Rating:
N/A
Pythia - The Serpent's Curse
27 February 2012


01. Cry Of Our Nation
02. Betray My Heart
03. Kissing The Knife
04. Just A Lie
05. Dark Star
06. Long Live The King
07. The Circle
08. My Perfect Enemy
09. Heartless
10. Our Forgotten Land


Pythia plays symphonic metal, and plays it really well. In fact I'll just say it: I'm loving this album.

So, why is this The Serpent's Curse so amazing? For one thing, the singer doesn't suck! She's actually quite good. Thankfully. Emily Alice Ovenden is clearly in possession of real vocal talent, not to mention actual training, a rarity in this scene lately. She brings an even tone, attention to style, personal charisma, and vocal control to Pythia. Outside of metal she sings professionally with the successful ensembles Mediaeval Baebes and Celtic Legend.

Musically, this album is bursting at the seams with passion and energy. This is serious music but it's also damn fun and the band is enjoying every second of playing it. I know bands record one instrument at a time while in the studio, but I can't help but imagine Pythia together, all playing at once, rocking out the entire time.

There are beautiful keyboards lending intense color and texture in which you could easily be swept away, and overall most songs are quite heavy thanks to powerful guitar work. The pace is fast and the hard-hitting drums gallop onward hinting at power metal roots. In fact, the songwriting is so interesting and well composed that plenty of progressive elements can't help but slip in from time to time. Words like "bombastic" could easily describe many of these songs, but they still manage to play with a wide variety of tempos and moods, making each song individual.

No, I'm not going to list any of the famous/classic bands in this genre and say Pythia sounds like them. They just don't. It's straight up symphonic metal but somehow they managed to not copy a damn thing from anyone else. Don't you dare miss this album, which they released on CD as well as gorgeous picture vinyl. Just how cool are these guys?! I bet they're so cool they carry flasks…


Band profile: Pythia
Album: The Serpent's Curse


 



Written on 01.10.2012 by
Susan
Susan appreciates quality metal regardless of genre. Metal Storm Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Susan ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 9  
Users visited: 245  
Search this topic:  


Dentura - 02.10.2012 at 00:09  
Hmm, sounds interesting. I may check this out sometime. Great review.
Evil Chip - 02.10.2012 at 01:40  
Too "bombastic" for me
BudDa - 02.10.2012 at 08:36  
I love this album coz of many things but above all the lyrics. I felt they were smartly and very intelligently written. Thanx for the review
jadawal - 10.10.2012 at 00:05  
The start of the album sounds so horrible then the kick-in blows you away
Susan - 10.10.2012 at 02:02  
I'm so glad you guys are liking this! It's easily my Symphonic Metal Album Of The Year so far. There are a few good looking ones yet to be released but Pythia stands a good chance of hanging on to the title
Mr. Doctor - 21.10.2012 at 15:04  
Who would have thought that after so many years after I said "goodbye" to this kind of music for good... This album comes out of nowhere and I end up liking it?
Songwriting folks... That's the trick.

Good review, I agree on pretty much everything. These guys have something special but I can't point out what it is... Like I said: Maybe it's just a GOOD songwriting and performance. The proggy touches here and there help a lot too. I don't love it as much as you but definitely dig it and that says a lot from me considering my opinion of this stuff.
Susan - 21.10.2012 at 15:15  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 21.10.2012 at 15:04

Who would have thought that after so many years after I said "goodbye" to this kind of music for good... This album comes out of nowhere and I end up liking it?
Songwriting folks... That's the trick.



Awesome!!! Oh wow, not what I would have expected you to say either. I just LOVE how such an excellent album of metal music can really transcend genres and reach any fan of just good music.
metalwolf - 14.01.2013 at 14:06  
I simply love this album and this band. It's the 2nd band I have to thank Metalstorm for introducing them to me after Winter in Eden. It just shows that there are still jewels to be found in the symphonic metal genre.
Rhiannon - 26.02.2013 at 19:34  
I'm a huge fan of this genre, but this album was disappointing. Althought Emily's voice is really good, the songs are too short and straightforward for my taste. I prefer more epic music. The only song that really impressed me was 'My Perfect Enemy'.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Pythia - The Serpent's Curse 7.5 21.02.2012 by Zhazhael
Albums Pythia - Beneath The Veiled Embrace 4.5 19.09.2010 by
Reviews Noekk - The Minstrel's Curse 4 03.03.2008 by BestMetalstormer
Reviews Orchid's Curse - Voices: The Tales Of Broken Men 4 30.09.2010 by Edmund Fogg
Articles Royal Thunder - The Highline, Seattle, USA, 11.2.2013 3.5 14.02.2013 by Spirit Molecule



Hits total: 15445 | This month: 61