Semargl - Satanic Pop Metal review



Reviewer:
6.9

48 users:
4.25
Band: Semargl
Album: Satanic Pop Metal
Release date: February 2012


01. I Hunger
02. Sweet Suicide
03. Drag Me To Hell
04. God Is Not Love
05. Tak, Kurwa
06. Suck My Dick
07. Labyrinth
08. Join In Fire
09. I Hate You
10. Opium
11. Anti I Am
12. Loneliness
13. Redire


Music in general is something that, in my opinion, should always be taken seriously. This does not, however, mean that the music can't be fun or silly and have stupid lyrics or song titles.

Because, In reality, if anyone needs a dose of humor in their life, it's metalheads.

So here we have Semargl's "Satanic Pop Metal"

Yeah, let that sink in for a few minutes.

Are you back? Good, because I'm about to get started. The basic structure of this album is a fun, simplistic and catchy industrial album. This is nothing you haven't seen before; your standard forty minute album with thirteen, three-ish minute tracks. The only thing that differentiates this from any other industrial album is the awful album title, and immature album cover. Apart from those two differences, this is just another, sub-par album: repetitive songs, cheesy synths, and even worse lyrics.

What's not to love?

I mean really, this is a catchy slab of music that makes my toe tap. Sure I probably wouldn't pick it off my shelf and play it every single day, but this is far from being terrible. In fact, I'm even going to go out and say, I like Satanic Pop Metal. There, happy now?

But really, if this album was titled anything but, I'm sure it would not be getting the rap that it has. It's funny to see that something as small as the cover, or title, can sabotage a perfectly fine album. It's almost saddening to think that most of the people bashing this, probably haven't even heard it past the second track. In the end, Satanic Pop Metal is decent, if you give it a chance.

Written by Boxcar Willy | 10.12.2012


 


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.


Comments

Comments: 12   Visited by: 110 users
11.12.2012 - 04:47
BitterCOld
Gringo
This album is an abomination. i am usually fairly even keeled about scoring albums... this scored a 2, making it the lowest I've ever rated an album on MS.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
11.12.2012 - 05:04
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
Written by BitterCOld on 11.12.2012 at 04:47

This album is an abomination. i am usually fairly even keeled about scoring albums... this scored a 2, making it the lowest I've ever rated an album on MS.

Wow, I honestly don't think it's that bad

It's certainly not AOTY material, but it's super catchy, and fun to dance to.


NSFW

I don't know, maybe I'm just wacked.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
11.12.2012 - 05:30
!J.O.O.E.!
Defunct
If that video is anything to go by then this is far too straightforward and functional to be given less than 5 really. It's so straight up and inoffensive that it practically begs for an average score, rather than a negative one.
Loading...
11.12.2012 - 10:45
The Shape 1973
Written by Boxcar Willy on 11.12.2012 at 05:04

Written by BitterCOld on 11.12.2012 at 04:47

This album is an abomination. i am usually fairly even keeled about scoring albums... this scored a 2, making it the lowest I've ever rated an album on MS.

Wow, I honestly don't think it's that bad

It's certainly not AOTY material, but it's super catchy, and fun to dance to.
I don't know, maybe I'm just wacked.

Didn't think it was that bad either. I did get a bit distracted part way through the video though, can't think why .
----
RIP NFFC
Loading...
11.12.2012 - 17:35
BitterCOld
Gringo
It came across to me as far too forced and schtick-y, without anything of redeeming value.

i am not joking when i say i'd rather listen to Lulu on a luloop for 24 hours than this album again.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
11.12.2012 - 21:33
Skøllgrim
Northern
Not funny and no good... Simply atrocious in every sense
----
"Popbutikk med platt lyrikk
Skit vil ingen hava"
Loading...
13.12.2012 - 01:48
Susan
Smeghead
ASS AND TITTIES MAKE EVERYTHING BETTER!! Wait, not metal, apparently.
----
"A life all mine
Is what I choose
At the end of my days"
--The Gathering "A Life All Mine" from Souvenirs
Loading...
14.12.2012 - 22:08
The Shape 1973
Written by Susan on 13.12.2012 at 01:48

ASS AND TITTIES MAKE EVERYTHING BETTER!!

I've been saying that for years, but the restraining orders and lawsuits keep coming.
----
RIP NFFC
Loading...
15.12.2012 - 00:46
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by The Shape 1973 on 14.12.2012 at 22:08
I've been saying that for years, but the restraining orders and lawsuits keep coming.


They just don't understand the amount of love the likes of you give.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
15.12.2012 - 01:37
Slayer666
Oh come on. If the name of the album doesn't at least provoke a smirk in the vein of "it's so fucking stupid it's funny", you're dead inside.

'Sides, some of this stuff is seriously catchy.
Loading...
15.12.2012 - 03:20
Boxcar Willy
yr a kook
I prefer Tak, Kurwa. That synth keeps the party bumpin all night long.
----
forever bummed out
Loading...
15.12.2012 - 23:58
The Shape 1973
Written by Mr. Doctor on 15.12.2012 at 00:46

Written by The Shape 1973 on 14.12.2012 at 22:08
I've been saying that for years, but the restraining orders and lawsuits keep coming.


They just don't understand the amount of love the likes of you give.

It can be so lonely waiting under someone's bed for hours on end.
----
RIP NFFC
Loading...

Advertise on Metal Storm

Hits total: 3192 | This month: 40