Rating:
7.3
Chariots Of The Gods - Tides Of War
29 January 2013


01. Overture
02. Seventh Weapon
03. Blind Assassin
04. Ambrosian Wings
05. Tides Of War
06. Revillusion (1905)
07. Snow Falls On The White River (1914)
08. Severing The Bloodline (1917)
09. Collapse Of An Empire
10. Red Skies
11. Nebula
12. Starborn
13. Unbound (feat. Aleksi Sihvonen)
14. Annihilation Of The Gods


In the mood for some melodic death metal with hints of thrash? Tides Of War just might satisfy. Relentless intensity plus soaring guitar-work: sweet solos and engaging leads appear in all the right places. It's a formidable assault and solid as hell.

An incredibly professional production is at hand: drums are clear; vocals are on the perfect level with the instruments; even the soft and quiet moments are balanced just right so as to create bits of atmosphere against the heaviness. There is a pure love of metal evident in this debut and the production lets all the power, aggression, and passion through to the listener.

Speaking of atmosphere: there are two "interlude" instrumental tracks tucked into the album, and a few intros opening other songs. Most bands throw this sort of thing in as filler but not Chariots Of The Gods. Somehow they have done the impossible and created real music with their short interludes that add actual value to the album; the dual guitars especially let us know how complex a web of atmosphere they can spin.

The album's intro is especially epic and builds expectations in such a way that I was actually let down by the first few tracks, just slightly. They were almost too straightforward, given what the epic intro lead me to expect. I craved songs with a bit more arc and direction. However, Chariots Of The Gods starts to show their groove more and more as the album progresses. I could have done with a bit more variety in the tunes but nonetheless the band confidently establishes their intention: a charge of solid and unyielding melodeath garnished with impeccable interludes, solos, and leads.

Tides Of War will release next week, January 29th. Start 2013 off right by pre-ordering this excellent debut. Hear the title track as well as "Unbound" (featuring Aleksi Sihvonen of Norther) at the band's bandcamp page.


 



Written on 23.01.2013 by
Susan
Susan appreciates quality metal regardless of genre. Metal Storm Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Susan ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 7  
Users visited: 150  
Search this topic:  


Guib - 24.01.2013 at 01:40  
Susan ! I can't believe you just reviewed this album ! ITS FROM MY TOWN ! ITS CHARIOTS OMG! I love it very much and I don't quite understand why you're saying its gonna release on the 29th I mean I've had the album for what? 3-4 months now LOL but anyways. Thanks alot for doing it, for supporting our metal scene and showing to the world this awesome band.
Susan - 24.01.2013 at 02:35  
Written by Guib on 24.01.2013 at 01:40

Susan ! I can't believe you just reviewed this album ! ITS FROM MY TOWN ! ITS CHARIOTS OMG! I love it very much and I don't quite understand why you're saying its gonna release on the 29th I mean I've had the album for what? 3-4 months now LOL but anyways. Thanks alot for doing it, for supporting our metal scene and showing to the world this awesome band.


I've been saying for some time now: Canadian metal is taking over slowly but surely!!!!

That's awesome that you're from the same town! Are their shows as awesome as I'm imagining?
Guib - 25.01.2013 at 02:21  
Written by Susan on 24.01.2013 at 02:35

Written by Guib on 24.01.2013 at 01:40

Susan ! I can't believe you just reviewed this album ! ITS FROM MY TOWN ! ITS CHARIOTS OMG! I love it very much and I don't quite understand why you're saying its gonna release on the 29th I mean I've had the album for what? 3-4 months now LOL but anyways. Thanks alot for doing it, for supporting our metal scene and showing to the world this awesome band.


I've been saying for some time now: Canadian metal is taking over slowly but surely!!!!

That's awesome that you're from the same town! Are their shows as awesome as I'm imagining?


Its (excuse the words) Fucking great. I've seen them live with Insurrection (another band from here). It was quite an amazing show. Its funny because it was in a church's basement LOL. Anyways. But like I said I think you should change the infos on their page, I mean this album was already released several months ago.. I have a copy at home that spinned alot already. Once again thanks alot for reviewing stuff from here Susan.
Susan - 25.01.2013 at 03:17  
Written by Guib on 25.01.2013 at 02:21

But like I said I think you should change the infos on their page, I mean this album was already released several months ago.. I have a copy at home that spinned alot already. Once again thanks alot for reviewing stuff from here Susan.


I don't know why you have a copy already; perhaps because they're local to your area. Their press agent and all the band's official websites give a January 29th worldwide release date.
Guib - 26.01.2013 at 04:35  
Written by Susan on 25.01.2013 at 03:17

Written by Guib on 25.01.2013 at 02:21

But like I said I think you should change the infos on their page, I mean this album was already released several months ago.. I have a copy at home that spinned alot already. Once again thanks alot for reviewing stuff from here Susan.


I don't know why you have a copy already; perhaps because they're local to your area. Their press agent and all the band's official websites give a January 29th worldwide release date.


This is quite strange indeed... since all of my friends also have a copy LOL. Anyways, I guess its only official once its worldwide Shame that Insurrection's not doing the same... releasing worldwide, they're older -_- anyways.
Sir Thrashalot - 26.01.2013 at 10:12  
Written by Susan on 25.01.2013 at 03:17

Written by Guib on 25.01.2013 at 02:21

But like I said I think you should change the infos on their page, I mean this album was already released several months ago.. I have a copy at home that spinned alot already. Once again thanks alot for reviewing stuff from here Susan.


I don't know why you have a copy already; perhaps because they're local to your area. Their press agent and all the band's official websites give a January 29th worldwide release date.


I was wondering as well, because i've been to that same show and I also have this album. The ''Release Date'' here was September 22th. I also got this album. Gives it a spin at least once a week since then, solid album.

And live they are indeed very good, lots of energy, epic guitar duos, really good show. Looking forward to more !
Guib - 11.02.2013 at 04:12  
Written by Sir Thrashalot on 26.01.2013 at 10:12

Written by Susan on 25.01.2013 at 03:17

Written by Guib on 25.01.2013 at 02:21

But like I said I think you should change the infos on their page, I mean this album was already released several months ago.. I have a copy at home that spinned alot already. Once again thanks alot for reviewing stuff from here Susan.


I don't know why you have a copy already; perhaps because they're local to your area. Their press agent and all the band's official websites give a January 29th worldwide release date.


I was wondering as well, because i've been to that same show and I also have this album. The ''Release Date'' here was September 22th. I also got this album. Gives it a spin at least once a week since then, solid album.

And live they are indeed very good, lots of energy, epic guitar duos, really good show. Looking forward to more !


Gavin mon criss Lol. Yeah I was with him at the show, we both bought the album there Lol.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Chariots Of The Gods - Tides Of War 9.5 24.01.2013 by Guib
Reviews Rusted Dawn - The Black Tides Of War 5.5 20.06.2010 by Ag Fox
Reviews My Dying Bride - Like Gods Of The Sun 4 06.07.2006 by Lucas
Articles Visions From The Darkside - Metal Talk Radio - 15th April 2013 3.5 24.04.2013 by seafood
Events GBR, Derby - Nile: Those Whom The Gods Detest Tour Pt. II 3 18.01.2011 by Kingface



Hits total: 4070 | This month: 85