Rating:
N/A
Headspace - I Am Anonymous
2012


01. Stalled Armageddon
02. Fall Of America
03. Soldier
04. Die With A Bullet
05. In Hell's Name
06. Daddy Fucking Loves You
07. Invasion
08. The Big Day


Another hyped 2012 prog metal release, and another one quite worthy of the hype. Even though Headspace can be described simply as prog metal by numbers, that doesn't mean it's not fresh nor original, quite the contrary. There are still a lot of things that can be expressed in "metal with knots in the thread", and these lads know how to swing it.

I Am Anonymous is an effort by a group of friends, written and perfected over several years. Headspace gathered any time the musicians could catch a break from their other projects - especially the busiest of the bunch, Adam Wakeman (yes, that Wakeman) and Damian Wilson (Threshold, Star One, Ayreon) - and, according to the bio on their official site, they had no intentions of playing prog metal at first. It just came out of them. And you can hear each of these facts coming alive in their music. They sound relaxed and playful, inspired and happy to be doing what they're doing.

The band's biggest strength is their composing ability - each song is perfectly built from the ground up, an exciting ride from start to finish and there isn't a single part in any of them which overstays its welcome. Most of the songs are long and rewarding, especially the almost perfect prog epic "Daddy Fucking Loves You", though my personal favorite remains "In Hell's Name", which is a little shorter but equally well-put together. Most of the songs are mid-paced or faster, but Headspace is equally comfortable working in slower tempos, proven by the short ballad "Soldier" or occasional slower breaks such as the Riverside-ish part near the end of "Fall Of America".

As for musicianship itself, it unfortunately sucks.

Did anyone fall for that? No? I didn't expect you to, anyway. The musicianship is top notch. What I like most about the Rinaldi/Wakeman duo is that they go into solos exactly when you expect them and go ways you least expect them to go, with ever-changing keyboard patches providing variety and the solid metal guitar tone providing consistency in sound. Damian Wilson's voice has a unique quality, both delicate and powerful (just like the girl walking through a war zone on the album cover), and you're bound to be impressed by his emotional delivery - having such perfect, deep lyrics and groovy vocal melodies to work with makes him all the more enchanting.

I Am Anonymous made me remember why I fell in love with prog metal. Not that I needed such a reminder, but maybe there's some of you who do. Go check it out!


Band profile: Headspace
Album: I Am Anonymous


 



Written on 12.11.2012 by
Milena
A part of the team since December 2011, writes about the progressive, the sad and the melodic. She's nice until she's not.
More reviews by Milena ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 19  
Users visited: 255  
Search this topic:  


Fradd - 12.11.2012 at 16:03  
Great review. Great album. Soldier is my favourite track.
BudDa - 12.11.2012 at 16:09  
My favorite here is "Die With A Bullet". Ah! Lee Pomeroy rules!! And I think he has been the busiest of this bunch coz on top of this he also has a new album with It Bites. And while writing this, he was involved in a massive tour with Take That. Yes, them.

Nice review!
Milena - 12.11.2012 at 16:33  
Written by BudDa on 12.11.2012 at 16:09

And while writing this, he was involved in a massive tour with Take That. Yes, them.

Oh gosh, you're kidding me? I had no idea! Cookies for him, then
JohnDoe - 12.11.2012 at 16:47  
One of the best albums of its genre this year and to me, Damian has never sounded this good !
Unhealer - 12.11.2012 at 17:12  
I thought I had checked this out but now that I read the review I noticed I can't recall a single note Well, I'm going to find out.
tea[m]ster - 12.11.2012 at 17:20  
A terrific prog album and a contender for prog AOTY. This stands out sooo much I am having a hard time between this and To-Mera's. Great job as usual Milena!
JohnDoe - 12.11.2012 at 17:36  
Written by tea[m]ster on 12.11.2012 at 17:20

A terrific prog album and a contender for prog AOTY. This is stands out sooo much I am having a hard time between this and To-Mera's. Great job as usual Milena!


what is AOTY? What is it short for, I can't figure it out.
Fradd - 12.11.2012 at 17:41  
Written by JohnDoe on 12.11.2012 at 17:36

what is AOTY? What is it short for, I can't figure it out.

Album Of The Year Award.
tea[m]ster - 12.11.2012 at 17:41  
Written by JohnDoe on 12.11.2012 at 17:36

what is AOTY? What is it short for, I can't figure it out.


album of the year
Ag Fox - 12.11.2012 at 17:43  
Written by JohnDoe on 12.11.2012 at 17:36

what is AOTY? What is it short for, I can't figure it out.
album of the year
tea[m]ster - 12.11.2012 at 17:47  
Written by Ag Fox on 12.11.2012 at 17:43

album of the year


Ha, we might get 25 responses to his question!
Merchant of Doom - 12.11.2012 at 17:48  
Shame that Damian Wilson is not that Wilson...
Valaskjalf - 12.11.2012 at 21:00  
Album of the year? We're months away from April fools....I must have been listening to this with my trick ear but this, for me, would probably go down as the most yawn-inducing album of the year. And when I did notice anything about it it was bad, as in bad. Sorry to piss on people's parade but come on.
Milena - 12.11.2012 at 21:59  
Written by Merchant of Doom on 12.11.2012 at 17:48

Shame that Damian Wilson is not that Wilson...

I really can't imagine Headspace with THAT Wilson's vocals, sorry
Merchant of Doom - 13.11.2012 at 01:31  
Written by Milena on 12.11.2012 at 21:59

Written by Merchant of Doom on 12.11.2012 at 17:48

Shame that Damian Wilson is not that Wilson...

I really can't imagine Headspace with THAT Wilson's vocals, sorry


mmm... possibly not... would have been interesting, though. I quite like the band musically, but not the vocals very much. Sorry!
Demonic Tutor - 14.11.2012 at 04:54  
Sounds like I need to get out of my cave and listen to some progressive music from this year after all. Thanks for the review Milena.
tea[m]ster - 17.11.2012 at 10:53  
Written by Demonic Tutor on 14.11.2012 at 04:54

Sounds like I need to get out of my cave and listen to some progressive music from this year after all. Thanks for the review Milena.


You will find suggestions all over the place and from a thousand different people. Add me to the list:

To-Mera
In The Silence
Enochian Theory
Rush
Prisma

Along with Headspace, the latest from these bands are my contenders for prog metal AOTY. Pretty dam fine 2012 for prog metal.
Demonic Tutor - 17.11.2012 at 21:07  
Written by tea[m]ster on 17.11.2012 at 10:53

Written by Demonic Tutor on 14.11.2012 at 04:54

Sounds like I need to get out of my cave and listen to some progressive music from this year after all. Thanks for the review Milena.


You will find suggestions all over the place and from a thousand different people. Add me to the list:

To-Mera
In The Silence
Enochian Theory
Rush
Prisma

Along with Headspace, the latest from these bands are my contenders for prog metal AOTY. Pretty dam fine 2012 for prog metal.


I actually went to see Rush on tour less than a month ago [It was the 5th time I see them live throughout the years]. It was killer as usual. Huge Rush fan, I actually have all their albums. Somehow I didn't think about them when writing my original comment

I'll gladly check your other suggestions, thanks!
BloodTears - 09.12.2012 at 12:33  
So, I finally listened to Headspace! And it made me realize I'm in love with Damian Wilson's vocals, whether it be on Threshold or Headspace. This one is definitely up there in terms of prog releases this year. It's beautiful, heavy and unexpected at times.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Headspace - I Am Anonymous 4.5 04.07.2012 by JohnDoe
Reviews Favna Abisal - Rerum Imaginaria 3 23.07.2012 by Mr. Doctor
Reviews Kamelot - Silverthorn 3 19.11.2012 by Susan
Reviews Linear Sphere - Manvantara 3 02.12.2012 by tea[m]ster
Reviews Ne Obliviscaris - Portal Of I 3 24.10.2012 by Dylan



Hits total: 4403 | This month: 2