Rating:
9.0
Summoning - Old Mornings Dawn
7 June 2013


01. Evernight
02. Flammifer
03. Old Mornings Dawn
04. The White Tower
05. Caradhras
06. Of Pale White Morns And Darkened Eves
07. The Wandering Fire
08. Earthshine
09. The Darkening Of Valinor [special edition bonus]
10. With Fire And Sword [special edition bonus]


Rejoice, my metal brethren and fellow LOTR enthusiasts! Earendil has persuaded the Valar with his Silmaril to make war upon Morgoth for the sake of Middle Earth, casting him beyond the Door Of Night into The Void for all eternity (yeah, that was added in there for the nerds like myself that've actually read The Silmarillion). Tolkien references aside, Summoning's new album, no doubt one of the most anticipated releases of the year, is finally upon us, and from the very first moments of its music the band make it quite clear that the 7 years of waiting since Oath Bound back in '06 have been well worth it for 2013's Old Mornings Dawn.

So, let's just get right to what's no doubt on everyone's minds: how does this new chapter in the Summoning odyssey match up to the rest of their discography? Well, my elf and ent friends, get ready, because Old Mornings Dawn may very well be the catchiest album Summoning have yet put out. This may not seem like I'm saying much, really, because the band have always created memorable instrumentation with their keyboards and horns, but something about the formula this time around seems to just have much more of a hook to it than before. From the brief introductory opener "Evernight," to the main riff of "Flamiffer," and even the percussion on "Of Pale White Morns And Darkened Eves," Summoning's music on Old Mornings Dawn comes across as a lot more groovy and riff-heavy than before. The drums are what really keep this rhythmic pace going, Old Mornings Dawn definitely being one of Summoning's best albums in regards to drumming as well.

Other than that, it's the same epic atmospheric black metal we've come to know and love from Summoning. Well-executed keyboard and guitar parts galore create the usual folklore-ish, medieval type of feel perfect for a LOTR-themed band, especially on "Caradhras" and "The Wandering Fire." In addition, there's also a bit of the band's usual clean vocals thrown into the mix, in the vocal harmony in the middle of "Caradhras," and towards the end of the title track.

So, in essence, Old Mornings Dawn is pretty much like any other Summoning album… for the most part. The groovy melodies the band dabble into on this release give the music a whole different dimension, perhaps unlike any they've ever gotten into before, and this 2013 effort is in my opinion a lot better than the more ambient nature of Oath Bound. Regardless of which is better, however, it's pretty safe to say that at this point in their career, Summoning have built up a very well-respected and well-deserved reputation for themselves with their discography. Few bands have displayed such consistency over the course of their albums, and for this Summoning will surely be remembered once their run is at its end. But that's a point (hopefully) far in the future. In the meantime, enjoy yourselves with what will without question end up being one of the best black metal releases of the year, and let yet another installation in Summoning's Middle Earth-ean saga overtake your soul.

Performance: 9
Songwriting: 10
Originality: 8
Production: 9


Band profile: Summoning
Album: Old Mornings Dawn


 



Written on 01.05.2013 by
Apothecary
"Without tradition, art is a flock of sheep without a master. But without innovation, it is a corpse."
-Winston Churchill
More reviews by Apothecary ››



Comments page 2 of 2

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 [2]
Comments: 66  
Users visited: 813  
Search this topic:  


Apothecary - 23.06.2013 at 14:56  
Written by Himedal on 23.06.2013 at 13:12

What you say is like saying the originality of water is 8 because there are so many other drinks satisfying us, while we all know this is completely wrong in the first place. Water has its own place and satisfaction and can't be compared to other drinks. So is Summoning - comparing them to other bands in atmospheric is completely wrong. They created it and so they are original. 8 is good but they deserve 10.

Perhaps, but what I more so meant is that I like to judge albums individually, as their own subjective experience, not in comparison to what came before. Just because a band may have been original in their creation of something doesn't necessarily mean they'll always follow up on that later down the road. Look at Megadeth
Vombatus - 23.06.2013 at 18:33  
Sure Summoning created their own style, but I doubt they started all the atmospheric BM thingy, specially since they don't sound like other bands of that genre (and even less now that each release has less and less BM in it....).

I do agree with your explanation Apothecary
BitterCOld - 23.06.2013 at 19:00  
It ceases to be original if just copying shit they've been doing for decades, even if they "created" that style.

and no point arguing... 2/3 of this dude's votes are 9 or 10, only thing dropping is rating average is tanking the bands it's cool to tank. basically the warning signs i look for when deciding whether or not i take someone's opinion seriously... means ignore.
!J.O.O.E.! - 23.06.2013 at 20:44  
Yet another yawn-inducing discussion about the pointless sub-scores that reviewers give and equally pointless and obligatory album-score analysis opinion-debunking retorts that follow. People's lives are ruled by numbers. The sooner they're done away with on reviews the better.
Apothecary - 23.06.2013 at 22:46  
Written by BitterCOld on 23.06.2013 at 19:00

It ceases to be original if just copying shit they've been doing for decades, even if they "created" that style.

My point exactly.
Himedal - 24.06.2013 at 00:39  
Written by Apothecary on 23.06.2013 at 14:56

Written by Himedal on 23.06.2013 at 13:12

What you say is like saying the originality of water is 8 because there are so many other drinks satisfying us, while we all know this is completely wrong in the first place. Water has its own place and satisfaction and can't be compared to other drinks. So is Summoning - comparing them to other bands in atmospheric is completely wrong. They created it and so they are original. 8 is good but they deserve 10.

Perhaps, but what I more so meant is that I like to judge albums individually, as their own subjective experience, not in comparison to what came before. Just because a band may have been original in their creation of something doesn't necessarily mean they'll always follow up on that later down the road. Look at Megadeth

LOL. As a big fan and old follower of Megadeth I have to agree with you. They were amazing but they really suck today. Just like Metallica and Anthrax. LOL. New wave of Thrash will soon take their place in everyone's memory. Good luck my friend and keep writing.
*!* - 05.07.2013 at 02:09  
Is it just me or the intro has the same rhythm of "GAME OF THRONES" intro.
Apothecary - 05.07.2013 at 05:56  
Written by *!* on 05.07.2013 at 02:09

Is it just me or the intro has the same rhythm of "GAME OF THRONES" intro.

I kinda hear it, but not much I would say.
Mattybu - 29.07.2013 at 10:07  
Written by !J.O.O.E.! on 23.06.2013 at 20:44

People's lives are ruled by numbers. The sooner they're done away with on reviews the better.


I would agree with this but people's lives (I'm assuming more than just mine?) are also ruled by laziness cause man reading a whole review ain't nobody got time fo dat. even though people do it's faster to glance at a score sometimes.
sergiod0999 - 06.08.2013 at 18:15  
Superb
BoxCar Willy - 07.08.2013 at 05:54  
So who is this about?
crucifiedjesus - 21.08.2013 at 20:27  
I just dont see the appeal of this
Apothecary - 22.08.2013 at 00:20  
Written by crucifiedjesus on 21.08.2013 at 20:27

I just dont see the appeal of this

Well, do you like black metal? If you don't, then you probably won't, because this contains many elements typical of the genre: shrieked vocals, lo fi production, and lyrics with a very strong Pagan or epic fantasy theme (in this case, Tolkien's LOTR trilogy). If you're talking about the silly overhype surrounding Old Mornings Dawn after its release, I'll agree with you: I found it quite irritating as well. I mean this is a great album, and I think it deserves the 9 that I gave it, but a lot of people are acting like it's going to go down as the black metal album of 2013... and personally, I think the new Meads Of Asphodel album topped it, and so will the upcoming Ruins Of Beverast and Oranssi Pazuzu releases as well. But then again, that's just my opinion, and I tend to judge quality in music on the basis of good song organization and originality. This album has a lot of elements of the former, but not many of the latter.
Mr. Doctor - 22.08.2013 at 00:24  
Written by Apothecary on 22.08.2013 at 00:20
Well, do you like black metal? If you don't, then you probably won't, because this contains many elements typical of the genre

I think a huge amount of people into black metal would hate this too.
Vombatus - 22.08.2013 at 02:45  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 22.08.2013 at 00:24

Written by Apothecary on 22.08.2013 at 00:20
Well, do you like black metal? If you don't, then you probably won't, because this contains many elements typical of the genre

I think a huge amount of people into black metal would hate this too.


And I even think that a good number of people that can't stand BM like this.

Except the vocals, no BM around here (and sometimes they diverge quite a bit from the typical shrieks...).
Apothecary - 22.08.2013 at 03:21  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 22.08.2013 at 00:24

I think a huge amount of people into black metal would hate this too.

I think a lot of people into the more crazy left-field type black metal would hate it. That's my preference when it comes to BM, but like I said I don't really hate Summoning, I just get irritated at the people who act like they're at the top of the BM food chain as far as creativity and song composition when (as we both know) they're far from it. But even so, I like to judge albums more for what they are than for what they aren't, which is why I gave this the rating. Even if it's not as original and mindblowing as I'd like it to be, it's still an excellent effort, and I think that anyone who considers themselves a serious music listener should try to maintain that sense of objectivity when it comes to recognizing skill in a band even if the music isn't given their preferred type of delivery.

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 [2]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Reviews The Great Old Ones - Tekeli-Li 4.5 06.04.2014 by psykometal
Reviews Auriga - Reflection Of The Majestic 3 19.05.2014 by Draugen
Reviews Descend - Wither 3 05.03.2014 by theembryo
Reviews Longing For Dawn - A Treacherous Ascension 2.5 30.03.2007 by ylside
Reviews Armory - The Dawn Of Enlightenment 2.5 11.02.2009 by iaberis



Hits total: 15786 | This month: 176