Rating:
N/A
Firewind - Few Against Many
22 May 2012


01. Wall Of Sound
02. Losing My Mind
03. Few Against Many
04. The Undying Fire
05. Another Dimension
06. Glorious
07. Edge Of A Dream [feat. Apocalyptica]
08. Destiny
09. Long Gone Tomorrow
10. No Heroes, No Sinners
11. Battleborn [Limited Edition Digipak bonus]
12. No Heroes, No Sinners [Acoustic version] [Limited Edition Digipak bonus]


Firewind, Firewind, how I loved you. You proved that bands with frequently changing lineups can still sound tight as fuck. You proved that having a kick-ass young shredder in the band doesn't necessarily turn your songs into vessels for his solos. You proved that it's possible to issue five albums in six years with each following album being better than the one before it. You issued one of my favorite power metal albums, The Premonition. You kicked ass.

Then came 2010 with the inevitably underwhelming Days Of Defiance. There was still some fuel in the tank but it ran out long before the album finished, leaving me worried for the band's future. Came 2012 with another generic album name and the single "Wall Of Sound" which was everything but a wall of sound.

"Well this can't be good", I thought.

And I was right.

Firewind now sounds like someone put them through a shit blender. Rare appearances of good tunes are appreciated, until you remember you've heard the band do that exact same thing before, and better. The rest is drowned in hard rock pretension, random chugging, mid-paced songs with all life sucked out of them (whatever happened to the band that wrote "Brother's Keeper"?), songs that try to be anthems and fail miserably (whatever happened to the band that wrote "Tyranny" and "Head Up High"?), ballads that don't even try to invite you to sing along (whatever happened to the band that wrote "Hate World Hero"?) and, on occasions, songs with good bits... That don't match up. I'm not sure how could they make such amateurish mistakes in songwriting. Come on, listen to "Destiny" and say it's a good power metal song, I double dare you. Listen to "Edge Of A Dream" and say Apocalyptica's guest spot wasn't painfully wasted.

Sure, there's still nice solos, guitar/keyboard exchanges and Apollo Papathanasio sounds as charismatic as ever, but the defining characteristic of this band - playing solid, catchy and powerful metal - is nowhere to be found. And I'm not the only person who feels that way about Few Against Many. Perhaps Firewind is not one of Gus G's primary concerns anymore, or perhaps they just hit a rough patch. As a fan of this band, I'm hoping for the former.


Band profile: Firewind
Album: Few Against Many


 



Written on 27.09.2012 by
Milena
A part of the team since December 2011, writes about the progressive, the sad and the melodic. She's nice until she's not.
More reviews by Milena ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 27  
Users visited: 345  
Search this topic:  


Druss - 27.09.2012 at 14:37  
Still haven't heard Days Of Defiance, but comparitively speaking, between this effort and 2008's, you're definately right, Few Against Many is very underwhelming....just seems sloppily put together, a hint here and there of a good riff, a hook, then its gone. Disappointing, spot-on review.
Lit. - 27.09.2012 at 14:46  
Wow, never expected to see such a vicious review from you.
Frodd - 27.09.2012 at 14:50  
I'm waiting for a band member to show up here.
Kamil - 27.09.2012 at 15:24  
Rate of the review: 2/10
Note, that I am not Firewind member
Milena - 27.09.2012 at 15:32  
Written by Frodd on 27.09.2012 at 14:50

I'm waiting for a band member to show up here.

I think they're becoming too big to hear or care what any of us have to say... I wanted to mention that in the review but I decided to leave it out. So, ultimately, this review serves no purpose except to express my personal disappointment, which is awful, but there you have it
Frodd - 27.09.2012 at 15:37  
Written by Milena on 27.09.2012 at 15:32

I think they're becoming too big to hear or care what any of us have to say... I wanted to mention that in the review but I decided to leave it out. So, ultimately, this review serves no purpose except to express my personal disappointment, which is awful, but there you have it

Nah, at least you've saved me 40-something minutes of my precious life.
Milena - 27.09.2012 at 15:38  
Written by Frodd on 27.09.2012 at 15:37

Nah, at least you've saved me 40-something minutes of my precious life.

How about I furthermore make your life better and direct you to The Premonition?
Frodd - 27.09.2012 at 15:39  
Written by Milena on 27.09.2012 at 15:38

How about I furthermore make your life better and direct you to The Premonition?

Getting it right now. Thanks
Ozman - 27.09.2012 at 15:41  
Either back on topic or the two of you get a room
Frodd - 27.09.2012 at 15:46  
Written by Ozman on 27.09.2012 at 15:41

Either back on topic or the two of you get a room

An emergency room? you evil man
Milena - 27.09.2012 at 15:49  
Written by Ozman on 27.09.2012 at 15:41

Either back on topic or the two of you get a room

We're talking about Firewind. Your point?
Spirit Molecule - 27.09.2012 at 16:50  
Written by Milena on 27.09.2012 at 15:32

I think they're becoming too big to hear or care what any of us have to say... I wanted to mention that in the review but I decided to leave it out. So, ultimately, this review serves no purpose except to express my personal disappointment, which is awful, but there you have it


Did one of them throw a fit or something after a bad review of an older album ?
Milena - 27.09.2012 at 16:58  
Written by Spirit Molecule on 27.09.2012 at 16:50

Did one of them throw a fit or something after a bad review of an older album ?

I don't think so, why?
Spirit Molecule - 27.09.2012 at 17:09  
Written by Milena on 27.09.2012 at 16:58

I don't think so, why?


Oh ok, well some of the previous comments made it seem like they had shown up before.
Frodd - 27.09.2012 at 17:13  
Written by Spirit Molecule on 27.09.2012 at 17:09

Oh ok, well some of the previous comments made it seem like they had shown up before.

No, but band members have been commenting on a lot of our reviews lately. Also, happy birthday!
Spirit Molecule - 27.09.2012 at 20:06  
Written by Frodd on 27.09.2012 at 17:13

No, but band members have been commenting on a lot of our reviews lately. Also, happy birthday!


Yeah I've noticed that, but I guess Firewind might be a bit bigger than the other ones as Milena mentioned.
Oh and thanks brah
Coolingsrock - 27.09.2012 at 21:34  
Thanks for the heads up
Stabby - 27.09.2012 at 23:55  
Written by Milena on 27.09.2012 at 15:32

Written by Frodd on 27.09.2012 at 14:50

I'm waiting for a band member to show up here.

I think they're becoming too big to hear or care what any of us have to say... I wanted to mention that in the review but I decided to leave it out. So, ultimately, this review serves no purpose except to express my personal disappointment, which is awful, but there you have it


Truth. I was going to say that I'm glad you wrote how you really feel (and I feel); because if nobody criticizes the album they'll just do it again. But in reality they won't read this, or pay attention to negative reviews, and the album will sell decently well and they'll play a sold-out tour and everyone will scream at the end of their new songs.

Instead this is our lamentation. And how sweet it is! Nice work.

I can't help but think that Firewind's descent into mediocrity has been fueled by Gus playing for Ozzy. I'm not suggesting that it's Ozzy's fault, but Gus might be feeling more pressure to appeal to the mainstream heavy metal crowd.
frankeli - 28.09.2012 at 11:28  
Gus's latest works are quite disappointing. From what I could hear, he wanted (and presume he succeeded) to break the US mainstream market. Pay attention, I said market, not the scene.
Susan - 30.09.2012 at 02:36  
"Perhaps Firewind is not one of Gus G's primary concerns anymore"

GOD I hope not! This is so disappointing to read. I haven't heard the album yet, and definitely will, but I just was getting this suspicion anyway. I mean, they've never been at the top of the power metal ranks but they've always had their own sound and been solid as fuck and enjoyable, awesome, loveable, etc. I reviewed their 2010 album, released right after Gus joined with Ozzy, and I proclaimed that Firewind was a "real band" and not just some side project of Gus's, but one of his main focuses. Gus: please don't make me wrong about that!!
The Galactican - 30.09.2012 at 03:27  
I just started listening to these guys a few weeks back and haven't made it beyond their first record, which I really enjoy. Think I'll give this one a great big skip based on this review.
LocalStranger - 30.09.2012 at 12:50  
I do not agree with the review. I think they evolving the right way. I didn't spot any poor writing and I think that „Few Against Many" is one of their best. I am recommending it to everyone I know and I was surprised by the review. This and „Allegiance" is the only Firewind albums that caught my ear.
I think that they did take a step with their sound. Maybe the step away from their old fans, towards the new fans. It is very common with many bands. As the band evolves, old fans don't like new albums and want to return the old days, new fans don't like old albums as much as new...
R'Vannith - 30.09.2012 at 16:47  
"Evolving" is hardly something I think a band like this are capable of, the focus on their formulaic style of producing riff oriented and melodic songs doesn't allow for any variance. The band sounds the same as always the only thing that is different here I think is that the band has become increasingly off the mark in making their music catchy and memorable.
Sir Thrashalot - 01.10.2012 at 16:44  
I've personally seen a Firewind show last year, they did a GREAT job, always been a Firewind fan since "Burning Earth", the addition of Appolo solidified the band, a great signer with a charisma beyond most. But honestly, i listened to this album, and i can't be more on Milena's side on this. Few Against Many seems so down, so slow and doesn't make me want to sing very loud in my car like the Head Up High and Mercenary Man and good old Firewind times. Songs don't catch my attention at all, it seems like they ran out of fuel. Nowhere near the energy and passion they had in the beggining. "The Premonition" and "Allegiance" were so powerful and feel good songs, now their new songs drag me down, very negative compared to the kick they had before.

Very disapointing for me, hope they will get back on their feet, because they used to be one of my favorite Power Metal bands, top 3 easily, and now they're going down. "Days of Defiance"... I told myself, meh one speed bump, they'll be back... now i'm not so sure about it ...
Milena - 01.10.2012 at 20:52  
Written by Sir Thrashalot on 01.10.2012 at 16:44

"Days of Defiance"... I told myself, meh one speed bump, they'll be back... now i'm not so sure about it ...

Ah yes, that's how I felt :/


Thanks for the comments. Always nice to write for you guys.
IoannisTsochalis - 27.12.2012 at 00:30  
I agree that Premonition is considered as their magnum opus but i also believe that Few Against Many has some great songs in its track list. Losing my mind/Few against many/The undying fire/Glorious after several times of listening the album i still believe that they are great songs powerful with identity and everything else you can name them but meaningless. As for the edge of a dream it is not the kind of song that grab your face at first but steady and strongly is growing inside you and this feeling you get listening to this song has no turning back. Maybe they don't have to prove anymore how good they are in making good first impression. It's the difference between a sexy hot young girl with swim suit and a charming lady full dressed in night elegant suit. In first case you can't stop staring , in second case you have to do something further more if you want to find out what it's not revealed at first sight!!! Ok the wall of sound its a typical wanna be easy listening hit comfortable for car cd player and nothing more but i still believe that it's not much worst than head up high or mercenary man(from the legendary Premonition) , two really overrated songs based on a by far more easy going/listening attitude.
IoannisTsochalis - 27.12.2012 at 00:33  
Written by Milena on 01.10.2012 at 20:52

Written by Sir Thrashalot on 01.10.2012 at 16:44

"Days of Defiance"... I told myself, meh one speed bump, they'll be back... now i'm not so sure about it ...

Ah yes, that's how I felt :/


Thanks for the comments. Always nice to write for you guys.


I agree that Premonition is considered as their magnum opus but i also believe that Few Against Many has some great songs in its track list. Losing my mind/Few against many/The undying fire/Glorious after several times of listening the album i still believe that they are great songs powerful with identity and everything else you can name them but meaningless. As for the edge of a dream it is not the kind of song that grab your face at first but steady and strongly is growing inside you and this feeling you get listening to this song has no turning back. Maybe they don't have to prove anymore how good they are in making good first impression. It's the difference between a sexy hot young girl with swim suit and a charming lady full dressed in night elegant suit. In first case you can't stop staring , in second case you have to do something further more if you want to find out what it's not revealed at first sight!!! Ok the wall of sound its a typical wanna be easy listening hit comfortable for car cd player and nothing more but i still believe that it's not much worst than head up high or mercenary man(from the legendary Premonition) , two really overrated song based on a by far more easy going/listening attitude.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
News The Few Against Many - New Album Details 4.5 30.04.2009 by Black Conundrum
News The Few Against Many - Debut Album Streaming Online 4.5 10.09.2009 by Vitriolic Hate
Albums The Few Against Many - Sot 4.5 07.11.2011 by metaleaterr
News Firewind - Announces European Tour 3 11.07.2008 by YoreLore
News Firewind - New Album Trailer Online 3 08.08.2010 by



Hits total: 5395 | This month: 89