:20

Their previous one which was the one almost everyone hated was infinitely better than this generic piece of death crap

Can you really blame them? I mean Cryptopsy for taking this road again. They tried to be "creative", fans no happy, when they back to their roots, fans are happy. (fans happy = MOAR live shows, CDs sell.. etc).

As for me, I did enjoy both albums, The Unspoking King, and this one
Grey Wind - 14.09.2012 at 10:50  
Bleh, not even close to None So Vile !
Oaken - 14.09.2012 at 14:16  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 14.09.2012 at 04:37

Written by scapeplan on 14.09.2012 at 04:21

The Unspoken King didn't happen and you can't prove it.



that was for me their best since the rest of their albums were generic almost copyish brutal death metal albums where nothing interesting happened and Lord WOrm is THE MOST SINGLE overrated vocalist ever who only uses effects to enhance his vocals

So you mean that None So Vile sucks?
BoxCar Willy - 14.09.2012 at 14:52  
^Don't argue with Marcel, not worth it.
!J.O.O.E.! - 14.09.2012 at 14:55  
Indeed, let the old man live in his senile world
Mr. Doctor - 14.09.2012 at 15:00  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 14.09.2012 at 14:55

Indeed, let the old man live in his senile world


I don't find None So Vile specially amazing either. I remember I listened to it once or twice.... But just the fact that I listened to it, not the music. Nothing memorable for me and I do enjoy some brutal death albums.
!J.O.O.E.! - 14.09.2012 at 15:02  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 14.09.2012 at 15:00


I don't find None So Vile specially amazing either. I remember I listened to it once or twice.... But just the fact that I listened to it, not the music. Nothing memorable for me and I do enjoy some brutal death albums.

I'd say it's heads and tails above 99% of other brutal death metal. It has a unique identity and sound, very good song construction i.e. not a blur of brutal crap etc. and definitely the best use of vocals in a death metal record of that sort. This coming from someone who hates brutal death.
Mr. Doctor - 14.09.2012 at 15:05  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 14.09.2012 at 15:02
I'd say it's heads and tails above 99% of other brutal death metal.


In that case I would say Suffocation's first 2 albums are the 1%
!J.O.O.E.! - 14.09.2012 at 15:07  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 14.09.2012 at 15:05


In that case I would say Suffocation's first 2 albums are the 1%

In the 1%, not necessarily the 1% =P
Mr. Doctor - 14.09.2012 at 15:08  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 14.09.2012 at 15:07
In the 1%, not necessarily the 1% =P


Dick.

Although as a math student, I feel that I somehow deserved it.
!J.O.O.E.! - 14.09.2012 at 15:13  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 14.09.2012 at 15:08


Dick.

Although as a math student, I feel that I somehow deserved it.

*pats your fluffy head*
Mr. Doctor - 14.09.2012 at 15:18  
Okay, in the hopes of getting this ship back on course: I have to say.... C'mon! Since when was Cryptopsy underground?!
Rulatore - 14.09.2012 at 15:18  
Written by BoxCar Willy on 14.09.2012 at 14:52

^Don't argue with Marcel, not worth it.

Best comment in this thread.

About the album, I enjoyed it a lot
!J.O.O.E.! - 14.09.2012 at 15:22  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 14.09.2012 at 15:18

Okay, in the hopes of getting this ship back on course: I have to say.... C'mon! Since when was Cryptopsy underground?!

Good point, I don't think there was a metaller alive worth his/her salt who didn't know about None So Vile and the band.
Tornado Of Souls - 14.09.2012 at 19:30  
Haven't heard this yet but None So Vile is probably my favourite death metal album.
Oaken - 14.09.2012 at 20:50  
Written by BoxCar Willy on 14.09.2012 at 14:52

^Don't argue with Marcel, not worth it.

None So Vile's awesomeness is a fact. And I agree with Joe that it's above 99% of brutal death metal (excluding Suffocation and Benighted).
Tristus Scriptor - 14.09.2012 at 21:05  
I'm reading these comments...and just...ok, the first thing that comes to mind is: I'm tired of attempting conversation with damn near everyone that claims to know what's good or not. Spend a few years actually meeting bands in person, respecting them to their face (and not bashing them on forums), and you'll know what I mean. Being part of the night's roster and getting respect back helps too.

By the way; good review, Baz. (NOT a kissass remark, as I don't think you'd appreciate that kind of wussy patronization...I wouldn't.)
!J.O.O.E.! - 14.09.2012 at 21:11  
Written by Tristus Scriptor on 14.09.2012 at 21:05

I'm reading these comments...and just...ok, the first thing that comes to mind is: I'm tired of attempting conversation with damn near everyone that claims to know what's good or not. Spend a few years actually meeting bands in person, respecting them to their face (and not bashing them on forums), and you'll know what I mean. Being part of the night's roster and getting respect back helps too.

Why do you have an account then if you don't want to discuss the good and bad of music?

Furthermore, knowing bands has nothing to do with the quality of their music. I know plenty of people in bands that play shit music, knowing them doesn't change how I feel about it. I don't really get what you're trying to say with that remark. Art is judged on the art, not the artist, which only has an influence on the judgement of quality.
Mr. Doctor - 14.09.2012 at 21:17  
Written by Oaken on 14.09.2012 at 20:50
None So Vile's awesomeness is a fact.


Bullshit. Nothing related to tastes in art is fact.
!J.O.O.E.! - 14.09.2012 at 21:18  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 14.09.2012 at 21:17


Bullshit. Nothing related to tastes in art is fact.

Statistically speaking though it's an extremely well received and regarded record
Mr. Doctor - 14.09.2012 at 21:20  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 14.09.2012 at 21:18

Statistically speaking though it's an extremely well received and regarded record


So? That doesn't make it a fact. Just a very large opinion. Let's call things for what they are instead of rounding up the numbers.
!J.O.O.E.! - 14.09.2012 at 21:22  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 14.09.2012 at 21:20


So? That doesn't make it a fact. Just a very large opinion. Let's call things for what they are instead of rounding up the numbers.

But if you switch the words around and rearrange the statement: "it's a fact that Cryptopsy is an extremely well received and regarded record" it holds true. You just have to subtract the personal edge to it
Mr. Doctor - 14.09.2012 at 21:30  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 14.09.2012 at 21:22

Written by Mr. Doctor on 14.09.2012 at 21:20


So? That doesn't make it a fact. Just a very large opinion. Let's call things for what they are instead of rounding up the numbers.

But if you switch the words around and rearrange the statement: "it's a fact that Cryptopsy is an extremely well received and regarded record" it holds true. You just have to subtract the personal edge to it


Of course your statement will hold true since it has been calibrated enough. I'm talking about Oaken's statement which on the other hand does not. It's just a proposition that takes his "statement" and let it diverge to infinity without proof to why such action takes place besides an obvious addition of a personal digit.
!J.O.O.E.! - 14.09.2012 at 21:32  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 14.09.2012 at 21:30


Of course your statement will hold true since it has been calibrated enough. I'm talking about Oaken's statement which on the other hand does not. It's just a proposition that takes his "statement" and let it diverge to infinity without proof to why such action takes place besides an obvious addition of a personal digit.

Is that like Pi?
Mr. Doctor - 14.09.2012 at 21:40  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 14.09.2012 at 21:32
Is that like Pi?


You just got QED'd, Bitch!
Tristus Scriptor - 14.09.2012 at 22:10  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 14.09.2012 at 21:11

Written by Tristus Scriptor on 14.09.2012 at 21:05

I'm reading these comments...and just...ok, the first thing that comes to mind is: I'm tired of attempting conversation with damn near everyone that claims to know what's good or not. Spend a few years actually meeting bands in person, respecting them to their face (and not bashing them on forums), and you'll know what I mean. Being part of the night's roster and getting respect back helps too.

Why do you have an account then if you don't want to discuss the good and bad of music?

Furthermore, knowing bands has nothing to do with the quality of their music. I know plenty of people in bands that play shit music, knowing them doesn't change how I feel about it. I don't really get what you're trying to say with that remark. Art is judged on the art, not the artist, which only has an influence on the judgement of quality.

Knowing individuals and expecting respectful remarks from professionals is one thing. THAT's why I have an account. And, the reviews, most of the time are good and informative. You don't have to be a master-debater to read reviews. Shaking their (musicians) hand and having a meal with them makes one search for what they have to offer, forgiving your initial tendencies to bash, as well as looking beneath the surface of trends and anti-trends. I, personally, don't like the dreaded TUK, yet I never felt the need to act like a jerk about it. And, really- I didn't single you out. Just made a statement. I keep my account open because I like y'alls site. It's the bland "LORD WORM forever!" and "It's all overrated stuff"-flavoured comments that make me throw up my hands and try not to scroll down, unfortunately...sometimes I just can't escape the morbid curiosity, like looking at a car wreck.
Mr. Doctor - 14.09.2012 at 22:16  
Written by Tristus Scriptor on 14.09.2012 at 22:10
like looking at a car wreck.


Awful, example... Those are fun.

Also... Man, if you get annoyed by those comments, shit dude. I always thought this forum was so vanilla compared to the senseless arguments you get from so many other forums.
Tristus Scriptor - 14.09.2012 at 22:24  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 14.09.2012 at 22:16

Written by Tristus Scriptor on 14.09.2012 at 22:10
like looking at a car wreck.


Awful, example... Those are fun.

Also... Man, if you get annoyed by those comments, shit dude. I always thought this forum was so vanilla compared to the senseless arguments you get from so many other forums.

Heh. I meant like looking for real mangled corpses in a fresh car wreck. Anyway, to be quite honest...I realized that I'd have to stand up for myself just posting what I said...I even facepalmed (as the kiddies say) myself, just letting it happen. Yet, you're right, other sites (especially Pootube) got my tolerance down. But really, I don't consider it a forum, and- like I said- I simply like reading Baz's reviews, amongst a handful of others. I just decided to stop submitting mine (which is mildly another reason for my lack of tolerance). sorry for being a pot and calling the kettle black, but I just can't stop my fingers sometimes....(Jeez...I'm seeing a lack of self-control today! LOL.)
Dangerboner - 15.09.2012 at 00:52  
Tried to read this thread, but the comments gave me cancer
Mr. Doctor - 15.09.2012 at 01:13  
Written by Dangerboner on 15.09.2012 at 00:52

Tried to read this thread, but the comments gave me cancer


Listen to the album then, it might cure your cancer or something. I thought it was pretty nice.... Not wonderful but in a safe 7-8 scale of goodness. I really liked the jazzy section somewhere in the middle of the album I think. Also... Is it me or have you been away for a long time?
Mattybu - 15.09.2012 at 03:03  
Not even sure what to think of this, might pick it up to fit in with the cool kids but it's hard to be excited about a band this unremarkable
Dangerboner - 15.09.2012 at 03:51  
Listening now and I like it. Not their best, but I'm going to buy it for sure. The comments in this thread are still annoying , but any Cryptopsy thread on any site generally turn to shit.

Definitely not as technical as I expected, but still better than TUK.
Protostar - 15.09.2012 at 17:26  
I have yet to listen to this myself but from the looks of the review I'm goddamn happy to know they've returned to their roots. I totally support evolution in music and bands, it's their choice and they can do as they please... But in some cases, like this one, there are some directions a band just shouldn't go. Either that or they shouldn't choose to go that direction so late in their career.
What ever the case, I'll have to look in to this. Maybe I won't puke in my mouth after hearing this release...
Blackhand - 23.09.2012 at 22:49  
This album is better than the last one, but not really anything special. I was really hoping for something more like "One was Not". That album fucking crushes.
Oaken - 26.09.2012 at 12:27  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 14.09.2012 at 21:17

Written by Oaken on 14.09.2012 at 20:50
None So Vile's awesomeness is a fact.


Bullshit. Nothing related to tastes in art is fact.

I know, I know. I was just "fanboying"
Mr. Doctor - 26.09.2012 at 12:28  
Written by Oaken on 26.09.2012 at 12:27

I know, I know. I was just "fanboying"


I know, I know. I was just smartassing
Maxx666 - 27.09.2012 at 16:21  
Written by Grey Wind on 14.09.2012 at 10:50

Bleh, not even close to None So Vile !

Dude think about what you're saying... None So vile is one of the few legendary albums in death metal today.. I doubt any bands even Cryptopsy themselves could even come close to None So Vile.. We don't get to see many None So Vile in a lifetime, luckily we lived in that era and rejoiced every moment of it. And after all how many vocalist do you think can match Lord Worm lest alone surpass him. So its highly improbable that we'd get to see another None So Vile again. An its no point comparing to it. This album is generic at best, good thing though they didn't made another crap like Unspoken King.
Grey Wind - 28.09.2012 at 13:03  
Written by Maxx666 on 27.09.2012 at 16:21

Written by Grey Wind on 14.09.2012 at 10:50

Bleh, not even close to None So Vile !

Dude think about what you're saying... None So vile is one of the few legendary albums in death metal today.. I doubt any bands even Cryptopsy themselves could even come close to None So Vile.. We don't get to see many None So Vile in a lifetime, luckily we lived in that era and rejoiced every moment of it. And after all how many vocalist do you think can match Lord Worm lest alone surpass him. So its highly improbable that we'd get to see another None So Vile again. An its no point comparing to it. This album is generic at best, good thing though they didn't made another crap like Unspoken King.


Yeah I guess you are right. I just don't like generic DM.
Maxx666 - 01.10.2012 at 22:03  
Written by Grey Wind on 28.09.2012 at 13:03

Written by Maxx666 on 27.09.2012 at 16:21

Written by Grey Wind on 14.09.2012 at 10:50

Bleh, not even close to None So Vile !

Dude think about what you're saying... None So vile is one of the few legendary albums in death metal today.. I doubt any bands even Cryptopsy themselves could even come close to None So Vile.. We don't get to see many None So Vile in a lifetime, luckily we lived in that era and rejoiced every moment of it. And after all how many vocalist do you think can match Lord Worm lest alone surpass him. So its highly improbable that we'd get to see another None So Vile again. An its no point comparing to it. This album is generic at best, good thing though they didn't made another crap like Unspoken King.


Yeah I guess you are right. I just don't like generic DM.

Me neither....!
Marcel Hubregtse - 01.10.2012 at 22:19  
Written by Maxx666 on 01.10.2012 at 22:03


Me neither....!



and yet you think Cryptopsy is great? talk about generic brutal death, damn skippy.
Maxx666 - 02.10.2012 at 21:12  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 01.10.2012 at 22:19

Written by Maxx666 on 01.10.2012 at 22:03


Me neither....!



and yet you think Cryptopsy is great? talk about generic brutal death, damn skippy.

I said Cryptopsy were great, and no one can deny that. But that was till Once was Not, after that we lost our beloved Cryptopsy to mainstream generic junk that it is at present
Jon Levasseur - 24.10.2012 at 22:12  
JON LEVASSEUR NO LONGER IN CRYPTOPSY

Hey everyone!
Jon Levasseur here and once again, plain and simple, I left Cryptopsy a month ago. From the start, this was the plan for me as I just wanted to do one last album with the band.
Even though I had left the band several years before, I was hurt after hearing "The Unspoken King" for the first time. I always was proud to say I played in Cryptopsy but at that point, I felt all the hard work I put into the band over the years (along side band members) was obliterated in the blink of an eye; a difficult pill to swallow. From my perspective, the idea for this new album was to do one last record touching every era of the band, namely from "Blasphemy made Flesh" to "And then you'll Beg", so the fans could at least have one last real Cryptopsy album and the most important thing: TUK not being the last entry in the book of the band's history! Hopefully, this new record will act as a soothing balm on the wounds from TUK, at least for me it will!!!

Before I go, thanx to present band members for putting up with me for another album, great job guys and we did good!! I want to thank everybody who gave this self-titled album a listen and thanx to the fans for all the kind words following my return. It definitely boosted my motivation in the writing process so my part on the album is dedicated to you: the fans! Hope you enjoy and Cryptopsy will be touring the world so don't miss them when they pass through!!! Cheers!

Jon Levasseur
Void Eater - 29.10.2012 at 05:32  
Wait is this actually John Levasseur? If so, can you sign my profile?
PhantomLord21 - 02.11.2012 at 17:25  
Written by Void Eater on 29.10.2012 at 05:32

Wait is this actually John Levasseur? If so, can you sign my profile?

Looks like it was: he's not on the current lineup section on Wikipedia or Metal-Archieves. He's still with them on their MySpace, though...

I'm not normally a death metal fan, btw: just happened to be bored and found the statement above.
Opethian - 24.12.2012 at 20:34  
The True definition of Redemption. This is sheer brutality! IMO the closest thing that they delivered since 'None So Vile'. Lord Worm is Pleased

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Cryptopsy - The Unspoken King 7.5 22.04.2008 by Clint W.
Articles Cryptopsy - Sheffield, England, 1st December 2008 6.5 07.12.2008 by
Reviews Nile - At The Gate Of Sethu 4.5 29.06.2012 by J. N.
Reviews Judas Priest - Demolition 4.5 08.01.2007 by Baz Anderson
Reviews Awake - Illumination 4.5 23.11.2011 by BudDa



Hits total: 6920 | This month: 41