Bandcamp music player

Rating:
8.2
Weapon - Embers And Revelations
9 October 2012


01. First Witnesses Of Lucifer
02. Vanguard Of The Morning Star
03. Crepuscular Swamp, Unhinged Swine
04. Liber Lilith
05. Grotesque Carven Portal
06. Embers And Revelations
07. Disavowing Each In Aum
08. Shahenshah


Weapon seem to love metal. Like, love metal. Like, they're in love with it. Like, pin up black-and-white photos of it in their closets they take after its Wednesday evening dance classes, in love with it.

Lucky for us, metal's into that kind of rain-jacket, rape-van stalky stuff; Relapse has taken care to finally show the broader metal world how much Weapon cares about metal in this here full-length, metal-as-fuck, (in) love poem for it.

The big-name production has Lysolled up these guys' dirtier, underground feel to an extent, but they've shoved their big-name money in all the right holes, emphasizing all of the nuance, and homage-ery of Weapon's style in turn. And, fucking a, their style is cool.

Think a Tarantino-vein black/death band; they bring modern techniques to old styles, injecting traditional metal-like patterns with blasts, growls, and ample pinch harmonics, paying their respects right and left to a solid chunk of the heavy/extreme sub-genres. But they do that without ever sounding bland or too heard-it-before. They're a derivative group through and through, but what they play never sounds contrived. They sound like they play what they play because they love metal, not because they know what sells and they're fame-hungry. So, a strong kudos for that. These guys have heart.

There are gripes to be had here, though. The vox-work is a tad too far on the breathy/weak side (some of the time), the double-bass work sounds a bit plasticky (on occasion), some of the riff work veers on the overly-simple/yet-somehow-too-exuberant end of the black/death map, and some of the songs on this are quite a bit more boring than others. It's a hit-and-miss, streaky, (more likable) Carmello Anthony kind of disc in the end.

But when it's missing, it's still a headbanging good time and when it's hitting, it hits fucking hard. It's a fun time for people who like fun metal.


 



Written on 24.10.2012 by
wormdrink414
Wormdrink's real name is George and he works at a convenience store in the Eugene/Springfield area.
More reviews by wormdrink414 ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 12  
Users visited: 154  
Search this topic:  


Verdun_sc - 24.10.2012 at 04:00  
I've heard one song from this. Some quality ideas were present but it sounded like the Drums were in a different room from the guitars and such. It lacked fullness as a result.

dunno if that makes sense but I've never really bin big on these guys so eh.
-DC-002- - 24.10.2012 at 04:02  
Fun huh?.... I'll pass ):=( !!!
Mattybu - 24.10.2012 at 05:48  
I would probably be more interested in this if the cover art wasn't so lame and like just had a really badass logo. When you call your band WEAPON you really should be going all out in the logo department.

Probably not enough to form valid judgment on though lol
Destructo - 24.10.2012 at 06:40  
Written by Mattybu on 24.10.2012 at 05:48

I would probably be more interested in this if the cover art wasn't so lame and like just had a really badass logo. When you call your band WEAPON you really should be going all out in the logo department.

Probably not enough to form valid judgment on though lol

The fact that they don't even have a band logo on the cover is disappointing. And yes, the cover art is lame. Probably makes sense to hear the leaked version before buying a physical copy, I guess.
Susan - 24.10.2012 at 07:07  
Hooray for HEART over everything else I'm interested.

"Think a Tarantino-vein black/death band" ... Ok now I'm REALLY interested.

"It's a fun time for people who like fun metal." .... Ooh! I like fun. And sold!
Malignar - 24.10.2012 at 07:40  
Big fan of their previous releases. This one is missing something. I suspect the ultra clear/unlayered production makes things sound too simplistic. The dark atmosphere is gone and we're left with a very simple death metal album. The dark black metal parts and most of the off kilter aggression is gone and now we have a middle of the road release. Hopefully the next release will bring some of the extremity and darkness back.

The previous albums had production issues but they never left me bored for any length of time....this does.
AngelofDeth - 24.10.2012 at 08:24  
Wait.. so are they Love Metal or do they just Love Metal??? im confused
wormdrink414 - 24.10.2012 at 08:31  
Written by AngelofDeth on 24.10.2012 at 08:24

Wait.. so are they Love Metal or do they just Love Metal??? im confused

I'm confused too...
Tristus Scriptor - 24.10.2012 at 09:17  
This is brutal, proud, unapologetic, and hard-hitting. Great shit. Instant "Fuck yeah!" from me.
theFIST - 24.10.2012 at 18:55  
Didn"t particularly like them before, enjoy this even less that the previous
!J.O.O.E.! - 25.11.2012 at 13:37  
Well, this sounds very ok. Surprised at the lukewarm reaction from people commenting.
Lord_Regnier - 05.03.2013 at 02:43  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 25.11.2012 at 13:37

Well, this sounds very ok. Surprised at the lukewarm reaction from people commenting.


I'm surprised by the reactions too. Imo, it's a very good album. Heavy, fast, melodic yet brutal at the same time.
And varied enough.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Rhyme - The Seed And Sewage 4.5 12.12.2012 by Boxcar Willy
Reviews Extreme Metal: Music and Culture on the Edge 4.5 07.03.2013 by bloodface
Reviews Resistance (BEL) - To Judge And Enslave 4.5 28.05.2012 by Mr. Doctor
Reviews Hexen - Being And Nothingness 4.5 27.06.2012 by Mattybu
Reviews Red Fang - Whales And Leeches 4.5 05.11.2013 by SmokyPeat



Hits total: 2592 | This month: 49