Rating:
7.5
Wintersun - Time I
19 October 2012


Disc I
01. When Time Fades Away
02. Sons Of Winter And Stars
    1 - Rain Of Stars
    2 - Surrounded By Darkness
    3 - Journey Inside A Dream
    4 - Sons Of Winter And Stars
03. Land Of Snow And Sorrow
04. Darkness And Frost
05. Time
06. [hidden track] [Mediabook & Mailorder edition bonus]

Disc II [DVD] [Mediabook bonus]
+ Time I Live Rehearsals At Sonic Pump Studios
+ Licks & Tricks
+ Sons Of Winter And Stars - Project Demonstration
+ Photo Gallery

Disc III [instrumental CD] [Mailorder edition bonus]
01. When Time Fades Away
02. Sons Of Winter And Stars
    1 - Rain Of Stars
    2 - Surrounded By Darkness
    3 - Journey Inside A Dream
    4 - Sons Of Winter And Stars
03. Land Of Snow And Sorrow
04. Darkness And Frost
05. Time


One of the most highly anticipated albums of the last decade; Time I finally ends the eight year silence, but was the wait worth it?

After the charming Eastern folk influenced introduction, it soon becomes apparent that things have changed with the band in the last eight years. From the album theme of comprehending human emotion and our time on earth to the musicianship and ambitious nature of the orchestrations, Wintersun have aimed for a much grander sound.

Much more symphonic, bombastic even, "Sons Of Winter And Stars" kicks the album off with high spirit and energy. Eight years all of a sudden becomes a little more understandable with the amount of attention to detail and intricate compositions that are so copiously and lavishly interlaced into the music. The musicianship is absolutely top-notch throughout and the closing two minutes of the song provide a wonderfully epic and memorable crescendo.

The album has so many layers, it is deeply ambitious. Time I is an album that has very clearly had so much dedication and effort put into it, but at times it also sounds like Jari has become so consumed with making this the masterpiece everyone wanted that it becomes a little over-indulgent with how complex and dense the compositions are. We are presented a masterclass of orchestration in metal, but it is a challenge to digest and connect with.

With a running time of forty minutes, which includes the introduction and interlude, Time I as a standalone album is very short. The previously mentioned "Sons Of Winter And Stars" and title track "Time" are both great songs and enough to make you crave the second album, but it is hard not to feel underwhelmed when the album seems to cut short. It isn't made any better with a questionable light and quiet production either. Time I then is exactly that; the first of two halves, not the complete article.

The album is mindblowingly impressive in portions, but is just a little too complex and indulgent for its own good. Perhaps along with Time II the picture will become complete, but even though this album has some golden moments - it just feels unfinished alone.

-

Symphonic Extreme Power metal
Nuclear Blast
Finland
Length: 40:07

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 7


Band profile: Wintersun
Album: Time I


 



Written on 22.10.2012 by
Baz Anderson
Member of Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Baz Anderson ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5
Comments: 218  
Users visited: 1063  
Search this topic:  


jadawal - 22.10.2012 at 18:08  
Pretty good review, I mostly agree. I found in some parts it was hard to hear drums or guitar, but still a few really good songs/parts
Risto - 22.10.2012 at 18:10  
Written by Guest on 22.10.2012 at 18:03

Wait... How come that album with "9" for originality gets only 7.5 in overall?

Probably because this isn't how it's supposed to be released. This fact is beyond the numeric section of the reviewing system of Metal Storm.
Darth Mitchell - 22.10.2012 at 18:13  
Written by Guest on 22.10.2012 at 18:03

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 7

Rating:
7.5

Wait... How come that album with "9" for originality gets only 7.5 in overall?


Maybe because the total picture isn't what he expected it to be? The high ratings for the Performance, Songwritting and Originality don't make an final rating. Something might sound awesome but isn't what the reviewer expected it to be. The last paragraph shows what I mean
EmeraldSword - 22.10.2012 at 18:20  
I liked the brutal honesty of this review. I couldn't have written this better myself. Thanks Baz, I agree with your sentiments in this review. The overall reaction to listening to this album is that it although it's emotionally moving with the eastern-influenced orchestration, the music leaves the metal listener eager for Time II where hopefully more guitar riffs reside.
BlueMobius - 22.10.2012 at 18:22  
Your review is spot on Baz, though I enjoyed Land of Snow and Sorrow a lot too. The album is great but that it leaves you wanting more is its only criticism for me. It's a tough call I guess: Give the fans what they want, new music, and risk them getting upset for wanting to hear more or continue to make them wait another year or so.

Musically though, the melodies have been stuck in my head since I started listening to it. Having already heard The Way of the Fire, together Time I and II should be a pretty epic listen. Overall Time I feels like three tracks to me because the intro and interlude flow into the tracks that follow so well.
Rulatore - 22.10.2012 at 18:28  
Sometimes it's hard to hear the drums, guitars and understand what he is singing, like two verses at the same time, two voices at the same time, don't know

I don't like to think it's an album, sounds more like an ep with only 3 songs
atkmetal123 - 22.10.2012 at 18:45  
I agree with the production part, the sound wasn't good, guitar and drum are kinda being messed up, orchestra is too overwhelming. But I'm satisfied with this album, though. 8.5/10 for me
UnknownCheese - 22.10.2012 at 18:45  
The intro is the most interesting thing on the CD by a long shot. He should have used more Japanese influences, could have made for an interesting album. Better luck next time, Jari.
psykometal - 22.10.2012 at 18:49  
Written by Guest on 22.10.2012 at 18:03

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 7

Rating:
7.5

Wait... How come that album with "9" for originality gets only 7.5 in overall?

The Rating is not an average of the 4 scores above. They are completely separate. The 4 areas are just that, they are areas of criticism. The final Rating is set by the writer not a calculator and is to show their final opinion of how they feel all those parts came together.
Zaphod - 22.10.2012 at 18:57  
Wow, I've never read a review that gave the exact same score as I would and that captures my thoughts almost identically. Nice review, I (obviously) agree completely.
Marcel Hubregtse - 22.10.2012 at 19:21  
Written by Guest on 22.10.2012 at 19:18

7.5 is way too low... I am sure if Ensiferum, Brymir, Equilibrium or any other band had released this, they would have been rated much higher.



too low. I would say it's even a full point too high. Really nothing special, deep, complex etc. about this album at all. Just a standard symphonic metal album.
nicaZe - 22.10.2012 at 19:26  
Not what I expect...it could be better
BudDa - 22.10.2012 at 19:34  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 22.10.2012 at 19:21

too low. I would say it's even a full point too high. Really nothing special, deep, complex etc. about this album at all. Just a standard symphonic metal album.


I thought so too. And add to the fact that this should have come out about 5 years back...7.5 is abit generous
Marcel Hubregtse - 22.10.2012 at 19:36  
Written by Guest on 22.10.2012 at 19:29



I like how bands like Katatonia or Dark tranquillity are highly praised for releasing completely the same thing over and over again... And then we can see the same people bashing Wintersun for "not being original and overally good enough".


Sorry but Kataonia's last three are very very mindnumbingly boring and you won't see me prasing it just as you won't see me praising Dark Tranquillity's last.
And although Wintersun changed their sound compared to the last album that does not make it good, but then again the debut was also decent;y average at best, just like this one.
And rating something a 6.5 is NOT bashing it.

Even bands that more or less release the same thing year in year could be of such quality that it is okay to do. Change in itself is not always good. And what Wintersun tries to do here has been done by many other bands, but they did it much much better.
AngelofDeth - 22.10.2012 at 19:42  
Written by UnknownCheese on 22.10.2012 at 18:45

The intro is the most interesting thing on the CD by a long shot. He should have used more Japanese influences, could have made for an interesting album. Better luck next time, Jari.

Check out Whispered , they made an entire full length with Japanese influence. http://youtu.be/CLeHUE9DB-U
AngelofDeth - 22.10.2012 at 19:55  
Great Review. The production is horrible, songs overly complex and album too short.
S.K.Ø.M - 22.10.2012 at 19:55  
Totally agree with "feels unfinished alone." , but I guess 7.5 is low for it ..
ArcesseEum - 22.10.2012 at 19:59  
This album is like gazing into a audio cheese-kaleidoscope on LSD; impressive as hell - but the cheese could have been toned down. I also think he could have avoided exploding computers for 8 hears and toned down the cheese by doing all his string arrangements with a small string ensemble and then doing the rest of the orchestration with VSTs.

Anyone else feel like Kai Hahto took more of a back seat on this one?
Marcel Hubregtse - 22.10.2012 at 20:06  
Compared to 99% of all metal albums it is definitely NOT a masterpiece and like I said it totally is NOT complex at all. It is simple layering done here. Somehow people seem to think it is complex because of a bit of orchestration and to be honest quite lame sugary fluffy orchestration.
Marcel Hubregtse - 22.10.2012 at 20:14  
It seems you are blinded/deafened by your fandom of the band.
BoxCar Willy - 22.10.2012 at 20:17  
I still haven't heard this, but I'm sure I'll end up giving it a 4 or 5.
kalmah999 - 22.10.2012 at 20:22  
Nice review! this album is very good in my opinion, i gave him 9, but that's just me, clearly production is one aspect i like and don't like on this album but in general I liked it, dont consider it masterpiece or anything, im old fan of wintersun but really hate ppl calling everything Jari wrote a masterpiece -.- can't wait for second part sry for lame English
Marcel Hubregtse - 22.10.2012 at 20:29  
Written by Guest on 22.10.2012 at 20:18



Arguments? I have one - the more complex music you're listening to the better audio system you need to actually hear the whole thing. Rather bad production of this album even rises requirements for imaging and separation.

I hope you haven't tried to listen to it using some crappy mp3 rip from the internet...


the point is that the music isn't complex at all.
And tbh my stereo (both cd/mp3/flac etc. player, cassette deck, record player, amplifiers, speakers) is all top end stuff.
What I heard is a lossless dowload of it. The production of the album is quite okay and nt as bad as people make it out to be,
@gent_-_orange - 22.10.2012 at 20:32  
Written by BoxCar Willy on 22.10.2012 at 20:17

I still haven't heard this, but I'm sure I'll end up giving it a 4 or 5.

Looking at the bands on your profile It's safe to say you wouldn't be missing out if you didn't listen to this. It's not that good.
Alex Fenger - 22.10.2012 at 20:37  
I don't see the complexity in this at all.
Also I don't see how this got a 9 in originality. Imo this is extremely generic
Andreas - 22.10.2012 at 20:41  
Written by Guest on 22.10.2012 at 20:02
It's not perfect but when I compare it with 99 % of metal albums it's a definite masterpiece that forms THE FIRST PART OF THE WHOLE THING AS IT IS CLAIMED IN ITS TITLE!

Allright, so it's very complex and a part of something bigger... then why are there so many people rating this album although they have just started listening to it? Complex music needs time (no pun intended) to digest. There's no big problem in rating a "part of something bigger" though.

And maybe it would be good if you just took some deep breaths, count to 10 and drink a glass of water (or whatever you like). When a reviewer doesn't rate your favourite album with a 10, it's not the end of the world.
Risto - 22.10.2012 at 20:45  
Written by Alex Fenger on 22.10.2012 at 20:37

Also I don't see how this got a 9 in originality. Imo this is extremely generic

Definitely not worth a 9 but not extremely generic either. It's a clear progression in sound for Wintersun but the mixing simply doesn't do it justice.
Alex Fenger - 22.10.2012 at 20:51  
Written by Risto on 22.10.2012 at 20:45

Written by Alex Fenger on 22.10.2012 at 20:37

Also I don't see how this got a 9 in originality. Imo this is extremely generic

Definitely not worth a 9 but not extremely generic either. It's a clear progression in sound for Wintersun but the mixing simply doesn't do it justice.

Ok well extremely generic was an overstatement, but I would give it more of a 6 or a 5 in that department honestly
Sir Thrashalot - 22.10.2012 at 20:54  
Great review. I do think that sometimes there's too many things and sounds going on at the same time, lyrics supperpose each other and makes it difficult to follow the vocal rythm because of it, but the album itself is very good.

It is, for sure, Part 1 of a duo, when "Time II" comes out and we put each other on play one right after the other, i'm very hopeful this is going to be the masterpiece everyone's been waiting for (including myself)
Alex Fenger - 22.10.2012 at 20:56  
Written by Guest on 22.10.2012 at 20:47

The point is that the music is complex. Maybe you cannot hear it... I don't know your system and listening environment but mine contains neutral amp and DAC of hightend quality (proved by measurements) + very good headphones carefully neutralized by EQ + TB Isone for natural perception of the sound.

I hear a very complex FIRST PART of a concept of many elements that keep repeating and connecting among themselves to create a very spectacular audio experience. The production of the album is rather bad than ok, I can hear it clearly when assessing the quality using TB Isone where you can quite objectively estimate how good the production really is.

The overall rating of this album is never going down to your 6.5 or 3 or whatever you would like to rate it... So maybe you're a bit deaf here because the opinion of the majority on MS is clearly more respectful than your opinion itself. But I still like you're honest as you said before. I am as well.

I shouldn't have to pay how ever many thousands of dollars/euros on audio equipment to be able to enjoy a $10 album. And, the "complexity" of the music shouldn't be so hidden in the music that I would need that equipment to properly hear it.
Alex Fenger - 22.10.2012 at 21:05  
Written by Guest on 22.10.2012 at 21:01


I haven't paid thousands... You don't have to as well. You just have to bear in mind that wearing some crappy headphones for 20 dollars plugged into your iPod is not enough to be able to assess anything.

If you want to be "objective" in this way, you have to treat your room, speakers, headphones to have neutral frequency response and to fit your ears perfectly (in terms of natural perception mainly). You also need neutral amp and at least good DAC. You also need a good source - lossless is a need, an absolute need.

Ah, so I have to know how to create a neutral frequency in my listening enviornment in order to provide a valid opinion on music
Damn, I've been doing it wrong this whole time

I'm not trying to be a dick, but I find that absolutely absurd
Carl Berg - 22.10.2012 at 21:10  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 22.10.2012 at 19:21

Written by Guest on 22.10.2012 at 19:18

7.5 is way too low... I am sure if Ensiferum, Brymir, Equilibrium or any other band had released this, they would have been rated much higher.



too low. I would say it's even a full point too high. Really nothing special, deep, complex etc. about this album at all. Just a standard symphonic metal album.


Exactly my opinion. Though this is an interesting social phenomenon to observe. If enough hype is created around an album, fans will undoubtedly praise it far too much than what it's really worth, and much of this will overflow to the easily manipulated masses.

While much of the regular users here on MS will bash a far superior album, they surprisingly tend to flock to Time like it was the masterpiece of our generation.
Nightfall - 22.10.2012 at 21:18  
Written by Guest on 22.10.2012 at 20:02
Don't you want to rate it 2 or 3? Oh my god, I don't know what "proper" metalheads are waiting for today... It's not perfect but when I compare it with 99 % of metal albums it's a definite masterpiece that forms THE FIRST PART OF THE WHOLE THING AS IT IS CLAIMED IN ITS TITLE! It's very complex but within the overal concept, it's modern, it shows the band in a very different light and the album itself is quite original (Whispered don't come even close in terms of real quality!)...


I rated it a 7. 7 = good.

And I'm tired of people claiming this is a masterpiece, because it's not. Get over it.

Compare it to 99% of metal? Nice statement you got there. Please tell me how did you listen to every metal album ever made. If you want to defend this almost-average album so desperately at least use valid arguments.
Sir Thrashalot - 22.10.2012 at 21:26  
Something I forgot to mention above, it's Baz's courage to give that album a review. It does appeal to the masses and a lot of people were expecting this album for a whole lot of years, like me. I do think it's incomplete as well, but I had to note that it must not have been easy to be the one to say "Meh, i'll do it". Congrats on being objective too.
Alex Fenger - 22.10.2012 at 21:27  
Written by Guest on 22.10.2012 at 21:24


"And I'm tired of people claiming this is a masterpiece, because it's not. Get over it." === At least use valid arguments if you want to force me to change my opinion... If not, get over it that I don't agree with you. People on MS don't agree with your rating as well as you can see.

"If you want to defend this almost-average album..." === Nice statement you got there. Please tell me how did you listen to every metal album ever made to know this is "almost-average"? ,-)

Wait, so now I have to have listened to every metal album ever made to call it average?
That's even more absurd than your other statement
Alex Fenger - 22.10.2012 at 21:32  
Written by Guest on 22.10.2012 at 21:30


You should... You never know how many excellent (or very bad) albums/bands are there you haven't heard so far.

I would say it's more safe to say Wintersun are among the best than calling them average. There are tons of average to bad bands... But there aren't tons of excellent bands out there.

You're right, there are tons of average to bad bands, and Wintersun are among them
UnknownCheese - 22.10.2012 at 21:37  
You're retarded, not so sorry to say.

Why does this sort of fluffy fruitcake metal always attract the worst fans?
Italics - 22.10.2012 at 21:38  
The only way that Marcel will like a band is if it's some no-name black/death metal band that no one has ever heard of... extra brownie points if every song by the band sounds the same (quite likely).
@gent_-_orange - 22.10.2012 at 21:38  
Written by Guest on 22.10.2012 at 21:33

Then you're deaf... Sorry to say that.

Sorry mate but you sound like a fanboy, He is deaf because he thinks Wintersun are average? Really?
Italics - 22.10.2012 at 21:41  
Written by Sir Thrashalot on 22.10.2012 at 21:26

Something I forgot to mention above, it's Baz's courage to give that album a review. It does appeal to the masses and a lot of people were expecting this album for a whole lot of years, like me. I do think it's incomplete as well, but I had to note that it must not have been easy to be the one to say "Meh, i'll do it". Congrats on being objective too.


I agree very much with Baz's review, but I wouldn't act like he's taken some big, risky step by writing this review. Just read the first page of comments so far... 95% of the comments agree with him and are telling him what a great job he did. On MS, it's the COOL thing to do to call popular bands overrated... not the other way around.
Carl Berg - 22.10.2012 at 21:42  
Quote:
Written by Guest on 22.10.2012 at 21:33

You're right, there are tons of average to bad bands, and Wintersun are among them


Then you're deaf... Sorry to say that.


You thinkz my favorite bandz is not the best... you must be deaf! (goes sobbing in corner)

Typical fanboy.
Mr. Doctor - 22.10.2012 at 21:42  
Written by Italics on 22.10.2012 at 21:38
The only way that Marcel will like a band is if it's some no-name black/death metal band that no one has ever heard of... extra brownie points if every song by the band sounds the same (quite likely).

LOL on this one. Always easy to look down on someone you have no clue about.

Written by Guest on 22.10.2012 at 21:33
He is not objective at all... You can even look at particular phrases he uses, they are subjective as hell. The review is purely subjective.

Reviews are per definition subjective. Per definition they are the opinion of ONE PERSON.
ONE person's opinion can never be objective. Opinions aren't objective or facts... They are just opinions which shall remain subjective for ever. Write your own review, it'll be just as good as this one in terms of being subjective tbh just like every single review in all websites.
Italics - 22.10.2012 at 21:45  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 22.10.2012 at 21:42

Written by Italics on 22.10.2012 at 21:38

The only way that Marcel will like a band is if it's some no-name black/death metal band that no one has ever heard of... extra brownie points if every song by the band sounds the same (quite likely).


LOL on this one. Always easy to look down on someone you have no clue about.


The truth hurts. Whenever a grand total of 50 people worldwide like the stuff you like, there's a reason for it. The stuff you listen to is boring noise, and it sucks.
Italics - 22.10.2012 at 21:48  
Written by Guest on 22.10.2012 at 21:46

Written by Mr. Doctor on 22.10.2012 at 21:42

Written by Italics on 22.10.2012 at 21:38
The only way that Marcel will like a band is if it's some no-name black/death metal band that no one has ever heard of... extra brownie points if every song by the band sounds the same (quite likely).

LOL on this one. Always easy to look down on someone you have no clue about.

Written by Guest on 22.10.2012 at 21:33
He is not objective at all... You can even look at particular phrases he uses, they are subjective as hell. The review is purely subjective.

Reviews are per definition subjective. Per definition they are the opinion of ONE PERSON.
ONE person's opinion can never be objective. Opinions aren't objective or facts... They are just opinions which shall remain subjective for ever. Write your own review, it'll be just as good as this one in terms of being subjective tbh just like every single review in all websites.


Review can be at least a bit objective but then it is not going to say very much... At least to the majority of people.


Baz's review was actually very accurate and very complimentary of the album. I think you are only upset with the overall rating.
Mr. Doctor - 22.10.2012 at 21:48  
Written by Italics on 22.10.2012 at 21:45
The truth hurts. Whenever a grand total of 50 people worldwide like the stuff you like, there's a reason for it. The stuff you listen to is boring noise, and it sucks.


Hhahahahhahahahahahaha wow man you are awesome. You didn't even try to see what bands I listen to (some of them are in your own list of favorite bands). Same goes to Marcel tbh, a huge deal of his stuff is pretty "basic" in terms of how popular it is.
Slayer666 - 22.10.2012 at 21:49  
Only 7.5 for an album from the fabled Wintersun? Damn, Baz, I hope you do know what kind of shit is about to hit the fan...
Mr. Doctor - 22.10.2012 at 21:51  
Written by Slayer666 on 22.10.2012 at 21:49

Only 7.5 for an album from the fabled Wintersun? Damn, Baz, I hope you do know what kind of shit is about to hit the fan...


Somehow I get the feeling that this is as much drama as we gonna get this time.
Italics - 22.10.2012 at 21:52  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 22.10.2012 at 21:48

Written by Italics on 22.10.2012 at 21:45
The truth hurts. Whenever a grand total of 50 people worldwide like the stuff you like, there's a reason for it. The stuff you listen to is boring noise, and it sucks.


Hhahahahhahahahahahaha wow man you are awesome. You didn't even try to see what bands I listen to (some of them are in your own list of favorite bands). Same goes to Marcel tbh, a huge deal of his stuff is pretty "basic" in terms of how popular it is.


I was referring to Marcel, not you, champ
Slayer666 - 22.10.2012 at 21:53  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 22.10.2012 at 21:51

Somehow I get the feeling that this is as much drama as we gonna get this time.


Eh, that would be rather disappointing. Or maybe quite the opposite, it may mean (most) people have finally learned not to bitch about other people's opinions.
Italics - 22.10.2012 at 21:53  
Written by Slayer666 on 22.10.2012 at 21:49

Only 7.5 for an album from the fabled Wintersun? Damn, Baz, I hope you do know what kind of shit is about to hit the fan...


As I said before... it won't. Unless by "shit hitting the fan" you mean 95% of the comments praising him and agreeing with him.

Again, it's cool to call popular music overrated on metalstorm, not the other way around.

With that said - baz deserves the praise, it was a good review.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Chaos Creation - Homicidal Party Time 6 13.03.2007 by
Reviews Mithras - Time Never Lasts 6 19.10.2011 by Baz Anderson
Reviews Astral Kingdom - Into The Fire 4.5 22.05.2007 by GT
Reviews House Of Shakira - Retoxed 4.5 25.11.2007 by
Reviews Myrkskog - Superior Massacre 4.5 25.02.2007 by Ernis



Hits total: 16543 | This month: 151