Aut Mori - Pervaja Sleza Oseni review



Reviewer:
6.3

1 user:
6.00
Band: Aut Mori
Album: Pervaja Sleza Oseni
Release date: October 2012


01. Pervaja Sleza Oseni
02. Moja Pesnja - Tishina
03. Nebo
04. Prowaj
05. Moj Vechnyj Dozhd'
06. Zhdi
07. Jelegija Bezmjatezhnosti
08. Na Scene Osen'


Apparently the reviewer is a dumbass and his already ploxoi russian has only grown worse over the ensuing decade and change since school. He thought: Aut Mori is Russian for "From the sea." I assume this is meant in a naturalist poetic way as opposed to "from the growing sea of female fronted gothic-tinged acts." It doesn't mean that. It is apparently "Or Die" in Latin. I sucked at that, too.

So at this point with nothing more than "female fronted gothic-tinged act" revealed, you've probably already got a mental picture of what you'll find on Pervaja Sleza Oseni:

1- Draclonian.
2- Alternating "beauty and the beast" vocals, angelic female pitted against demonic male.
3- Doomy riffs drenched in swell production and synths to remove rough edges.

And you'd pretty much be right.

The music is par for the course. It sounds very pleasant, at least outside the scary male "RAWRGHGHG!" vocals. For the most part, it failed to disturb me, exhilarate me, or move me terribly. It is all well done, but just inoffensive.

The first listen through I was running around issuing biotic death to pixelated foes as a form of stress release after a long day at the office… and the one aspect that did manage to rip my attention and initially give me a favorable opinion of the album were the female vocals.

My only prior (intentional) dip into this genre was a prior review for Edenian's Winter Shades, where the "angelic" vocals were, to be nice, definitely better than my coerced involvement in Guns N' Roses "Paradise City", the Drunken Karaoke gang vocal version.

By comparison, Maria Sorokina (edit) Nati Chitadze does have an impressive voice, one which commanded and focused my attention. For those that can't read between the lines, it means she's good. She's got pipes. At least compared to either Edenian or the Pizza City Seven.

If you like Draconian, or female fronted gothidoom albums, it's worth a shot. If you were one of those who thought I was tough on Edenian, buy this now as it is musically similar only with vastly improved vocals.


Rating breakdown
Performance: 7
Songwriting: 7
Originality: 6
Production: 9


 



Written on 12.03.2013 by BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.


Comments

Comments: 18   Visited by: 78 users
12.03.2013 - 03:31
Dane Train
Beers & Kilts
I heart your earnest reviews! I want to like this type of music but when the bands are a dime a dozen it makes it very difficult to do so.
----
(space for rent)
Loading...
12.03.2013 - 11:40
Merchant of Doom
You spelt Draconian Draclonian at the beginning, I'm sure on purpose... It's a good album and quite pleasant in a doomy way. Your rating is a bit low, IMO. I would have given it 7.5.
Loading...
12.03.2013 - 17:43
The Moor
Account deleted
Maria Sorokina doesnt do the vocal tasks, just keys. They use a guests singer for that, Nati Chitatze.

Btw interesting band, but i'm agree, very similar to Draconian. It seems that Jerrys Torstensson's influence doesnt end on the mixing process haha. they definetly must find they own direction, but it's a good album, with good "ideas" and sound.
Loading...
12.03.2013 - 19:01
BitterCOld
Gringo
Written by Guest on 12.03.2013 at 17:43

Maria Sorokina doesnt do the vocal tasks, just keys. They use a guests singer for that, Nati Chitatze.

Btw interesting band, but i'm agree, very similar to Draconian. It seems that Jerrys Torstensson's influence doesnt end on the mixing process haha. they definetly must find they own direction, but it's a good album, with good "ideas" and sound.


d'oh, will edit accordingly.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
12.03.2013 - 22:26
Ivor
Staff
I'm just wondering about your opening phrase of the review. It is definitely not Russian, and apparently it is "or die" in Latin. The album name translates to "The First Tear of Autumn," though. But the band doesn't sound bad at all. Then again, I'm far from being the intended audience, as I've not really listened to Draconian, or to many similar bands. As rarely as I stumble across something like this, it was quite good. Nothing spectacular, though, I agree there.

I.
----
No friends for playing games
No foes who scorn my name
Computerized machines of steel and rust
/---/
No friends in my house on Mars
No foes in my house on Mars
I was born in my house on Mars
I will die in my house on Mars
-- Ayreon - My House on Mars
Loading...
12.03.2013 - 22:50
BitterCOld
Gringo
Written by Ivor on 12.03.2013 at 22:26

I'm just wondering about your opening phrase of the review. It is definitely not Russian, and apparently it is "or die" in Latin. The album name translates to "The First Tear of Autumn," though. But the band doesn't sound bad at all. Then again, I'm far from being the intended audience, as I've not really listened to Draconian, or to many similar bands. As rarely as I stumble across something like this, it was quite good. Nothing spectacular, though, I agree there.

I.


boy i am off the mark on a lot it seems. given everything in Russian and my long dormant rudimentary Russian, i immediately went from Mori to "Sea"... i always confused Iz and Ot, so thoguht I had it right.

god help me.

i guess i should have cut off one listen short to verify band info. going to hit the edit shop again.
----
get the fuck off my lawn.
Loading...
12.03.2013 - 22:56
Ivor
Staff
Written by BitterCOld on 12.03.2013 at 22:50

boy i am off the mark on a lot it seems. given everything in Russian and my long dormant rudimentary Russian, i immediately went from Mori to "Sea"... i always confused Iz and Ot, so thoguht I had it right.

Eh, happens, I see what you mean. "Ot" would have meant sort of from the sea, as in from the shoreline. With transliteration I think you can never be sure all the way what was written. In this case, however, I do think it's either Latin or just something random.

I.
----
No friends for playing games
No foes who scorn my name
Computerized machines of steel and rust
/---/
No friends in my house on Mars
No foes in my house on Mars
I was born in my house on Mars
I will die in my house on Mars
-- Ayreon - My House on Mars
Loading...
13.03.2013 - 19:09
Merchant of Doom
It means "or to die"... like the say "aut vincere aut mori", to win/conquer or to die...
Loading...
14.03.2013 - 03:48
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Who cares what it means? the album is mediocre at best
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
14.03.2013 - 11:08
Merchant of Doom
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 14.03.2013 at 03:48

Who cares what it means? the album is mediocre at best



you never liked gothic doom, so no surprise there...
Loading...
02.10.2014 - 22:11
Erik M.
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 14.03.2013 at 03:48

Who cares what it means? the album is mediocre at best


Like the guy above me says... name one gothic doom album that you actually like and think is great.

For the record, I haven't heard this album.
Loading...
02.10.2014 - 22:16
!J.O.O.E.!
Defunct
Written by Erik M. on 02.10.2014 at 22:11

Like the guy above me says... name one gothic doom album that you actually like and think is great.


Check the latest review.
Loading...
02.10.2014 - 22:20
Erik M.
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 02.10.2014 at 22:16

Check the latest review.


Well, that's awkward... and a coincidence as well. Didn't even know about the existence of that album. Guess I'm going to check it out.

Btw, are you stalking me... I mean, how did you know I posted here?
Loading...
02.10.2014 - 22:21
!J.O.O.E.!
Defunct
Written by Erik M. on 02.10.2014 at 22:20


Btw, are you stalking me... I mean, how did you know I posted here?

when someone comments on a thread they appear on the front of the forum main page on that category. Nothing stalker-y about it.
Loading...
02.10.2014 - 22:24
Erik M.
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 02.10.2014 at 22:21

when someone comments on a thread they appear on the front of the forum main page on that category. Nothing stalker-y about it.


Well, I never visit that page so I didn't know that.

Okay, just visited it and I see what you mean now.
Loading...
02.10.2014 - 22:26
!J.O.O.E.!
Defunct
Written by Erik M. on 02.10.2014 at 22:24

Well, I never visit that page so I didn't know that.

Okay, just visited it and I see what you mean now.

How on Earth do you navigate the forum without using the main page?
Loading...
02.10.2014 - 22:28
Erik M.
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 02.10.2014 at 22:26

How on Earth do you navigate the forum without using the main page?


Uhh, I don't? Seriously, you never noticed I never post there?
Loading...
04.10.2014 - 19:20
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Dude you are so boring.... Like this album. D:
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...

Hits total: 3116 | This month: 10