Rating:
9.5
Elysian Blaze - Blood Geometry
13 June 2012


Disc I [Arcane Throne & Mourning Star]
01. A Choir For Venus
02. The Temple Is Falling
03. Sigils That Beckon Death
04. Blood Geometry

Disc II [Blood Conduit & Void Pursuit]
01. A Blade For Twilight
02. Pyramid Of The Cold Son
03. Blood Of Ancients, Blood Of Hatred
04. Void Alchemy


Passion. I suppose that's what it's all about with these one man black metal bands: pure, unadulterated, single-minded passion. Something about the isolation from the main networks of black metal and the larger society as a whole impacts the artistic vision and strength of these bands in simply magnificent ways. It's been 6 years since Elysian Blaze main man Mutatiis has dropped an album, but right away with his 2012 offering, he shows us he hasn't merely been twiddling his thumbs all that time. The result of the past decade's creative dedication has spawned Blood Geometry, an over two hour, double disc magnum opus of all the trademarks Mutatiis has become known for that also, indeed, takes such techniques to new heights.

The first disc of Blood Geometry starts off with "A Choir For Venus," a short, yet beautiful, piano-laden instrumental that serves as a bridge into the heavier meat of the music. Right away, one will notice that Mutatiis put a lot of thought into the overall composition of this album with the spacing out of the instrumental parts. The music contains all the traits that Elysian Blaze has, up to this point, been known for: a heavy, funereal pace, simple (yet effective) percussion, raw guitars with clear, expressive leads... all enveloped in a signature cloak of eerie, sinister atmosphere. Yet this time, perhaps because of the length of the album as a whole, Mutatiis seems to be a lot more comfortable with throwing some more tricks into the mix, namely with the symphonic and orchestral elements of Blood Geometry (see especially the soft, hidden choirs and melodic piano in the middle of "The Temple Is Falling"). Much like with Deathspell Omega, the music dances back and forth between these elements and its more brutal, aggressive side according to the narrative set by the lyrics, and with this complicated, though well-executed, technique, the composition never appears bloated or overdone.

Disc 2 in many ways picks up right where Disc 1 leaves off. The melancholic ambience of "A Blade For Twilight" continues in the direction that "Blood Geometry" began, and this sense of cohesiveness throughout the album's duration only helps to reinforce its power. Then follows the real package of Blood Geometry that really makes the depth of Mutatiis's skill as a composer shine: "Pyramid of the Cold Son," and the 36 minute monster "Blood of Ancients, Blood of Hatred." Too long? Boring? Not in the slightest. Somehow, through, all the dissonance of the guitar reverb and thundering percussion, Mutatiis manages to keep the music entertaining, with everything that made the first disc fantastic coming to a peak in the second: the atmospheric mood of the piano and organs being intertwined flawlessly with the harsher side of the album at exactly the right moments, so that the music accentuates the emotion of the lyrics precisely when it's meant to. The second disc, notably, also has a lot more of a heavier, "doomy" vibe to it, almost like a more ambient version of The Ruins Of Beverast.

Blood Geometry is a lot like an opera, really. Each of the longer tracks have multiple movements to them, with a lot to take in on behalf of the listener, but it's not all unnecessary fluff and waffle. This album is by no means extravagance purely for the sake of extravagance... no, it's more like a mesmerizing, powerful tale set in ancient times, about an individual's spiritual transcendence, as reflected by the various tempo and mood shifts within the music. It's a lot to swallow, but like with any good story, the theme doesn't necessarily come immediately. This 2 hour masterpiece that Mutatiis has offered up in 2012 is creative vision taken to its fullest extent. This is art in the fullest meaning of the word. If you're armed with an open mind, and a willingness to sit through a long, but incredible musical trip, then hop to it. You will not be disappointed.

*Also, if you listen to the album, make sure you have the lyrics in front of you to read. They follow like an epic poem of sorts, and it's impossible to take in the full power of the music without following along with how said music reinforces the lyrics.

Performance: 10
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 10
Production: 9


Band profile: Elysian Blaze
Album: Blood Geometry


 



Written on 01.02.2013 by
Apothecary
"Show me a sane man, and I will cure him for you"
-Carl Jung
More reviews by Apothecary ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 25  
Users visited: 409  
Search this topic:  


Milena - 01.02.2013 at 10:40  
The beginning of this review... Apothecary, I am going to love you forever.
Collin - 01.02.2013 at 11:38  
I guess you said it all. I especially agree with the parallel you draw with opera (or classical music), indeed each song seems to have all these movements that seamlessly blend into one coherent piece. Apart from the fact that this evokes the same sort of feelings to me as The Maniacal Vale, I am really impressed that nothing seems superfluous or too long on this 2-hour plus album.

Anyway, this is by far my favourite album of last year. Also my Extreme Doom pick in this year's awards.
Zaphod - 01.02.2013 at 11:57  
Here we are with the passion thing again
Great review though, I really liked it, same with the album. I wouldn't say it deserves a 10 for originality though. The only problem with this album is that I rarely have a 2-hour gap in my day where I can just sit and listen to this, even though I often want to. That being said, I do have one today so I'll just go ahead and... yeah.. see ya.
Alex Fenger - 01.02.2013 at 14:35  
Pure, unadulterated passion, haha. Great review. Agree with you on pretty much all points.
Draugen - 01.02.2013 at 14:40  
Alright, that's it. I was initially put off by the immense duration of this album but having read this review I am now convinced that I just have to check it out in one complete playthrough.
InnerSelf - 01.02.2013 at 14:52  
I loved this review, haven't heard of the band before and it seems I'm missing out on something that I'll probably like.
Apothecary - 01.02.2013 at 17:04  
Written by Collin on 01.02.2013 at 11:38

I guess you said it all. I especially agree with the parallel you draw with opera (or classical music), indeed each song seems to have all these movements that seamlessly blend into one coherent piece. Apart from the fact that this evokes the same sort of feelings to me as The Maniacal Vale, I am really impressed that nothing seems superfluous or too long on this 2-hour plus album.

Anyway, this is by far my favourite album of last year. Also my Extreme Doom pick in this year's awards.

Yeah, it really does seem very neoclassical at points, a part of it that I really enjoyed. I think that composition technique is what really helps it not get boring, because (like an opera) there are enough twists and turns in the mood of the music to keep the listener entertained.
Apothecary - 01.02.2013 at 17:27  
Written by Zaphod on 01.02.2013 at 11:57

Great review though, I really liked it, same with the album. I wouldn't say it deserves a 10 for originality though. The only problem with this album is that I rarely have a 2-hour gap in my day where I can just sit and listen to this, even though I often want to.

I will admit, I did put a bit of fanboy bias into that, cuz this album honestly just blew me away on the first listen
But in a purely non-subjective sense, it is an amazing listen. The length is the issue, you really have to be in the mood to sit through all of it and absorb it for what it is. I'd recommend doing it at night, whenever you get around to it, just to enhance the overall atmosphere
UnknownCheese - 01.02.2013 at 17:48  
These songs just go on and on. There's like five riffs in this two hours of music.
Apothecary - 01.02.2013 at 18:02  
Written by UnknownCheese on 01.02.2013 at 17:48

These songs just go on and on. There's like five riffs in this two hours of music.

Sometimes less is more
Zaphod - 02.02.2013 at 15:00  
Written by Apothecary on 01.02.2013 at 17:27

I will admit, I did put a bit of fanboy bias into that, cuz this album honestly just blew me away on the first listen
But in a purely non-subjective sense, it is an amazing listen. The length is the issue, you really have to be in the mood to sit through all of it and absorb it for what it is. I'd recommend doing it at night, whenever you get around to it, just to enhance the overall atmosphere

Indeed, if I ever listen to this album it often is at night, or just when it's dark and cold outside. By the way, I was also blown away on the first listen
Void Eater - 02.02.2013 at 22:09  
Apothecary - 02.02.2013 at 23:11  
Written by Void Eater on 02.02.2013 at 22:09



Something like that, yeah
Pazdzioch - 03.02.2013 at 14:18  
Awesome review/album.
Merchant of Doom - 06.02.2013 at 00:26  
Great album...
K†ulu - 06.02.2013 at 16:49  
Man, made my day with the opening line; agree with Milena, will follow your reviews from now on. But seriously, you write very well, and will try to get to this album some time.
Apothecary - 06.02.2013 at 17:02  
Written by K†ulu on 06.02.2013 at 16:49

Man, made my day with the opening line; agree with Milena, will follow your reviews from now on. But seriously, you write very well, and will try to get to this album some time.

Thanks buddy, glad you enjoyed it. I'll prob be doing this new Cloak Of Altering album (if no one else claims it first) next, so be on the lookout
Mr. Doctor - 06.02.2013 at 17:50  
Written by Apothecary on 06.02.2013 at 17:02
I'll prob be doing this new Cloak Of Altering album (if no one else claims it first)


Aaaaaah Bitch.
Well, I'm sure you'll nail it. I already wrote the staff pick and the write-up for the Awards so I can't take everything ahhahaha.
I'm gonna expect a good review, that album really deserves one.
Apothecary - 07.02.2013 at 00:48  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 06.02.2013 at 17:50

Written by Apothecary on 06.02.2013 at 17:02
I'll prob be doing this new Cloak Of Altering album (if no one else claims it first)


Aaaaaah Bitch.
Well, I'm sure you'll nail it. I already wrote the staff pick and the write-up for the Awards so I can't take everything ahhahaha.
I'm gonna expect a good review, that album really deserves one.

Might do this Wormlust band that JOEE picked first actually, really been enjoying that release. It's also a bit easier to digest, Cloak Of Altering will take me awhile (like you said, it deserves a good review, and it's a bit hard to describe, so I don't wanna rush it).
Daggon - 07.05.2013 at 07:42  
What a beautiful album, no need to add something more to the review, everything that can explain how great is this it's now above. This album came to me in a moment when the music made me feel like suspended in an atmosphere of pure melancholy. Thanks for this great review.
3rdWorld - 02.11.2013 at 16:59  
Sorry but this review is way too long and has too much words about describing many parts of each and every song. But I am going to check this out after I back catalog his earlier two albums. I am looking forward to this after the recent discussion about long albums in SB reminded me of this.
Apothecary - 02.11.2013 at 17:45  
Written by 3rdWorld on 02.11.2013 at 16:59

Sorry but this review is way too long and has too much words about describing many parts of each and every song

A short review simply wouldn't do this justice. You'll see what I mean when you give it a playthrough
Mr. Doctor - 02.11.2013 at 18:49  
Written by Apothecary on 02.11.2013 at 17:45

Written by 3rdWorld on 02.11.2013 at 16:59

Sorry but this review is way too long and has too much words about describing many parts of each and every song
A short review simply wouldn't do this justice. You'll see what I mean when you give it a playthrough

It's all a thing of personal taste in the end. if you ask me, 700 words IS too long. 500 tops for me no matter the album and I do understand him when he comments on the nearly "song by song" feeling of the review.
Example: I really like Jupi's review of The Maniacal Vale. Around 360 words for an album that is also very long.
3rdWorld - 02.11.2013 at 19:22  
Written by Apothecary on 02.11.2013 at 17:45

Written by 3rdWorld on 02.11.2013 at 16:59

Sorry but this review is way too long and has too much words about describing many parts of each and every song

A short review simply wouldn't do this justice. You'll see what I mean when you give it a playthrough

Now gave this a full read-through and I like the first and last paragraphs and not the middle ones. But like doc said I don't like the "song by song" style descriptions and the ones about style transitions unless it is very necessarily needed for something like a Botanist record.
Apothecary - 02.11.2013 at 20:43  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 02.11.2013 at 18:49

I do understand him when he comments on the nearly "song by song" feeling of the review.

I wouldn't say this is really a track by track review though, I pretty much describe how the album progresses in reference to certain tracks, and there are certain ones that I didn't mention at all. You want a track by track review, head on over to MA

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Elysian Blaze - Blood Geometry 7.5 31.07.2012 by !J.O.O.E.!
Reviews The Ruins Of Beverast - Blood Vaults (The Blazing Gospel Of Heinrich Kramer) 4.5 30.08.2013 by Daniell
Reviews Jex Thoth - Blood Moon Rise 4.5 17.07.2013 by Susan
Albums Elysian Blaze - Levitating The Carnal 4.5 18.11.2012 by Alex Fenger
News Elysian Blaze - New Album Update 4.5 19.06.2013 by Apothecary



Hits total: 6521 | This month: 83