Rating:
8.1
Slash - Apocalyptic Love
22 May 2012


01. Apocalyptic Love
02. One Last Thrill
03. Standing In The Sun
04. You're A Lie
05. No More Heroes
06. Halo
07. We Will Roam
08. Anastasia
09. Not For Me
10. Bad Rain
11. Hard & Fast
12. Far And Away
13. Shots Fired
14. Carolina [bonus]
15. Crazy Life [bonus]


As a big fan of Alter Bridge and an ex-fan of Guns N' Roses, this album was for me a really welcome surprise. About Saul Hudson, aka Slash, I was divided in two feelings: the adoring teenager, thankful to one of the guitarists who introduced him to metal, and the way too cynical metalhead who, considering himself mature being around in the scene for some years, despised this "overrated, corrupted by money and worldliness, anything but original" guitarist.

After listening for quite a long time to Apocalyptic Love I can say that I'm still in between. This is an album that, in many ways, made me revalue Slash's abilities, as a guitarist and songwriter. The first five tracks off Apocalyptic Love made me instantly renege on the worries I had about this listen. Original ideas, fresh guitarwork, clearly a big dose of passion and fun put into, make of these songs damn good hard rock anthems.

All this, together with a great singer. This time Slash decided to entrust only one singer to spread his word. The choice was never more appropriate. Myles Kennedy, who collaborated with the British guitarist also in his self-titled "debut" album, is definitely a great vocalist. His polychromatic voice - now high as only an emasculated power metal singer can get, now low and thoughtful, now frenzied with energy - is one of the elements which provide variations to this album.

Slash also shows something I wouldn't have expected from him: a classically inspired riff as the one in "Anastasia" and a slow, painful and whispering disown of his dissolute life in "Not For Me". These two high quality tracks form another block of great music, but hereinafter the album seems to drag along to reach its end and have some rest.

But the real low point in this album is that, somehow, after some time, it becomes tiring. I don't precisely know why, but Apocalyptic Love doesn't have the verve which allows the classics to last for decades in the hearts of the listeners. Despite this, this release is a really important reply to every detractor, an album which main message is:

"I'm still alive, I enjoy what I do, and do it damn well.
That's not all, folks!"

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 8
Originality: 7
Production: 9


Band profile: Slash
Album: Apocalyptic Love


 


written by R Lewis | 22.02.2013


Guest review disclaimer:
This is a guest review, which means it does not necessarily represent the point of view of the MS Staff.



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 4  
Users visited: 23  
Search this topic:  


AnGina-- - 02.03.2013 at 16:49  
I can't really agree on the note that Apocalyptic Love becomes tiring after some time of listening, because nonetheless it's a having-Slahs's-guitar-all-over-it based album, the album holds a lot of diversity. And I mean, let's put the Anastasia and the intro riff besides, we all know that's one just exploding, but I mean the rest of it; Halo, You're a Lie, Carolina, Not For Me, Standing in the Sun, Apocalyptic Love, Bad Rain. Well maybe it's just me, but I can't get tired of these song. If anything his first solo album and Slash's Snakepit album's were a lot more watery to me than AL.

Collaboration on this album is amazing, I agree to that, but it's not merely Slash + Myles. The Conspirators are freakin' badass and their energy seems endless. Todd Dammit Kerns is the life of the show if you ask me, the most energetic on stage, keeping the rock party going on. If Anything, Myles deserves all the praise, his range is priceless and what I love about this guy when performing live old GnR songs, he doesn't want to sound like Axl and doesn't give a fu*k if the does. He does it his own way and right now, when you put him and Axl on a battle field, Myles is miles in front of Axl (not the young Axl though).

Slash is great because he lives, dreams and breathes rock music and shares that with us. There are tones of rock bands nowadays out and just as much as I enjoy a lot of experimental stuff, sometimes I just want a solid hard rock album that's gonna spin around the good old ''sex, drugs and rock'n'roll'' theme. And Slash delivers that, just plain old hard rock, with a lot of passion, devotion and emotion. To me, Apocalyptic Love is Slash's best work since he left GnR, better than anything by Slash's Snakepit, Velvet Revolver or the eponymous album. What I love about this guy is that he has the spirit and when dealing with his guitar, you can feel his passion when playing and he's never overdoing it.

So all in all, I agree with the rating (because 9 would be too close to Appetite For Destruction and a 10 would mean AL is the next Appetite), I would give it a 8,5 myself, one of the best albums in 2012 and still not giving a f*ck if anyone thinks Mr. Hudson is overrated. He ain't, he's just THAT AWESOME.

Good review though, but as I said, there are many more songs IMHO that are worth mentioning there.
R Lewis - 03.03.2013 at 11:09  
Written by AnGina-- on 02.03.2013 at 16:49

I can't really agree on the note that Apocalyptic Love becomes tiring after some time of listening, [...everything here in the middle...]
Good review though, but as I said, there are many more songs IMHO that are worth mentioning there.

Wow. Yours, more than a comment, is a review. I agree with many of the things you said, even if I didn't find The Conspirators SO great. Sure, they fit rightly in the album, but I don't think they are among the major strengths of this album. But this is subjective. Moreover, I also like the songs you mentioned, but I didn't want to turn my review in a song-by-song one, since they're not accepted here in MS.
Really great analysis, though. Thank You fou your feedback.
AnGina-- - 09.03.2013 at 18:46  
Written by R Lewis on 03.03.2013 at 11:09

But this is subjective.


Indeed. We agree on the rating though, just from different angles

TBH, I got truly hooked on The Conspirators after seeing them live (with Slash & Myles of course), because you can see and feel the energy flowing between them and off the stage and that's just something you can't hear from the album. I really hope that they're gonna continue cooperating, because it's their raw style and energy that makes them so awesome.
R Lewis - 09.03.2013 at 18:49  
Written by AnGina-- on 09.03.2013 at 18:46

TBH, I got truly hooked on The Conspirators after seeing them live (with Slash & Myles of course), because you can see and feel the energy flowing between them and off the stage and that's just something you can't hear from the album.

So, maybe the point is that I haven't seen them live

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Slash - Apocalyptic Love 6 18.05.2012 by M C Vice
Reviews Hell - Curse And Chapter 3 22.02.2014 by Tristus Scriptor
Reviews HammerFall - (r)Evolution 3 13.08.2014 by R Lewis
Reviews Tad Morose - Revenant 3 08.11.2013 by DragonWisdom
Reviews Powerwolf - Bible Of The Beast 3 15.02.2013 by Metalxer



Hits total: 1379 | This month: 64