Rating:
7.0
Visions Of Atlantis - Ethera
22 March 2013


01. The Ark
02. Machinage
03. Avatara
04. Vicious Circle
05. Hypnotized
06. Tlaluc's Grace
07. Burden Of Divinity
08. Cave Behind The Waterfall
09. A.E.O.N. 19th
10. Bestiality vs. Integrity
11. Clerics Emotion


Visions Of Atlantis is usually lumped in with the "female-fronted symphonic metal" bands, not-so-affectionately known sometimes as "corset-core." I think that term is hilarious but in this particular case it might be a misnomer.

For starters, it's hardly "female-fronted" since clean singing is performed by both a male and a female, split pretty evenly. For another thing they both have voices that lean more towards rock than classical music. Usually the two are in harmony, which creates a powerful dynamic for their tunes.

Not to say this isn't symphonic. Oh, don't worry, it is. It's just less so than their previous works. They really push the line here between symphonic metal and straight up heavy metal. On Ethera the keyboard does not dominate nearly as much as it did on 2011's Delta; the riffs and rhythms are really paramount. High-energy rockers plus some slightly cheesy ballads make for a really nice flow here. It's a classic formula with fun, catchy melodies.

If you're a fan of Visions Of Atlantis you may or may not enjoy this change. They shaved away some of the epic, some of the bombastic, and some of the seriousness, but what you get in return is a bit more edge, more metal, and more fun. It's most definitely still the same band except it just seems simpler, stripped down a few layers closer to its core perhaps.

I might go so far as to say that this could appeal to more than just fans of symphonic metal. There is something about how straightforward this band has become that may widen their appeal and turn a few hard-hearted metalheads to the dark side. Or… the light side? Whatever. It's just a rockin' fun listen, nothing more nothing less.

Ethera comes out this Friday, March 22nd, on Napalm Records.


Band profile: Visions Of Atlantis
Album: Ethera


 



Written on 19.03.2013 by
Susan
Susan appreciates quality metal regardless of genre. Metal Storm Staff since 2006.
More reviews by Susan ››



Comments

‹‹ Back to the Reviews
Comments: 14  
Users visited: 271  
Search this topic:  


Ap46 - 19.03.2013 at 01:56  
I like 'em, with Melissa Ferlaak they were pretty much sympho , but with Nils they've become more like a two singer fronted metal band, as you said. It's a bit refreshing indeed.
Unhealer - 19.03.2013 at 02:39  
CORSET-CORE. Gotta love those labels .
Well, now that you got me to read this I guess I'll try it...
R'Vannith - 19.03.2013 at 05:14  
From your review this actually sounds promising, as far as symphonic metal goes I've always considered this band to fit the definition of "generic."
Susan - 19.03.2013 at 05:20  
Written by R'Vannith on 19.03.2013 at 05:14

From your review this actually sounds promising, as far as symphonic metal goes I've always considered this band to fit the definition of "generic."


I totally agree, and this isn't necessarily pushing them up to a new level with their music but at least it's fun and a little different.
R'Vannith - 19.03.2013 at 05:26  
Written by Susan on 19.03.2013 at 05:20

Written by R'Vannith on 19.03.2013 at 05:14

From your review this actually sounds promising, as far as symphonic metal goes I've always considered this band to fit the definition of "generic."


I totally agree, and this isn't necessarily pushing them up to a new level with their music but at least it's fun and a little different.


And sometimes that bit of fun and slight turn of style is all that's needed to make more of an impression.
annodomini - 19.03.2013 at 09:17  
Well, I still don't know am I disappointed or not. This is definitely more progressive aproach and less catchy. Actually I found only two songs that has true cathyness, other are more oriented in instrumental work and atmosphere. I like the new guitar player, in some cases the sound of guitar reminds me of Paradise Lost or Lake of Tears. But somehow I liked the vocals better in Delta. Here it is stronger, but vocal lines were more memorable in Delta. And still they can not surpass "Trinity" ;/
PocketMetal - 19.03.2013 at 09:29  
I'm not having high hopes but have to check this out and see for myself , looks like this one will get a variety of scores here and there .
Swordbearer - 19.03.2013 at 11:00  
Not sure if this is my cupp of tea. I really like bombastic symphonic music, and Delta delivered that. Until now VoA is still remaining in the mediocrity-hall of fame, and I think they will be stuck there for a while for me.
Dark†SymphonY - 19.03.2013 at 17:37  
A nice, simple and straight to the point review. I will probably listen fully to Ethera, but I wasn't impressed with the track samples.
Dane Train - 19.03.2013 at 23:49  
I am going to give this listen. Thanks for the review, Susan!
Susan - 20.03.2013 at 01:31  
Written by Swordbearer on 19.03.2013 at 11:00

mediocrity-hall of fame


Excellent phrase

I can think of several bands that this phrase describes perfectly!!
annodomini - 20.03.2013 at 08:10  
Written by Dark†SymphonY on 19.03.2013 at 17:37

A nice, simple and straight to the point review. I will probably listen fully to Ethera, but I wasn't impressed with the track samples.


That's an interesting case with VoA's samples. Delta samples sounded just amazing. I thought it will be their best, but when full album came it was disappointing. This time samples sounded weak indeed, but the whole thing is a bit better than you can expect.
renai - 21.03.2013 at 01:52  
Well... here's another symphonic operatic sopranic metal band "go public" to appeal free-er world. Oh how come the bombastic opera genre fade away now..
Rhiannon - 22.03.2013 at 13:20  
I need to check this out... I stopped following them after Trinity, which was very mediocre imo. If it's really more heavy and less Nightwish-clone, it might be good.

edit: sounds generic and boring... some good melodies here and there, but ruined by the uninspired vocals. avoid.

Advertise on Metal Storm


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Visions Of Atlantis - Ethera 6 07.10.2012 by The Warrior
Reviews Visions Of Atlantis - Cast Away 5.5 12.08.2007 by Doc Godin
News Visions Of Atlantis - Former Singer Dies At Age 27 4.5 06.01.2012 by Milena
News Visions Of Atlantis - Bassist Leaves The Band 4.5 23.09.2009 by Ellrohir
News Visions Of Atlantis - Album Teaser Online 4.5 14.01.2011 by Luneth



Hits total: 4214 | This month: 5