Rating:
7.4
Rotting Christ - Kata Ton Daimona Eaytoy
1 March 2013


01. In Yumen - Xibalba
02. P'unchaw kachun - Tuta kachun
03. Grandis Spiritus Diavolos
04. Κατά τον δαίμονα του εαυτού
05. Cine iubeşte şi lasă
06. Iwa Woodoo
07. Gilgameš
08. Русалка
09. Ahura Mazdā-Aŋra Mainiuu
10. Χξς'
11. Welcome to Hel [Vinyl & digibox bonus]


It's not because he's a ginger that I don't like Dave Mustaine. At least, I don't think it is. Not per se. It's because of stuff like refusing to play on the same bill as a band called Rotting Christ that I think he's a bit of a fuck. It's one thing to do or not do something out of principle, that's respectable, it's another thing to be a bit of a puritanical fuck about it.

It's especially true now when the band called "Rotting Christ" plays as inoffensive sounding stuff as this. I know they had more of an edge back in the day, but they've been moving slowly but surely to this kind of non-black, hyper-melodic and slower sounding stuff for a while.

And that's not in any way a bad thing on its own for these guys; this doesn't suck and it isn't anodyne. This is addicting, catchy, fairly evil sounding, semi-drink-alongy, semi-sing-alongy stuff, some of which has been stuck in my head since I first put it on. Some of the more wah-ing riffs on this are groovy in the best kind of way, and the opening track has one of the best simple tunes I've heard in a while.

I'm guessing this disc will be really appealing to those who like a little foreign, oriental-esque passages in their metal (I'm thinking the crowd crossover I see between big folk/viking metal shows and Behemoth and Nile gigs, myself included in that). Their addition creates a layer of ominousness to the tunes here, but they're never really unnerving or foreboding. They sound cool in a non-punishing way. They're pretty sugary in the end, but this album still has enough power to it (some of the vocals, in particular, sound especially forceful).

Kata is for people who don't mind listening to a little more catchy, cleaned-up extreme(ish) metal. It gets too repetitive, yeah, but when it runs on all cylinders, it's epic as hell.

Highlights: "In Yumen - Xibalba" and "Ahura Mazda."


Band profile: Rotting Christ
Album: Kata Ton Daimona Eaytoy


 



Written on 09.03.2013 by
wormdrink414
Wormdrink's real name is George and he works at a convenience store in the Eugene/Springfield area.
More reviews by wormdrink414 ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 15  
Users visited: 363  
Search this topic:  


3rdWorld - 09.03.2013 at 09:33  
Good review. Looking forward to listening it.
ManiacBlasphemer - 09.03.2013 at 11:29  
Rating is way too low for this album. This album is way above average and it deserves a lot more. It is also much better than Aealo and it stands on par with Theogonia. Pretty much every song is enjoyable and memorable, especially the first half. It deserves an 8+, without doubt.

Anyway, the review is good, but you pointed out and focused on the positive aspects of the band and you only mentioned the negative ones. This is why I consider this rating a bit unusual, as the tone of the review is very positive.
wormdrink414 - 09.03.2013 at 12:29  
Written by ManiacBlasphemer on 09.03.2013 at 11:29

Rating is way too low for this album. This album is way above average and it deserves a lot more. It is also much better than Aealo and it stands on par with Theogonia. Pretty much every song is enjoyable and memorable, especially the first half. It deserves an 8+, without doubt.

Anyway, the review is good, but you pointed out and focused on the positive aspects of the band and you only mentioned the negative ones. This is why I consider this rating a bit unusual, as the tone of the review is very positive.

Nah, 7.4 is only slightly below the middle mark between "good" and "very good" based on the rating system here. Thought it fit. I like the album, but I don't think it's great.
Dorian Black - 09.03.2013 at 14:24  
It is very repetitve, every song sounds the same. And I am really surprised no one is pointing this out
ManiacBlasphemer - 09.03.2013 at 14:46  
Written by Dorian Black on 09.03.2013 at 14:24

It is very repetitve, every song sounds the same. And I am really surprised no one is pointing this out


Because it is not a surprise anymore, duh. Like over half of the albums released in this genre are repetitive. That does not mean that being repetitive means being average or mediocre. The fact is, this album is haunting, it is memorable. The first half especially remains deep encripted in your memory, and the second half does not do bad either. The album is well executed, it has its great moments, the cover songs are absolutely brilliant (pointing especially at "Cine Iubeste si Lasa", since I live in Romania after all) and it leaves a sense of fulfillment and satisfaction.
BloodTears - 10.03.2013 at 11:23  
I have been listening to it lately and I'm still not convinced by this album. Sure, it's better than "Aealo" but that wasn't too difficult. I like some of the moods/vibes of the songs but it isn't consistent at some points.

So, your rating is probably about right.
hoegaarden - 10.03.2013 at 12:06  
Very good review, spot on IMO.
Machiavelli - 11.03.2013 at 06:36  
Honestly, i got into rotting christ by catching them as a supporting act but was impressed... but i didnt get anything until KTDE and I think it is much better than Theologia (being my 2nd record of theirs) especially that Cine Lubeste Si Lassa tune.
-DC-002- - 11.03.2013 at 06:42  
I'd maybe go with 7.7 or .8 because of its surprising re-playability but ya I agree with your review as well.
Hydra - 11.03.2013 at 19:11  
Written by ManiacBlasphemer on 09.03.2013 at 14:46

Written by Dorian Black on 09.03.2013 at 14:24

It is very repetitve, every song sounds the same. And I am really surprised no one is pointing this out


Because it is not a surprise anymore, duh. Like over half of the albums released in this genre are repetitive. That does not mean that being repetitive means being average or mediocre. The fact is, this album is haunting, it is memorable. The first half especially remains deep encripted in your memory, and the second half does not do bad either. The album is well executed, it has its great moments, the cover songs are absolutely brilliant (pointing especially at "Cine Iubeste si Lasa", since I live in Romania after all) and it leaves a sense of fulfillment and satisfaction.


Man did you just hit the nail on the head ! totally agree.
NikolaFranquelli - 11.03.2013 at 22:36  
Although I do not agree with everything said in this review, Kata Ton Daimona Eaytoy is a let down.
Big E - 12.03.2013 at 01:55  
It's good but I still want another Sanctus Diavolos.
Malignar - 13.03.2013 at 17:58  
No where near as good as Theo or Sanctus Diavolos. Possibly better than the Aealo, but that's not saying much. Hopefully they will dump the direction they've been going for the last two albums and for a new one on the next release.
mojo - 15.04.2013 at 01:31  
I actually love this album, somehow I can't seem to get it off the stereo. You know what I mean, it just happens that way sometimes and it's a really personal thing.

Not as much folkyness as I'd like (Theogonia is a masterpiece of folk /metal crossover, IMO) but a bloody good black metal album, and beautifully produced. I know a lot of folks here don't like that but I confess, I do.


And the opener, I agree, is one of the main highlights. Absolutely epic.
tuerda - 12.07.2013 at 09:47  
I agree with the notion that this album is sugar coated and inoffensive; sorta made of candy. There is very little serious substance to it. That being said, it is fabulous candy!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews Rotting Christ - Theogonia 5.5 24.04.2009 by spycorps
News Rotting Christ - North American Tour Dates 4.5 16.01.2011 by Yojimbo
Albums Rotting Christ - Apokathilosis 4.5 16.09.2012 by Mad Arab666
Interviews Rotting Christ interview 4.5 31.10.2009 by NiederHaven
News Rotting Christ - Entire New Album Available For Streaming 4.5 22.02.2013 by Lit.



Hits total: 4487 | This month: 80