Rating:
N/A
Kälter - Ubuntu
11 October 2012


01. Intuitions
02. Flying Seeds
03. ReMember
04. Reflexions
05. Adversity
06. Tribulation
07. Rhythm Of Passion Part I: The Awakening
08. Rhythm Of Passion Part II: The Gathering


Do you think it's impossible for a band to be a truly creative force when operating in the melodic death metal subgenre today? These lads from the French-speaking part of Canada with a German word for a name and a sound based on Swedish and Finnish metal foundations (does your brain hurt yet?) want to prove that it is in fact a simple task if you have the know-how.

You're allowed to be skeptical - after all, I was as well. Such a peculiarly titled melodeath album, with a vividly colored cover (and on it, what appears to be an Incan warrior looking into the face of his death), which starts with a (synthetic) flute intro would doubtlessly bring to mind a band trying to sound like Wintersun - and that's only one of the more fortunate solutions! Luckily, my initial associations were utterly off the mark.

As mentioned before, their sound is indeed based in the typical Northern European tradition of melodic metal made a bit more extreme (or, depending on what band you have in mind, extreme metal made super melodic) but the strong progressive leanings and folk motifs turn it into something different entirely. The guitars assume a mostly atmospheric role, with keyboards taking over the lead, and setting the mood of each individual song, from the folky opener to the cinematic, epic "Tribulation". This is definitely not the album for the synth-phobic, as keyboard solos are raining like confetti here. The drummer likes progging it up, and the band seems to work fine in instrumental format, with long instrumental stretches that aren't at all boring - "Reflexions", that comes off as an afterthought (or maybe that's just me being deluded by the track name) to the preceding song, "ReMember", is very engaging in particular.

You can tell Kälter's style is still in its infancy, but, based on this material, you definitely wouldn't assume they were a Children Of Bodom cover band just five years prior! Well, now that I've mentioned it, there is some vaguely Laiho-ish vocal phrasing in a stanza in the two-part album closer "Rhythm Of Passion", but what I really meant was that they have already written an album that I enjoy a lot more than what they started out covering, which is, I suppose, every band's dream. It is available for streaming in full over at Kälter's Bandcamp.


Band profile: Kälter
Album: Ubuntu


 



Written on 11.03.2013 by
Milena
A part of the team since December 2011, writes about the progressive, the sad and the melodic. She's nice until she's not.
More reviews by Milena ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 9  
Users visited: 208  
Search this topic:  


Fredd - 11.03.2013 at 18:14  
At last
Dorian Black - 11.03.2013 at 18:30  
The best melo-death album for 2012 imho
Druss - 11.03.2013 at 18:52  
Seriously enjoyed this album during the MS Awards, nice to see it getting an offical review, and a good one at that
Ap46 - 11.03.2013 at 18:57  
I really dug this album, thank to Ms awards I would have voted it, if Be'lakor hadn't realease an album last year. But yeah, it's really impressive.
Fallen Ghost - 12.03.2013 at 01:00  
This disappointed me a little, their previous album was much better IMO
loucmachine - 13.03.2013 at 01:47  
I' am very happy you guys like what we do !! ^^
Its hard to please everybody since what we do is pretty experimental (compared to Spiritual angel for example). We dont put limits, we just play what we feel as musicians and thats it. We dont try to be a ''prog'' band or a ''folk, power, melo-death symphonic etc..'' band or a pale copy of any particular band. We dont care about the categories people put us in, we just do what we feel inside, and thats the beauty of Ubuntu.
Btw the flute at the beginning (and some other part) is not a synthetic one. It has been recorded by Maude Bouvier, a cute little redhead. Here is a picture of her with us
http://sphotos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/599659_10150936256243085_1246437519_n.jpg

Cheers ans thanks alot !!
Milena - 13.03.2013 at 11:55  
Written by loucmachine on 13.03.2013 at 01:47

Btw the flute at the beginning (and some other part) is not a synthetic one. It has been recorded by Maude Bouvier, a cute little redhead. Here is a picture of her with us
http://sphotos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/599659_10150936256243085_1246437519_n.jpg

Really? I supposed it was since there weren't any other artist credits on your bandcamp/facebook/other places She is indeed cute!
Thanks for dropping by, we appreciate it.
Krix - 14.03.2013 at 22:01  
Amazing album, amazing band!!!
MétalNoir - 15.03.2013 at 16:54  
How did I miss that? "Spiritual Angel" was very promising, I'll have to check this one out. Thanks for the review!

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Kälter - Ubuntu 4.5 15.10.2012 by Starchild
Reviews Headspace - I Am Anonymous 3.5 12.11.2012 by Fredd
Reviews Eternal Tears Of Sorrow - Saivon Lapsi 3 28.03.2013 by chaosscizzors
Albums Kälter - Spiritual Angel 3 07.08.2012 by FeskarN
Reviews Ne Obliviscaris - Portal Of I 3 24.10.2012 by Dylan



Hits total: 2719 | This month: 69