Rating:
5.5
Megadeth - Super Collider
4 June 2013


01. Kingmaker
02. Super Collider
03. Burn!
04. Built For War
05. Off The Edge
06. Dance In The Rain
07. The Beginning Of Sorrow
08. The Blackest Crow
09. Forget To Remember
10. Don't Turn Your Back...
11. Cold Sweat [Thin Lizzy cover]
12. All I Want [Limited Edition bonus] [Japanese bonus]
13. A House Divided [Limited Edition bonus] [Japanese bonus]
14. Symphony Of Destruction [live] [Japanese bonus]


So MegadavE is back with album 14 now (Jebus, really, that many? I stopped paying attention after The Black Alb…Countdown To Disappointment about 20 years ago!), entitled Supercollider.

It seems across the interw3b there have been a lot of super-deriders, but the band is of significant enough stature that we really should review them and since no one else at Metal Storm Towers was chomping at the bit, I figured I'd take this on as a change of pace from Slavic doom.

Supercollider starts off well enough with "Children of the Grave" errrr "Kingmaker". While it's not the Megadeth I grew up with, it's about on par with what I'd expect from them since the opening strains of "Skin O' My Teeth" off Countdown left me every bit as let down as The Black Album. Upbeat tune, some Satriani-like wah-drenched, two-hand tapped soli… but none of the anger, venom, balls, vigor, aggression, attitude that they once had. You know what made Megadeth well, Megadeth.

The anti-bullying campaign insists "it gets better", but in the case of Supercollider it doesn't.

Sure, there are lots of impressive solo bits to air-guitar along to and the production is a hell of a lot better than, say, World Painted Magnetic, but the tracks themselves just fell largely listless and limp.

Take the e-chugging primary riff off the first half or so of "Dance In the Rain" - it's got some rapid e-string chugging going on, just like my favorite Megadeth riff (the asphalt ripping one off "Good Mourning/Black Friday"), but the song flow around it makes the whole song feel lethargic. At least that song erupts a bit at the end.

Too much of the album just feels like it's trying to walk the line between having some sort of edge, but doing so without sacrificing playability on your average hard/classic rock station.

The album isn't terrible. It's not mortifying horrid, but it's not particularly good either. I mean it's well produced and created by skilled musicians, but it just doesn't have the grit or bite that I was hoping for. I honestly cannot imagine myself intentionally queuing this one again once the review gets posted.

And "Cold Sweat"… suffice it to say somehow Megadeth manage to do pretty much to Thin Lizzy's track what Winger did to Hendrix' "Purple Haze". (Click here if feeling masochistic.) Somehow they managed to suck all the soul and life out of the track. A lot like their "Paranoid", the notes are there, but somehow the "it" that made the original so significant is absent.

But hey, I'm sure a lot of folks will love it. At least it's not Risk, right? Then again, at least there was some risk to Risk...

Performance: 7
Songwriting: 5
Originality: 5
Production: 7


Band profile: Megadeth
Album: Super Collider


 



Written on 02.06.2013 by
BitterCOld
BitterCOld has been officially reviewing albums for MetalStorm since 2009.
More reviews by BitterCOld ››



Comments page 2 of 2

‹‹ Back to the Reviews Pages: 1 [2]
Comments: 65  
Users visited: 856  
Search this topic:  


Dedcalm - 08.06.2013 at 15:50  
Written by Lustful Maid on 08.06.2013 at 07:02

Written by Dedcalm on 02.06.2013 at 08:53

Things change. Megadeth (and as you have already mentioned them, Metallica) have changed. Just cause you don't like it thats tough. Your musical taste maybe stuck in a rut but others aren't and we are willing to embrace new ideas and styles.

What the hell are you talking about ? This is defferent from Thrash but still a very comon musical genre - Heavy Hard Rock. Nothing much to do with "Musical Taste". 5.5 is an accurate rating.


Well you missed the point entirelly, didn't you!?
Necdilzor - 08.06.2013 at 22:07  
I'm still hoping Megadeth can release a damn good album again.
Mr. Doctor - 09.06.2013 at 00:42  
Written by tea[m]ster on 02.06.2013 at 16:43
Megadeth released a new album? Oh.

Heh, I wasn't the only one who reacted like that.
tea[m]ster - 09.06.2013 at 16:27  
Written by Mr. Doctor on 09.06.2013 at 00:42

Written by tea[m]ster on 02.06.2013 at 16:43
Megadeth released a new album? Oh.

Heh, I wasn't the only one who reacted like that.


Yep. Don't get me wrong, I don't HATE Megadeth it's just I haven't liked anything by them since RIP.
Ewokki - 09.06.2013 at 21:41  
So lame album. I like system has failed-> endgame-albums, and classics of course, but this has no good songs. What happened !?
Scuzzy McDouche - 10.06.2013 at 19:10  
It's a fact that Megadeth has been total shit since RIP, and should go ahead and change their name to Megafail, but god dammit how can you compare Countdown to Suckage to The Black Album? I actually liked the Black Album! Leave it alone!
Daniell - 11.06.2013 at 16:57  
Written by Dedcalm on 02.06.2013 at 08:53

Things change. Megadeth (and as you have already mentioned them, Metallica) have changed. Just cause you don't like it thats tough. Your musical taste maybe stuck in a rut but others aren't and we are willing to embrace new ideas and styles.


It's perfectly fine if things change. I absolutely loved "Countdown to Extinction", and quite liked "Youthanasia". These were 2 albums that marked a change in Megadeth's sound. Their later albums were so-so, but most of them had some highlights. "The System Has Failed", "The World Needs a Hero", "Endgame" - these were decent releases with quite a few solid songs each.

But this new album is simply bland, uninspired, lifeless and booooooring. Even "Risk" was better, because it had 2 good songs, while this turd has one...
Dedcalm - 11.06.2013 at 17:42  
Im not keen on this album either. Personally i love Risk. Always have. Hated Endgame and Cryptic writings.
Sepulnation - 15.06.2013 at 19:33  
I'm losing my interest on MegadetH... all my respects Dave, but your last productions are extremely boring, "soul-less", even bad... where's the anger??? RIP...
Murder - 24.06.2013 at 00:09  
I'm a huge Megadeth fan, but God... this album is lack of EVERYTHING, it has nothing to offer. I'd really enjoyed the last two albums, specially the last one, but listening this was really hard for me... one or two songs, no more. I'm disappointed with Super Collider, boring as hell.
BitterCOld - 28.06.2013 at 20:48  
Written by Coolingsrock on 02.06.2013 at 17:20

Burn! baby Burn! Disco inferno! that's sad........ I hear that everytime on the song Burn lol


Not sure how i missed this comment earlier... while not a fan of disco (aside in an ironic sort of way which could now be considered "hipsterish", only i purchased the Saturday Night Fever soundtrack in '91, long before hipsterdom), i legitimately like this song. the bass line, the "sermon" in the middle - "I ain't talking 'bout burning down no building..." has a fun, good vibe to it.
Kub - 15.07.2013 at 11:57  
It really pisses me off that they put 2 additional proper songs on Japanese version, and House Divided is actually my favorite song from this mediocre album.
Rasa - 23.07.2013 at 20:08  
While being far from the best of their discography, it still has its moments. The Blackest Crow is something I would never have expexted from Mustaine.
NikolaFranquelli - 05.11.2013 at 09:02  
Written by BitterCOld on 02.06.2013 at 19:45

Written by Guest on 02.06.2013 at 14:20

The album is mediocre, but the choice of words for this review is even worst.


From a prior review I published last month:

Written by Guest on 17.04.2013 at 08:31

Your choice of words, at times, is very inappropriate.



boy, someone really doesn't like my way of expressing myself. fwiw, though, if you are going to insult my "choice in words", it would be either "even worse" or "is the worst". While the merits of my writing style are certainly debatable, "even worst" is flat out the wrong choice of words.




No sir, it is not my intention to insult. Never. I just expressed my opinion. It might sound insulting, but I assure that it is not. Maybe because English is not the primary language I use.
Spirit Molecule - 05.11.2013 at 09:16  
Cavity-Supercollider
nuff said!

Advertise on Metal Storm
Pages: 1 [2]


Login or register to post here.



Similar topics

Forum Topic Similarity Started
Albums Megadeth - Super Collider 6 12.02.2013 by LeKiwi
Reviews The Distorting Glass - The Germ. 3 07.03.2014 by afu
News Megadeth - Release Details Of New Album 3 18.07.2006 by Hamird
News Megadeth - Another New Song Online 3 27.03.2007 by flamesoficarus
Reviews Station Dysthymia - Overhead, Without Any Fuss, The Stars Were Going Out 3 04.08.2013 by Apothecary



Hits total: 15509 | This month: 8