Rating:
4.0
Dimmu Borgir - Stormblåst MMV
11 November 2005


Disc I
01. Alt Lys Er Svunnet Hen
02. Broderskapets Ring
03. Når Sjelen Hentes Til Helvete
04. Sorgens Kammer - Del II [bonus]
05. Da Den Kristne Satte Livet Til
06. Stormblåst
07. Dødsferd
08. Antikrist
09. Vinder Fra En Ensom Grav
10. Guds Fortapelse - Åpenbaring Av Dommedag
11. Avmaktslave [bonus]

Disc II [Bonus DVD - Live At Ozzfest 2004]
01. Spellbound (By The Devil)
02. Vredesbyrd
03. Kings Of The Carnival Creation
04. Progenies Of The Great Apocalypse
05. Mourning Palace


It's 1996 and a band from Norway named Dimmu Borgir manages to release their second effort, "Stormblast". The expectations from the black metal audience must had been quite big and Dimmu Borgir didn't prove these expectations wrong, on the contrary, they offered a really inspired piece of majestic black metal to the world. What someone could notice from "Stormblast" was an intense will for a lyrical atmosphere, having an epic feeling at times or a more melancholic approach at others. And thus "Stormblast" remained a classic release to the eyes of many black metal fans, up to an extent.

Nine years later, the same band with only Shagrath and Silenoz having remained in the line-up from these days, managed to remake this album and try to adjust it to the sound they have nowadays. This movement means modern production and sound and, of course, a different approach to the arch feeling of the album. The only question that comes forth is "did they succeed into putting "Stormblast" in the sound time-machine of Dimmu Borgir correctly?" - well, the answer is no and I was really disappointed when I listened to the remake, even the cover is not good at all.

The musicianship, with no second thought, is flawless, with Galder and Silenoz on the guitar work doing their best, Mustis on the keyboards unleashing his entrancing and devout melodies and ICS Vortex on the bass lines and Hellhammer on the drumming pouring themselves to the important role of the rhythm section. But a really good musicianship is not enough to make an album sound good. When the time comes to compare 1996's "Stormblast" with the "Stormblast" of 2005 you will easily notice that the feeling is not the same. The lyricism of 1996 has turned into a kind of a sell-out manifesto with all the inspiration having turned into a standard recipe from the band and an easy way to release another album fast enough so as to keep their name in the front of the "black" metal news.

I don't think this was a good move. The guitar riffing has become heavy and the keyboard melodies (which is the main reason why I will give a small plus to the overall rating) have become more modern, applying to the mid-to-later period of Borgir, and more affected as well. When the time comes to talk about the vocals I think they sound ridiculous, with Shagrath ruining the magic that his raw vocals, along with Silenoz's, used to evoke on 1996's "Stormblast".

This movement smells money from a long distance. There are releases that are made for the money, at least they have something to offer. Well, ladies and gentlemen, the remake of "Stormblast" has really nothing to offer but good musicianship, some live videos and a few creative passages here and there. Of course the album will sell, it's Dimmu Borgir, at least it could have been something worthy. Anyway, save your money for their upcoming album or try to get the original "Stormblast" and enjoy yourself.


Band profile: Dimmu Borgir
Album: Stormblåst MMV


 



Written on 16.12.2005 by
DerRozzengarten
"It is myself I have never met, whose face is pasted on the underside of my mind."
More reviews by DerRozzengarten ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 26  
Users visited: 263  
Search this topic:  


The Damned - 14.06.2006 at 21:07  
I do admit that there was no reason to re-make the amazing landmark that was the original Stormblast... the orignal in my opion is better but the re-release was not completly horrible it was still actually very good... as is everything Dimmu puts out in my opinion their was no reason to re-make it but it doesn't change my feeling towards my favorite band ALL HAIL DIMMU BORGIR!
Dangerboner - 16.06.2006 at 02:31  
This album just confuses me. I haven't heard the original Stormblast, but this album just doesn't sound right, and I don't know why. Maybe it's the overproduction, but this cd just sounds awkward. It doesn't flow at all and has no atmosphere to it. Maybe I just need to listen to it again.
Xtreme Jax - 24.06.2006 at 18:07  
Agreed with The Damned. There is no reason to go back and re-make a (imo) masterpiece, the only thing that they did was open themselves up to make it weaker than the original.

To me, the release is weaker than the original. The feel seems more slack, like they're not really trying hard ... kind of hard for me to explain. The only thing it has over the original is the dvd with the 5 live videos from Ozzfest.
Lucas - 24.06.2006 at 19:27  
Conclusion: Never re-record something. Blah. Or don't be Dimmu Borgir.
Mindheist - 24.06.2006 at 22:53  
You are entirely right,having the two releases,i can support your rating.Dimmy Borgir would never have re-released "stormblast".
Damnated - 28.06.2006 at 10:24  
It is a shame, that they actually released this album again. They made a perfect sound, it almost glows, it is like a pop album. What I liked about Stormblast, next to the great musicianship and songs, was the basement like production. It felt so grim and cold, and this new album almost gives you a warm shover.
Megadeth88 - 29.07.2006 at 10:51  
Well I'm against you all 'cause I think the re-release is great. Hellhammer does a great job on the set, and everything sounds so perfect to me. But then I again I miss the old "Sorgens Kammer". Too bad that Stian took it from someone.
Dark Snake - 18.08.2006 at 03:43  
Well, I think I'm on both teams here 'cause I think the songs got a better sound (or; more clear sound) than the original Stormblast (Stormblåst in norwegian) Also the new added "Sorgens Kammer - Del II" is a good one, though "Sorgens Kammer" is a must. The other one; Avmaktslave is a new added, good one. And it's true that Hellhammer is doing a good job on the drums, he's like born to be in Dimmu Borgir

But is it really a good idea to re-record a album? I don't know, but I wouldn't do it if i could avoid it. Dosen't seem right....
Anyway, Dimmu Borgir is Norway's pride
Sunioj - 07.02.2007 at 21:44  
If Jon Nodveidt tried to remake Storm of the lights bane after Reinkaos, I'd sacrifice myself to Astaroth and kick his ass in the next realm. If Anders Friden tried to remake whoracle, I would just kick his ass. So with that said, I will kick Shagraths ass.

Just kidding, Im just bored
Danny Thomas - 25.02.2007 at 09:19  
Written by Damnated on 28.06.2006 at 10:24

It is a shame, that they actually released this album again. They made a perfect sound, it almost glows, it is like a pop album. What I liked about Stormblast, next to the great musicianship and songs, was the basement like production. It felt so grim and cold, and this new album almost gives you a warm shover.


haha i like your analogies, very well put. it was that raw sound that made the original so perfect to me. i actually listen to it every night when i go to bed(sorgens kammer puts me comfortably to sleep) mind you, i don't think the remake is a total loss, i do enjoy giving it a listen from time to time, but i see it fading away from my interest whereas the original will always be apreciated by me.
Uirapuru - 26.04.2009 at 08:38  
Written by Megadeth88 on 29.07.2006 at 10:51

Well I'm against you all 'cause I think the re-release is great. Hellhammer does a great job on the set, and everything sounds so perfect to me. But then I again I miss the old "Sorgens Kammer". Too bad that Stian took it from someone.


I'm with you in this dude. I don't know what's the big deal about hating this album. It's a pretty decent sympho/black metal album. Deserves at least a 6,5.

Another thing that I really hated about this was the absence of that fantastic keyboard intro on ''Alt Lys Er Svunnet Hen''.
METALVIKING107 - 03.11.2009 at 05:07  
I don't know I see where everyone's coming from here but I bought the album (mainly because I wanted a Dimmu Album that was actually in Nowegian), and I kinda like the more well produced version better (the original was kind of a muddled mess of guitars, keyboard, drums and screaming at times) and the original is definitive yes, but if you read what they wrote in the booklet they basically say that they know that people might not like it but they didn't do for you all they did it for themselves so that they could continue on their way knowing that the album was the way they wanted it. Don't the artists have a right want to polish a project that they didn't feel was complete? It is their art after all and you can like it or not but Dimmu didn't do it for you.
Who knows though, I liked it, I go to sleep to this album, I do my homework to this album and I just love listening to it Dimmu is the shit!
Rasa - 14.02.2010 at 20:42  
Good said, METALVIKING107.
Array - 21.02.2010 at 16:45  
Better than the original.
SatyriconChick - 05.03.2010 at 01:21  
How in hell can this album have an average rating of 4.0??? It may be a re-recording of a classic black metal album, but it's simply awesome. I heard the original Stormblast when it was released way back in '96. Have to say I actually prefer the MMV version, if for no other reason, for "Sorgens Kammer - Del II." That song alone makes this re-release MORE than worth it! It's not my favorite Dimmu output, but it's certainly not my least favorite, either.
Vitriolic Hate - 05.03.2010 at 01:29  
Great review!completely agreed
In_tallica - 08.05.2010 at 04:36  
I think they made some things better by re recording it, some parts were better, but i still can't undetstand why so many riff/melodies/parts of songs were deleated. Also, the original recording has a way more....should i say melancholic and sad sound to it...much more feeling in a way. Still, great job and excellent musicanship!
Lokaeda - 26.12.2010 at 04:48  
They butchered their own masterpiece
ANGEL REAPER - 15.11.2011 at 18:00  
Although this was the album that drag me into Dimmu Borgir i now,some 5 years later ,think that original Storblast from '96 is better...
Baz Anderson - 27.11.2011 at 17:39  
Galder doesn't play on this album.

I'm listening to it now for the first time... it's like the old one of steroids or something. The production isn't great on the original, but I think they lost half of the magic by doing it again like this.
psykometal - 26.03.2012 at 01:44  
Written by Baz Anderson on 27.11.2011 at 17:39

Galder doesn't play on this album.

Neither does Vortex. This album was recorded with Silenoz and Shagrath playing guitars and Silenoz also recorded the bass tracks.

Galder was busy recording Vermin while they re-recorded this album and Vortex was either touring or recording with Arcturus.
wormdrink414 - 29.08.2012 at 23:23  
Dunno about the album as a whole (or the band, really), but the Sorgens Kammer on this is sweet as hell. Been playing that constantly for the past couple weeks.
Fallen Ghost - 20.03.2013 at 19:50  
Don't see the problem with this, to me it's awesome. I guess this is an album for those who aren't that wild about the raw, old school and unpolished black metal sound.
moe5512 - 25.04.2013 at 20:40  
I love this version and I hate the vocals on Dimmu's first 2 albums
Northern Danger - 14.06.2013 at 08:20  
Written by moe5512 on 25.04.2013 at 20:40

I love this version and I hate the vocals on Dimmu's first 2 albums

And I hate you
moe5512 - 14.06.2013 at 12:55  
Written by Northern Danger on 14.06.2013 at 08:20

Written by moe5512 on 25.04.2013 at 20:40

I love this version and I hate the vocals on Dimmu's first 2 albums

And I hate you

Come at me, bro'

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Articles Dimmu Borgir - Nottingham, England, 24th November 2011 4.5 25.11.2011 by Troy Killjoy
News Dimmu Borgir - Album Recording Finished 4.5 12.11.2006 by
News Dimmu Borgir - Drummer Injured 4.5 25.07.2007 by Katatronik
News Dimmu Borgir - Frontman Talks About Side-Project Chrome Division 4.5 23.08.2006 by ThunderAxe1989
News Dimmu Borgir - To Support Korn On European Tour 4.5 05.07.2010 by Warman



Hits total: 5270 | This month: 59