Rating:
8.0
Seita - Asymmetric Warfare
23 March 2012


01. The Awakening
02. Godlike
03. Know Your Enemies
04. The Riot Starter Inside Everyone
05. Reborn On Fire
06. What Cures
07. Baptism
08. Oppressive Redemption
09. No One But Me
10. Ditadura


Thrash'ish death metal, death'ish thrash metal - whichever genre description rocks your boat, Seita pays homage to either and are one of the rising stars coming out of The Netherlands - well at least in my book.

Maybe it was a good thing it took them five years to finally release their debut album Asymmetric Warfare in March of 2012, since those tunes are much more refined than on their self-released EP. But one thing is for sure, the guys in Seita can't deny their heritage and play - pure fucking Brazilian metal.

Yes, even though the band calls The Netherlands their home, all of them hail from the land which is known to have one of the most extreme metal scene on earth. Maybe there is something in the water in Brazil, who knows, but the aggressiveness and violence of the music can't be denied.

Musically, Asymmetric Warfare is nothing groundbreaking and Seita did not reinvent the wheel with their style, but what counts for me is HOW they present their material. Maybe a better description of their music would be "extreme thrash" since they incorporate a lot of other styles in their song writing as well. Prime example would be "The Riot Starter Inside Everyone" which has an almost doom undertone, as well as "No One But Me" which will pass as a death metal tune any day. One thing for sure is that the entire album is very, very bass heavy and the production does a great job on emphasizing that fact.

Does their music border Sepultura worship? Well, maybe a little since vocalist Michel Gambini does sound like an angrier version of Max Cavalera. But the additional backing vocals, courtesy of bassist Diego Gomez, do make for a more well-rounded listening experience. I don't even know why it's called backing vocals since Diego does so much more than scream the occasional chorus, but hey.

With that being said, the down-tuned guitars with the groovy and catchy riffs, the crushing and powerful solos, the heavy plucking on the bass - take this all and throw in some old-school drumming and a vocalist with an attitude and you can imagine how Seita sounds like.

Or better yet, take some (post, or mid Arise) Sepultura, mix it with a bit of Torture Squad and sprinkle some Krisiun on it and you get the same effect.

Since most of the songs on the album differ quite a bit, it's hard to pick a favorite, but my gut goes with "Reborn On Fire" and "Ditadura" as a close second. Seriously, if you are a fan of Brazilian metal this album is a MUST to listen to and/or to buy.


Band profile: Seita
Album: Asymmetric Warfare


 



Written on 14.01.2013 by
D.T. Metal
Editor-in-Chief

Professional concertgoer ... dangerously armed with a camera!
More reviews by D.T. Metal ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 22  
Users visited: 150  
Search this topic:  


Marcel Hubregtse - 14.01.2013 at 02:10  
Saw this band open for Six Feet Under last year and they were BAD, tbh even worse than SFU
D.T. Metal - 14.01.2013 at 02:13  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 14.01.2013 at 02:10

Saw this band open for Six Feet Under last year and they were BAD, tbh even worse than SFU

What? I just saw them and they kicked some major ass! hmmmm
Marcel Hubregtse - 14.01.2013 at 02:16  
Written by D.T. Metal on 14.01.2013 at 02:13

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 14.01.2013 at 02:10

Saw this band open for Six Feet Under last year and they were BAD, tbh even worse than SFU

What? I just saw them and they kicked some major ass! hmmmm



it was some of the most boring generic death thrash I heard in ages, and I have heard loads of that boring generic death thrash stuff over the years hahaha
But that wasn't the worse part. They were totally untight some of the guitar parts were totally off key and the drumming was all over the place (in a bad way) PLus totally uninspired and quite drunk they were as well, or at least they came across as quite drunk. So, totally unprofessional.
D.T. Metal - 14.01.2013 at 02:19  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 14.01.2013 at 02:16




it was some of the most boring generic death thrash I heard in ages, and I have heard loads of that boring generic death thrash stuff over the years hahaha
But that wasn't the worse part. They were totally untight some of the guitar parts were totally off key and the drumming was all over the place (in a bad way) PLus totally uninspired and quite drunk they were as well, or at least they came across as quite drunk. So, totally unprofessional.


Well ... you said they played with SFU ... maybe they were just trying to fit in with Chris ...
But no, when I saw them they were tight as fuck.
Marcel Hubregtse - 14.01.2013 at 02:21  
Written by D.T. Metal on 14.01.2013 at 02:19

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 14.01.2013 at 02:16




it was some of the most boring generic death thrash I heard in ages, and I have heard loads of that boring generic death thrash stuff over the years hahaha
But that wasn't the worse part. They were totally untight some of the guitar parts were totally off key and the drumming was all over the place (in a bad way) PLus totally uninspired and quite drunk they were as well, or at least they came across as quite drunk. So, totally unprofessional.


Well ... you said they played with SFU ... maybe they were just trying to fit in with Chris ...
But no, when I saw them they were tight as fuck.



Chris was sober as could be and wasn't even stoned on the green substance
psykometal - 14.01.2013 at 02:26  
I wouldn't worry too much about Marcel's opinion in such matters. If it isn't some form of Doom or Asphyx-type death metal then he is probably just being biased.
psykometal - 14.01.2013 at 02:32  
It could just also been an off night Marcel, bands do have those ya know. Pitwulf93 (one of your fellow Dutchman) saw them not too long ago and he thought they were really good too...
Marcel Hubregtse - 14.01.2013 at 02:36  
Written by psykometal on 14.01.2013 at 02:26

I wouldn't worry too much about Marcel's opinion in such matters. If it isn't some form of Doom or Asphyx-type death metal then he is probably just being biased.



I am just very critical of live bands
Asphyx-type death metal? then you clearly missed the fuss Grand Supreme Blood Court made on facebook about my review of their Eindhoven Metal Meeeting show
Clearly you have no idea of my tastes or else you would also have mentioned thrash metal and black metal
psykometal - 14.01.2013 at 02:56  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 14.01.2013 at 02:36

I am just very critical of live bands
Asphyx-type death metal? then you clearly missed the fuss Grand Supreme Blood Court made on facebook about my review of their Eindhoven Metal Meeeting show
Clearly you have no idea of my tastes or else you would also have mentioned thrash metal and black metal

Well it's one thing for a band to clone their idols, something completely different for a band to clone themselves...

I know you like black and thrash stuff too but you are on about Doom and Asphyx more than any other genre/band, plus you are known for being the resident Doom expert not a Thrash or Black expert. So it's just more fun to poke at you about Doom and Asphyx than anything else.

And no I didn't see what GSBC Asphyx said about your review, I had meant to go and translate all that to English but completely forgot to, thanks for reminding I was going to do that.
Marcel Hubregtse - 14.01.2013 at 03:01  
Written by psykometal on 14.01.2013 at 02:56


And no I didn't see what GSBC Asphyx said about your review, I had meant to go and translate all that to English but completely forgot to, thanks for reminding I was going to do that.


you have to of course go to the link on Theo van Eekelen's profile cause that's where it all went down
Btw Eric Daniels (ex-Asphyx, no GSBC) called me a back stabber of Dutch metal over there
psykometal - 14.01.2013 at 03:10  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 14.01.2013 at 03:01

you have to of course go to the link on Theo van Eekelen's profile cause that's where it all went down
Btw Eric Daniels (ex-Asphyx, no GSBC) called me a back stabber of Dutch metal over there

Sweet! Good to know.

Marcel Hubretse - The Most Hated Man in Dutch Metal Next thing ya know you'll find yourself on the Blacklist for ALL Ashpyx/GSBC shows worldwide like Slash merch at a G'n'R show!
Marcel Hubregtse - 14.01.2013 at 03:13  
Written by psykometal on 14.01.2013 at 03:10


Marcel Hubretse - The Most Hated Man in Dutch Metal


Depends on who you ask
stoverkill - 14.01.2013 at 23:31  
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 14.01.2013 at 02:10

Saw this band open for Six Feet Under last year and they were BAD, tbh even worse than SFU


Hi, new user here. First time to post.

Saw Seita twice on Barge to Hell and I thought they were freaking awesome. \m/
Marcel Hubregtse - 15.01.2013 at 01:00  
Written by stoverkill on 14.01.2013 at 23:31

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 14.01.2013 at 02:10

Saw this band open for Six Feet Under last year and they were BAD, tbh even worse than SFU


Hi, new user here. First time to post.

Saw Seita twice on Barge to Hell and I thought they were freaking awesome. \m/



good for you you. I saw them and they were totally crap so live with it
stoverkill - 15.01.2013 at 02:34  
Excuse me Mr Hubregtse, but there is no reason to be rude. I was just offering an alternate opinion.

Live with that.
sladetroityer - 15.01.2013 at 05:36  
What a bitchy little cunt
Dom Mura - 15.01.2013 at 21:36  
Quote:
Quote:
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 14.01.2013 at 02:10

Saw this band open for Six Feet Under last year and they were BAD, tbh even worse than SFU

What? I just saw them and they kicked some major ass! hmmmm


They were totally untight some of the guitar parts were totally off key and the drumming was all over the place (in a bad way) PLus totally uninspired and quite drunk they were as well, or at least they came across as quite drunk. So, totally unprofessional.


I would like to show the readers of this forum here how NOT drunk each one of us was at the gig Marcel H talks about. We are totally serious musicians with a professional attitude and hate it when people like Marcel H. just tells lies. The one who was drunk was probably him watching gigs far away from the stage at the bar. Here is a video of the Baroeg gig and judge for yourself if you see any drunk person in our band..: http://youtu.be/4c337aa6lGE Taste is one thing, damaging the image of bands is another...
Marcel Hubregtse - 16.01.2013 at 15:43  
Quote:
Quote:
Written by Dom Mura on 15.01.2013 at 21:36

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 14.01.2013 at 02:10

Saw this band open for Six Feet Under last year and they were BAD, tbh even worse than SFU

What? I just saw them and they kicked some major ass! hmmmm


They were totally untight some of the guitar parts were totally off key and the drumming was all over the place (in a bad way) PLus totally uninspired and quite drunk they were as well, or at least they came across as quite drunk. So, totally unprofessional.


I would like to show the readers of this forum here how NOT drunk each one of us was at the gig Marcel H talks about. We are totally serious musicians with a professional attitude and hate it when people like Marcel H. just tells lies. The one who was drunk was probably him watching gigs far away from the stage at the bar. Here is a video of the Baroeg gig and judge for yourself if you see any drunk person in our band..: http://youtu.be/4c337aa6lGE Taste is one thing, damaging the image of bands is another...



Then I have to sincerely apologize to you and the other band members, because to me that's the way it came across to me.
At the start of the gig I was quite close by the stage. But after two songs went to the bar indeed because I thought that would be more worthwhile my time. I can tell you exactly where my place at the bar was after I sat down there. The short end of the bar immediately upon entering Baroeg, so near the tabel and the coin machine near the wardrobe.
I do get drunk at Baroeg from time to time indeed and also this time but that was during Six Feet Under and right before I left to catch the train home.

Once again my sincerest apologies for saying you guys were drunk when apparently you were sober as can be.
Dom Mura - 16.01.2013 at 21:22  
Quote:
Quote:
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 16.01.2013 at 15:43

Written by Dom Mura on 15.01.2013 at 21:36

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 14.01.2013 at 02:10

Saw this band open for Six Feet Under last year and they were BAD, tbh even worse than SFU

What? I just saw them and they kicked some major ass! hmmmm


They were totally untight some of the guitar parts were totally off key and the drumming was all over the place (in a bad way) PLus totally uninspired and quite drunk they were as well, or at least they came across as quite drunk. So, totally unprofessional.


I would like to show the readers of this forum here how NOT drunk each one of us was at the gig Marcel H talks about. We are totally serious musicians with a professional attitude and hate it when people like Marcel H. just tells lies. The one who was drunk was probably him watching gigs far away from the stage at the bar. Here is a video of the Baroeg gig and judge for yourself if you see any drunk person in our band..: http://youtu.be/4c337aa6lGE Taste is one thing, damaging the image of bands is another...



Then I have to sincerely apologize to you and the other band members, because to me that's the way it came across to me.
At the start of the gig I was quite close by the stage. But after two songs went to the bar indeed because I thought that would be more worthwhile my time. I can tell you exactly where my place at the bar was after I sat down there. The short end of the bar immediately upon entering Baroeg, so near the tabel and the coin machine near the wardrobe.
I do get drunk at Baroeg from time to time indeed and also this time but that was during Six Feet Under and right before I left to catch the train home.

Once again my sincerest apologies for saying you guys were drunk when apparently you were sober as can be.


Allright! Apologies accepted! \m/
D.T. Metal - 17.01.2013 at 02:36  
Written by Dom Mura on 15.01.2013 at 21:36
...

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 16.01.2013 at 15:43
...


Glad you two worked this one out.
RainingBlood - 29.01.2013 at 12:48  
Marcel, what a pretentious little twat you are, sat at your keyboard boasting about some Facebook argument you were involved in - live the dream, eh? Clearly you are one of these pedantic band name collectors so obsessed with their own opinion, criticising the output of genuine musicians, even new posters on the site, you are oblivious to the fact no-one gives a flying fuck about your blinkered view, which is as far from the spirit of metal as it is possible to be without wearing a Starfleet uniform. My only hope is that some perceptive fella cracks you in the jaw, so we can all laugh at your aenemic form going limp - as limp as your intellect. Another keyboard warrior compensating for social deficiencies by boring the online world with their petty views.

Oh, did I forget to say you were a twat?...

Twat.
RainingBlood - 29.01.2013 at 12:55  
Anaemic* lol (what was I saying about pedantry?).

PS - YouTubed 'The Awakening' - would definitely whack it on my Zen in the gym, but was craving some lead harmonics to carry the thrash through.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Articles Defining Gothic Metal: The Truth And Lies Of The Scene 1.5 23.05.2006 by Syk
Melodic metal forum Beginners Sympho/Goth/Soft Power metal 1.5 25.03.2011 by Void Eater
Events MEX, Mexico City - Full Metal Fest I 1.5 13.02.2007 by vhaldemar
Extreme metal forum Best Black Metal albums of 2011 1.5 24.12.2011 by The Turbanator
Extreme metal forum Dissonant Metal 1.5 20.09.2013 by mz



Hits total: 2872 | This month: 35