Wintersun - Time I review



Reviewer:
7.5

961 users:
8.39
Band: Wintersun
Album: Time I
Release date: October 2012


Disc I
01. When Time Fades Away
02. Sons Of Winter And Stars
    1 - Rain Of Stars
    2 - Surrounded By Darkness
    3 - Journey Inside A Dream
    4 - Sons Of Winter And Stars
03. Land Of Snow And Sorrow
04. Darkness And Frost
05. Time
06. [hidden track] [Mediabook & Mailorder edition bonus]

Disc II [DVD] [Mediabook bonus]
+ Time I Live Rehearsals At Sonic Pump Studios
+ Licks & Tricks
+ Sons Of Winter And Stars - Project Demonstration
+ Photo Gallery

Disc III [instrumental CD] [Mailorder edition bonus]
01. When Time Fades Away
02. Sons Of Winter And Stars
    1 - Rain Of Stars
    2 - Surrounded By Darkness
    3 - Journey Inside A Dream
    4 - Sons Of Winter And Stars
03. Land Of Snow And Sorrow
04. Darkness And Frost
05. Time


One of the most highly anticipated albums of the last decade; Time I finally ends the eight year silence, but was the wait worth it?

After the charming Eastern folk influenced introduction, it soon becomes apparent that things have changed with the band in the last eight years. From the album theme of comprehending human emotion and our time on earth to the musicianship and ambitious nature of the orchestrations, Wintersun have aimed for a much grander sound.

Much more symphonic, bombastic even, "Sons Of Winter And Stars" kicks the album off with high spirit and energy. Eight years all of a sudden becomes a little more understandable with the amount of attention to detail and intricate compositions that are so copiously and lavishly interlaced into the music. The musicianship is absolutely top-notch throughout and the closing two minutes of the song provide a wonderfully epic and memorable crescendo.

The album has so many layers, it is deeply ambitious. Time I is an album that has very clearly had so much dedication and effort put into it, but at times it also sounds like Jari has become so consumed with making this the masterpiece everyone wanted that it becomes a little over-indulgent with how complex and dense the compositions are. We are presented a masterclass of orchestration in metal, but it is a challenge to digest and connect with.

With a running time of forty minutes, which includes the introduction and interlude, Time I as a standalone album is very short. The previously mentioned "Sons Of Winter And Stars" and title track "Time" are both great songs and enough to make you crave the second album, but it is hard not to feel underwhelmed when the album seems to cut short. It isn't made any better with a questionable light and quiet production either. Time I then is exactly that; the first of two halves, not the complete article.

The album is mindblowingly impressive in portions, but is just a little too complex and indulgent for its own good. Perhaps along with Time II the picture will become complete, but even though this album has some golden moments - it just feels unfinished alone.

-

Symphonic Extreme Power metal
Nuclear Blast
Finland
Length: 40:07


Rating breakdown
Performance: 10
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 9
Production: 7


 



Written on 22.10.2012 by Member of Staff since 2006.

Guest review by
Bad English
Rating:
8.7
Wintersun - is it real? Well, no, it isn't. We hardly see the sun; for four whole weeks, it never shines.

Allow me to copy the style of DerRozzengarten (the greatest reviewer ever), who knows how to write proper metaphors. Such music is never meant to explain northern life for people who have never actually walked on a frozen river or cleared snow from their car before work (I'm not taking a jab at the French, Dutch, or Danish, who usually overreact when they see 1 cm of snow). Imagine the pre-internet days: it's blizzard beasts, mid-winter, the sun never shines, just 22 hours of darkness and twilight in between. There is nothing to do, only good music, books, or finding a way to channel your creativity. Outside activities, aside from collecting firewood and cleaning snow? I don't think so (but wait a minute, Jari lives in the city anyway…). Anyway, the streets are dead and frozen, the horizon is dark, and night light is ablaze on the snow. All you can do is wait for spring and then summer to arrive slowly. I've done it all my life, still do, and we all did. It's typical northern madness!

Read more ››
published 20.12.2016 | Comments (9)


Comments page 5 / 8

Comments: 221   Visited by: 1169 users
23.10.2012 - 10:11
essbee
That Italics kid is pretty stupid. Is he always like that?
Loading...
23.10.2012 - 10:26
Dentura
Shadow King
Personally I thought pretty much everything about this album was magnificent. It even surpasses the debut in my opinion (which is still amazing), but this album just takes it over the top and then some. I do feel that the intro is a little bit longer than necessary, but that's about the only real complaint I have for this album. Many people complain that this is overproduced, but I really thought it added to the epic and majestic quality of the album. Overproduction is never really a problem for me anyway, just as long as it adds to the album's atmosphere and sound in anyway. Even though it feels unfinished, it only gets me more excited for the next part to come out so that I can listen to both albums together as a whole. Definitely my personal Album of the Year.
----
...And so death to the falsity of thy former rulers. Thy kingdom of "heaven" burns in a field of fire, and Dentura is the one true God thou must yield thy hearts and souls to in absolute submission. It is his ultimate decree and will unto thee..
Loading...
23.10.2012 - 10:40
M C Vice
Ex-polydactyl
Read this page. Scared to read the others. How does Time compare to the debut?
----
Mum - 21/10/1955 - 19/6/2015. R.I.P.

"I'll fight you on one condition. That you lower your nipples."
"I'll put whatever I want in your mouth!"
Sharks 2016 Premiers
Loading...
23.10.2012 - 11:16
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by essbee on 23.10.2012 at 10:11

That Italics kid is pretty stupid. Is he always like that?


not that I can remember.

Funny how he considers a festival with a capacity of 3,000 people and which sells out i n 7 minutes (last year), 15 minutes (the year before), a couple of hours (this year, the sale of the tickets was a month earlier than before and on a weekday night instead of the Saturday, and only a third of the bands had been announced) to be catering to just a few hundred so-called facebook fans who never heard the music.
It's actually safe to say the 3,000 attending Roadburn are there FOR the music and not the so-called camaraderie and atmosphere like loads of people attending Wacken (where there are actually people who stay on the camping grounds during the entire fest). The people attending Roadburn I would dare say are most probably more into the music on offer there than most mainstream metallers are into the music at Wacken. Plus they buy a lot more merch as well (especially cd's and vinyl). A Roadburn visitors spends on average some 400 euros on merch during those couple of days.
Yes, over at Roadburn there are always bands one hasn't heard. And guess what? That makes for loads of pleasant surprises, being able to discover cool new music.
My God how boring would a festival be where I know all the bands present. I want to discover new music and not be confronted by music I know through and through.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
23.10.2012 - 11:36
Zaph
The Nothingth
Written by moe5512 on 22.10.2012 at 23:57

You guys wanna start discussing Wintersun and Time I anytime soon?

HAHAHA You gotta admit this is an enjoyable thread though :p
----
Wubba Lubba Dub Dub
Loading...
23.10.2012 - 11:39
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Since mister Italics is so hellbent on naming bands from someone's profile when trying to prove a point...

Let's do it with the bands in his profile which have played the same 3,000 capacity venue which hosts Roadburn every year. And see how they fared there (either in a touring package or in a festival format, such as Roadburn's is)

Sonata Arctica, never had a sold out show there

Rhapsody Of Fire, never had a sold out show there

Katatonia, never had a sold out show there

Anathema, sold out the venue once or twice there, but most of the times didn't sell it out

Nightwish, sold out the venues on quite a few occasions

Kamelot, never had a sold out show there

Children Of Bodom, never had a sold out show there

After Forever, sold out the venue a couple of times

Within Temptation, sold out the venue a couple of times

Sirenia, never had a sold out show there

Ensiferum, never had a sold out show there

The Gathering, only had a sold out show there when they announced a special set with special guests

Delain, never had a sold out show there, can't even sell out a 1,000 capacity venue here, which btw surprises me since it's the sort of poppy metal music fans of female fronted bands seem to lap up. And as far as I know I am othe only one on the staff that really enjoys them (but then again I am very friendly footing with the bass player Otto ever since 1997)

Scar Symmetry, never sold out a single venue in this country

Stratovarius, never sold out a single venue in this country

Leaves' Eyes, never had a sold out show there

Apocalyptica, never had a sold out show there

Arch Enemy, never had a sold out a single venue in this country
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
23.10.2012 - 11:53
armageddon
Great review, I totally agree. Especially about the "feels unfinished" part. It would be better if Time II was released sooner.

All in all, I liked the debut way more than Time I.
----
"Whenever you're pissed off, just remember that it's better than being pissed on"
Loading...
23.10.2012 - 11:58
Uldreth
Written by Italics on 23.10.2012 at 03:45

Written by Guest on 23.10.2012 at 00:30

Thank God for this review of a mediocre album: it's great to see every moron on Metalstorm congregate in one place and have a big old cry that it didn't get 10.


Aaaa, another MSer who will only listen to your band if you are a group of guys living in a basement who nobody has ever heard of. Check out this first line of favorite bands:
Blut Aus Nord, Skullflower, !T.O.O.H.!, The Meads Of Asphodel, Lurker Of Chalice, Murmuüre, Negative Plane, The Ruins Of Beverast, Beherit
I could go to a metal festival and probably no one would have ever even heard of one of these bands... if they had, they'd probably think they sucked. Your musical tastes must just be way too developed for mere earthlings like me to comprehend... in fact, there's probably only a select dozen of you on earth with such developed tastes.

And before you call me a fanboy, I'd probably only rate this album around a 7 (but that's only after one listen).
I'm not a huge Wintersun fan by any stretch of the imagnation... but when I see people calling this "generic" and comparing it to bands like Nightwish and Equilibrium, I lose a little faith in the metal community... until I remember that the opinions of the few people on MS are an awful representation of the actual metal community.

I hope you realize Joe is one of the least elitist users on this site, and if you'd check his ratings, you'd realize he gave very high ratings to very "melodic" bands or bands in "controversial" genres, (such as a 10 to Alive or Just Breathing).

Also out of the bands you singled out, Blut Aus Nord, !T.O.O.H! and The Ruins of Beverast are pretty will known, and I personally have heard about ALL of them by just passively being on the interwebs even if I don't really care about black metal (unless it is swedish melodic bm or is really artsy/subtle like A Forest of Stars, let's say).

You simply appear to have a grudge on extreme metal for some inexplainable reason I don't want to deal with, but you sound more and more like Ponderer with each post.


Also to answer your quote to my post, there is a shitstorm, mainly coming from people who are like OMG HOW CUD U HAVE RATED DIS 7.5 IT IZ A 10 WTF U R NOT BEEING UBJECTHIF M8". Which I know you are not. You are also doing a shitstorm but a different kind of shitstorm.
Loading...
23.10.2012 - 12:07
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Uldreth on 23.10.2012 at 11:58

being on the interwebs even if I don't really care about black metal (unless it is swedish melodic bm or is really artsy/subtle like A Forest of Stars, let's say).

You simply appear to have a grudge on extreme metal for some inexplainable reason I don't want to deal with, but you sound more and more like Ponderer with each post.



Let me guarantee you Italics is NOT Ponderer, actually Ponderer is fan of way more extreme metal than this Italics guy.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
23.10.2012 - 12:08
FreddeSwede
After reading some of the ranting between the members back and forth I think many of them are missing a vital point when it comes to Jari as a musician. I don't think he looks upon himself as "a guitarist in a metal band", but rather as "a composer". Wintersun as a band is not just 4 guys playing metal, it's pretty much a 1 man band with session musicians.

Also it all comes down to the same thing as it always does. From whos perspective you look at the music. My relation to Wintersun is problably different to each and every one of the other listeners. And most importantly, Jari's and the bands relation to it is theirs alone. After all, they make the music they want to, regardless to what 1 or 2 or 100 or a 1000 different people think.
Loading...
23.10.2012 - 12:10
Uldreth
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 23.10.2012 at 12:07

Written by Uldreth on 23.10.2012 at 11:58

being on the interwebs even if I don't really care about black metal (unless it is swedish melodic bm or is really artsy/subtle like A Forest of Stars, let's say).

You simply appear to have a grudge on extreme metal for some inexplainable reason I don't want to deal with, but you sound more and more like Ponderer with each post.



Let me guarantee you Italics is NOT Ponderer, actually Ponderer is fan of way more extreme metal than this Italics guy.

I know he isn't, I just said he starts sounding like him
Loading...
23.10.2012 - 12:19
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Uldreth on 23.10.2012 at 12:10


I know he isn't, I just said he starts sounding like him



sorry for misunderstanding you. I woke up not too long ago,
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
23.10.2012 - 12:54
Slayer666
I swear, ignorant yet self-proclaimed know-it-alls like this Italics douche are what makes the Internet fun.
Loading...
23.10.2012 - 13:53
Daniell
_爱情_
Ponderer, the guardian of Kamelot. Vonpire, the guardian of Draconian. Italics, the guardian of Wintersun. The cycle never ends, does it? Always a blind fan who will fight tooth and nail for their favourite band, no matter what. So funny and simultaneously pathetic.

----
Now loving:
Naglfar - I Am Vengeance
Hour of Penance - Cast the First Stone
Hate - Indestructible Pillar
Depeche Mode - Going Backwards
Flotsam & Jetsam - Forbidden Territories
Immolation - When the Jackals Come
Suffocation - Your Last Breaths
Loading...
23.10.2012 - 13:55
Uldreth
Written by Daniell on 23.10.2012 at 13:53

Italics, the guardian of Wintersun.

Well to be fair, he wasn't throwing a tantrum over the review or it's rating, he said he agrees with it, so this isn't really a fair statement.

The reason I think he is similiar to Ponderer is because I remember he was constantly ranting about how "melodic metal is getting "oppressed" on MS" which Italics also does, but no blind fanboyism here.
Loading...
23.10.2012 - 13:58
The Shape 1973
Written by Daniell on 23.10.2012 at 13:53

Ponderer, the guardian of Kamelot. Vonpire, the guardian of Draconian. Italics, the guardian of Wintersun.

Stevie Wonder the Blind Guardian.
----
RIP NFFC
Loading...
23.10.2012 - 14:02
Daniell
_爱情_
Quote:
Written by Uldreth on 23.10.2012 at 13:55


Well to be fair, he wasn't throwing a tantrum over the review or it's rating, he said he agrees with it, so this isn't really a fair statement.


He is throwing a tantrum about other people having a different opinion, so he fits perfectly into the ponderer/vonpire template.

What I find even more ridiculous is people who will cry to high heavens about too low a rating. 7.5 is too low. So they don't even question that someone rated an album lower than them. They almost demand that everyone rate it as high as they did. Not naming names, but a few posters here fit this description.

I know it all too well. I rated Kamelot with a 5.9, and Iron Maiden with a 7.2. What followed was pages and pages of similar remarks. Ponderer even went as far as to write his own reviews of Kamelot and Enslaved to reinforce his opinions
----
Now loving:
Naglfar - I Am Vengeance
Hour of Penance - Cast the First Stone
Hate - Indestructible Pillar
Depeche Mode - Going Backwards
Flotsam & Jetsam - Forbidden Territories
Immolation - When the Jackals Come
Suffocation - Your Last Breaths
Loading...
23.10.2012 - 14:04
Daniell
_爱情_
Written by The Shape 1973 on 23.10.2012 at 13:58

Written by Daniell on 23.10.2012 at 13:53

Ponderer, the guardian of Kamelot. Vonpire, the guardian of Draconian. Italics, the guardian of Wintersun.

Stevie Wonder the Blind Guardian.


Nice one

I almost forgot one more: Merchant of Doom, the guardian of his own super-elitist opinion
----
Now loving:
Naglfar - I Am Vengeance
Hour of Penance - Cast the First Stone
Hate - Indestructible Pillar
Depeche Mode - Going Backwards
Flotsam & Jetsam - Forbidden Territories
Immolation - When the Jackals Come
Suffocation - Your Last Breaths
Loading...
23.10.2012 - 14:05
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Uldreth on 23.10.2012 at 13:55

Written by Daniell on 23.10.2012 at 13:53

Italics, the guardian of Wintersun.

Well to be fair, he wasn't throwing a tantrum over the review or it's rating, he said he agrees with it, so this isn't really a fair statement.

The reason I think he is similiar to Ponderer is because I remember he was constantly ranting about how "melodic metal is getting "oppressed" on MS" which Italics also does, but no blind fanboyism here.


true he wasn't defending Wintersun. It was about melodic and also mainstream metal being oppressed here, when in fact most music featrued here is actually mainstream metal and also melodic metal. And the funny thing is he said my top 2012 list contains unknown black/death metal when in fgact I never had a top 2012 list and if I had it would consist mainly of doom album and some old school death metal and not black metal
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
23.10.2012 - 14:06
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Daniell on 23.10.2012 at 14:04



I almost forgot one more: Merchant of Doom, the guardian of his own super-elitist opinion


you mean the guardian of totally generic boring Russian funeral doom
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
23.10.2012 - 16:30
cancel
I have to agree, Buz. Just with second part we would be able to rate it more properly. Even though this "fragment" is massive, epic and well-made, still, symphonies changed Wintersun's ability to explain and show all of its melodies and "epicness" just by guitars, keys and Kai's incredible drum skills...
Loading...
23.10.2012 - 16:50
Sword_Chant
I can see what the reviewer is saying here.. but I generally disagree with the score. I think it should be higher than 7.5.. now I expect to be called some kind of Fanboy (only got into the two Wintersun albums recently) lol, but some aspects of this album, I actually prefer them to the S/T. Don't get me wrong, that album and the guitar solos are great, I just think the direction on this one is very interesting. I would give this album between 8.5 to 8.8.. which is what the album score is on MS anyway. This album is quite challenging to review atm, since we don't have our hands on part 2 yet. Let's hope it doesn't take another 8 years...
Loading...
23.10.2012 - 18:37
musclassia
It's quite incredible an album this unspectacular being given a pretty fair rating can bring about this response. I guess if I hadn't heard (m)any other folk/symphonic/extremepower bands I'd probably be raving about this, but it's really a standard mid-tempo folk metal album drowning in layers of orchestrations. It's solid - I gave it an 8 but would be fine giving it a 7 or a 9, it has it's great and less-than-great parts. To the person who said if this was Ensiferum/Equilibrium/Brymir it would be getting better ratings - tbh after listening to Brymir's 2011 album again today, I'd probably be pretty happy giving this a 7.5 compared to that album, and the same applies for Sagas or From Afar. Can't quite believe some of the 'masterpiece' claims for it, but there you go; people could probably argue the same against some of the albums I hold in the same regard
Loading...
23.10.2012 - 19:02
UnknownCheese
Written by musclassia on 23.10.2012 at 18:37

It's quite incredible an album this unspectacular being given a pretty fair rating can bring about this response. I guess if I hadn't heard (m)any other folk/symphonic/extremepower bands I'd probably be raving about this, but it's really a standard mid-tempo folk metal album drowning in layers of orchestrations. It's solid - I gave it an 8 but would be fine giving it a 7 or a 9, it has it's great and less-than-great parts. To the person who said if this was Ensiferum/Equilibrium/Brymir it would be getting better ratings - tbh after listening to Brymir's 2011 album again today, I'd probably be pretty happy giving this a 7.5 compared to that album, and the same applies for Sagas or From Afar. Can't quite believe some of the 'masterpiece' claims for it, but there you go; people could probably argue the same against some of the albums I hold in the same regard


If this were released by any band but Wintersun, I can guarantee there wouldn't be all these people claiming it a 10, "the music of the Universe" or similar comments of great retardation.

At least this thread kept me entertained last night.
Loading...
23.10.2012 - 19:18
Daggon
Underpaid M.D.
C'mon guys, I can't remember when was the last time I laughed so hard reading a topic on Metalstorm, I mean it, sadly for me, I have no more popcorn in my kitchen, but oh well, I can't wait for more fanboys to arise from the mounts of layers this album is made of.

I listened to it again, and all I can say is that even if it isn't a bad album, it is not the greatest shit ever or the second coming of the Christ. It doesn't matter if Jari is a composer or a guitarist as someone said before, as I said a long time ago on another thread where fanboys were claiming something about the incredible musicianship of their band:

"With great musicianship, comes great albums"

That being said, I think we must not confuse two things such as compose music and burying an album in layers and layers of synthesizers. At least Wintersun's debut let me listen to some actual riffs and not only some guitar scratching here and there, and I gotta say that not even their debut had a long lasting impression on me.
Yeah, this album feels incomplete, but, c'mon, 8 freaking years have passed, lots of delays and Jari claiming that he needed the aid of a supercomputer from the future to make this album and all we have now is THIS?
And some people dare to say this is not generic? I can write no less than ten similar bands in less than a minute without even thinking about it!

This is not a masterpiece, just another album that will be praised by the media, but that will receive a lot of criticism from careful listeners...
----
"Les vers savent qu'ils n'ont pas d'ailes, c'est pour cela qu'ils se cachent sous terre"

Loading...
23.10.2012 - 19:45
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Uldreth on 23.10.2012 at 11:58
I hope you realize Joe is one of the least elitist users on this site


From Joe's profile:
Quote:
Not as elitist as Marcel.


He's pretty elitist. He's just not an asshole about it! Same goes with me tbh...
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
23.10.2012 - 20:02
Sword_Chant
Quote:
To the person who said if this was Ensiferum/Equilibrium/Brymir it would be getting better ratings - tbh after listening to Brymir's 2011 album again today, I'd probably be pretty happy giving this a 7.5 compared to that album, and the same applies for Sagas or From Afar.


What about Ensiferum's 'Unsung Heroes'? Compare that album to 'Time', both came out in the last couple of months... and this is considerably better. (imo)
Loading...
23.10.2012 - 20:37
BitterCOld
Gringo
My favorite point was Wintersun must be better than "Marcel's music" because it has more fans. Using the same lame argument, Justin Bieber has millions upon millions more fans than Wintersun. guess Wintersun isn't that good at all otherwise they'd be Bieber popular, amirite?

only chiming in for the enjoyment of those playing the MS Drinking Game:

1 sip per infraction:

Each comment that says an official review underrated an album and it should have been scored higher.

2 sips per infraction:

Every time a user bitches about the overall rating of a review not being the result of esoteric calculations including the Performance, Originality, Production and Songwriting ratings.

3 sips per infraction:

Each time someone bitches about a reviewer not being objective.

And from the top level, 5 sips per infraction:

Wintersun releases an album


I didn't bother to check to see if anyone registered for the express purpose of whining about the review, if so, that is 1 drink per. Also marcel insults power metal is 1 per infraction... he did sort of mock symphonic metal, so it's a borderline case (and I should update the drinking game) and those who want to can consume 1 per infraction.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
23.10.2012 - 20:41
musclassia
Written by Sword_Chant on 23.10.2012 at 20:02

Quote:
To the person who said if this was Ensiferum/Equilibrium/Brymir it would be getting better ratings - tbh after listening to Brymir's 2011 album again today, I'd probably be pretty happy giving this a 7.5 compared to that album, and the same applies for Sagas or From Afar.


What about Ensiferum's 'Unsung Heroes'? Compare that album to 'Time', both came out in the last couple of months... and this is considerably better. (imo)


Eh, I liked Unsung Heroes. It's not in the same league as FA or the early albums by any stretch, but I enjoyed it more than many seemed to. Time I is definitely a better album, but not by a massive stretch. They're both largely mid-tempo, folk/heavily-folk-influenced albums. The main thing Time I has that UH doesn't is this attempt at 'epic-ness', what with the unnecessarily long tracks and the cacophony of symphonic layers; which it doesn't quite pull off IMO - it's a bit of a Dark Knight Rises for me, overly-ambitious in trying to trump it's wildly successful predecessor by trying to 'out-epic' it, but crumbling under its own weight by not having the ability to execute the idea. UH is by no means great, but the 15-minute song aside, feels like it has one foot on the ground and doesn't stretch too far - it's just a decent collection of midpaced extreme folk tunes.
Tbh if I listen to Time I a couple more times, I have the feeling that it might grow on me, but I still don't think it's a great album by any means.
Loading...
24.10.2012 - 00:42
peggazuzz
7.5 is ok, it means almost very good, which actually means he likes the album, one would argue. The problem with MS are that most albums are insanely overrated in regard of point score. 9's are flying around like bullets on the beach of Normandie -44.
Loading...

Hits total: 22418 | This month: 58