Katatonia - The Great Cold Distance review



Reviewer:
8.5

923 users:
8.71
Band: Katatonia
Album: The Great Cold Distance
Release date: March 2006


01. Leaders
02. Deliberation
03. Soil's Song
04. My Twin
05. Consternation
06. Follower
07. Rusted
08. Increase
09. July
10. In The White
11. The Itch
12. Journey Through Pressure

Special edition:

13. Displaced
14. Dissolving Bonds
15. Code Against The Code
16. Unfurl


Three years after the great, but surprising, "Viva Emptiness", Katatonia is back with their 7th releases the "The Great Cold Distance". Always with this really particular sound, but with some new sonority too, "The Great Cold Distance" will probably be a real success. Will it be right? Do they really deserve success with this new album? I think so, because no doubt that Katatonia did something nice, one more time; with this new album…

As always, Katatonia uses its really particular rhythmic with its really dark and beautiful atmospheric sound. But don't expect something exceptionally new or innovative for the Swedish band, as always Katatonia proposes its really personal sound, and "The Great Cold Distance" is without any doubt the continuity of the precedent album. On "The Great Cold Distance", the riffs are heavy but you can evidently find those leads that sound like crystal. On the other hand I think that the Bass of Norman is a lot more present and powerful and this is a good point because first, this guy is a great bassist, but also in this really particular cold atmosphere this instrument give some interesting "hot" touches.

If we got "Evidence" or "Teargas" in the past, now you'll have to count on "My Twin", the best song of the album. With a really exceptional catchy chorus, with its great atmosphere I'm sure that it will become a classic. But don't be fooled, we have some others pearls on this CD. "Leaders" where we can find Death vocals is another proof that Katatonia is at its best level, "Soil's Song" is a beautiful piece of music (the guitarist will understand why), the melodies of "Rusted" are just beautiful and "July" is a song in the pure spirit of a "Last Fair Deal Gone Down". There are variations on this new CD, "The Great Cold Distance" isn't linear and if you were a fan of Viva Emptiness, no doubt that you'll love this new album, though I have the feeling that "The Great Cold Distance" is a bit more complex and no so easy of access (especially for someone who don't know yet the music of the band).

The production is fantastic and I don't have to talk about the artworks made by Travis Smith. The sound is exceptional and it's possible to listen to all the little variations here and there. When I said that "The Great Cold Distance" is a complex album, I was evidently talking about the compositions and the arrangements. There are sounds, arpeggio or little melodies (that come from the guitars like from the bass) everywhere. This is perfectly played and the work of Jens Brogen for the recording is really amazing but on the other hand it's so perfect that maybe that the music of Katatonia lost a bit of its charm and innocence, it's not so intimist at the end. But well, the voice of Jonas is so perfect, so touching, that really, this little reproach isn't a big deal at the end.

At the end, I won't say that "The Great Cold Distance" is the best album of the band or not, you'll be the judge. But if you're a fan of the band or if you just love to listen to music full of emotion, don't miss this jewel. Katatonia is one of my favourite band and each time they prove to me that they're great original musicians. "The Great Cold Distance" is a great album, and no doubt that we will hear about it during a long time. What a real pleasure to listen to your music guys, you rock really…

Written by Jeff | 05.03.2006


 


Comments

Comments: 30   Visited by: 335 users
06.10.2006 - 22:54
canmewaterbee
Account deleted
I don't believe the superb production hinders ANYTHING from coming through to the listener. It does just the opposite for me. This is such an emotional and touching album - very dark and very poetic. "In the White" and "Follower" and "Journey Through Pressure" send shivers down my spine, much like "Evidence" and "Wealth" and "Inside the City of Glass" did on their previous album. Katatonia and Virgin Black = the masters of depressing rock.
Loading...
07.10.2006 - 02:48
Dangerboner
:D
I've heard most of their albums and this is my favorite. I think this album could have been better if they took out the 2 or 3 not-so-good tracks though.
Loading...
21.02.2007 - 21:05
Passenger
Lost To Apathy
This is one of their best for sure, even if LFDGD and Viva Emptiness top it.
----
You don't make up for your sins in church. You do it in the streets. You do it at home. The rest is bullshit and you know it ~ Mean Streets
Loading...
23.02.2007 - 23:55
Ottir
This is the really good follower of previous album. Nothing has been discovered, but imho some addition brought us anther enjoyable piece of music. Anyway, it's time to show another face, as fast as possible.
----
Nothing is sacred.
Loading...
05.03.2007 - 18:27
BloodTears
ANA-thema
This album its in my toplist for katatonia's works. the exact word is "emotional" on this one. Fragile, melancholic, real, abysmal.
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
10.03.2007 - 07:46
iaberis
Advice Troll
Katatonia goes better every year. Nice to see them evolving but also keeping their usual sound they developed over the last years. Very good album.
----
Bitch! Please
Loading...
05.05.2007 - 17:18
__Az__
Amazing album, there is so much emotion and passion conatined within the vocals. Sheer brilliance.
Loading...
06.05.2007 - 07:53
Bitch Boy
XD
My second favorite Katatonia album. The production is really amazing. It isn't as good as "Viva Emptiness" but they kept their great quality.
Loading...
14.05.2007 - 02:25
Lazarus Complex
Account deleted
Katatonia can do no wrong. If you liked LFDGD and Viva Emptiness, you'll like this too. This is truly an unbelivable collection of songs.
Loading...
14.05.2007 - 02:35
__Az__
Actually, sorry, but this deserves more than 8.5
Loading...
24.09.2007 - 13:20
Ðírgë
It's been ages since I heard something so pure and peaceful. This is one of my all time favourite. Katatonia can be replaced by only Katatonia but noone else.
----
LAST.FM : http://www.last.fm/user/DirgeElucidatr
MY PHOTOGRAPHY: http://blasphemedsoldier.deviantart.com/
Loading...
10.10.2007 - 19:35
FolloweR
Account deleted
Katatonia really rules ...another excellent album from this band. And what I really like is My Twin video...it´s great. Masters of their style. ..one of their best albums I think...
Loading...
18.10.2007 - 00:19
pdepmcp
The production is really amazing and that is why it seems their best album to many people (including me in the first months). Some songs are simply great (3 or 4 songs, and July on top of all).
But about songwriting this is the weakest album in a very long long time ...maybe we should search before brave murder day to find such an average release by Katatonia.
Anyway it's better than most gothic related releases out there
Loading...
17.02.2008 - 18:21
Lian
Account deleted
Written by pdepmcp on 18.10.2007 at 00:19

The production is really amazing and that is why it seems their best album to many people (including me in the first months). Some songs are simply great (3 or 4 songs, and July on top of all).
But about songwriting this is the weakest album in a very long long time ...maybe we should search before brave murder day to find such an average release by Katatonia.
Anyway it's better than most gothic related releases out there

Totally agree, just the same I was going to say.

My top track is Soil's Song, then July...
I'll give it a 7 as much.
Loading...
30.11.2008 - 09:10
-DC-002-
Mastercommander
I just got this album and even with the first time listening to it I really like it. Ill give it a 9 (by my standards)
----
Coldgrits
Loading...
27.03.2009 - 14:39
Andresopeth
I like this one a lot, even being so different than their previous albums, this one is more alternative and less dark, but it definitely has very good songs i love "Journey Through Pressure" "My Twin" and "Consternation"
Loading...
27.03.2009 - 14:39
Andresopeth
I like this one a lot, even being so different than their previous albums, this one is more alternative and less dark, but it definitely has very good songs i love "Journey Through Pressure" "My Twin" and "Consternation"
Loading...
26.05.2009 - 13:21
Uirapuru
Liver Failure
Average and overrated. It's too ''heavy'' for my taste, at least compared to their best works. And the super-clean production kinda kills the melancholic atmosphere.
Oh... and what is worse: stop-paced riffs! Killing every possible chance of feeling something from the music.

Now I wonder if ''average'' is too much of a compliment.

Overall.. I feel nothing listen to this album, except for a couple of tracks, its just shallow music. Better stick to their three previous albuns.
----

----
member of the true crusade against old school heavy metal, early 80s thrash, NWOBHM, traditional doom, first and second wave black metal, old school death metal, US power metal, 70s prog rock and atmospheric doomsludgestoner. o/
Loading...
29.06.2009 - 20:59
lord artan
I love this album very good doom metal
Loading...
22.10.2009 - 04:02
INÆRIS
This is by far the smoothest sounding Katatonia album. Quite heavy at times, but always a very comfortable heavy. Very nice album. One of my favorites for sure.
----
Still Life, Still Death
Loading...
29.10.2009 - 22:48
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by Guest on 29.10.2009 at 22:45

This is the best album ever made by any band.


I wouldn't even consider it top five for Katatonia
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
31.10.2009 - 20:03
BloodTears
ANA-thema
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 29.10.2009 at 22:48

Written by Guest on 29.10.2009 at 22:45

This is the best album ever made by any band.


I wouldn't even consider it top five for Katatonia


What do you think about the new album?
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29

Like you could kiss my ass.
Loading...
01.11.2009 - 12:14
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by BloodTears on 31.10.2009 at 20:03

Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 29.10.2009 at 22:48

Written by Guest on 29.10.2009 at 22:45

This is the best album ever made by any band.


I wouldn't even consider it top five for Katatonia


What do you think about the new album?


The songs on themselves are very good. SO all perfect as singles, but as a whole I find the new one boring, but not as boring as The Great Cold Distance though. TGCD is their worst for me and this one is a bit better but nowhere near as good as the rest of their stuff.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
01.11.2009 - 12:48
Mr. Doctor
Skandino
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 01.11.2009 at 12:14

The songs on themselves are very good. SO all perfect as singles, but as a whole I find the new one boring, but not as boring as The Great Cold Distance though. TGCD is their worst for me and this one is a bit better but nowhere near as good as the rest of their stuff.


So I can make the conclusion that if I liked TGCD then I'm gonna like the new one?
Good enough for me I guess
----
Written by BloodTears on 19.08.2011 at 18:29
Like you could kiss my ass
Written by Milena on 20.06.2012 at 10:49
Rod, let me love you.
Loading...
02.11.2009 - 17:42
InnerSelf
proofread free
It seems that Marcel only enjoys albums with songs connected to each other i.e. PoG's new one ,Esoteric's latest .......
for me I guess I would enjoy an album like the mentioned but if the songs as singles are good it wouldn't bother me ,infact I enjoyed TGCD
----
He who is not bold enough
to be stared at from across the abyss
is not bold enough
to stare into it himself.
Loading...
02.11.2009 - 21:13
Marcel Hubregtse
Grumpy Old Fuck
Written by InnerSelf on 02.11.2009 at 17:42

It seems that Marcel only enjoys albums with songs connected to each other i.e. PoG's new one ,Esoteric's latest .......
for me I guess I would enjoy an album like the mentioned but if the songs as singles are good it wouldn't bother me ,infact I enjoyed TGCD


Actually usually I am not a fan of albums where the songs are connected. For example I absolutely love the new candlemass or grieving age, there the songs aren't connected.

The weird thing is that although all the songs on the new Katatonia are all good they are way too similar and therefore the album gets boring for me. With a band such as Katatonia I want loads of variation, like on Viva Emptiness.
----
Member of the true crusade against European Flower Metal

Yesterday is dead and gone, tomorrow is out of sight
Dawn Crosby (r.i.p.)
05.04.1963 - 15.12.1996

Loading...
03.11.2009 - 02:03
hobaleo
Account deleted
The album is depressing and boring.... typical katatonia
Loading...
04.11.2009 - 15:53
InnerSelf
proofread free
Written by Marcel Hubregtse on 02.11.2009 at 21:13

Written by InnerSelf on 02.11.2009 at 17:42

It seems that Marcel only enjoys albums with songs connected to each other i.e. PoG's new one ,Esoteric's latest .......
for me I guess I would enjoy an album like the mentioned but if the songs as singles are good it wouldn't bother me ,infact I enjoyed TGCD


Actually usually I am not a fan of albums where the songs are connected. For example I absolutely love the new candlemass or grieving age, there the songs aren't connected.

The weird thing is that although all the songs on the new Katatonia are all good they are way too similar and therefore the album gets boring for me. With a band such as Katatonia I want loads of variation, like on Viva Emptiness.


the kind of variation on Viva Empitness is smething truely refreshing and remarkable
yet I got the impression that you only like albums like the mentioned
I was wrong
----
He who is not bold enough
to be stared at from across the abyss
is not bold enough
to stare into it himself.
Loading...
10.11.2009 - 23:56
Slayer666
Written by Uirapuru on 26.05.2009 at 13:21

Average and overrated. It's too ''heavy'' for my taste, at least compared to their best works. And the super-clean production kinda kills the melancholic atmosphere.
Oh... and what is worse: stop-paced riffs! Killing every possible chance of feeling something from the music.

Now I wonder if ''average'' is too much of a compliment.

Overall.. I feel nothing listen to this album, except for a couple of tracks, its just shallow music. Better stick to their three previous albuns.

Yeap, exactly. Katatonia died for me after "Tonight's Decision". Their early stuff beats the shit out of 95% of the Doom Metal bands, but this new emo/goth (not litteraly) sound is just.... Shallow and pointless.
Loading...
11.01.2012 - 07:24
Theberzerker
:banger2::banger2::banger2::banger2::banger2:
Loading...

Hits total: 13519 | This month: 32