Rating:
8.4
Six Brew Bantha - Six Brew Bantha
20 April 2012


01. Perpetual Debt
02. Violence Fuels Hatred
03. North Fucking Korea
04. Fisgard Block Party
05. Governmentality
06. Prolong the Program
07. Faceless Power
08. Blank Expression
09. Will of the Sane
10. From Vice to Crutch
11. Conquering Mind
12. Media's Portrayal
13. Destructive Energies
14. Anti-Music
15. Led To Slaughter
16. Brought Up Bitter
17. Humanufactured


RAWWWRARAAAARARAWWWARAAAARRRARARARAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!


Crashing through the walls at 1200 feet per second, this British Columbian trio is here to tear shit up. The mix of powerviolence and grindcore will tear your head off, push your body in front of a truck and fornicate with your mother, all in just under 25 minutes.

Vicious, rampaging vocals tied together with chugging down-tuned guitars and fast, blast happy drums tie together to create a musical explosion. The vocals ignite the powered keg; they're fast, hungry, and ready to kill. The drums follow, with a snare so tight, it's a wonder it doesn't explode itself. The blastbeats tie nicely with the punk d-beats that are often displayed in the rare, slower section. The guitar comes in at number three, but don't be fooled, bronze certainly isn't bad in this battle. Chugging, heavy and fast, the riffs come at you like a World War II kamikaze. The 17 songs are, in reality, one large aural blast, and with little difference between the tracks they seem to blur together. The only thing keeping them from truly becoming one is the short buffer before each track begins.

If you're a grindcore fan, then chances are you've heard something similar to this; however, the lack of identity is easily covered up by the sheer amount of greatness that this album extrudes. Everything ties together perfectly. The drums and guitar, the vocals, the slightly hazy production, the length; it all flows together into one massive grindcore assault.

And there you have it, a short review, for a short album. Listen here.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 6
Production: 8


 



Written on 13.12.2012 by
BoxCar Willy
Str8 thuggin since 96

Wu Tang Clan aint nuttin ta fuck with.
More reviews by BoxCar Willy ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 9  
Users visited: 261  
Search this topic:  


Susan - 13.12.2012 at 01:27  
"push your body in front of a truck and fornicate with your mother"

Love it
!J.O.O.E.! - 13.12.2012 at 02:15  
Written by Susan on 13.12.2012 at 01:27

"push your body in front of a truck and fornicate with your mother"

Love it

You love that kind of behaviour?! I've misjudged you, Susan...
!J.O.O.E.! - 13.12.2012 at 04:12  
Wow, your 50th review in only a year (well, 10 months really). Kudos.
BoxCar Willy - 13.12.2012 at 05:49  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 13.12.2012 at 04:12

Wow, your 50th review in only a year (well, 10 months really). Kudos.

Too bad half of them suck
Machiavelli - 13.12.2012 at 08:55  
Thanks for pointing this out, Boxcar. I'm not a big grindcore fan but this won me over and the song LED TO SLAUGHTER was excellent... I have become a mechanical human being now...
Raging Dreamer - 13.12.2012 at 21:11  
Most entertaining review EVER!
It was the "RAWWWRARAAAARARAWWWARAAAARRRARARARAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!" that caught my attention. Great stuff!
Iron Nostarion - 16.12.2012 at 17:41  
Lack of identity is never compensated for a listener like me, so I'll have to skip this.. :l
INÆRIS - 21.12.2012 at 10:23  
This album is so much fun. I really enjoyed it.
spirit_inblack - 21.01.2013 at 00:05  
Originality score hardly matters anymore for this type of grind/pv. I've been listening since the start, and these guys are absolutely phenomenal. Probably the best young Canadian grind band. I usually like my grind infused with some powerviolence or crust and this influence is readily apparent in SBB. Plus, the attitude of the band is one of grind fuckery, no bullshit, and drinking insane amounts of the cheapest beer around, which you really can't go wrong with (well...). Along with Agathocles and Archagathus, I'd argue that they're the best active grind band, and I shall certainly be purchasing the 7"s, and anything else they release this year.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Schattenbrandung - I - Apophänie 4.5 21.11.2012 by Kuroboshi
Reviews Beaten To Death - Dødsfest! 4.5 06.10.2013 by psykometal
Reviews Woods Of Ypres - Woods IV: The Green Album 4.5 02.01.2012 by Troy Killjoy
Reviews Converge - Axe To Fall 4.5 15.02.2012 by Sonic MrSumo
Reviews Horn Of The Rhino - Grengus 4.5 25.05.2012 by InnerSelf



Hits total: 3311 | This month: 41