Rating:
8.5
Klone - The Dreamer's Hideaway
5 October 2012


01. Rocket Smoke
02. The Dreamer's Hideaway
03. Into The Void
04. Siren's Song
05. Corridors
06. Rising
07. Stratum
08. Walking On Clouds
09. The Worst Is Over
10. A Finger Snaps [featuring Doug from King's X]
11. At The End Of The Bridge


By now Klone has a defined identity of its own, and the Tool collage argument doesn't make sense anymore. At this point, the band seems more interested in expanding their sound and taking full command of the songs. And as far as titles go, The Dreamer's Hideaway is beautifully poetic.

The best thing about Klone's music is probably the hooks, the acid riffs, the heaviness, in short: the groove, and you know it's coming. This album takes that to a new level. The band is really effective at finding a good balance between the catchy and heavy, the soft and suffocating. But why is The Dreamer's Hideaway so captivating? Because of the perfect transitions and hidden boxes. While the style is mostly direct, the band adds the progressive metal influence and little intricacies building songs that mold and shapeshift. This brings something interesting to the mix and adds a level of unpredictability keeping you on the edge of your seat.

Klone really pushed themselves. The bass is very audible and present, which is a plus, and the songs are solid, even when the band is experimenting more. The entangled and elaborate sounds of "Into The Void" appear just as naturally as the epic grandeur and end-of-the-world feel in "Walking On Clouds". And Yann Ligner's vocals are like port wine, they only get better with age, being often what gives personality to the songs.

True, you could say that some songs sound samey in tone, but in this case that is just the recognizable identity of the band coming through. There is enough variety to make the album enjoyable and persuade listeners to explore its pockets of dreamy bits ("The Dreamer's Hideaway", "At The End Of The Bridge"). Besides these sophisticated nuances, it also has another great thing: staying power.

If Black Days can be considered the band's adulthood, The Dreamer's Hideaway would be their mid-life, but there is no such thing as a crisis going on here. And Klone, you have aged well indeed.


Band profile: Klone
Album: The Dreamer's Hideaway


 


written by BloodTears | 09.11.2012



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 18  
Users visited: 191  
Search this topic:  


Mr. Doctor - 09.11.2012 at 20:19  
Great album indeed... Some may call it samey. I call it consistent which is the key word for this album imo. There's enough variety to keep on interested.
I'm kind of gay for Yann's vocals. They are ridiculously good... If there's one thing I don't like about this album is that my favorite song is the first one but other than that this is a solid album and by now there's no denying that Klone has a sound of its own.

Thanks for the review, I really wanted to see this one on the front page.
BloodTears - 09.11.2012 at 20:46  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 09.11.2012 at 20:19

Great album indeed... Some may call it samey. I call it consistent which is the key word for this album imo. There's enough variety to keep on interested.
I'm kind of gay for Yann's vocals. They are ridiculously good... If there's one thing I don't like about this album is that my favorite song is the first one but other than that this is a solid album and by now there's no denying that Klone has a sound of its own.

Thanks for the review, I really wanted to see this one on the front page.


"Rocket Smoke" is indeed very good but fortunately the album offers many other good songs. Also, my pleasure, I really liked the album
Mr. Doctor - 09.11.2012 at 20:51  
Written by BloodTears on 09.11.2012 at 20:46
"Rocket Smoke" is indeed very good but fortunately the album offers many other good songs. Also, my pleasure, I really liked the album


I started loving it more and more after seeing them live. That track was definitely one of the very highlights of that night.
Spirit Molecule - 09.11.2012 at 22:56  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 09.11.2012 at 20:19

I'm kind of gay for Yann's vocals. They are ridiculously good...


Hahaha yeah I know what you mean. I loved his vocals in Mistaken Element, but this is just too much.

Crazy good album though and yeah nice review as well.
Fallen Ghost - 10.11.2012 at 01:10  
Saw this band as a warm up for Gojira, pretty cool! Awesome that they used a trumpet-thingy live (not sure if it was a trumpet but)
Mr. Doctor - 10.11.2012 at 01:14  
Written by Fallen Ghost on 10.11.2012 at 01:10

Saw this band as a warm up for Gojira, pretty cool! Awesome that they used a trumpet-thingy live (not sure if it was a trumpet but)


We catched the same tour then. To be honest: The main reason I went there were for the support bands, Trepalium and Klone. I like Gojira though, I'm just not that familiar with them (I've always been too lazzy to properly check them out). It looked more like a small clarinet though. It was connected to shitloads of synths and stuff. Fun to watch... Even with that on the stage the vocalist still owned the show for me.
Fallen Ghost - 10.11.2012 at 02:29  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 10.11.2012 at 01:14

Written by Fallen Ghost on 10.11.2012 at 01:10

Saw this band as a warm up for Gojira, pretty cool! Awesome that they used a trumpet-thingy live (not sure if it was a trumpet but)


We catched the same tour then. To be honest: The main reason I went there were for the support bands, Trepalium and Klone. I like Gojira though, I'm just not that familiar with them (I've always been too lazzy to properly check them out). It looked more like a small clarinet though. It was connected to shitloads of synths and stuff. Fun to watch... Even with that on the stage the vocalist still owned the show for me.


Haha, I really loved his clarinet stuffs You should properly check out Gojira - L'Enfant Sauvage, it is great
Susan - 10.11.2012 at 21:59  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 09.11.2012 at 20:19

Great album indeed... Some may call it samey. I call it consistent which is the key word for this album imo. There's enough variety to keep on interested.



Haters gonna hate. I'm with you! Klone is one of those bands who found a style that works for them and they live in it, but always finding clever new ways to use and explore their sound, never being samey.

Written by Mr. Doctor on 09.11.2012 at 20:19

I'm kind of gay for Yann's vocals. They are ridiculously good...


Word. I guess that would make me... "straight" for his vocals?

Excellent review of a beautiful and dreamy album
Opethian - 11.11.2012 at 18:58  
Killer review BloodTears!
JohnDoe - 13.11.2012 at 10:07  
Finally a good album for me , a very enjoyable listen, a Tool-esque sound, but it's more than ok.
Darkside Momo - 14.11.2012 at 18:19  
They've outdone themselves this time! Their previous album was quite good already, but this time, it's just much better - especially the vocals.
Great stuff!
Spirit Molecule - 16.11.2012 at 10:50  
The album sounds better with every listen!
I hate you guys who are catching them on their current tour with Trepalium and Gojira. That is such a jizzfest! I wish they had done this tour last year, I could have caught it then :/
Trying to see if we can work something for them here in India. That would be tits.
BloodTears - 16.11.2012 at 11:29  
I'm glad to see some positive reactions to this album
Monolithic - 17.09.2013 at 21:05  
How come I never checked out this album? :/

I'm already on the first track and it sounds like a promising album.
BloodTears - 17.09.2013 at 21:10  
Written by Monolithic on 17.09.2013 at 21:05

How come I never checked out this album? :/

I'm already on the first track and it sounds like a promising album.


It's all your fault Nah, I hope you like it though.
Monolithic - 17.09.2013 at 21:27  
Written by BloodTears on 17.09.2013 at 21:10

Written by Monolithic on 17.09.2013 at 21:05

How come I never checked out this album? :/

I'm already on the first track and it sounds like a promising album.


It's all your fault Nah, I hope you like it though.

I'm still stuck on the first track. however I shouldn''t have false hope over all tracks becoming instant growers.
Darkside Momo - 17.09.2013 at 23:53  
Quote:
Written by Monolithic on 17.09.2013 at 21:27


I'm still stuck on the first track. however I shouldn''t have false hope over all tracks becoming instant growers.

If you ask me both Rocket Smoke and At The End Of The Bridge are the standout tracks of this great album (certainly Klone's best, one they'l have a had time to top)
Monolithic - 18.09.2013 at 08:14  
The album's definitely a grower.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Klone - The Dreamer's Hideaway 7.5 05.10.2012 by tea[m]ster
Reviews Scale The Summit - The Migration 4.5 26.06.2013 by R Lewis
Reviews Between The Buried And Me - The Parallax: Hypersleep Dialogues 4.5 04.08.2011 by MeloDeathViking
Reviews Aoria - The Constant 4.5 27.12.2012 by PocketMetal
Reviews I Saw The Deep - Astronavigation 4.5 23.08.2012 by Ace Frawley



Hits total: 4344 | This month: 64