0 X í S T - Nil review




Bandcamp music player
Reviewer:
8.6

13 users:
8.00
Band: 0 X í S T
Album: Nil
Release date: December 2012


01. Old World Vanished
02. Nil
03. Cold Dark Matter
04. Arrival
05. Anemone Patens MCCXLIX
06. Of Wood, Stone And Bone
07. Shrivel


DOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOM!
That is all.

Actually, when 0 X í S T are involved, there is much more than just doom. From the first minute of the first song I knew I was going to be sent on a pleasant musical journey. The intro of atmospheric, slow, and malicious guitar placed a firm grip on my shoulder… The crash of a thunderous, distorted riff cut through the fog, as the grip began to pull me into the woods. Faster and faster my body was flung through the musical forest. My body breaking limbs and boughs of the atmosphere-trees, slamming into riff-filled rocks, only to be consumed by the mass of doom that is Nil.

The music is quite hard to pigeonhole. The band calls themselves "dark metal", which seems to be quite accurate. The mixture of gothic and death doom, with a not-so-normal song writing approach, makes this album a knock out. The listener is sent through heavy filled riffs, harsh growls and slow, powerful drums in some sections, only to be exposed to a more atmospheric, and almost uplifting calm section. The mixtures of song styles make this release quite inconsistent within a single genre's aspects, as previously stated. The wide array of styles and influences definitely make this interesting. I went through the roughly 45 minutes without a single ounce of boredom. That is quite rare.

The songwriting is paired perfectly with a nice, crystal clear production. There are no audio bumps, production flaws, or flat spots to be found here, only a crisp and tight style of doom that is definitely worth hearing.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 9
Songwriting: 9
Originality: 8
Production: 9

Written by Boxcar Willy | 14.11.2012


 


Comments

Comments: 12   Visited by: 323 users
14.11.2012 - 09:29
ANGEL REAPER
The hell? when did you started to write reviews Box?
----
"Cross is only an iron,hope is just an illusion,freedom is nothing but a name..."
"Build your walls of the dead stone...Build your roofs of a dead wood..Build your dreams of a dead thoughts"
Loading...
14.11.2012 - 09:31
psykometal
A staff guy...
Oh shit! The Tan-man strikes again!

Doom isn't my thing but the review reads well so I'd have to say this is a good review, once again.
----
~Zep, Database and Forum Moderation~

Loading...
14.11.2012 - 09:34
psykometal
A staff guy...
Written by ANGEL REAPER on 14.11.2012 at 09:29

The hell? when did you started to write reviews Box?

He's been reviewing for a while. He's written over 40 reviews, he's only recently begun getting front page reviews; this makes his 3rd.
----
~Zep, Database and Forum Moderation~

Loading...
14.11.2012 - 10:14
Cynic Metalhead
Atrocious Virgin
Front page review spot-on man!

Even i heard about this album couple of days back but I wryly ignored it. Now I think I have to check this out.
----
Loading...
14.11.2012 - 12:57
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Aesthetically this band have it all down. Interesting name, incredible cover art etc. Will have to explore this.
Loading...
14.11.2012 - 13:07
!J.O.O.E.!
Account deleted
Good shit:

Loading...
14.11.2012 - 14:31
Alex F
Slick Dick Rick
Well well tanner. This is quite the good album you've found. I'm very pleased with it, actually very VERY pleased, this album is great. Nice find, nice review. Keep it up.
Loading...
14.11.2012 - 14:55
Uldreth
Based on name and artwork I would have thought it is drone :>

Still I probly gonna check this out.
Loading...
14.11.2012 - 15:00
Draugen
Interesting. Gonna look it up.
Loading...
14.11.2012 - 16:27
MechanisT
Account deleted
Intriguing. I'll pick this one up soon.
Loading...
14.11.2012 - 18:30
D.T. Metal
Editor In Chief
Once again dude, great job !!!
Loading...
14.11.2012 - 18:31
Merchant of Doom
Yes, good stuff... previous EP "Unveiling the Shadow World" was good too...
Loading...

Hits total: 6119 | This month: 13